DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 (C), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated August 12th, 2025, September 10th, 2025, November 11th, 2025, December 10th, 2025, January 13th, 2026, February 14th and 27th, 2026, May 20th, 2026, June 5th, 2026, July 27th, 2026, and September 30th, 2026, are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,379,867. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12,379,867 contains every element of claims 1, 10, and 11 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 1, 10, and 11 of the instant application.
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,379,867 contains every element of claim 12 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 12 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent 12,379,867 contains every element of claim 19 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 19 of the instant application.
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent 12,379,867 contains every element of claims 14-16 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 14-16 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Dewan et al. [US2022/0004668]. Dewan teaches lockable partition in NVME drives with drive migration support.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 19, Dewan teaches a device [Dewan abstract “…NVME…”], comprising:
a memory [Dewan paragraph 0021, middle lines “…that communicate with main memory 104 (such as one or more Double Data Rate (DDR) Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM) modules) via a system fabric 106…”]; and
a processor coupled to the memory [Dewan paragraph 0021, middle lines “…The system 100 includes one or more processor/cores 102 that communicate with main memory 104…”], the processor configured to:
receive, via an interface connected to a storage product [Dewan paragraph 0023, first lines “…a storage controller such as an SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface) controller…”], storage access messages from the storage product [Dewan paragraph 0041, first lines “…a new command directed that lockable partition is received…”(where the specification states that messages can be commands)], wherein the storage access messages request access to a secure memory region of the storage product [Dewan paragraph 0043, first lines “…whether the new command of operation 302 is requesting an unlocking of the partition…”];
determine whether the storage access messages are permitted or prohibited to provide access to the secure memory region [Dewan paragraph 0043, middle lines “…If the partition is determined to be locked at 404, operation 408 determines whether a hash of the device key and command (i.e., HMAC[Device Key, Command]) is successful. If so, method 400 terminates at operation 410 with a successful command and unlocking the partition…”] based on a selection criteria stored in the memory [Dewan paragraph 0084, middle lines “…wherein the cryptographic key is to be programmed into the NVM device…”]; and
send, to the storage product, messages indicative of whether the storage access messages are permitted or prohibited to provide access to the secure memory region [Dewan paragraph 0043, most lines “…If the partition is determined to be unlocked at 404, method 400 terminates at operation 406 with a successful command handling and no further operation (NOP). If the partition is determined to be locked at 404, operation 408 determines whether a hash of the device key and command (i.e., HMAC[Device Key, Command]) is successful. If so, method 400 terminates at operation 410 with a successful command and unlocking the partition. If the hash function determination at 408 is unsuccessful, method 400 terminates at operation 412, indicating the failure of the command…”(The examiner has determined that successful commands to unlock reads on permitted and indicating the failure of the command reads on prohibited access.)].
Regarding claim 2, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the processor is further configured to generate, based on user inputs via a user interface of the device [Dewan paragraph 0037, last lines “…the reset key can be physically printed or barcoded onto the drive such that only physical access of the drive will allow someone to access the reset key. In one embodiment, the reset behavior with the reset key includes deleting all the contents of the partition and deleting the device key from the drive…”(user has to access the reset key)], a control message to perform an administrative or management operation at the storage product [Dewan paragraph 0033, most lines “…the platform can reset the key in the drive by writing a reset command R, R=HMAC (Key, “Reset”, OPTIONS). This ensures only the software that has the device key can perform the reset. While some embodiments are discussed herein with reference to a “command”, embodiments are not limited to this and any mechanism may be used to cause a device (such as an NVMe drive or other storage device) to perform one or more of the operations discussed with reference to the command, including for example causing the device to perform an operation by writing to a register or a physical interface…”(Where the reset reads on the control message.)].
Regarding claim 3, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the control message causes the storage product to create a user account, record or change access credentials for a user, or generate a namespace [Dewan paragraph 0033, most lines “…the platform can reset the key in the drive by writing a reset command R, R=HMAC (Key, “Reset”, OPTIONS). This ensures only the software that has the device key can perform the reset. While some embodiments are discussed herein with reference to a “command”, embodiments are not limited to this and any mechanism may be used to cause a device (such as an NVMe drive or other storage device) to perform one or more of the operations discussed with reference to the command, including for example causing the device to perform an operation by writing to a register or a physical interface…”(Where resetting the key reads on changing access credentials for a user.)].
Regarding claim 4, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the processor is further configured to send and/or receive control messages configured to sign the device into the storage product to start a session;
perform a read or write operation [Dewan paragraph 0057, middle lines “…the memory unit 670 and the physical register file(s) unit(s) 658 perform the write back/memory write stage 618…”];
generate a namespace in the storage product;
create, delete, open, or close a file name in the namespace;
or set a security attribute of the storage product.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, as per claim 1, Dewan the storage product is a first storage product, and wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether second storage access messages associated with a second storage product are permitted or prohibited to provide access to at least a portion of the second storage product [Dewan paragraph 0055, last lines “…The scheduler unit(s) 656, physical register file(s) unit(s) 658, and execution cluster(s) 660 are shown as being possibly plural because certain embodiments create separate pipelines for certain types of data/operations (e.g., a scalar integer pipeline, a scalar floating point/packed integer/packed floating point/vector integer/vector floating point pipeline, and/or a memory access pipeline that each have their own scheduler unit, physical register file(s) unit, and/or execution cluster—and in the case of a separate memory access pipeline, certain embodiments are implemented in which only the execution cluster of this pipeline has the memory access unit(s) 664). It should also be understood that where separate pipelines are used, one or more of these pipelines may be out-of-order issue/execution and the rest in-order…”(The examiner has determined its implied that the pipeline would have a second access message after the first and would operate using the same process as detailed in the above rejection.).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, as per claim 1,Dewan the storage access messages received from the storage product are a subset of messages received at the storage product via a network interface [Dewan paragraph 0051, last lines “…The solid lined boxes in FIGS. 6A-B illustrate the in-order pipeline and in-order core, while the optional addition of the dashed lined boxes illustrates the register renaming, out-of-order issue/execution pipeline and core. Given that the in-order aspect is a subset of the out-of-order aspect, the out-of-order aspect will be described….”].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the subset of messages to be selected for processing by the device are specified by the device in at least one selection criteria sent from the device to the storage product [Dewan paragraph 0043, first lines “…operation 402 determines whether the new command of operation 302 is requesting an unlocking of the partition and if so operation 404 determines whether the partition is locked…”(The selection criteria is the criteria that the command is accessing the private area.)].
Regarding claim 8, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the at least one selection criteria relates at least one of the following attributes or parameters of the storage access messages:
command type, command category, storage destination [Dewan paragraph 0043, first lines “…operation 402 determines whether the new command of operation 302 is requesting an unlocking of the partition and if so operation 404 determines whether the partition is locked…”(The selection criteria is the criteria that the command is accessing the private area.)], data source, data size, user account, access type, time of day, or date.
Regarding claim 9, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the subset of messages is a first subset of messages, wherein a second subset of messages that is different from the first subset is processed by the storage product and not sent to the device [Dewan paragraph 0076, middle lines “…where one or more of processor cores 902A to 902N execute a first instruction set, while at least one of the other cores executes a subset of the first instruction set or a different instruction set…”].
Regarding claims 10 and 18, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches the storage access messages are validated by the storage product according to an access control key prior to being received by the device [Dewan paragraph 0043, middle lines “…If the partition is determined to be locked at 404, operation 408 determines whether a hash of the device key and command (i.e., HMAC[Device Key, Command]) is successful. If so, method 400 terminates at operation 410 with a successful command and unlocking the partition…”].
Regarding claim 11, as per claim 1, Dewan teaches other storage access not validated by the storage product according to the access control key are not sent from the storage product to the device [Dewan paragraph 0043, last lines “…If the hash function determination at 408 is unsuccessful, method 400 terminates at operation 412, indicating the failure of the command…”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dewan et al. [US2022/0004668] in view of Liang et al. [US2013/0067254]. Dewan teaches lockable partition in NVME drives with drive migration support. Liang teaches host
Regarding claims 12 and 16, as per claim 1, Dewan fails to explicitly teach the processor is further configured to generate, based on a determination that a given storage access message of the storage access messages is permitted to provide access to the secure memory region, a verification code.
However, Liang does teach the processor is further configured to generate, based on a determination that a given storage access message of the storage access messages is permitted to provide access to the secure memory region, a verification code [Liang paragraph 0012, most lines “…the host computer 1 using the capacitor 210 when the host computer 1 is powered on, obtains data from the storage device 12, and generates a verification code according to the data. In the embodiment, the verification code is a checksum code for checking data errors during the data transmission between the host computer 1 and the slave device 2. The data sending module 101 generates a data packet by packing the verification code into the data, and sends the data packet to the slave device 2 through the data communication port 3…”].
Dewan and Liang are analogous arts in that they both deal with verifying storage accesses.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dewan’s storage verification with Liang’s known teachings of generating a verification code and sending it with the data to the storage device for the benefit of ensuring the integrity of the data during power off events [Liang paragraph 0004, first lines “…To ensure the integrity of the data stored in a slave device, the host computer may detect data transmission errors of the data using a checksum method…”].
Regarding claims 13 and 17, as per claim 1, Liang teaches the processor is further configured to send, to the storage product, the verification code [Liang paragraph 0019, most lines “…the data sending module 101 generates a data packet by packing the verification code into the data, and sends the data packet to the slave device 2 through the data communication port 3. In one embodiment, the verification code can be packed into a header of the data packet…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wei et al. [US11,588,819] Wei teaches S3 buckets that are secure and require authentication through whitelisting.
Kobayashi et al. [US2014/0075195] Kobayashi teaches secure USB drive authentication between management servers.
Jones et al. [US2020/0387878] Even though Jones teaches billing messages the claims are broad enough to read on it. Jones teaches users sending control messages.
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139