DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim states, “the temperature sensor detects an user's body temperature through the internal aperture” Examiner presumes claim to be, “the temperature sensor detects a user's body temperature through the internal aperture”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howell et al (US Pub. 20210364828).
Regarding claim 1, Howell discloses:
A connecting assembly, configured for setting on a frame of a pair of smart glasses to electrically connect left and right temples of the smart glasses, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 65. Describes as a temple tip grabs onto the main body of the temple, a connector at the temple tip (such as a female connector) can make electrical contact with another connector (such as a male connector) at the main body of the temple. Typically, particularly before a pair of glasses has been extensively worn, the temple tip can be removed and re-inserted back on to the main body of the temple without much difficulty) comprising:
A connecting wire being configured with first and second smart hinges at two opposite ends thereof, respectively, the first smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the left temple, and the second smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraphs 82, 84. Describes the multi-part temple 1300 has a forward part 1302 and a rearward part 1304. Alternatively, a cable can be connected to the forward part 1302 when the rearward part 1304 is removed. The cable can facilitate data transfer, battery charging, etc, depending on the electrical components in the forward part 1302. Para. 84, describes: the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection); and
A sensor unit being provided on the connecting wire and electrically connected to the first smart hinge and/or the second smart hinge through the connecting wire, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 122, 127, 131-132, 135, 156. Describes one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. Para. 127, describes: More generally, a pair of glasses can include one or more sensors that can be used individually or in combination. Examples of sensors suitable for use in or attached to the glasses. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch. Para. 135, describes: two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information. Para. 156, describes: For example, if the temple arrangement, temple adapter or removable temple part provides a speaker and microphone to a pair of eyeglasses, a switch on a cable or cord that connects the temple arrangement or temple adapter to an electronic device could provide different switch positions for different electronic devices or different functional modes of operation of a single electronic device).
Regarding claim 2, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit is electrically connected to the connecting wire in a detachable manner, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 109, 127, 132. Describes for example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation. Para. 127, describes: More generally, a pair of glasses can include one or more sensors that can be used individually or in combination. Examples of sensors suitable for use in or attached to the glasses. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 3, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one sensor and a mechanical housing accommodating the at least one sensor therein, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H, 5 and paragraphs 84, 122, 132. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 122, describes: one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 4, Howell discloses:
Wherein the connecting wire is electrically connected to the at least one sensor through welding, plugging, pressing or an electrical connector, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraph 84. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection).
Regarding claim 5, Howell discloses:
Wherein a data transmission interface is provided on the mechanical housing and electrically connected to the at least one sensor, and a data transmission connector is provided at an end of the connecting wire and electrically connected to the data transmission interface through plugging, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraphs 84, 82, 135. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 82, describes: Alternatively, a cable can be connected to the forward part 1302 when the rearward part 1304 is removed. The cable can facilitate data transfer, battery charging, etc, depending on the electrical components in the forward part 1302. Para. 135, describes: two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information).
Regarding claim 7, Howell discloses:
Wherein a wireless communication unit is provided inside the mechanical housing to transmit detected data of the sensor to a processor set in one of the first smart hinge, the second smart hinge, the left temple and the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 109, 135. Describes for example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation. Para. 135, describes: For reduced power consumption, the sensors can remain in a low-power state unless data is being acquired by the sensors. In yet another embodiment, two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information).
Regarding claim 8, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises a sensor and/or an indicator light packaged as an integrated structure, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 77, 122, 132. Describes For example, the forward part of the temple can include one or more electronic components (e.g., integrated circuit) that are electrically connected to one or more electronic components in the rearward part. Para. 122, describes: one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 9, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one of a light sensor, a distance sensor, a gas sensor, an inertial sensor, a camera sensor and a sound sensor, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraph 134. Describes another type of sensor is a condition sensor. The condition sensor can sense the conditions of the user of the glasses. Examples of condition sensors include sensing one or more of distance traveled, location, speed, calories consumed, temperature and vital signs associated with the user of the glasses).
Regarding claim 11, Howell discloses:
A smart glasses comprising a frame, a left temple, a right temple and the connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting wire of the connecting assembly is fixed onto the frame, and the left temple and the right temple are electrically connected through the connecting wire, (at least refer to fig. 3, 11B and paragraphs 93, 172. Describes For example, each connector can be coupled to one or more electrical wires at the other connector so that wires from one part are able to be connected to corresponding wires on the other part. As a result, electrical component(s) in the rearward part are able to be electrically connected with electrical component(s) in the forward part 1390 (or elsewhere in the eyeglass frame). Para. 172, describes: a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104).
Regarding claim 17, Howell discloses:
Wherein one end of the first smart hinge is configured to hinge with the frame, and another end of the first smart hinge is configured to achieve electrical connection with the left temple after being plugged in the left temple; and one end of the second smart hinge is configured to hinge with the frame, and another end of the second smart hinge is configured to achieve electrical connection with the right temple after being plugged in the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3, 11B and paragraphs 93, 172. Describes For example, each connector can be coupled to one or more electrical wires at the other connector so that wires from one part are able to be connected to corresponding wires on the other part. As a result, electrical component(s) in the rearward part are able to be electrically connected with electrical component(s) in the forward part 1390 (or elsewhere in the eyeglass frame). Para. 172, describes: a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104).
Regarding claim 18, Howell discloses:
Wherein one end of the first smart hinge is configured to hinge with the frame, and another end of the first smart hinge is integrally connected to the left temple; and one end of the second smart hinge is configured to hinge with the frame, and another end of the second smart hinge is integrally connected to the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3, 11B and paragraphs 93, 172. Describes For example, each connector can be coupled to one or more electrical wires at the other connector so that wires from one part are able to be connected to corresponding wires on the other part. As a result, electrical component(s) in the rearward part are able to be electrically connected with electrical component(s) in the forward part 1390 (or elsewhere in the eyeglass frame). Para. 172, describes: a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al (US Pub. 20210364828) in view of Miyazaki (US Pub. 20180049664).
Regarding claim 6, Howell discloses:
first smart hinge, and the second smart hinge, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraph 84. Describes the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324).
Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the connecting wire comprises a first segment and a second segment, each of the first and second segments is provided with one data transmission connector, and the mechanical housing is provided with two data transmission interfaces; one end of the first segment is electrically connected to the first smart hinge, and another end the first segment is connected to the mechanical housing; and one end of the second segment is electrically connected to the second smart hinge, and another end of the second segment is connected to the mechanical housing.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the connecting wire comprises a first segment and a second segment, each of the first and second segments is provided with one data transmission connector, and the mechanical housing is provided with two data transmission interfaces; one end of the first segment is electrically connected to the first smart hinge, and another end the first segment is connected to the mechanical housing; and one end of the second segment is electrically connected to the second smart hinge, and another end of the second segment is connected to the mechanical housing, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 54-56, 74. Describes the left part of the FPC 24 is received such that the left part extends through the FPC compartment 29 in the left rim 5, the FPC compartment 30 in the left hinge 8, and the left electronic-component compartment 16. Para. 55, describes: the right part of the FPC 24 is received such that the right part extends through the FPC compartment 31 in the right rim 6, the FPC compartment 32 in the right hinge 9, and the right electronic-component compartment 19. Para. 56, describes: an FPC compartment 33 is defined between the half portions 7A and 7B. Thud, the left part and the right part of the FPC 24 join in the FPC compartment 33 in the bridge 7. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13)
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of an eye glasses with electrical component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sensory mechanical housing as taught by Miyazaki with the electrical component of an eye glasses as disclose by Howell. The motivation to combine the reference of Miyazaki is to detect the users characteristic and surrounding environmental characteristic.
Regarding claim 12, Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the frame is provided with a receiving groove, and the sensor unit is detachably installed in the receiving groove.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the frame is provided with a receiving groove, and the sensor unit is detachably installed in the receiving groove, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraph 71. Describes the FPC 24 is attached to and pressed against an inner wall surface of the outer half portion 7B of the bridge 7 by a casing 57 of the human characteristic detecting unit 50 such that the main surface of the FPC 24 extends substantially vertically. Consequently, the FPC 24 is prevented from floating in the bridge 7, thus maintaining stable holding of the FPC 24)
Regarding the rejection of claim 12, refer to the motivation of claim 6.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al (US Pub. 20210364828) in view of Miyazaki (US Pub. 20180049664) in further view of Travers et al (US Pub. 20210103146).
Regarding claim 13, Howell discloses:
Wherein the frame comprises the sensor unit comprises a distance sensor, wherein the distance sensor detects a distance information of a target object in the peripheral environment, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 130, 134. Describes one sensor can be at approximately the middle of a temple, such as in a region that touches the head of the user wearing the glasses. Para. 134, describes: the condition sensor can sense the conditions of the user of the glasses. Examples of condition sensors include sensing one or more of distance traveled, location, speed, calories consumed, temperature and vital signs associated with the user of the glasses. The distance traveled could represent the horizontal distance traveled or the vertical distance (i.e., elevation) traveled. The speed can be the rate of movement along the horizontal distance traveled and/or the vertical distance).
Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove; and the sensor unit comprises a distance sensor, wherein the distance sensor detects a distance information of a target object in the peripheral environment through the external aperture.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 71, 74. Describes the FPC 24 is attached to and pressed against an inner wall surface of the outer half portion 7B of the bridge 7 by a casing 57 of the human characteristic detecting unit 50 such that the main surface of the FPC 24 extends substantially vertically. Consequently, the FPC 24 is prevented from floating in the bridge 7, thus maintaining stable holding of the FPC 24. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13);
Howell and Miyazaki do not disclose:
wherein sensor detects through the external aperture
Travers teaches:
sensor detects through the external aperture, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 64. Describes another camera may also be disposed within the nose bridge section 24)
The three references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of an eye glasses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an aperture on the bridge of the glasses as taught by Travers with the sensory mechanical housing as taught by Miyazaki with the electrical component of an eye glasses as disclose by Howell. The motivation to combine the reference of Travers is to capture images of surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 14, Howell discloses:
the sensor unit comprises a light sensor, wherein the light sensor detects an ambient light information of the target object in the peripheral environment, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 130, 133. Describes one sensor can be at approximately the middle of a temple, such as in a region that touches the head of the user wearing the glasses. Para. 133, describes: another type of sensor is an environmental sensor. The environmental sensor can sense environmental conditions, such as one or more of radiation (e.g., ultraviolet radiation or light), temperature (e.g., ambient temperature)).
Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove; and the sensor unit comprises a light sensor, wherein the light sensor detects an ambient light information of the target object in the peripheral environment through the external aperture
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 71, 74. Describes the FPC 24 is attached to and pressed against an inner wall surface of the outer half portion 7B of the bridge 7 by a casing 57 of the human characteristic detecting unit 50 such that the main surface of the FPC 24 extends substantially vertically. Consequently, the FPC 24 is prevented from floating in the bridge 7, thus maintaining stable holding of the FPC 24. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13);
Howell and Miyazaki do not disclose:
wherein sensor detects through the external aperture
Travers teaches:
sensor detects through the external aperture, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 64. Describes another camera may also be disposed within the nose bridge section 24)
Regarding the rejection of claim 14, refer to the motivation of claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove; and the sensor unit comprises a camera sensor, wherein the camera sensor captures image of a target object in the peripheral environment through the external aperture.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the frame comprises two accommodating parts and a bridge connected between the two accommodating parts, the receiving groove is defined at an inner side of the bridge, and an outer side of the bridge is provided with an external aperture at a position corresponding to the receiving groove, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 71, 74. Describes the FPC 24 is attached to and pressed against an inner wall surface of the outer half portion 7B of the bridge 7 by a casing 57 of the human characteristic detecting unit 50 such that the main surface of the FPC 24 extends substantially vertically. Consequently, the FPC 24 is prevented from floating in the bridge 7, thus maintaining stable holding of the FPC 24. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13);
Howell and Miyazaki do not disclose:
the sensor unit comprises a camera sensor, wherein the camera sensor captures image of a target object in the peripheral environment through the external aperture
Travers teaches:
the sensor unit comprises a camera sensor, wherein the camera sensor captures image of a target object in the peripheral environment through the external aperture, (at least refer to fig. 5, 26 and paragraphs 64, 117. Describes another camera may also be disposed within the nose bridge section 24. Para. 117, describes: The camera assembly 12 and the processor 54 may also combine the real-world image captured by the camera assembly 12 and the data displayed to the wearer as a virtual image to obtain a final captured image that may be stored for future retrieval and/or transmitted to other devices)
Regarding the rejection of claim 15, refer to the motivation of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor, and the temperature sensor detects an user's body temperature through the internal aperture, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 130, 122. Describes the “being worn” sensor includes two thermal sensors. One sensor can be at approximately the middle of a temple, such as in a region that touches the head of the user wearing the glasses. Para. 122, describes: one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. The temperature sensor can be used to sense the temperature of the wearer. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. One can also put the temple under one's tongue to measure body temperature).
Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor, an open side of the receiving groove faces an inner side of the frame, and a cover is fixed onto the open side of the receiving groove, the cover is provided an internal aperture, and the temperature sensor detects an user's body temperature through the internal aperture.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor, an open side of the receiving groove faces an inner side of the frame, and a cover is fixed onto the open side of the receiving groove, the cover is provided an internal aperture, and the temperature sensor detects an user's body temperature, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 39, 71, 74. Describes The human characteristic detecting unit 50 detects the potential (e.g., eye potential) of the surface of the nose of a human. The detection can be used to obtain a variety of information, for example, information on fatigue of human eyes, based on the temperature of the skin. Para. 71, describes: the FPC 24 is attached to and pressed against an inner wall surface of the outer half portion 7B of the bridge 7 by a casing 57 of the human characteristic detecting unit 50 such that the main surface of the FPC 24 extends substantially vertically. Consequently, the FPC 24 is prevented from floating in the bridge 7, thus maintaining stable holding of the FPC 24. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13)
Howell and Miyazaki do not explicitly disclose:
sensor detects through the internal aperture
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 02/19/2026