DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,298. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the Application recites:
A surgical fixation system, comprising: a button; a loop connected to the button; and a suture tape received through at least one of a first aperture or a second aperture of the button, wherein the suture tape is tensionable separately from the loop when the surgical fixation system is implanted within a joint.
Claim 1 of the Patent recites:
A surgical fixation system, comprising: a button; a loop connected to the button; and a reinforcement material connected to the button and tensionable separately from the loop, wherein the reinforcement material is received through a first aperture and a second aperture of the button.
Claim 2 of the Application recites:
The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a graft received over a portion of the loop.
Claim 2 of the Patent recites:
The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a graft received over a portion of the loop.
Claim 3 of the Application recites: 3. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 2, wherein the suture tape is unattached to the graft and is tensionable separately from the graft.
Claim 3 of the Patent recites: 3. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 2, wherein the reinforcement material is unattached to the graft and is tensionable separately from the graft.
Claim 4 of the Application recites:
4. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 2, wherein the graft is looped over a cradle of the loop.
Claim 4 of Patent recites: 4. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 2, wherein the graft is looped over a cradle of the loop.
Claim 5 of the Application recites:
5. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the loop is an adjustable loop that includes at least one adjustable eyesplice.
Claim 5 of the Patent recites:
5. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the loop is an adjustable loop that includes at least one adjustable eyesplice.
Claim 6 of the Application recites:
6. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 5, wherein the adjustable loop includes a first adjustable eyesplice and a second adjustable eyesplice interconnected with the first adjustable eyesplice.
Claim 6 of the Patent recites: 6. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 5, wherein the adjustable loop includes a first adjustable eyesplice and a second adjustable eyesplice interconnected with the first adjustable eyesplice.
Claim 7 of the Application recites: 7. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the loop includes a free braid strand that is configured to reduce a size of the loop.
Claim 9 of the Patent recites: 9. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the loop includes a free braid strand that is configured to reduce a size of the loop.
Claim 8 of Application recites:
8. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 7, wherein the free braid strand extends through at least one of the first aperture or the second aperture of the button.
Claim 10 of the Patent recites:
10. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 9, wherein the free braid strand extends through at least one of the first aperture or the second aperture of the button.
Claim 9 of Application recites:
9. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a second button and a second loop connected to the second button, wherein the suture tape is connected to the second button.
Claim 11 of Patent recites: 11. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a second button and a second loop connected to the second button, wherein the reinforcement material is connected to the second button.
Claim 10 of the Application recites:
10. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a passing suture passed through the button.
Claim 12 of the Patent recites:
12. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a passing suture passed through the button.
Claim 11 of the Application recites:
11. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the loop includes a spliced suture.
Claim 13 of the Patent recites:
13. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, wherein the reinforcement material includes a suture tape, and the loop includes a spliced suture.
Claim 12 of the Application recites:
12. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a graft connected to the loop, wherein the graft includes tissue, tendon, ligament, synthetic material, biologic material, bone, or any combination thereof.
Claim 14 of the Patent recites:
14. The surgical fixation system as recited in claim 1, comprising a graft connected to the loop, wherein the graft includes tissue, tendon, ligament, synthetic material, biologic material, bone, or any combination of tissue, tendon, ligament, synthetic material, biologic material and bone.
It is clear that all of the elements of claims 1-12 of the Application are to be found in claims 1-6 and 9-14 of the Patent. The differences between the claims of the Application and the Patent lies in the fact that the application includes less elements/details and is thus more board. The inventions of claims 1-18 of the Patent are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the Application. Se In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Circ. 1993). The same reasoning and logic applies to all of the dependent claims which depend from the independent claims. Since claims 1-12 of the Application are anticipated by claims 1-6 and 9-14 of the Patent, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1-6 and 9-14 of the Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Struhl (US 2009/0182335). Regarding claim 13, Struhl discloses a surgical fixation system, comprising a button (50); a loop (58) connected to the button; and a suture tape (60/62) connected to the button (figure 2), wherein the loop and the suture tape are both accommodated within a common set of apertures of the button (figure 2). Regarding claim 14, Struhl discloses a surgical method, comprising performing a primary tissue reconstruction with a surgical fixation system that includes a button (50) and a loop (58) connected to the button (figure 2, 5); and augmenting the primary tissue reconstruction with a reinforcement material (60/62) that is connected to the button and is tensionable separately from the loop (¶33-35). Regarding claim 15, Struhl discloses wherein performing the primary tissue reconstruction includes passing the surgical fixation system through a bone tunnel (26) of a first bone (12); and seating the button of the surgical fixation system onto a cortex of the first bone (figures 4-5, ¶33).
Regarding claim 16, Struhl discloses after passing the surgical fixation system and seating the button, the loop suspends a graft of the surgical fixation system within the bone tunnel, and the button suspends the reinforcement material within the bone tunnel (figures 4-5). Regarding claim 17, Struhl discloses wherein performing the primary tissue reconstruction includes tensioning the graft at a first tension (¶33); and tensioning the reinforcement material at a second tension that is different than the first tension (¶33-35). Regarding claim 19, Struhl discloses fixating the graft to a bone at the first tension (figure 5, ¶33-35); and fixating the reinforcement material to the bone at the second tension (¶33-35, figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Struhl (US 2009/0182335).
Regarding claim 20, Struhl discloses the claimed invention except for the express teaching of the second tension in the reinforcement member being less than the first tension in the loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the method of Struhl to have the second tension in the reinforcement member being less than the first tension in the loop as their only a finite number of ways to change the tension between the reinforcement member and the loop. As the reinforcement member or the loop has to have a greater tension for them to have differing tensions from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW JAMES LAWSON whose telephone number is (571)270-7375. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 6:30-3:00.
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619