DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the communication filed on 07/01/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US Pub. No. 20170192651 herein after “Yang”).
As per claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 19, Yang discloses a method comprising:
receiving a first media object at a client device associated with a user account (Yang, para[0050] receive content from third-party systems or other entities);
determining that the first media object includes a reference to the user account (Yang, para[0080] tagging or being tagged in images);
receiving an input that selects the first media object (Yang, para[0005,0035] clicking or tapping on the original photo; a right-click, double tap, or any type of gesture may also suffice);
determining a permission associated with the user account based on the reference to the user account within the first media object (Yang, para[0014-0017,0086] check to determine whether edits are permitted; privacy settings which prevent the photo from being edited by third parties; privacy settings may specify how the object can be accessed…may specify any suitable granularity of permitted access or denial of access);
presenting a set of options based on the permission (Yang, para[0005,0018] “Unified Editing Modal” access for editing may depend upon the originals poster’s privacy settings; the user may not be presented with a user interface that enables the user to edit the photo);
receiving a selection of an option from among the set of options to generate a second media object (Yang, para[0019-0027,0040] user may select the filter icon from the control buttons (see FIG. 2); user may select a text icon; user selects the crop icon);
accessing image data at the client device; and generating the second media object based on the first media object and the image data (Yang, para[0035] create an edited version of the original photo).
As per claim 2, and similarly claims 11 and 20, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the permission associated with the user account includes: determining the permission associated with the user account based on attributes associated with the first media object (Yang, para[0017]).
As per claim 3, and similarly claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting the second media object among a collection of media content associated with at least the client device (Yang, para[0033]).
As per claim 4, and similarly claim 13, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of options include an action to share the first media object to one or more user accounts (Yang, para[0035,0086]).
As per claim 5, and similarly claim 14, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reference to the user account comprises a display of a user identifier associated with the user account (Yang, para[0080]).
As per claim 6, and similarly claim 15, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting a notification that indicates that the first media object includes the reference to the user account at the client device responsive to receiving the first media object that includes the reference to the user account (Yang, para[0054] while not explicitly disclosed a notification indicating tagging is well within the scope of the prior invention and further well known within the art, thus cannot be considered an inventive concept).
As per claim 8, and similarly claim 17, Yang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing display of a menu element that includes a display of the set of options at the client device based on the first media object including the reference to the user account; and receiving a selection of the menu element (Yang, para[0019-0023] see FIG. 2).
As per claim 9, and similarly claim 18, Yang discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: presenting a collection of collaborative content associated with the first media object responsive to the selection of the menu element (Yang, para[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Yang and further in view of Jesse Ozog (US Pub. No. 10,027,727 herein after “Ozog”).
As per claim 7, and similarly claim 16, Yang does not disclose, however, Ozog discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the receiving an input that selects the first media object comprises receiving an input that selects the notification from the client device (Ozog, col. 32 lines 44-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ozog’s teaching of a notification action into Yang’s teaching of editing shared content because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to aleart a user that has been associated with shared media content.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See form 892.
/NATISHA D COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458