DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/11/2026. Claims 59-91 are still pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 83-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 83-87 recite, “dynamically adjusting, in real-time, the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device, the dynamically adjusting based at least in part on current distance, velocity, or Bluetooth signal level indicative of proximity of the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device”, (emphasis added). However, the current specification does not support the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 88 and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg in view of Sivavakeesar as applied to claim(s) 59 above, and further in view of Maggenti et al. -US 20130150115 A1- (hereinafter Maggenti).
Regarding claim 77, Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar disclose the claimed invention except wherein the first graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface, or both is configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn external monitoring on/off, the external monitoring including recording at the mobile computing device during the meeting.
In the same filed of endeavor, Maggenti discloses wherein the first graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface, or both is configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn external monitoring on/off, the external monitoring including recording at the mobile computing device during the meeting (FIG.1 and FIG. 5, par. 0070, “The talker may use one or more keys on the device to indicate that recording may commence. In various embodiments a dedicated recording key may be provided on the device, or a software key may be assigned as a "start to record" key”; par. 0064, “The recording may be implemented with various recording methods such as retaining the as-received message stream representing the voice segment, or decoding the stream and simultaneously reproducing the audio on the device's earpiece as well as retaining the decoded stream”; Par. 0046, “The device typically includes a display 505 that may comprise an LCD or OLED display. In some embodiments, the display may include touch screen capability.”).
It is well-known in the art and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in that the soft button functionalities to apply to the touch screen, as disclosed by Maggenti, to provide a key for preforming the functionality such as "start to record".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a software key on a touchscreen of mobile communication device as taught by Maggenti to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar for purpose of storing the recorded the communication between users on the server.
Regarding claim 88, Rosenberg discloses an apparatus for multiple Global Positioning System directed meeting, the apparatus including:
at least one server that executes operations including (FIG. 1):
mediating electronic communications, over a network between a first mobile computing device and a second mobile computing device (par. 0042, “first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 may transmit locative data for each mobile phone to the other mobile phone (i.e., first mobile phone 111 has access to locative data representing the location of second mobile phone 112 and second mobile phone 112 has access to locative data representing the location of first mobile phone 111). This data transfer may be provided by direct messaging from phone to phone. This data transfer may be provided by locative server 100 acting to receive, store, and transmit data through a location tracking service.”), and
initiating, by said communications, the meeting involving the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (par. 0035, “a meeting locator system may be implemented as a managed service (e.g., in an ASP model) using a locative server 100, which is connected or connectable to one or more networks”, par. 0042, par. 0053, “the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who is within a certain physical proximity of the user.”), including:
sending a location for the meeting to the first mobile computing device, and sending the location to the second mobile computing device (par. 0053, “the users engage the functionalities supported by the meeting locator system exemplarily described herein. The meeting locator system may be engaged when a user of one or both of the mobile phones engages a respective manual user interface. In some embodiments, the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who also has a mobile phone with spatial location tracking functionality”);
associating an indicator with a map, and communicating to the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device to allow rendering a visual presentation of said at least one in association with the map (par. 0055, “Upon receiving locative data from mobile phone 200', circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 is operative to overlay a graphical icon (or other indicator) of mobile phone 200' upon the visual map 202 displayed upon the screen of mobile phone 200. An exemplary embodiment of such an overlaid graphical icon is shown in FIG. 3A as a blue overlaid graphical element 310. Graphical element 310 is generated (e.g., drawn) as a graphical tab with a pointed end 310a having a tip 310b representing the current location of mobile phone 200' with respect to the visual map 202.”);
determining, based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the first mobile computing device and based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the second mobile computing device, driving directions to the location, walking directions to the location, or both (par. 0068-0069, “Dtotal may be estimated simply as the linear distance between the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200 and the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200'… the visual map 202 may include the spatial locations of roads and paths that lie in the intervening distance between mobile phone 200 and 200' and it may be assumed that the users will use these roads and paths… The mode of travel may be indicated by a mode-of-travel icon 335 upon the display screen 201. As shown, the mode-of-travel icon 335 indicates that the user is currently in a walking mode of travel. Other modes of travel may be specified by the user including jogging, bicycle riding, and driving modes of travel”); and
sending the directions to at least one of the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device to facilitate the meeting (par. 0082, “the graphical line 312b is useful for the user for it represents the most likely route between the two users and it may therefore assist the user in visually planning a meeting location that lies between the two users.”).
However, Rosenberg fails to disclose the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Sivavakeesar discloses the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device (FIG. 13B, par. 0098-0102, “the server application 160 will check whether the anonymous interaction/communication requires the parties involved to be online in 1374... the server application 160 will establish a communication channel in 1382 between a second registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a second registered entity (Segment 1) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used. If the operation of 1382 is successful, the server application 160 will further establish a communication channel in 1384 between a first registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a first registered entity (Segment 2) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used... If the operation of 1384 is successful, the server application 160 will subsequently link/map Segment 1 and Segment 2 in 1386”, par. 0046, for exchanging unique profile identifiers in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users, “The server application 160 comprises a multitude of functionalities namely online profile creation/maintenance (e.g., editing/deleting) functionality 162 whereby the server application 160 liaises with the profile database 130 in order to assign unique profile identifiers (termed Profile-IDs) on a successful main profile creation and activation by any entity/user for the first time, virtual business card exchange and viewing functionality 166, pull service functionality 174 in case the server application 160 needs to accept various queries having one or plurality of search criteria/filters pertaining to directory entries and to return results satisfying the queries, proxy server functionality 164 in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users who happen to be total strangers to each other and hence do not know each other's exact contact information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate enabling anonymous interaction/communication between registered users of a server as taught by Sivavakeesar to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg for purpose of enabling anonymous communication between registered users.
However, Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar fail to disclose the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with said at least one server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during a meeting.
In the same field of endeavor, Maggenti discloses the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with said at least one server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during a meeting (FIG.1 and FIG. 5, par. 0070, “The talker may use one or more keys on the device to indicate that recording may commence. In various embodiments a dedicated recording key may be provided on the device, or a software key may be assigned as a "start to record" key”; par. 0064, “The recording may be implemented with various recording methods such as retaining the as-received message stream representing the voice segment, or decoding the stream and simultaneously reproducing the audio on the device's earpiece as well as retaining the decoded stream” ; Par. 0046, “The device typically includes a display 505 that may comprise an LCD or OLED display. In some embodiments, the display may include touch screen capability.”).
It is well-known in the art and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in that the soft button functionalities to apply to the touch screen, as disclosed by Maggenti, to provide a key for preforming the functionality such as "start to record".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a software key on a touchscreen of mobile communication device as taught by Maggenti to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar for purpose of storing the recorded the communication between users on the server.
Regarding claim 89, Rosenberg discloses an apparatus for multiple Global Positioning System directed meeting, the apparatus including:
at least one server that executes operations including (FIG. 1):
mediating electronic communications, over a network between a first mobile computing device and a second mobile computing device (par. 0042, “first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 may transmit locative data for each mobile phone to the other mobile phone (i.e., first mobile phone 111 has access to locative data representing the location of second mobile phone 112 and second mobile phone 112 has access to locative data representing the location of first mobile phone 111). This data transfer may be provided by direct messaging from phone to phone. This data transfer may be provided by locative server 100 acting to receive, store, and transmit data through a location tracking service.”), and
initiating, by said communications, the meeting involving the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (par. 0035, “a meeting locator system may be implemented as a managed service (e.g., in an ASP model) using a locative server 100, which is connected or connectable to one or more networks”, par. 0042, par. 0053, “the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who is within a certain physical proximity of the user.”), including:
sending a location for the meeting to the first mobile computing device, and sending the location to the second mobile computing device (par. 0053, “the users engage the functionalities supported by the meeting locator system exemplarily described herein. The meeting locator system may be engaged when a user of one or both of the mobile phones engages a respective manual user interface. In some embodiments, the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who also has a mobile phone with spatial location tracking functionality”);
associating at least one of an annotation and an overlay with a map, and communicating to the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device to allow rendering a visual presentation of said at least one in association with the map (par. 0055, “Upon receiving locative data from mobile phone 200', circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 is operative to overlay a graphical icon (or other indicator) of mobile phone 200' upon the visual map 202 displayed upon the screen of mobile phone 200. An exemplary embodiment of such an overlaid graphical icon is shown in FIG. 3A as a blue overlaid graphical element 310. Graphical element 310 is generated (e.g., drawn) as a graphical tab with a pointed end 310a having a tip 310b representing the current location of mobile phone 200' with respect to the visual map 202.”);
determining, based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the first mobile computing device and based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the second mobile computing device, driving directions to the location, walking directions to the location, or both (par. 0068-0069, “Dtotal may be estimated simply as the linear distance between the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200 and the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200'… the visual map 202 may include the spatial locations of roads and paths that lie in the intervening distance between mobile phone 200 and 200' and it may be assumed that the users will use these roads and paths… The mode of travel may be indicated by a mode-of-travel icon 335 upon the display screen 201. As shown, the mode-of-travel icon 335 indicates that the user is currently in a walking mode of travel. Other modes of travel may be specified by the user including jogging, bicycle riding, and driving modes of travel”); and
sending the directions to at least one of the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device to facilitate the meeting (par. 0082, “the graphical line 312b is useful for the user for it represents the most likely route between the two users and it may therefore assist the user in visually planning a meeting location that lies between the two users.”).
However, Rosenberg fails to disclose the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Sivavakeesar discloses the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device (FIG. 13B, par. 0098-0102, “the server application 160 will check whether the anonymous interaction/communication requires the parties involved to be online in 1374... the server application 160 will establish a communication channel in 1382 between a second registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a second registered entity (Segment 1) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used. If the operation of 1382 is successful, the server application 160 will further establish a communication channel in 1384 between a first registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a first registered entity (Segment 2) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used... If the operation of 1384 is successful, the server application 160 will subsequently link/map Segment 1 and Segment 2 in 1386”, par. 0046, for exchanging unique profile identifiers in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users, “The server application 160 comprises a multitude of functionalities namely online profile creation/maintenance (e.g., editing/deleting) functionality 162 whereby the server application 160 liaises with the profile database 130 in order to assign unique profile identifiers (termed Profile-IDs) on a successful main profile creation and activation by any entity/user for the first time, virtual business card exchange and viewing functionality 166, pull service functionality 174 in case the server application 160 needs to accept various queries having one or plurality of search criteria/filters pertaining to directory entries and to return results satisfying the queries, proxy server functionality 164 in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users who happen to be total strangers to each other and hence do not know each other's exact contact information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate enabling anonymous interaction/communication between registered users of a server as taught by Sivavakeesar to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg for purpose of enabling anonymous communication between registered users.
However, Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar fail to disclose the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during an in-person meeting.
In the same field of endeavor, Maggenti discloses the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during an in-person meeting (FIG.1 and FIG. 5, par. 0070, “The talker may use one or more keys on the device to indicate that recording may commence. In various embodiments a dedicated recording key may be provided on the device, or a software key may be assigned as a "start to record" key”; par. 0064, “The recording may be implemented with various recording methods such as retaining the as-received message stream representing the voice segment, or decoding the stream and simultaneously reproducing the audio on the device's earpiece as well as retaining the decoded stream” ; Par. 0046, “The device typically includes a display 505 that may comprise an LCD or OLED display. In some embodiments, the display may include touch screen capability.”).
It is well-known in the art and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in that the soft button functionalities to apply to the touch screen, as disclosed by Maggenti, to provide a key for preforming the functionality such as "start to record".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a software key on a touchscreen of mobile communication device as taught by Maggenti to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar for purpose of storing the recorded the communication between users on the server.
Double Patenting
Claims 59-91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of co-pending application 19/256,028; and U.S. Patent No. 11076271, 12363511, 12382256, 12010595, 12101698 and 12114236. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims 59-89 are obviously similar and included in (alone or in combination) the claims of co-pending application 19/256,028; and U.S. Patent No. 11076271, 12363511, 12382256, 12010595, 12101698 and 12114236 with obvious wording or terminology variations.
Therefore, the current claims 59-91 obviously encompass the claimed invention of co-pending application 19/256,028; and U.S. Patent No. 11076271, 12363511, 12382256, 12010595, 12101698 and 12114236 and differ only in terminology. To the extent that the instant independent claims are generic to the claimed invention of claims 59-91 of co-pending application 19/256,028; and U.S. Patent No. 11076271, 12363511, 12382256, 12010595, 12101698 and 12114236, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a patent or co-pending application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 45 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts, “Applicant appreciates the conclusion in the Advisory Action by the Office that claims 88-89 are not shown as obvious. Attention is respectfully drawn to copending Application No. 19/256,028, wherein claims 88-89 were deemed by the Office as obvious over the cited art, and this art was filed in the present case. Applicant maintains that these claims have not been shown to have been obvious.” Examiner respectfully traverses. The rejection of claims 88 and 89, under 35 USC 103, were not withdrawn in the Advisory action mailed on 05/21/2026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Rademaker -US 20160247113 A1- discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR SERVICING CURB-SIDE DELIVERIES.
Connors -US 20130035856 A1- discloses CONTENT CHANGEABLE SMART PHONE APPLICATION FOR NAVIGABLE VENUES AND MULTI-PARTY NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642