DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 11 and 16 have been amended. Claim 19 has been added. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on pages 6-9 of the Remarks that Claim 1 recites limitations that have not been disclosed, taught, or even suggested by Howell et al, “a connecting assembly, configured for setting on a frame of a pair of smart glasses to electrically connect left and right temples of the smart glasses”
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Howell describes electrically connection of left and right temples in fig. 3H, 11A and paragraph 84, “Once connected together, the connector 1326 of the forward part 1322 is inserted into the corresponding connector 1328, thereby mechanically coupling the rearward part 1324 to the forward part 1322. Once mechanically coupled the rearward part 1324 is secured to the forward part 1322, but remains removable. Additionally, the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires.” Howell also describes electrically connection of temples with frame in Paragraph 109, “For example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation.” Howell further describes electrically connection of temples with frame in Paragraph 171, “the pair of glasses 1100 includes a pair of temples, namely, a first temple 1108 and a second temple 1110. The first extended endpiece 1112 connects to the first temple1108 via a joint (or hinge) 1114. The second extended endpiece1113connects to the second temple 1110 via a joint (or hinge) 1115. As a result, the respective joints (or hinges) 1114 and 1115 are set back from the respective lens holders 1102 and 1104. For example, in one embodiment, the hinge 1115 is set back from the lens holder 1104 by about 1 to 5 centimeters. One advantage of utilizing enlarged (or extended) endpieces 1112 and 1113 as illustrated in FIG. 11A is that electrical components 1116 are able to be comfortably provided in the extended endpieces 1112 and 1113” Howell describes the above limitation.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on pages 6-9 of the Remarks that Claim 1 recites limitations that have not been disclosed, taught, or even suggested by Howell et al, “a connecting wire being configured with first and second smart hinges at two opposite ends thereof, respectively, the first smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the left temple, and the second smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the right temple”
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Howell describes electrically connection wires with left and right temples in fig. 3H, 11A and paragraph 84, “An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires” Howell also describes connection through hinges in Paragraph 171, “the pair of glasses 1100 includes a pair of temples, namely, a first temple 1108 and a second temple 1110. The first extended endpiece 1112 connects to the first temple1108 via a joint (or hinge) 1114. The second extended endpiece1113connects to the second temple 1110 via a joint (or hinge) 1115. As a result, the respective joints (or hinges) 1114 and 1115 are set back from the respective lens holders 1102 and 1104. For example, in one embodiment, the hinge 1115 is set back from the lens holder 1104 by about 1 to 5 centimeters. One advantage of utilizing enlarged (or extended) endpieces 1112 and 1113 as illustrated in FIG. 11A is that electrical components 1116 are able to be comfortably provided in the extended endpieces 1112 and 1113” Howell further describes connection wires through hinges in fig. 11B and Paragraph 172, “a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104.” Howell describes the above limitation.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on pages 6-9 of the Remarks that Claim 1 recites limitations that have not been disclosed, taught, or even suggested by Howell et al, “a sensor unit being provided on the connecting wire and electrically connected to the first smart hinge and/or the second smart hinge through the connecting wire”
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Howell describes electrically connection wires of sensor by the hinge in fig. 11A-B and paragraph 132, “For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch. When that temple is in its extended position, i.e., fully extended outwards, the switch is turned on. The switch can be a pin-type switch. When the temple is fully extended outwards, the pin is pressed.” Howell further describes connection wires of sensor in fig. 11B and Paragraph 135, “the sensor information can be processed in a differential manner to examine changes to the sensor information. Two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information” Howell describes the above limitation. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howell et al (US Pub. 20210364828).
Regarding claim 1, Howell discloses:
A connecting assembly, configured for setting on a frame of a pair of smart glasses to electrically connect left and right temples of the smart glasses, (at least refer to fig. 3H, 11 and paragraphs 84, 109, 171. Describes Once connected together, the connector 1326 of the forward part 1322 is inserted into the corresponding connector 1328, thereby mechanically coupling the rearward part 1324 to the forward part 1322. Once mechanically coupled the rearward part 1324 is secured to the forward part 1322, but remains removable. Additionally, the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. Para. 109, describes: For example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation. Para.171, describes the pair of glasses 1100 includes a pair of temples, namely, a first temple 1108 and a second temple 1110. The first extended endpiece 1112 connects to the first temple1108 via a joint (or hinge) 1114. The second extended endpiece1113connects to the second temple 1110 via a joint (or hinge) 1115. As a result, the respective joints (or hinges) 1114 and 1115 are set back from the respective lens holders 1102 and 1104. For example, in one embodiment, the hinge 1115 is set back from the lens holder 1104 by about 1 to 5 centimeters. One advantage of utilizing enlarged (or extended) endpieces 1112 and 1113 as illustrated in FIG. 11A is that electrical components 1116 are able to be comfortably provided in the extended endpieces 1112 and 1113) comprising:
A connecting wire being configured with first and second smart hinges at two opposite ends thereof, respectively, the first smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the left temple, and the second smart hinge being configured for electrically connecting the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraphs 84, 171-172. Describes the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 171, describes: the pair of glasses 1100 includes a pair of temples, namely, a first temple 1108 and a second temple 1110. The first extended endpiece 1112 connects to the first temple1108 via a joint (or hinge) 1114. The second extended endpiece1113connects to the second temple 1110 via a joint (or hinge) 1115. As a result, the respective joints (or hinges) 1114 and 1115 are set back from the respective lens holders 1102 and 1104. For example, in one embodiment, the hinge 1115 is set back from the lens holder 1104 by about 1 to 5 centimeters. One advantage of utilizing enlarged (or extended) endpieces 1112 and 1113 as illustrated in FIG. 11A is that electrical components 1116 are able to be comfortably provided in the extended endpieces 1112 and 1113. Para. 172, describes: a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104); and
A sensor unit being provided on the connecting wire and electrically connected to the first smart hinge and/or the second smart hinge through the connecting wire, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5, 11 and paragraphs 132, 135, 156. Describes the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch. When that temple is in its extended position, i.e., fully extended outwards, the switch is turned on. The switch can be a pin-type switch. When the temple is fully extended outwards, the pin is pressed. Para. 135, describes: the sensor information can be processed in a differential manner to examine changes to the sensor information. Two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information. Para. 156, describes: For example, if the temple arrangement, temple adapter or removable temple part provides a speaker and microphone to a pair of eyeglasses, a switch on a cable or cord that connects the temple arrangement or temple adapter to an electronic device could provide different switch positions for different electronic devices or different functional modes of operation of a single electronic device).
Regarding claim 2, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit is electrically connected to the connecting wire in a detachable manner, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 109, 127, 132. Describes for example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation. Para. 127, describes: More generally, a pair of glasses can include one or more sensors that can be used individually or in combination. Examples of sensors suitable for use in or attached to the glasses. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 3, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one sensor and a mechanical housing accommodating the at least one sensor therein, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H, 5 and paragraphs 84, 122, 132. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 122, describes: one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 4, Howell discloses:
Wherein the connecting wire is electrically connected to the at least one sensor through welding, plugging, pressing or an electrical connector, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraph 84. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch. When that temple is in its extended position, i.e., fully extended outwards, the switch is turned on. The switch can be a pin-type switch. When the temple is fully extended outwards, the pin is pressed).
Regarding claim 5, Howell discloses:
Wherein a data transmission interface is provided on the mechanical housing and electrically connected to the at least one sensor, and a data transmission connector is provided at an end of the connecting wire and electrically connected to the data transmission interface through plugging, (at least refer to fig. 3F-3H and paragraphs 84, 82, 135. Describes an electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. For example, the electrical connection can provide electrical connections for one or more electrical wires. An example of one suitable type of connector is a USB connector which can provide mechanical and electrical connection. Para. 82, describes: Alternatively, a cable can be connected to the forward part 1302 when the rearward part 1304 is removed. The cable can facilitate data transfer, battery charging, etc, depending on the electrical components in the forward part 1302. Para. 135, describes: two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information).
Regarding claim 7, Howell discloses:
Wherein a wireless communication unit is provided inside the mechanical housing to transmit detected data of the sensor to a processor set in one of the first smart hinge, the second smart hinge, the left temple and the right temple, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 109, 135, 132. Describes for example, when a selected temple part is connected to the connector and an eyeglass frame is connected to the other connector, an electrical components within the eyeglass frame is electrically connected to an electrical component in the temple part, and together can perform an electrical operation. Para. 135, describes: For reduced power consumption, the sensors can remain in a low-power state unless data is being acquired by the sensors. In yet another embodiment, two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information).
Regarding claim 8, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises a sensor and/or an indicator light packaged as an integrated structure, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraphs 77, 122, 132. Describes For example, the forward part of the temple can include one or more electronic components (e.g., integrated circuit) that are electrically connected to one or more electronic components in the rearward part. Para. 122, describes: one electrical component can be a sensor. The sensor can be a temperature sensor. In measuring the temperature, the user can further press the temple tip towards his head to ensure better connection. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch).
Regarding claim 9, Howell discloses:
Wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one of a light sensor, a distance sensor, a gas sensor, an inertial sensor, a camera sensor and a sound sensor, (at least refer to fig. 3, 5 and paragraph 134. Describes another type of sensor is a condition sensor. The condition sensor can sense the conditions of the user of the glasses. Examples of condition sensors include sensing one or more of distance traveled, location, speed, calories consumed, temperature and vital signs associated with the user of the glasses).
Regarding claim 19, Howell discloses:
Smart glasses comprising a frame, a left temple, a right temple and the connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting wire of the connecting assembly is fixed onto the frame, and the left temple and the right temple are electrically connected through the connecting wire, (at least refer to fig. 3, 11B and paragraphs 93, 172. Describes For example, each connector can be coupled to one or more electrical wires at the other connector so that wires from one part are able to be connected to corresponding wires on the other part. As a result, electrical component(s) in the rearward part are able to be electrically connected with electrical component(s) in the forward part 1390 (or elsewhere in the eyeglass frame). Para. 172, describes: a conductive element (e.g., a wire) that electrically connects the module 1122 with the separate electrical component 1124 can be provided internal to the eyeglass frame, such as internal to the lens holder of 1104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al (US Pub. 20210364828) in view of Miyazaki (US Pub. 20180049664).
Regarding claim 6, Howell discloses:
first smart hinge, and the second smart hinge, (at least refer to fig. 3 and paragraphs 84, 132. Describes the connection of the connector 1326 and the corresponding connector 1328 can also provide an electrical connection. An electrical connection would serve to enable electrical components in the forward part 1322 (or other parts of an eyeglass frame) to electrically connect to electrical components in the rearward part 1324. Para. 132, describes: the “being worn” sensor can be a switch. For example, at the hinge between a temple and its corresponding lens holder, there is a switch. When that temple is in its extended position, i.e., fully extended outwards, the switch is turned on. The switch can be a pin-type switch. When the temple is fully extended outwards, the pin is pressed).
Howell does not disclose:
Wherein the connecting wire comprises a first segment and a second segment, each of the first and second segments is provided with one data transmission connector, and the mechanical housing is provided with two data transmission interfaces; one end of the first segment is electrically connected to the first smart hinge, and another end the first segment is connected to the mechanical housing; and one end of the second segment is electrically connected to the second smart hinge, and another end of the second segment is connected to the mechanical housing.
Miyazaki teaches:
Wherein the connecting wire comprises a first segment and a second segment, each of the first and second segments is provided with one data transmission connector, and the mechanical housing is provided with two data transmission interfaces; one end of the first segment is electrically connected to the first smart hinge, and another end the first segment is connected to the mechanical housing; and one end of the second segment is electrically connected to the second smart hinge, and another end of the second segment is connected to the mechanical housing, (at least refer to fig. 3, 9 and paragraphs 54-56, 74. Describes the left part of the FPC 24 is received such that the left part extends through the FPC compartment 29 in the left rim 5, the FPC compartment 30 in the left hinge 8, and the left electronic-component compartment 16. Para. 55, describes: the right part of the FPC 24 is received such that the right part extends through the FPC compartment 31 in the right rim 6, the FPC compartment 32 in the right hinge 9, and the right electronic-component compartment 19. Para. 56, describes: an FPC compartment 33 is defined between the half portions 7A and 7B. Thud, the left part and the right part of the FPC 24 join in the FPC compartment 33 in the bridge 7. Para. 74, describes: glasses-shaped electronic device 1 enables the FPC 24 to establish electrical connection between the battery 20 disposed in the left temple tip 11 and the electric circuitry 21 disposed in the right temple tip 13)
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of an eye glasses with electrical component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sensory mechanical housing as taught by Miyazaki with the electrical component of an eye glasses as disclose by Howell. The motivation to combine the reference of Miyazaki is to detect the users characteristic and surrounding environmental characteristic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art fails to disclose or suggest wherein the sensor unit comprises a circuit board and at least one sensor fixed on the circuit board, and two edge connectors are provided at two opposite edges of the circuit board, respectively; and wherein the connecting wire comprises a first segment and a second segment, a first gold finger is provided on the first segment and inserted into one of the two edge connectors, and a second gold finger is provided on the second segment and inserted into another one of the two edge connectors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 07/08/2026