DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line of claim 27 states “a display pane”. Please amend claim to --a display panel--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11, and 23-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 2019/0221159 A1) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2023/0351960 A1).
Claim 1, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses a display panel (110; Fig. 1), comprising sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1),
wherein one of the sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1 and 2) receives a first light emitting control signal (GC; Fig. 2 and 3);
the display panel (Fig. 6 and 7) is characterized by at least a first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7; wherein figure shows a reference length for the emission period) and a second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7; Paragraph [0099]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may increase the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a first ending point EMF1 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “INC”); Paragraph [0100]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may decrease the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a second ending point EMF2 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “DEC”)”) that are different from each other (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses “ the display panel driving circuit 120 may calculate a region grayscale that each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 is to implement by analyzing grayscale data to be applied to the pixel circuits 111 included in each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110, and may change the length of the emission period EMP for each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 based on the region grayscale, where the emission operation is performed in the emission period EMP”; Fig. 7; wherein discloses different emission period lengths; (Fig. 12; wherein figure shows method of changing emission period); and
the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are light emitting times (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows emission periods) of different sub-pixels (115-1 through 115-3; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission periods), or the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are turn-on times (Paragraph [0071]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission signals GC) of the first light emitting control signals (GC; Fig. 2 and 3) of different sub-pixels (11; Fig. 5).
Jeong does not expressly disclose the first time and the second time are light emitting times of a same sub-pixel in different states, or the first time and the second time are turn-on times of the first light emitting control signal of a same sub-pixel in different states.
Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are light emitting times (Paragraph [0081]) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods), or the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are turn-on times (Emission; Fig. 10-12) of the first light emitting control signal (Ei; Fig. 12) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 27, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses a display device (500; Fig. 14 and 15), comprising a display pane(l) (110; Fig. 1) that comprise sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1),
wherein one of the sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1 and 2) receives a first light emitting control signal (GC; Fig. 2 and 3);
the display panel (Fig. 6 and 7) is characterized by at least a first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7; wherein figure shows a reference length for the emission period) and a second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7; Paragraph [0099]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may increase the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a first ending point EMF1 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “INC”); Paragraph [0100]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may decrease the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a second ending point EMF2 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “DEC”)”) that are different from each other (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses “ the display panel driving circuit 120 may calculate a region grayscale that each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 is to implement by analyzing grayscale data to be applied to the pixel circuits 111 included in each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110, and may change the length of the emission period EMP for each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 based on the region grayscale, where the emission operation is performed in the emission period EMP”; Fig. 7; wherein discloses different emission period lengths; (Fig. 12; wherein figure shows method of changing emission period); and
the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are light emitting times (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows emission periods) of different sub-pixels (115-1 through 115-3; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission periods), or the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are turn-on times (Paragraph [0071]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission signals GC) of the first light emitting control signals (GC; Fig. 2 and 3) of different sub-pixels (11; Fig. 5).
Jeong does not expressly disclose the first time and the second time are light emitting times of a same sub-pixel in different states, or the first time and the second time are turn-on times of the first light emitting control signal of a same sub-pixel in different states.
Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are light emitting times (Paragraph [0081]) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods), or the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are turn-on times (Emission; Fig. 10-12) of the first light emitting control signal (Ei; Fig. 12) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 28, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses a driving method (Fig. 3; Fig. 6-11) of a display panel (110; Fig. 1), wherein the display panel (110; Fig. 1) comprises sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1),
wherein one of the sub-pixels (111; Fig. 1 and 2) receives a first light emitting control signal (GC; Fig. 2 and 3);
the display panel (Fig. 6 and 7) is characterized by at least a first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7; wherein figure shows a reference length for the emission period) and a second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7; Paragraph [0099]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may increase the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a first ending point EMF1 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “INC”); Paragraph [0100]; wherein discloses “the display panel driving circuit 120 may fix the starting point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 to the reference stating point EMS, and may decrease the length of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 by moving the ending point of the emission period EMP for the display region 115 from the reference ending point EMF to a second ending point EMF2 (e.g., indicated in FIG. 7 by “DEC”)”) that are different from each other (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses “ the display panel driving circuit 120 may calculate a region grayscale that each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 is to implement by analyzing grayscale data to be applied to the pixel circuits 111 included in each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110, and may change the length of the emission period EMP for each of the display regions 115 of the display panel 110 based on the region grayscale, where the emission operation is performed in the emission period EMP”; Fig. 7; wherein discloses different emission period lengths; (Fig. 12; wherein figure shows method of changing emission period); and
the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are light emitting times (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows emission periods) of different sub-pixels (115-1 through 115-3; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission periods), or the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7) are turn-on times (Paragraph [0071]; wherein discloses respective region control of emission signals GC) of the first light emitting control signals (GC; Fig. 2 and 3) of different sub-pixels (11; Fig. 5);
wherein the driving method (Fig. 7) comprises:
controlling the display panel (110; Fig. 5) to at least have the first time and the second time (Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses regionally changing the emission period so that one region (115-1; Fig. 5) will have a first time period (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and a second region (115-2; Fig. 5) will have a second time period (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7).
Jeong does not expressly disclose the first time and the second time are light emitting times of a same sub-pixel in different states, or the first time and the second time are turn-on times of the first light emitting control signal of a same sub-pixel in different states.
Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are light emitting times (Paragraph [0081]) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods), or the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) and the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods) are turn-on times (Emission; Fig. 10-12) of the first light emitting control signal (Ei; Fig. 12) of a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12; wherein emission signal is applied to the same pixel over different frames) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein the different states are one emission period and two emission periods).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 2, Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses wherein at a same target grayscale (Paragraph [0123]; wherein data voltage is adjusted to maintain observed luminance), the first time (Emission during frame F21; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows one long emission period) is different from the second time (Emissions during frame F22; Fig. 10, 11, and 12; wherein figure shows changing to two shorter emission periods).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 11, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein the display panel (110; Fig. 5) comprises display sub-regions (115-1, 115-2. And 115-3; Fig. 5) that at least comprise a first display sub-region (115-1; Fig. 5) and a second display sub-region (115-2 or 115-3; Fig. 5), and the first display sub-region (115-1; Fig. 5) has the first time (EMP or REFL; Fig. 7) and the second display sub-region (115-2 or 115-3; Fig. 5) has the second time (EMP+INC or EMP-DEC; Fig. 7).
Claims 23 and 29, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein a brightness of one of at least two different sub-pixels (HGY or LGY; Fig. 7) is compared (S125; Fig. 12; wherein figure 7 comparing the grayscale value of the region with a reference grayscale to determine the luminance of the subpixels) with a brightness of another one of the at least two different sub-pixels (MGY; Fig. 7; wherein is the reference grayscale); and
upon determining that the brightness of one of the at least two sub-pixels (LGY; Fig. 7) is smaller than (Fig. 12; wherein step S125 No and step S135 Yes the result is to decrease the length of the emission period) the brightness of another one of the at least two sub-pixels (MGY; Fig. 7; wherein is the reference grayscale), the first time of one of the at least two sub-pixels (MGY; Fig. 7; wherein figure shows emission period is EMP or REFL) is greater than the second time of another one of the at least two sub-pixels (LGY; Fig. 7; wherein figure shows emission period is EMP-DEC which is smaller than EMP or REFL).
Claims 24 and 30, Jeong (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein at least two different sub-pixels (LGY and MGY; Fig. 7) have a same target brightness (Fig. 12; wherein process uses a same “reference grayscale” for determining emission period for each display region).
Claims 25 and 31, Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses wherein a brightness of a sub-pixel (Fig. 13; wherein figure a driving method of a pixel over a series of frames) in one of at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F92 a second state which has a single emission period) in which is compared (Paragraph [0083]; wherein discloses comparing the different emission periods of a series of frames) with a brightness of the sub-pixel (Fig. 13; wherein figure a driving method of a pixel over a series of frames) in another one of the at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F91 a first state which has a double emission period); and
upon determining that the brightness of the brightness of the sub-pixel in one of the at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F92 a second state which has a single emission period) is smaller than (Paragraph [0083]; wherein discloses “therefore the observer sees a reduced luminance during the frame period F92 and the subsequent frame period”) the brightness of the sub-pixel in another one of the at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F91 a first state which has a double emission period), the first time of the sub-pixel in one of the at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F92 a second state which has a single emission period) is greater than the second time of the sub-pixel in another one of the at least two different states (Fig. 13; wherein figure shows during the frame period F91 a first state which has a double emission period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claims 26 and 32, Nakamura (Fig. 1-31) discloses wherein a same sub-pixel (Fig. 10-12) in different states (Fig. 10-12; wherein figure shows transitioning from signal emission period to a double emission period) has a same target brightness (Paragraph [00123]; wherein discloses control of data voltage to maintain observed luminance).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong’s display panel by applying a change in the emission period, as taught by Nakamura, so to use a display panel with a change in the emission period for providing a display device capable of preventing flickering caused by the changing of the number of light emissions per frame period (Paragraph [0010]).
Claims 3-8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 2019/0221159 A1) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2023/0351960 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (US 2023/0121681 A1).
Claim 3, Jeong in view of Nakamura discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Jeong in view of Nakamura does not expressly disclose wherein one of the sub-pixels further receives a second signal; and
for at least two different sub-pixels, a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of one of the at least two different sub-pixels is different from a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of another one of the at least two different sub-pixels; or
for a same sub-pixel in different states, a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of the sub-pixel in one of the at least two different states is different from a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of the sub-pixel in another one of the at least two different states.
Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein one of the sub-pixels (RP, GP, or BP; Fig. 1) further receives a second signal (PAEMk; Fig. 16 and 17); and
for at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein figure shows the driving signals for at least 6 different pixel rows), a time difference (EPD; Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure shows a period EPD) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure shows signal PWEMk being turned on for the period of EPD) and a turn-on moment of the second signal (Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure that the signal of PAEMk is not turned on during EPD (different from embodiment of figure 8) therefore providing a difference of no time difference) of EPDone of the at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein EPD period is applied to all pixels) is different from a time difference (EP1; Fig. 16 and 17) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk+1; Fig. 16) and a turn-on moment of the second signal (PAEMk+1; Fig. 16) of another one of the at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein during the first period of EPD for pixel k the time difference is different than during the second period EP1 for pixel k+1); or
for a same sub-pixel (k; Fig. 17) in different states (Fig. 17; wherein figure shows two different emission states of EPD and EP1), a time difference (EPD; Fig. 17; wherein figure shows a period EPD) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 17; wherein figure shows signal PWEMk being turned on for the period of EPD) and a turn-on moment of the second signal of the sub-pixel (Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure that the signal of PAEMk is not turned on during EPD (different from embodiment of figure 8) therefore providing a difference of no time difference) in one of the at least two different states (Fig. 17; wherein figure shows two different emission states of EPD and EP1) is different from a time difference (EP1; Fig. 17) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 17) and a turn-on moment of the second signal (PAEMk; Fig. 17) of the sub-pixel (k; Fig. 17) in another one of the at least two different states (EP1; Fig. 17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 4, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein one of the sub-pixels (Fig. 2) comprises a pulse width modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0091]) corresponding to the second signal (PWEMk; Fig. 16 and 17; Paragraph [0168]), and a pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 2) corresponding to the first light emitting control signal (PAEMk; Fig. 16 and 17; Paragraph [0168]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 5, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein one of the sub-pixels (RP; Fig. 2) comprises a pixel driving circuit (PDU2; Fig. 2) and a light emitting element (EL; Fig. 2) that are electrically connected to each other (Fig. 2);
the pixel driving circuit (PDU2; Fig. 2) comprises a second driving transistor (T8; Fig. 2), the pulse width modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0091]) and the pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 2);
the second driving transistor (T8; Fig. 13) is configured to output a driving current (Ids; Fig. 13) in response to a signal (Rdata+Vth+∆V2; Fig. 13) of a gate of the second driving transistor (T8; Fig. 13) and a signal of a first terminal (VDL2; Fig. 13) of the second driving transistor (T8; Fig. 13);
the pulse width modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 2) is configured to output a pulse width setting signal (Ic; Fig. 13) to a first terminal of the pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 13) based on a swept-frequency signal (SWPLk; Fig. 13) and a second light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 13; Paragraph [0203]), to control light emitting time of the light emitting element (EL emission timing; Fig. 8); and
the pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 2 and 13) is configured to control the light emitting element (EL; Fig. 2 and 13) to emit light in response to the driving current (Ids; Fig. 13) under the control (T17; Fig. 13) of the first light emitting control signal (PAEMk; Fig. Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 6, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein the second signal (SWPLK; Fig. 7) comprises the swept-frequency signal (Paragraph [0103]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 7, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein a turn-on moment of the swept-frequency signal (SWPK; Fig. 8; wherein turn on moment is when signal beings to switch from high level to low level) is not later than a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PAEMk; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 8, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein an operation process (Fig. 8) of the sub-pixel (RP; Fig. 2) comprises a data writing phase (ADDR; Fig. 8) and a light emitting phase (EP1, EP2, EPn; Fig. 8), and in the data writing phase (ADDR; Fig. 8), the swept-frequency signal (SWPk; Fig. 8) is at a high level (VGH; Fig. 8); and
in part of the light emitting phase (EP1; Fig. 8), the swept-frequency signal (SWPk; Fig. 8) is decreased linearly from the high level (VGH to VGL; Fig. 8; wherein figure shows signal SWPk during SP1 decreased linearly from VGH to VGL).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 10, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein the second signal (PAEMk; Fig. 8) comprises the second light emitting control signal (Fig. 8; wherein PAEMk is one of the two emission signals (PAEMk and PWEMk; Fig. 8)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 12, Jeong in view of Nakamura discloses the display panel according to claim 11.
Jeong in view of Nakamura does not expressly disclose wherein one of the sub-pixel further receives a second signal; and
in at least one of the display sub-regions, for at least two different sub-pixels, a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of one of the at least two different sub-pixels is the same as a time difference between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal and a turn-on moment of the second signal of another one of the at least two different sub-pixels.
Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein one of the sub-pixels (RP, GP, or BP; Fig. 1) further receives a second signal (PAEMk; Fig. 16 and 17); and
in at least one of the display sub-regions (Fig. 16; wherein figure shows the driving signals for at least 6 different pixel rows), for at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein figure shows the driving signals for at least 2 different pixel rows), a time difference (EPD; Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure shows a period EPD) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure shows signal PWEMk being turned on for the period of EPD) and a turn-on moment of the second signal (Fig. 16 and 17; wherein figure that the signal of PAEMk is not turned on during EPD (different from embodiment of figure 8) therefore providing a difference of no time difference) of EPDone of the at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein EPD period is applied to all pixels) is different from a time difference (EP1; Fig. 16 and 17) between a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk+1; Fig. 16) and a turn-on moment of the second signal (PAEMk+1; Fig. 16) of another one of the at least two different sub-pixels (Fig. 16; wherein during the first period of EPD for pixel k the time difference is different than during the second period EP1 for pixel k+1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 2019/0221159 A1) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2023/0351960 A1), and Hwang et al (US 2023/0121681 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhai et al (US 2022/0215796 A1).
Claim 9, Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 6.
Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang does not expressly disclose wherein an operation process of the sub-pixel comprises a data writing phase and a light emitting phase, and in the data writing phase, the swept-frequency signal is at a low level; and
in part of the light emitting phase, the swept-frequency signal jumps from the low level to a high level, and then is decreased linearly from the high level.
Zhai (Fig. 1-29) discloses wherein an operation process (Fig. 21) of the sub-pixel (Fig. 20) comprises a data writing phase (Data writing phase; Fig. 21) and a light emitting phase (Light emitting phase; Fig. 21), and in the data writing phase (Data writing phase; Fig. 21), the swept-frequency signal (Sweep; Fig. 21) is at a low level (Fig. 21; wherein figure shows sweep as a low level during data writing phase); and
in part of the light emitting phase (Light emitting phase; Fig. 21), the swept-frequency signal (Sweep; Fig. 21) jumps from the low level to a high level (Fig. 21; wherein figure shows during light emitting phase the sweep signal jumping from the low level to a high level), and then is decreased linearly from the high level (Fig. 21; wherein figure shows during light emitting phase the sweep signal decreased linearly from the high level to low level).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying a sweep signal, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with a sweep signal for providing to reduce a voltage drop on the power supply voltage line and improving the uniformity of a display screen (Paragraph [0046]).
Claims 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 2019/0221159 A1) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2023/0351960 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (US 2023/0121681 A1) and Zhai (CN 116798343 A (See US 2024/0038170 A1 for official translation and rejection citations).
Claim 13, Jeong in view of Nakamura discloses the display panel according to claim 11.
Jeong in view of Nakamura does not expressly disclose wherein one of the sub-pixels comprises a pixel driving circuit and a light emitting element that are electrically connected to each other;
the pixel driving circuit comprises a pulse width modulation module, a pulse amplitude modulation module and a driving transistor, the pulse width modulation module is configured to output a pulse width setting signal to a first terminal of the pulse amplitude modulation module based on a swept-frequency signal and a second light emitting control signal;
the driving transistor is configured to output a driving current in response to a signal of a gate of the driving transistor and a signal of a first terminal of the driving transistor;
the pulse amplitude modulation module is configured to control the light emitting element to emit light in response to the driving current under the control of the first light emitting control signal, and output the pulse width setting signal to the gate of the driving transistor to control light emitting time of the light emitting element.
Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein one of the sub-pixels (RP, GP, AND BP; Fig. 1; RP; Fig. 2) comprises a pixel driving circuit (PDU2; Fig. 2) and a light emitting element (EL; Fig. 2) that are electrically connected to each other (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows how elements are electrically connected);
the pixel driving circuit (RP; Fig. 2) comprises a pulse width modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 2), a pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 2) and a driving transistor (T8; Fig. 2), the pulse width modulation module (PDU1; Fig. 2) is configured to output a pulse width setting signal (Ic; Fig. 13) to a first terminal of the pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 13) based on a swept-frequency signal (SWPLk; Fig. 13) and a second light emitting control signal (PWELk; Fig. 13);
the driving transistor (T8; Fig. 2) is configured to output a driving current (Ids; Fig. 13) in response to a signal of a gate of the driving transistor (Rdata+Vth+∆V2; Fig. 13) and a signal (VDL2; Fig. 13) of a first terminal of the driving transistor (T8; Fig. 13);
the pulse amplitude modulation module (PDU3; Fig. 13) is configured to control the light emitting element (EL; Fig. 13) to emit light in response to the driving current (Ids; Fig. 13) under the control of the first light emitting control signal (PAELk; Fig. 13), and output the pulse width setting signal (Ic; Fig. 13) to the gate of the driving transistor (T15; Fig. 13) to control light emitting time (Fig. 9) of the light emitting element (EL; Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang does not expressly disclose the first display sub-region and the second display sub-region receive different swept-frequency signals.
Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses the first display sub-region (Paragraph [0077]; Fig. 8; wherein discloses ith type display region) and the second display sub-region (Paragraph [0077]; Fig. 8; wherein discloses a jth type display region) receive different swept-frequency signals (Sweep_k1 and Sweep_K2; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 14, Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses wherein the sub-pixels (Fig. 16) in a same one of the display sub-regions (100; Fig. 8) share a same swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1; Fig. 9; Paragraph [0096]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 15, Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses wherein the swept-frequency signals (Sweep_k1 and Sweep_k2; Fig. 9) comprise a first swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1; Fig. 9) and a second swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k2; Fig. 9), the first display sub-region (ith type display region; Fig. 8) receives the first swept-frequency signal (h; Fig. 8; Sweep_k1; Fig. 9), and the second display sub-region (jth type display region; Fig. 8) receives the second swept-frequency signal (k; Fig. 8; Sweep_k2; Fig. 9); and
the swept-frequency signal comprises a signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period), and a change rate of the first swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1; Fig. 9) in the signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period) is different from (Paragraph [0095]) a change rate of the second swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k2; Fig. 9) in the signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 16, Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses wherein the swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1 and Sweep_k2; Fig. 9) has a value difference between a maximum value (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows the sweep signal that start at a maximum value) and a minimum value (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows the sweep signal that end at a minimum value) in the signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period); and
the value difference of the first swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1; Fig. 9) is different (Paragraph [0095]; Fig. 9; wherein figure shows the signal Sweep_k2 falling faster than Sweep_k1) from the value difference of the second swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k2; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 17, Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses wherein a duration of the first swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k1; Fig. 9) in the signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period) is different from (Paragraph [0095]; wherein figure 9 shows signal Sweep_k2 being shorter than signal Sweep_k1) a duration of the second swept-frequency signal (Sweep_k2; Fig. 9) in the signal change period (Fig. 4; wherein during the emitting period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 18, Zhai (Fig. 1-34) discloses wherein the display panel (Fig. 6; Paragraph [0077]) comprises first display sub-regions (ith display regions; Fig. 8) and second display sub-regions (jth display regions; Fig. 8), and at least one second display sub-region (jth display region; Fig. 8) is arranged between two adjacent first display sub-regions (100 and 200; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura and Hwang’s display panel by applying regional sweep signals, as taught by Zhai, so to use a display panel with regional sweep signals for provide a pixel driving circuit, a display panel and a driving method thereof and a display device, so as to reduce voltage drops on the power supply voltage line and improve the uniformity of the display image (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 19, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein each of any two adjacent display sub-regions (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows display driving signals for at least multiple different rows of the display panel) has a respective different time difference (t5 and t8; Fig. 8) between a turn-on moment of the swept-frequency signal (SWPk; Fig. 7 and 8) and a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 7 and 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 20, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein in different display sub-regions (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows display driving signals for at least multiple different rows of the display panel), the time difference between the turn-on moment of the swept-frequency signal (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows different turn on timing) and the turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 8) gradually increases or gradually decreases (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows gradually increases difference) according to a scanning sequence of the display sub-regions (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows display driving signals for at least multiple different rows of the display panel).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 21, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein each of any two adjacent display sub-regions (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows display driving signals for at least multiple different rows of the display panel) has a respective different time (t5 and t8; Fig. 8) difference between a turn-on moment of the second light emitting control signal (PAEMk; Fig. 8) and a turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 22, Hwang (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein in different display sub-regions (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows display driving signals for at least multiple different rows of the display panel), the time difference (t5 and t8; Fig. 8) between the turn-on moment of the second light emitting control signal (PAEMk; Fig. 8) and the turn-on moment of the first light emitting control signal (PWEMk; Fig. 8) gradually increases or gradually decreases (Fig. 8; wherein figure shows a different period t8 from t5 in that it gradually increases) according to a scanning sequence (EP1 and EP2; Fig. 8) of the display sub-regions (Fig. 7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong in view of Nakamura’s display panel by applying a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line, as taught by Hwang, so to use a display panel with a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) emission line for reduce or prevent deterioration of image quality due to a change in the wavelength of light emitted from an inorganic light emitting diode element according to a driving current applied to the inorganic light emitting diode element (Paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 02/18/2026