DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s reply dated 4/7/26. Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14, 16-17, and 19-24 have been examined. Claims 3, 13, 15, and 18 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,979,924 in view of Chen (US 2014/0044040) - Park (WO 2015/156573) - Sadeghi (WO 2016/077701). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious variants of one another. For comparison, see the table below.
Instant Application
US 10,979,924
1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising at least one processor configured to cause the WTRU to:
receive reference measurement resource (RMR) configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling indicating one or more RMR configurations, wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations represents a set of resources, and
wherein the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations;
receive a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling, wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration, and wherein the measurement feedback configuration points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement configuration, a type of measurement to be performed using the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement feedback configuration, feedback resources for reporting at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, wherein the feedback resources comprise one or more uplink resources; and
report the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources that were determined based on the measurement feedback configuration.
1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: a processor configured to:
receive resource configuration information, wherein the resource configuration information includes information regarding reference signals that are to be used for reference signal measurement;
receive measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information indicates a feedback report to be generated by the WTRU;
the measurement configuration information indicates one or more types of measurements among a plurality of different measurement types to be reported in the feedback report, the plurality of different measurement types including a channel measurement and a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement; and
the measurement configuration information indicates a respective subset of the reference signals to be used to perform each of the one or more types of measurements;
determine, based on the measurement configuration information, whether each of the one or more types of measurements is to be reported at a wideband level or a subband level;
generate the feedback report based on the measurement configuration information; and transmit the feedback report to a network entity.
In view of
Chen [0048, 0061, 0067] - Park [p. 23-24] – Sadeghi [115].
11. A method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving reference measurement resource (RMR) configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling indicating one or more RMR configurations,
wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations represents a set of resources, and wherein the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations;
receiving a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling, wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration, and wherein the measurement feedback configuration points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determining, based on the measurement configuration, a type of measurement to be performed using the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determining, based on the measurement feedback configuration, feedback resources for reporting at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, wherein the feedback resources comprise one or more uplink resources; and
reporting the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources that were determined based on the measurement feedback configuration.
10. A method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving resource configuration information, wherein the resource configuration information includes information regarding reference signals that are to be used for reference signal measurement;
receiving measurement configuration information, wherein the measurement configuration information indicates a feedback report to be generated by the WTRU; the measurement configuration information indicates one or more types of measurements among a plurality of different measurement types to be reported in the feedback report, the plurality of different measurement types including a channel measurement and a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement; and the measurement configuration information indicates a respective subset of the reference signals to be used to perform each of one or more types of measurements;
determining, based on the measurement configuration information, whether each of the one or more types of measurements is to be reported at a wideband level or a subband level; generating the feedback report based on the measurement configuration information; and sending the feedback report to a network entity.
In view of
Chen [0048, 0061, 0067] - Park [p. 23-24] – Sadeghi [115].
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,545 in view of Chen (US 2014/0044040) - Park (WO 2015/156573) - Sadeghi (WO 2016/077701). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious variants of one another. For comparison, see the table below.
Instant Application
US 12,058,545
1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising at least one processor configured to cause the WTRU to:
receive reference measurement resource (RMR) configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling indicating one or more RMR configurations, wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations represents a set of resources, and
wherein the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations;
receive a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling, wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration, and wherein the measurement feedback configuration points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement configuration, a type of measurement to be performed using the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement feedback configuration, feedback resources for reporting at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, wherein the feedback resources comprise one or more uplink resources; and
report the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources that were determined based on the measurement feedback configuration.
1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: a processor configured to: receive resource configuration information that comprises a first resource element mapping for a first subset of reference signals, a first periodicity for the first subset of reference signals, a second resource element mapping for a second subset of reference signals, and a second periodicity for the second subset of reference signals; receive first measurement configuration information, the first measurement configuration information indicating that the WTRU is to perform a first type of measurement out of a plurality of types of measurements for feedback reporting using the first subset of the reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information and that the first type of measurement is a channel state information (CSI) measurement, wherein the first measurement configuration information indicates one or more first measurement feedback resources, the one or more first measurement feedback resources comprising one or more of time, frequency, code, or beam resources; receive second measurement configuration information, the second measurement configuration information indicating that the WTRU is to perform a second type of measurement out of a plurality of types of measurements for feedback reporting using the second subset of the reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information and that the second type of measurement is a received power measurement, wherein the second measurement configuration information indicates one or more second measurement feedback resources, the one or more second measurement feedback resource comprising one or more of time, frequency, code, or beam resources, wherein the one or more second measurement resources are different from the one or more first measurement feedback resources; perform the CSI measurement based on the resource configuration information and the first measurement configuration information to determine a CSI measurement value; perform the received power measurement based on the resource configuration information and the second measurement configuration information to determine a received power measurement value; and transmit the CSI measurement value using the one or more first measurement feedback resources indicated by the first measurement configuration information, and transmit the received power measurement value using the one or more second measurement feedback resources indicated by the second measurement configuration information.
In view of
Chen [0048, 0061, 0067] - Park [p. 23-24] – Sadeghi [115].
1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising at least one processor configured to cause the WTRU to:
receive reference measurement resource (RMR) configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling indicating one or more RMR configurations, wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations represents a set of resources, and
wherein the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations;
receive a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling, wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration, and wherein the measurement feedback configuraiton points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement configuration, a type of measurement to be performed using the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations;
determine, based on the measurement feedback configuration, feedback resources for reporting at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, wherein the feedback resources comprise one or more uplink resources; and
report the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources that were determined based on the measurement feedback configuration.
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising: a processor configured to: receive resource configuration information that comprises a first resource element mapping for a first subset of reference signals, a first periodicity for the first subset of reference signals, a second resource element mapping for a second subset of reference signals, and a second periodicity for the second subset of reference signals; receive first measurement configuration information, the first measurement configuration information indicating that the WTRU is to perform a first type of measurement out of a plurality of types of measurements for feedback reporting using the first subset of the reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information and that the first type of measurement is a channel state information (CSI) measurement, wherein the first measurement configuration information indicates one or more first measurement feedback resources, the one or more first measurement feedback resources comprising one or more of time, frequency, code, or beam resources; determine, based on the first measurement configuration information, whether the first type of measurement is to be reported at a wideband level or a subband level, and determine, based on the second measurement configuration information, whether the second type of measurement is to be reported at a wideband level or a subband level; receive second measurement configuration information, the second measurement configuration information indicating that the WTRU is to perform a second type of measurement out of a plurality of types of measurements for feedback reporting using the second subset of the reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information and that the second type of measurement is a received power measurement, wherein the second measurement configuration information indicates one or more second measurement feedback resources, the one or more second measurement feedback resource comprising one or more of time, frequency, code, or beam resources, wherein the one or more second measurement resources are different from the one or more first measurement feedback resources; perform the CSI measurement based on the resource configuration information and the first measurement configuration information to determine a CSI measurement value; perform the received power measurement based on the resource configuration information and the second measurement configuration information to determine a received power measurement value; and transmit the CSI measurement value using the one or more first measurement feedback resources indicated by the first measurement configuration information, and transmit the received power measurement value using the one or more second measurement feedback resources indicated by the second measurement configuration information.
In view of
Chen [0048, 0061, 0067] - Park [p. 23-24] – Sadeghi [115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12 and 14, 16-17, 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Chen (US 2014/0044040) in view of Park (WO 2015/156573) and further in view of Sadeghi (WO 2016/077701).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended),
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising at least one processor configured to cause the WTRU to:
receive reference measurement resource (RMR) configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling indicating one or more RMR configurations [Chen: 0060; a cell may configure a UE with a plurality of CSI-RS configurations for one or more purposes (step 512); the cell may send upper-layer signaling indicating the plurality of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE (step 514); 0063; a UE may be configured with two sets of CSI-RS configurations via upper-layer signaling; 0081; the UE may receive upper-layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) indicating the plurality of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE],
wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations represents a set of resources [Chen: 0039; LTE Release 10 and later supports a number of CSI-RS configurations; each CSI-RS configuration is associated with specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots in which CSI-RS may be transmitted; 0062; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CSI feedback) associated with the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CoMP set management) associated with the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe; the UE may also perform de-rate matching based on the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe and based on the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe], and
receive a measurement configuration … wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration, and wherein the measurement feedback configuration points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations [Chen: measurement configuration == active CSI-RS configuration; measurement feedback configuration == communication tasks (e.g. CSI reporting to cell) associated with active CSI-RS configuration; 0060; the cell may determine at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (step 518); the cell may send lower-layer signaling indicating the at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (step 520); 0061; the UE may perform at least one complementary communication task based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (step 524) … the UE may determine and report CSI and the cell may receive CSI feedback based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration; 0062; active CSI-RS configurations may be determined and applied in various manners; the UE may receive lower-layer signaling indicating that only the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a first subframe and that all five sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a second subframe; 0064; the UE may receive signaling indicating that only one set of CSI-RS configurations active; the UE may then perform communication tasks related to the active set of CSI-RS configuration; 0070; 0083; 0076; for CSI feedback, a UE may be configured with (i) one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for channel estimation and (ii) one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for interference estimation; the UE may perform channel estimation based on the set(s) of CSI-RS configurations designated for channel estimation and may perform interference estimation based on the set(s) of CSI-RS configurations designated for interference estimation; 0079; the UE may perform communication tasks such as de-rate matching, CSI feedback, CoMP set management, etc., based on the active CSI-RS configurations instead of the configured CSI-RS configurations; 0080; the at least one active CSI-RS configuration may include all or a subset of the plurality of CSI-RS configurations … the UE may perform at least one communication task based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (block 616); 0048; For example, the UE may be configured with a plurality of CSI-RS configurations for purposes such as CSI feedback, Coordinated MultiPoint (CoMP) set management, radio link management/radio resource management (RLM/RRM), etc.; CSI feedback may refer to reporting of CSI from a UE to a cell; 0097; 0102];
determine, based on the measurement configuration, a type of measurement to be performed using the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations [Chen: 0061; for example, the cell may perform rate matching and the UE may perform de-rate matching based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration; as another example, the UE may determine and report CSI and the cell may receive CSI feedback based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration; 0062; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CSI feedback) associated with the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CoMP set management) associated with the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe; the UE may also perform de-rate matching based on the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe and based on the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe; 0069; for example, one set of CSI-RS configurations for CSI channel measurement and one set of CSI-RS configurations for interference measurement may always be active for the UE; as another example, all non-zero-power CSI-RS configurations for the UE may always be active; 0086];
determine, based on the measurement feedback configuration, feedback resources for reporting at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, wherein the feedback resources comprise one or more uplink resources; and report the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources that were determined based on the measurement feedback configuration [Chen: 0039; each CSI-RS configuration is associated with specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots in which CSI-RS may be transmitted; 0061; the UE may perform at least one complementary communication task based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (step 524) … the UE may determine and report CSI and the cell may receive CSI feedback based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration; 0064; a UE may be configured with a first set of CSI-RS configurations for a first cell and a second set of CSI-RS configuration for a second cell; the first and second cells may correspond to two cells in a Node B, two carriers of the same eNB, two cells in two eNBs, etc.; the UE may receive signaling indicating that only one set of CSI-RS configurations active; the UE may then perform communication tasks related to the active set of CSI-RS configurations; 0070; the UE may perform de-rate matching only for active CSI-RS configurations and not for inactive CSI-RS configurations; the UE may perform de-rate matching for CSI-RS configurations for CSI feedback and CoMP set management and may not perform de-rate matching for CSI-RS configurations for RLM/RRM; 0076; for CSI feedback, a UE may be configured with (i) one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for channel estimation and (ii) one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for interference estimation; the UE may perform channel estimation based on the set(s) of CSI-RS configurations designated for channel estimation and may perform interference estimation based on the set(s) of CSI-RS configurations designated for interference estimation; 0079; the UE may perform communication tasks such as de-rate matching, CSI feedback, CoMP set management, etc., based on the active CSI-RS configurations instead of the configured CSI-RS configurations; 0080; the at least one active CSI-RS configuration may include all or a subset of the plurality of CSI-RS configurations … the UE may perform at least one communication task based on the at least one active CSI-RS configuration for the UE (block 616); 0097; 0102].
Note:
Specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots associated with each CSI-RS configuration, upon selection of an active CSI-RS configuration, are now associated with such an active CSI-RS configuration. These specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots associated with an active CSI-RS configuration are used for example in reporting a CSI feedback to a cell, thus reading on uplink feedback resources.
However, Chen does not teach that the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration ….
Park teaches:
wherein the RMR configuration information received via the RRC signaling comprises a respective RMR identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding set of resources associated with a RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations [Park: p. 23-24; the first CSI-RS configuration may include at least one of an ID, a low U physical cell ID, a first scrambling ID, first frequency / time resource location information, and a first subframe offset of the first CSI-RS configuration; the ID of the first CSI-RS configuration is used to identify each configuration when a plurality of CSI-RS configurations exist in the terminal; the physical cell ID included in the first CSI-RS configuration is used to identify a CRS / PSS / SSS capable of QCL assumption with the first CSI-RS].
However, Chen-Park does not teach a limitation which recites receiving a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling.
Sadeghi teaches:
receive a measurement configuration via the RRC signaling, wherein the measurement configuration is associated with a measurement feedback configuration that points to at least one of the one or more RMR configurations [Sadeghi: 0115; a measurement indication may include an indication to start or stop making one or more measurements which may be configured by physical layer and/or higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling; an indication of the start of active time for an LAA cell may enable measurements related to the LAA cell; an indication of the end of active time for an LAA cell or the completion of the duration (for example, an indicated duration) of the active time of the cell may disable measurements related to the LAA cell and/or enable measurements related to one or more other cells and/or users (or potential users) of a channel].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen, Park, and Sadeghi in order to efficiently transmit and receive a discovery signal in a wireless communication system [Park: p. 5] and to attempt to minimize interference and provide for fairness among the users of the spectrum [Sadeghi: 0061].
Regarding Claim 2,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the WTRU to report the at least one measurement based on an RMR ID for the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations [Chen: 0067; signaling may indicate whether each set of CSI-RS configurations is active; for example, a UE may be configured with N sets of CSI-RS configurations, where N may be any integer value of one or greater; a bitmap of N bits may be defined and may include one bit for each set of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE; each bit of the bitmap may be set to (i) a first value (e.g., `1`) if the set of CSI-RS configurations associated with that bit is active or (ii) a second value (e.g., `0`) if the associated set of CSI-RS configurations is not active; 0083; each bit of the bitmap may indicate whether an associated set of CSI-RS configurations is active for the UE; 0084; the second signaling may comprise a bitmap with at least one bit for the at least one group of CSI-RS configurations; each bit of the bitmap may indicate whether an associated group of CSI-RS configurations is active for the UE; 0091; the second signaling may comprise a bitmap with one bit for each set of CSI-RS configurations or one bit for each group of at least one set of CSI-RS configurations; 0070; in one example, the UE may perform de-rate matching only for active CSI-RS configurations and not for inactive CSI-RS configurations].
Regarding Claim 4 (Previously Presented),
wherein the measurement configuration indicates a trigger for reporting the at least one measurement associated with a first RMR configuration of the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the WTRU to:
detect the trigger for reporting the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations; and report the at least one measurement associated with the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations using the feedback resources based on detecting the trigger [Chen: trigger == signaling; 0062; the UE may receive lower-layer signaling indicating that only the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a first subframe and that all five sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a second subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CSI feedback) associated with the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CoMP set management) associated with the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe; 0065; signaling may be sent in various manners to indicate active CSI-RS configurations for a given UE; 0066; in one example, a base station/cell may send signaling on the PDCCH and/or ePDCCH to indicate which CSI-RS configurations are active; 0067; in one example, signaling may indicate whether each set of CSI-RS configurations is active. For example, a UE may be configured with N sets of CSI-RS configurations, where N may be any integer value of one or greater; a bitmap of N bits may be defined and may include one bit for each set of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE].
Regarding Claim 5,
wherein the measurement feedback configuration is received in downlink control information (DCI) [Chen: 0062; the UE may receive lower-layer signaling indicating that only the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a first subframe and that all five sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a second subframe; 0065; the group of UEs may monitor a multicast/groupcast channel (e.g., similar to DCI 3/3A group power control sent on the PDCCH in LTE) for signaling indicating active CSI-RS configurations and may perform de-rate matching and/or other communication tasks based on the signaling; 0066; in one example, a base station/cell may send signaling on the PDCCH and/or ePDCCH to indicate which CSI-RS configurations are active].
Regarding Claim 6 (Previously Presented),
wherein the at least one measurement is associated with a subset of resources of a first RMR configuration of the at least one of the one or more RMR configurations [Chen: 0062; the UE may receive lower-layer signaling indicating that only the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a first subframe and that all five sets of CSI-RS configurations are active in a second subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CSI feedback) associated with the first two sets of CSI-RS configurations in the first subframe; the UE may perform communication tasks (e.g., CoMP set management) associated with the five sets of CSI-RS configurations in the second subframe].
Regarding Claim 7 (Previously Presented),
the at least one processor is configured to cause the WTRU to:
receive first downlink control information indicates activation of at least a second RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations; and receive second DCI that indicates deactivation of at least the second RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations [Chen: 0065; the group of UEs may monitor a multicast/groupcast channel (e.g., similar to DCI 3/3A group power control sent on the PDCCH in LTE) for signaling indicating active CSI-RS configurations and may perform de-rate matching and/or other communication tasks based on the signaling; 0066; a base station/cell may send signaling on the PDCCH and/or ePDCCH to indicate which CSI-RS configurations are active; 0069; the sets of CSI-RS configurations for the UE may be arranged into (i) a primary group of CSI-RS configurations that is always active for the UE and (ii) one or more secondary groups of CSI-RS configurations that can be activated or deactivated for the UE; 0086; the plurality of CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration that can be activated or deactivated for a first communication task and is always active for a second communication task].
Regarding Claim 8,
wherein the first DCI and the second DCI reference the second RMR configuration associated with a second RMR ID [Chen: RMR ID == bit of bitmap set to “1”; 0065; the group of UEs may monitor a multicast/groupcast channel (e.g., similar to DCI 3/3A group power control sent on the PDCCH in LTE) for signaling indicating active CSI-RS configurations and may perform de-rate matching and/or other communication tasks based on the signaling; 0067; in one example, signaling may indicate whether each set of CSI-RS configurations is active; for example, a UE may be configured with N sets of CSI-RS configurations, where N may be any integer value of one or greater; a bitmap of N bits may be defined and may include one bit for each set of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE; each bit of the bitmap may be set to (i) a first value (e.g., `1`) if the set of CSI-RS configurations associated with that bit is active or (ii) a second value (e.g., `0`) if the associated set of CSI-RS configurations is not active].
Regarding Claim 9,
wherein the RMR configuration information comprises a second RMR configuration indicating a set of resources to be used for interference measurement [Chen: 0069; UE may have one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations that may always be active for the UE. For example, one set of CSI-RS configurations for CSI channel measurement and one set of CSI-RS configurations for interference measurement may always be active for the UE].
Regarding Claim 10,
Chen teaches that the UE may be configured with one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for CSI feedback, one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for CoMP set management, one or more sets of CSI-RS configurations for RLM/RRM [Chen: 0070].
However, Chen does not teach that the measurement configuration indicates at least one RMR configuration for which the WTRU is to perform quasi co-location (QCL) related measurements
Park teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration indicates at least one RMR configuration for which the WTRU is to perform quasi co-location (QCL) related measurements [Park: p. 4; a terminal that receives a discovery signal (Di discovery signal) in a wireless communication system, the discovery signal including a CSI-RS (Channel State Information Reference Signal) configuration from the base station A receiver receiving the setting; And a processor configured to perform RRM (Radio Resource Management) measurement on the discovery signal based on the discovery signal setting, wherein the ^ processor comprises: a first CSI in which the discovery signal is received based on the first CSI-RS setting; The first CSI-RS and the cell-specific when the first cell ID included in the RS and the first cell ID included in the first CSI-RS configuration is a cell-specific reference signal. Assuming that the reference signal is quasi co-located (QCL), at least one of the characteristics of the radio channel that assumes QCL between the first CSI-RS and the cell-specific reference signal for the RRM measurement is a CSI measurement].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Park in order to efficiently transmit and receive a discovery signal in a wireless communication system [Park: p. 5].
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14, 16-17, and 19-20, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-10 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-10 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 21 (Previously Presented),
wherein each RMR configuration of the one or more RMR configurations is associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration [Chen: 0039; LTE Release 10 and later supports a number of CSI-RS configurations; each CSI-RS configuration is associated with specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots in which CSI-RS may be transmitted; 0060; a cell may configure a UE with a plurality of CSI-RS configurations for one or more purposes (step 512); the cell may send upper-layer signaling indicating the plurality of CSI-RS configurations configured for the UE (step 514)].
Regarding Claim 22 (Previously Presented), which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 21 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 21 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 23 (Previously Presented),
wherein the measurement configuration is associated with an aperiodic measurement feedback configuration [Chen: aperiodic == triggered by one or more events; 0065; signaling may be sent in various manners to indicate active CSI-RS configurations for a given UE; in one example, unicast signaling indicating active CSI-RS configurations may be sent specifically to the UE; the unicast signaling may be sent (i) when triggered by one or more events, e.g., when there is a change in active CSI-RS configurations for the UE].
Regarding Claim 24 (Previously Presented), which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 23 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 23 is applicable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 on pages 8-9 of the Remarks section that active CSI-RS configuration of Chen does not teach “measurement feedback configuration” because (1) it does not point to at least one RMR configuration and (2) be used to determine feedback resources that are used to report at least one measurement associated with the at least one RMR configuration. Chen does not teach that the CSI-RS configuration also indicates the feedback resources (e.g. uplink transmission resources, such as, “specific subcarriers, specific symbols, and specific slots”) for reporting at least one measurement associated with a RMR configuration.
Examiner’s Response:
For purposes of brevity, please see the response in the Office Action above. See specifically, Chen [0048, 0061, 0079-80].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468