DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Previously submitted claim 13 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Amended claim 13 was previously a dependent method claim now the claim is an independent claim that was not previously presented in the original claims. Specifically, claim 13 adds claim language with respect to and including new method of making steps such as coating the surface of the roller…, removing the masking coating with a laser…, etching the surface of the roller….and removing the remainder of the masking coating.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 13 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poole (US Patent 4,301,583).
With respect to claim 1, Poole teaches a screen roller (10),
wherein a fluid coating material can be applied from a reservoir (Column 3, Lines 44-47) to the screen roller (10) and the coating material can be transferred from the screen roller (10) to a receiving element,
wherein a surface of an outer jacket (14) of the screen roller (10) has a plurality of recesses (18, 20) for receiving the coating material (Column 3, Line 53-Column 4, Line 5, Figure 2), and
wherein a first (18) and second recess (20) of the plurality of recesses (18,20) are fluidically connected by a first connecting channel (22) formed in the surface of the screen roller (10, Figure 2) or below the surface or the outer jacket of the screen roller, and wherein the first and second recesses (18, 20) connected by the first connecting channel (22) are adjacent and offset to a third and a fourth recess (18, 20) fluidically connected by a second connecting channel (22, Abstract, Figure 2).
With respect to claim 3, Poole teaches the reservoir comprises a doctor blade (Column 3, Lines 44-53) or a chamber doctor blade.
With respect to claim 4, Poole teaches the receiving element comprises a further roller or a carrier material (Column 4, Lines 10-12 and Lines 30-35).
With respect to claim 6, Poole teaches at least one recess (18, 20) of the plurality of recesses (18, 20) comprises at least one cup, at least one hachure, at least one pyramidal recess (Figure 2), at least one trough-shaped recess, at least one dome-shaped recess or at least one truncated pyramidal recess, at least one recess of the plurality of recesses (18, 20) has, at least in some regions, a rectangular, a square, a pentagonal, a triangular, a hexagonal (Figure 2), a circular, an octahedral or an elongated cross-section, the plurality of recesses form, at least in some regions, a uniform or geometric pattern (Figures 2A-2D).
With respect to claim 7, Poole teaches the screen roller (10) can be rotated about an axis of rotation (Figure 1), wherein the first connecting channel (22) has a directional component in a circumferential direction of the axis of rotation (Figure 2) to permit trapped air to escape the first and second recesses by the first connecting channel when the first and second recesses receive the coating material (Column 3, Line 53-Column 4, Line, 29).
With respect to claim 9, Poole teaches a printing unit comprising the screen roller (10) according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, Poole teaches a reservoir for a fluid coating material (Column 3, Lines 44-47), wherein the reservoir is operatively connected to the screen roller for transferring the coating material to the screen roller (10, Column 3, Lines 44-47).
With respect to claim 12, Poole teaches a carrier material which can be coated (Column 4, Lines 10-12 and Lines 30-35) or is to be coated with the coating material can be fed to the screen roller or to the further roller.
With respect to claim 14, Poole teaches the first and second recess (18, 20) are offset from the third and fourth recess to increase a recessed area (Figure 2) of the screen roller surface (14) or outer jacket.
With respect to claim 15, Poole teaches the first and the second recess (18, 20) are offset from the third and the fourth recess because a midpoint of the first recess is circumferentially aligned with the second connecting channel that fluidically connects the third and the fourth recess (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poole (US Patent 4,301,583) in view of Bolte et al. (US Patent 5,671,678).
With respect to claim 2, Poole teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the coating material comprises at least one highly viscous battery material, at least one slurry coating material, at least one suspension, at least one chemical, active material, or at least one highly viscous coating material, for coatings in the HFC range.
Bolte et al. teaches the coating material comprises at least one highly viscous battery material, at least one slurry coating material, at least one suspension, at least one chemical, active material, or at least one highly viscous coating material, for coatings in the HFC range (Column 2, Lines 54-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Poole to provide a coating material comprises at least one highly viscous battery material, at least one slurry coating material, at least one suspension, at least one chemical, active material, or at least one highly viscous coating material, for coatings in the HFC range as taught by Bolte et al. for the purpose of ensuring ink provides quality print on the medium.
With respect to claim 8, Poole teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the plurality of recesses is produced by laser etching or direct laser removal.
Bolte et al. teaches the plurality of recesses is produced by laser etching or direct laser removal (Column 5, Lines 27-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Poole to produce recesses by laser etching or direct laser removal as taught by Bolte et al. for the purpose providing a pattern geometry.
With respect to claim 11, Bolte et al. teaches a further roller (15) operatively connected to the screen roller (13), wherein the screen roller (13) and the further roller (15) roll against one another.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poole (US Patent 4,301,583) in view of Savioli et al. (KR20240093589).
With respect to claim 5, Bolte et al. teaches the carrier material (10) comprises at least one windable material (Figure 5), at least one flexible material, at least one film.
However, Bolte et al. does not explicitly disclose at least one component of an electric storage device, or at least one carrier material which can be used in a component of an electric storage device, and wherein the electric storage device comprises at least one battery, an accumulator, a capacitor, an electrolyzer, a wet cell, a flow battery or a redox flow battery. Savioli et al. teaches a machine with rollers with an electric storage device comprises at least one battery (18), an accumulator, a capacitor, an electrolyzer, a wet cell, a flow battery or a redox flow battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Poole to provide an electric storage device comprising at least one battery as taught by Savioli et al. for the purpose of ensuring an effective driving means in the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852