DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 9/1/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2020/0391465).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a variable pressure controlled injection method comprising:
(a) providing an injection molding system comprising a first variable pressure mold and a second variable pressure mold (par. 0021-0022; Fig. 2; variable pressure injection molds 200; only labeled on one side of the drawing) are disposed to one another corresponding to a foaming molding space (210), and the variable pressure injection molds both comprise:
(i) a mold body (par. 0022 – explains that the reference number is omitted); and (ii) a variable pressure porous layer (“variable pressure air discharge layer” 220 having “variable pressure pores” 221; par. 0022-0023);
(b) injecting a first foaming material (400) into the foam molding space (210) (par. 0026); and
(c) performing a foaming step, wherein the first variable pressure mold applies a first pressure, and the second variable pressure mold applies a second pressure to the foaming material (from opposite sides of the system as shown in Fig. 2), and then the material is heated (par. 0028) to form the product.
Wang does not disclose that the first and second pressures (as applied from each of the sides) are different from each other as is required in the claim.
However, Wang does teach (par. 0027) that as the foaming material expands, the air that is originally in the foaming material space is pressed into the variable pressure pores above, as to balance and regulate the internal pressure of the mold (par. 0027, 0030). Thus, it appears from these teachings, that the applied pressure(s) from each side would be dependent upon the amount of air originally in the space as well as the foaming material within the space, and would be performed as to balance the conditions present. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified that the first/second pressures are applied as to have compensated for the expansion of the foaming material, as is required in the claims.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the variable pressure injection molds have a porous surface with a diameter of the variable pressure pores is 100-300 microns (par. 0022), overlapping with the clamed range of 200-700 microns.
It has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have specified that the diameter of the pores is as required in the claim.
Regarding claims 3-5, Wang discloses the subject matter of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not appear to explicitly describe a duration of the pressure being applied.
However, as is explained above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified the pressure(s) as an optimization of the internal pressure of the mold as is also outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the foaming material is a plastic foaming material (par. 0021).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742