DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, US Patent Publication 2014/0292670, in further view of Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368.
Regarding Claim 1, Cho discloses an electronic apparatus (Abstract; a mobile device), comprising:
memory storing one or more instructions (Figure 1; [0048]; [0052]; [0054]; [0120]; a storage unit 160 that stores various digital data, program for processing and controlling the processor, temporarily storing input/output data, applications );
a communication interface (Figure 1; [0043]; a communication unit 170 ) ;
a display (Figure 1; [0043]; an e-paper display unit 110); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (Figure 1; [0048]; [0052]; [0054]; [0120]; a processor 130 that implements contents stored in the storage unit 160, implement various applications and processing of data of the mobile device 100), cause the electronic apparatus to:
control the display to display a first image in a first mode (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; an Active mode (first mode) where Internet contents are displayed (first image));
control, based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input, the display to update the first image in the first mode after a first time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; detecting a second input within the predetermined time ‘t’ to be switched to a third standby mode 23 (based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input), that represents the state that a blank image is displayed on the e-paper display (display to update the first image in the first mode). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the second input to change to the third standby mode to be the “first time”); and
control, based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a second user input, the display to update the first image in the first mode after a second time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; changing to second standby mode 22 that presents a state that the predetermined contents are displayed (display to update the first image in the first mode) based on a first input within in a predetermined time t (based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a first user input). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the first input to change to the second standby mode to be the “second time”).
However, Cho doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is deactivated in the second mode, and activated in the third mode.
Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368, teaches a data processing apparatus that operates in a power saving mode incapable of receiving wireless communication, and a standby mode that is capable of receiving wireless communication data (Abstract).
Iminie’s teachings of a different modes for a data processing apparatus, where based on the mode, the data processing apparatus is either capable or incapable of wireless communication, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the disclosure of Cho’s mobile device that enters into different standby modes, and the results would have been predictable and resulted in having the communication unit 170 deactivated in the third standby mode 23 (second mode), and the communication unit 170 activated in the second standby mode 22 (third mode) since Perry teaches that standby modes represent a power saving mode of the mobile device, and corresponds to a mode that reduces power consumption (Cho: [0061];).
Therefore, the claimed subject matter of “wherein the communication interface is deactivated in the second mode, and activated in the third mode”, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Cho and Iminie teaches wherein the first mode is a normal mode, the second mode is a power saving mode, and the third mode is a communication standby mode (Perry: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; the active mode is a “normal mode”, the third standby mode 23 is considered to be a “power saving mode”, and the second standby mode 22 is considered to be a “standby mode”).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Cho and Iminie teaches wherein the display comprises an e-Paper display (Cho: Figure 1; [0043]; an e-paper display unit 110);
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Cho and Iminie wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a low-power timer (Cho: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; a processor detects a lack of a touch input signal for a predetermined time, which the examiner is considers as a “low-power timer”), and
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to determine whether the first time and the second time are reached using the low-power timer (Cho: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; the “first time” and the “second time” is determined based on the “low-power timer”).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Cho and Iminie doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a power unit comprising at least one from among a power controller, a rechargeable battery, a power adaptor, a harvesting Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC), or a solar battery (Cho: [0051]; The power unit 150 is an external power source (a power adaptor), and may supply the power to the mobile device 100.),
wherein the rechargeable battery is connected with at least one from among the power adaptor, the harvesting PMIC, or the solar battery (The examiner notes that because the previous limitations recite that the power unit comprises of at least one and not all of the components, this limitation is considered as being conditional and requires the components recited to be include in the power unit), and
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to supply power of the rechargeable battery to the low-power timer through the power controller in the second mode and the third mode (The examiner notes that because the previous limitations recite that the power unit comprises of at least one and not all of the components, this limitation is considered as being conditional and requires the components recited to be include in the power unit).
Regarding Claim 11, Cho discloses a controlling method of an electronic apparatus including a display and a communication interface (Abstract; Figure 1; [0043]; a mobile device comprising of an e-paper display unit 110 and a communication unit 170 ) , the controlling method comprising:
displaying a first image in a first mode (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; an Active mode (first mode) where Internet contents are displayed (first image));
updating, based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input, the first image in the first mode after a first time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; detecting a second input within the predetermined time ‘t’ to be switched to a third standby mode 23 (based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input), that represents the state that a blank image is displayed on the e-paper display (display to update the first image in the first mode). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the second input to change to the third standby mode to be the “first time”); and
updating, based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a second user input, the first image in the first mode after a second time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; changing to second standby mode 22 that presents a state that the predetermined contents are displayed (display to update the first image in the first mode) based on a first input within in a predetermined time t (based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a first user input). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the first input to change to the second standby mode to be the “second time”).
However, Cho doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is deactivated in the second mode, and activated in the third mode.
Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368, teaches a data processing apparatus that operates in a power saving mode incapable of receiving wireless communication, and a standby mode that is capable of receiving wireless communication data (Abstract).
Iminie’s teachings of a different modes for a data processing apparatus, where based on the mode, the data processing apparatus is either capable or incapable of wireless communication, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the disclosure of Cho’s mobile device that enters into different standby modes, and the results would have been predictable and resulted in having the communication unit 170 deactivated in the third standby mode 23 (second mode), and the communication unit 170 activated in the second standby mode 22 (third mode) since Perry teaches that standby modes represent a power saving mode of the mobile device, and corresponds to a mode that reduces power consumption (Cho: [0061];).
Therefore, the claimed subject matter of “wherein the communication interface is deactivated in the second mode, and activated in the third mode”, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Cho and Iminie teaches wherein the first mode is a normal mode, the second mode is a power saving mode, and the third mode is a communication standby mode (Perry: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; the active mode is a “normal mode”, the third standby mode 23 is considered to be a “power saving mode”, and the second standby mode 22 is considered to be a “standby mode”).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Cho and Iminie teaches wherein the display comprises an e-Paper display (Cho: Figure 1; [0043]; an e-paper display unit 110);
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of wherein the electronic apparatus further includes a low-power timer (Cho: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; a processor detects a lack of a touch input signal for a predetermined time, which the examiner is considers as a “low-power timer”), and wherein the controlling method further comprises determining whether the first time and the second time are reached based on an output of the low-power timer (Cho: Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; the “first time” and the “second time” is determined based on the “low-power timer”).
Regarding Claim 20, Cho discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having one or more instructions recorded thereon, that, when executed by an electronic apparatus including a display and a communication interface individually or collectively (Abstract; Figure 1; [0048]; [0052]; [0054]; [0120]; a mobile device comprising an e-paper display unit 110, a communication unit 170, and a storage unit 160 that stores various digital data, program for processing and controlling the processor, temporarily storing input/output data, applications. a processor 130 that implements contents stored in the storage unit 160, implement various applications and processing of data of the mobile device 100) , cause the electronic apparatus to:
control the display to display a first image in a first mode (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; an Active mode (first mode) where Internet contents are displayed (first image));
control, based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input, the display to update the first image in the first mode after a first time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; detecting a second input within the predetermined time ‘t’ to be switched to a third standby mode 23 (based on the first mode being changed to a second mode based on a first user input), that represents the state that a blank image is displayed on the e-paper display (display to update the first image in the first mode). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the second input to change to the third standby mode to be the “first time”); and
control, based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a second user input, the display to update the first image in the first mode after a second time (Figure 3, 4, and 7; [0059-0070]; [0077-0081]; [0086]; changing to second standby mode 22 that presents a state that the predetermined contents are displayed (display to update the first image in the first mode) based on a first input within in a predetermined time t (based on the first mode being changed to a third mode based on a first user input). The examiner considers the time period during which the device the device is in the active state, to when the device detects a lack of input signal for the predetermine time and detects the first input to change to the second standby mode to be the “second time”).
However, Cho doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is deactivated in the second mode, and activated in the third mode.
Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368, teaches a data processing apparatus that operates in a power saving mode incapable of receiving wireless communication, and a standby mode that is capable of receiving wireless communication data (Abstract).
Iminie’s teachings of a different modes for a data processing apparatus, where based on the mode, the data processing apparatus is either capable or incapable of wireless communication, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the disclosure of Cho’s mobile device that enters into different standby modes, and the results would have been predictable and resulted in having the communication unit 170 deactivated in the third standby mode 23 (second mode), and the communication unit 170 activated in the second standby mode 22 (third mode) since Perry teaches that standby modes represent a power saving mode of the mobile device, and corresponds to a mode that reduces power consumption (Cho: [0061];).
Therefore, the claimed subject matter, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, US Patent Publication 2014/0292670, in further view of Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368, in further view of Chung et al., US Patent Publication 2004/0246562, henceforth known as Chung.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Cho and Iminie doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the e-Paper display comprises electronic ink comprising charged particles, and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to:
initialize an arrangement of the charged particles, and control the e-Paper display to update the first image by realigning the arrangement of the charged particles based on the first image.
However, Chung et al., US Patent Publication 2004/0246562, teaches an electrophoretic display (e-paper display) comprising of dielectric fluid and a suspension of charge pigment particles that visually contrast with the dielectric solvent ([0004];) (electronic ink comprising charged particles). Where the EPD is driven to have a desired image typically by first resetting all pixels to the black/background state (charged particles to the non-viewing side of the cells) (initialize an arrangement of the charged particles), and then drive the cells in the image area to the white state by driving the charged particles in cells to the viewing surface (control the e-Paper display to update the first image by realigning the arrangement of the charged particles based on the first image) (Figure 10A and 10B; [0074-0075];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Cho and Iminie to further include the teachings of Chung in order to provide wherein the e-Paper display comprises electronic ink comprising charged particles, and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: initialize an arrangement of the charged particles, and control the e-Paper display to update the first image by realigning the arrangement of the charged particles based on the first image. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Chung teaches a typical approach to displaying an image in an electrophoretic display (Chung: [0074];)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, US Patent Publication 2014/0292670, in further view of Imine, Patent Publication 2006/0274368, in further view of Yoon et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0278324, henceforth known as Yoon.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Cho and Iminie doesn’t explicitly teach the communication interface comprises at least one from among a Bluetooth interface or a Wi-Fi interface, and wherein the third mode activates at least one from among the Bluetooth interface or the Wi-Fi interface.
However, Yoon et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0278324, teaches an electronic device comprising of an communication module that may include a wifi module 223 and a Bluetooth module 223 (Abstract; [0046];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Cho and Iminie to further include the teachings of Yoon in order to provide the communication interface comprises at least one from among a Bluetooth interface or a Wi-Fi interface, and wherein the third mode activates at least one from among the Bluetooth interface or the Wi-Fi interface. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Yoon teaches what modules may be included in a communication module of an electronic device (Yoon: Abstract; [0046];).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Cho and Iminie doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the communication interface comprises at least one from among a Bluetooth interface or a Wi-Fi interface, and wherein the third mode activates at least one from among the Bluetooth interface or the Wi-Fi interface.
However, Yoon et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0278324, teaches an electronic device comprising of an communication module that may include a wifi module 223 and a Bluetooth module 223 (Abstract; [0046];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Cho and Iminie to further include the teachings of Yoon in order to provide the communication interface comprises at least one from among a Bluetooth interface or a Wi-Fi interface, and wherein the third mode activates at least one from among the Bluetooth interface or the Wi-Fi interface. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Yoon teaches what modules may be included in a communication module of an electronic device (Yoon: Abstract; [0046];).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 8, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699