DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/11/2026. Claims 59-91 are still pending in the present application.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 59-89 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 59-89 of copending Application No. 19/255,998. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the copending application 19/255,998 with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing claim 59 of pending application and claim 59 of copending application 19/255,998:
Further, the instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of copending application 19/255,998 and differ only in terminology. To the extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to the claimed invention of copending application 19/255,998, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a pending application. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claim 59 of the present application made claim 59 a broader version of claim 59. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 59 is not patentably distinct from claim 59.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 83-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 83-87 recite, “dynamically adjusting, in real-time, the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device, the dynamically adjusting based at least in part on current distance, velocity, or Bluetooth signal level indicative of proximity of the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device”, (emphasis added). However, the current specification does not support the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 88 and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg in view of Sivavakeesar as applied to claim(s) 59 above, and further in view of Maggenti et al. -US 20130150115 A1- (hereinafter Maggenti).
Regarding claim 88, Rosenberg discloses an apparatus for multiple Global Positioning System directed meeting, the apparatus including:
at least one server that executes operations including (FIG. 1):
mediating electronic communications, over a network between a first mobile computing device and a second mobile computing device (par. 0042, “first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 may transmit locative data for each mobile phone to the other mobile phone (i.e., first mobile phone 111 has access to locative data representing the location of second mobile phone 112 and second mobile phone 112 has access to locative data representing the location of first mobile phone 111). This data transfer may be provided by direct messaging from phone to phone. This data transfer may be provided by locative server 100 acting to receive, store, and transmit data through a location tracking service.”), and
initiating, by said communications, the meeting involving the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (par. 0035, “a meeting locator system may be implemented as a managed service (e.g., in an ASP model) using a locative server 100, which is connected or connectable to one or more networks”, par. 0042, par. 0053, “the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who is within a certain physical proximity of the user.”), including:
sending a location for the meeting to the first mobile computing device, and sending the location to the second mobile computing device (par. 0053, “the users engage the functionalities supported by the meeting locator system exemplarily described herein. The meeting locator system may be engaged when a user of one or both of the mobile phones engages a respective manual user interface. In some embodiments, the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who also has a mobile phone with spatial location tracking functionality”);
associating an indicator with a map, and communicating to the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device to allow rendering a visual presentation of said at least one in association with the map (par. 0055, “Upon receiving locative data from mobile phone 200', circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 is operative to overlay a graphical icon (or other indicator) of mobile phone 200' upon the visual map 202 displayed upon the screen of mobile phone 200. An exemplary embodiment of such an overlaid graphical icon is shown in FIG. 3A as a blue overlaid graphical element 310. Graphical element 310 is generated (e.g., drawn) as a graphical tab with a pointed end 310a having a tip 310b representing the current location of mobile phone 200' with respect to the visual map 202.”);
determining, based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the first mobile computing device and based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the second mobile computing device, driving directions to the location, walking directions to the location, or both (par. 0068-0069, “Dtotal may be estimated simply as the linear distance between the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200 and the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200'… the visual map 202 may include the spatial locations of roads and paths that lie in the intervening distance between mobile phone 200 and 200' and it may be assumed that the users will use these roads and paths… The mode of travel may be indicated by a mode-of-travel icon 335 upon the display screen 201. As shown, the mode-of-travel icon 335 indicates that the user is currently in a walking mode of travel. Other modes of travel may be specified by the user including jogging, bicycle riding, and driving modes of travel”); and
sending the directions to at least one of the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device to facilitate the meeting (par. 0082, “the graphical line 312b is useful for the user for it represents the most likely route between the two users and it may therefore assist the user in visually planning a meeting location that lies between the two users.”).
However, Rosenberg fails to disclose the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Sivavakeesar discloses the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device (FIG. 13B, par. 0098-0102, “the server application 160 will check whether the anonymous interaction/communication requires the parties involved to be online in 1374... the server application 160 will establish a communication channel in 1382 between a second registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a second registered entity (Segment 1) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used. If the operation of 1382 is successful, the server application 160 will further establish a communication channel in 1384 between a first registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a first registered entity (Segment 2) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used... If the operation of 1384 is successful, the server application 160 will subsequently link/map Segment 1 and Segment 2 in 1386”, par. 0046, for exchanging unique profile identifiers in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users, “The server application 160 comprises a multitude of functionalities namely online profile creation/maintenance (e.g., editing/deleting) functionality 162 whereby the server application 160 liaises with the profile database 130 in order to assign unique profile identifiers (termed Profile-IDs) on a successful main profile creation and activation by any entity/user for the first time, virtual business card exchange and viewing functionality 166, pull service functionality 174 in case the server application 160 needs to accept various queries having one or plurality of search criteria/filters pertaining to directory entries and to return results satisfying the queries, proxy server functionality 164 in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users who happen to be total strangers to each other and hence do not know each other's exact contact information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate enabling anonymous interaction/communication between registered users of a server as taught by Sivavakeesar to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg for purpose of enabling anonymous communication between registered users.
However, Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar fail to disclose the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with said at least one server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during a meeting.
In the same field of endeavor, Maggenti discloses the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with said at least one server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during a meeting (FIG.1 and FIG. 5, par. 0070, “The talker may use one or more keys on the device to indicate that recording may commence. In various embodiments a dedicated recording key may be provided on the device, or a software key may be assigned as a "start to record" key”; par. 0064, “The recording may be implemented with various recording methods such as retaining the as-received message stream representing the voice segment, or decoding the stream and simultaneously reproducing the audio on the device's earpiece as well as retaining the decoded stream” ; Par. 0046, “The device typically includes a display 505 that may comprise an LCD or OLED display. In some embodiments, the display may include touch screen capability.”).
It is well-known in the art and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in that the soft button functionalities to apply to the touch screen, as disclosed by Maggenti, to provide a key for preforming the functionality such as "start to record".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a software key on a touchscreen of mobile communication device as taught by Maggenti to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar for purpose of storing the recorded the communication between users on the server.
Regarding claim 89, Rosenberg discloses an apparatus for multiple Global Positioning System directed meeting, the apparatus including:
at least one server that executes operations including (FIG. 1):
mediating electronic communications, over a network between a first mobile computing device and a second mobile computing device (par. 0042, “first and second mobile phones 111 and 112 may transmit locative data for each mobile phone to the other mobile phone (i.e., first mobile phone 111 has access to locative data representing the location of second mobile phone 112 and second mobile phone 112 has access to locative data representing the location of first mobile phone 111). This data transfer may be provided by direct messaging from phone to phone. This data transfer may be provided by locative server 100 acting to receive, store, and transmit data through a location tracking service.”), and
initiating, by said communications, the meeting involving the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (par. 0035, “a meeting locator system may be implemented as a managed service (e.g., in an ASP model) using a locative server 100, which is connected or connectable to one or more networks”, par. 0042, par. 0053, “the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who is within a certain physical proximity of the user.”), including:
sending a location for the meeting to the first mobile computing device, and sending the location to the second mobile computing device (par. 0053, “the users engage the functionalities supported by the meeting locator system exemplarily described herein. The meeting locator system may be engaged when a user of one or both of the mobile phones engages a respective manual user interface. In some embodiments, the users may configure their mobile phones to automatically engage the meeting locator system whenever a phone call is placed to another user who also has a mobile phone with spatial location tracking functionality”);
associating at least one of an annotation and an overlay with a map, and communicating to the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device to allow rendering a visual presentation of said at least one in association with the map (par. 0055, “Upon receiving locative data from mobile phone 200', circuitry supported by mobile phone 200 is operative to overlay a graphical icon (or other indicator) of mobile phone 200' upon the visual map 202 displayed upon the screen of mobile phone 200. An exemplary embodiment of such an overlaid graphical icon is shown in FIG. 3A as a blue overlaid graphical element 310. Graphical element 310 is generated (e.g., drawn) as a graphical tab with a pointed end 310a having a tip 310b representing the current location of mobile phone 200' with respect to the visual map 202.”);
determining, based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the first mobile computing device and based on real-time Global Positioning System received location information for the second mobile computing device, driving directions to the location, walking directions to the location, or both (par. 0068-0069, “Dtotal may be estimated simply as the linear distance between the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200 and the GPS coordinate for mobile phone 200'… the visual map 202 may include the spatial locations of roads and paths that lie in the intervening distance between mobile phone 200 and 200' and it may be assumed that the users will use these roads and paths… The mode of travel may be indicated by a mode-of-travel icon 335 upon the display screen 201. As shown, the mode-of-travel icon 335 indicates that the user is currently in a walking mode of travel. Other modes of travel may be specified by the user including jogging, bicycle riding, and driving modes of travel”); and
sending the directions to at least one of the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device to facilitate the meeting (par. 0082, “the graphical line 312b is useful for the user for it represents the most likely route between the two users and it may therefore assist the user in visually planning a meeting location that lies between the two users.”).
However, Rosenberg fails to disclose the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Sivavakeesar discloses the communications from said at least one maintain first user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected first user identity for the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device, and maintain second user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device, and electronically send an expected second user identity for the second mobile computing device to the first mobile computing device (FIG. 13B, par. 0098-0102, “the server application 160 will check whether the anonymous interaction/communication requires the parties involved to be online in 1374... the server application 160 will establish a communication channel in 1382 between a second registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a second registered entity (Segment 1) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used. If the operation of 1382 is successful, the server application 160 will further establish a communication channel in 1384 between a first registered entity and the server created profile corresponding to a first registered entity (Segment 2) using the VoIP/V2IP/IM/SNS service used... If the operation of 1384 is successful, the server application 160 will subsequently link/map Segment 1 and Segment 2 in 1386”, par. 0046, for exchanging unique profile identifiers in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users, “The server application 160 comprises a multitude of functionalities namely online profile creation/maintenance (e.g., editing/deleting) functionality 162 whereby the server application 160 liaises with the profile database 130 in order to assign unique profile identifiers (termed Profile-IDs) on a successful main profile creation and activation by any entity/user for the first time, virtual business card exchange and viewing functionality 166, pull service functionality 174 in case the server application 160 needs to accept various queries having one or plurality of search criteria/filters pertaining to directory entries and to return results satisfying the queries, proxy server functionality 164 in order to enable anonymous interaction/communication among the registered users who happen to be total strangers to each other and hence do not know each other's exact contact information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate enabling anonymous interaction/communication between registered users of a server as taught by Sivavakeesar to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg for purpose of enabling anonymous communication between registered users.
However, Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar fail to disclose the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during an in-person meeting.
In the same field of endeavor, Maggenti discloses the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a graphical user interface configured to display an indicator of external monitoring in progress and configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn on/off recording, at the first mobile computing device during an in-person meeting (FIG.1 and FIG. 5, par. 0070, “The talker may use one or more keys on the device to indicate that recording may commence. In various embodiments a dedicated recording key may be provided on the device, or a software key may be assigned as a "start to record" key”; par. 0064, “The recording may be implemented with various recording methods such as retaining the as-received message stream representing the voice segment, or decoding the stream and simultaneously reproducing the audio on the device's earpiece as well as retaining the decoded stream” ; Par. 0046, “The device typically includes a display 505 that may comprise an LCD or OLED display. In some embodiments, the display may include touch screen capability.”).
It is well-known in the art and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in that the soft button functionalities to apply to the touch screen, as disclosed by Maggenti, to provide a key for preforming the functionality such as "start to record".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a software key on a touchscreen of mobile communication device as taught by Maggenti to the meeting locator system and method for the first and second users of the first and second mobile phones as disclosed by Rosenberg as modified by Sivavakeesar for purpose of storing the recorded the communication between users on the server.
Conclusion
Claim(s) 59-66 and 77-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacNiven (20140280532) view of Ursitti et al (20190208398).
Regarding claims 59, 88 and 89 MacNiven discloses, a method of facilitating proximity-based communication (abstract, fig. 1-5), the method including:
establishing, by a server (102, fig. 1), proximity-based communication between a first mobile computing device and a mobile second computing device, including by instructing the first mobile computing device to provide real-time updatable Global Positioning System( GPS, ¶ 029) received location information comprising a current location, the first mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a first graphical user interface (08-09, 029), and such that communications from the server maintain user anonymity with respect to the second mobile computing device, and by instructing the second mobile computing device to provide real-time updatable Global Positioning System-received location information comprising a current location, the second mobile computing device specifically programmed to communicate with the server including via a second graphical user interface, and such that communications from the server maintain user anonymity with respect to the first mobile computing device (¶ 028-030 and 037); facilitating, by the server, an in-person meeting involving the first mobile computing device and the second mobile computing device (¶ 028-030 and 037, fig. 1-5).
MacNiven does not specifically disclose in detail, monitoring the real-time updatable Global Positioning System-received location information of the first mobile computing device for a changed current location of the first mobile computing device, whereby the changed current location of the first mobile computing device is automatically included in an update of the graphical user interface of the second mobile computing device, and monitoring the real-time updatable Global Positioning System-received location information of the second mobile computing device for a changed current location of the second mobile computing device, whereby the changed current location of the second mobile computing device is automatically.
In the same field of endeavor, Ursitti et al discloses in more detail, monitoring the real-time updatable Global Positioning System-received location information of the first mobile computing device for a changed current location of the first mobile computing device, whereby the changed current location of the first mobile computing device is automatically included in an update of the graphical user interface of the second mobile computing device, and monitoring the real-time updatable Global Positioning System-received location 10information of the second mobile computing device for a changed current location of the second mobile computing device, whereby the changed current location of the second mobile computing device is automatically (¶ 006, 057, fig. 1-14). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MacNiven by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The software application automatically alerts second user of first user's distance from final destination and from which direction the second user is arriving as soon the invitation is accepted as taught by Ursitti et al.
Regarding claims 60-62, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further MacNiven discloses, further including updating the first graphical user interface, including associating at least one of an annotation and an overlay with a map to allow rendering a visual presentation showing the changed current location of the first mobile computing device and the changed current location of the second mobile computing device in association with the map (¶ 028-030 and 037, fig. 1-5, and Ursitti et al ¶ 006, 015, 057, 062, fig. 1-14, overlap).
Regarding claims 62-64, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further Ursitti et al discloses, wherein the directions sent to the second mobile computing device include walking directions (Ursitti et al ¶ 006, 015, 057, 062, fig. 1-14, travel by walking).
Regarding claims 65-67, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further Ursitti et al disclose, wherein the server executes operations including: associating a communication, received from a location in a restaurant, with the meeting, and in response thereto, communicating to the graphical user interface of the first mobile computing device to carry out the meeting so as to include a delivery (Ursitti et al ¶ 003, 006, 015, 057, fig. 1-14).
Regarding claims 77-82, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further MacNiven disclose, wherein the first graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface, or both is configured to display an activatable toggle or icon to turn external monitoring on/off, the external monitoring including recording at the mobile computing device during the meeting (¶ 028-030, 038, icon).
Regarding claims 83, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further Ursitti et al disclose, further including dynamically adjusting, in real-time, the graphical user interface of the mobile computing device, the dynamically adjusting based at least in part on proximity of the first mobile computing device to the second mobile computing device (006, real-time, dynamically updated proximity detail data, wherein the proximity detail data is viewable on the recipient device and the source device).
Claim(s) 69-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacNiven (20140280532) view of Ursitti et al (20190208398) and Warden et al (20230316321).
Regarding claims 69-76, MacNiven and Ursitti et al disclose in claim 59, further Ursitti et al and MacNiven do not specifically disclose in detail, associating a traffic overlay with a map.
In the same field of endeavor, Warden et al discloses in more detail, associating a traffic overlay with a map (¶ 088-089, a traffic overlay as is conventionally seem on graphical maps, such as in a web browser or on a personal navigation device. Areas on the map may be shaded in red, orange, yellow, or green to indicate varying degrees of GD points awarded at particular locations/areas on the map. Red areas may indicate least GD points per vehicle while green represents the most. A user may view the overlay when requesting route directions from a navigation device 169 or other device). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MacNiven and MacNiven by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the system performs enhanced optimization of the monitoring of driver-defined combinations of characteristics that permits reduced processing load and sensor utilization as taught by Warden et al.
Conclusion
a. Rademaker -US 20160247113 A1- discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR SERVICING CURB-SIDE DELIVERIES.
b. Connors -US 20130035856 A1- discloses CONTENT CHANGEABLE SMART PHONE APPLICATION FOR NAVIGABLE VENUES AND MULTI-PARTY NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM.
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643