DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding limitations recited in claims 1-30 which are directed to a manner of operating the disclosed protein characterization systems, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (Multiplexed Nucleic Acid Programmable Protein Arrays, cited in IDS filed 07/14/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a protein characterizing system (pg. 4062-4064/Performing functional assays using M-NAPPA arrays), comprising:
(a) a solid support having a plurality of attached proteins from a sample, wherein individual proteins in the plurality of attached proteins have a unique spatial address on the solid support and are spatially separated from each other (see: viral M-NAPPA protein microarrays comprising a plurality of display proteins from serum samples, wherein the display proteins are arranged in a multiplexed grid configuration);
(b) a set of different affinity reagents configured to bind with at least one of the plurality of attached proteins, wherein the set of different affinity reagents comprises individual affinity reagents which differ from one another (see: arrays were probed with a Rb1 query protein fused to HaloTag and interactions were detected using an anti-HaloTag antibody, and subsequently additional interactions were analyzed using HaloTagged-Jun, -Fos, and -LidA);
(c) a detector configured to measure binding of the individual affinity reagents with the individual proteins, thereby generating empirical measurement outcomes for each of the individual proteins of the plurality of attached proteins (pg. 4059/Detection of protein expression on M-NAPPA, see: the arrays were scanned by a Tecan scanner); and
(d) a computing system (pg. 4059-4060/Detection of protein-protein interactions on M-NAPPA, see: the protein binding signal was quantified using Array-Pro Analyzer (Media Cybernetics) software) configured to:
(i) receive binding probabilities for each of the individual affinity reagents to one or more candidate proteins of the sample (see: 30 possible candidate target proteins; pg. 4060/Data visualization, see: Cytoscape software),
(ii) receive the empirical measurement outcomes (pg. 4060/Detection of serological antibodies on M-NAPPA, see: fluorescence signal intensity using Array-Pro Analyzer software), and
(iii) characterize the plurality of attached proteins based on the binding probabilities and the empirical measurement outcomes (Table S2, Table S3, see: identified proteins considered to be potential antigens had a ratio higher than 2 and a ring score higher than 1).
Regarding claim 2, Yu further discloses the plurality of attached proteins includes an unknown protein, and wherein characterizing the plurality of attached proteins includes identifying the unknown protein as one of the one or more candidate proteins of the sample (Table S2, Table S3, see: identified proteins considered to be potential antigens).
Claims 3-12 are entirely directed towards the manner in which the instantly claimed protein characterization system is intended to be used. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 13, Yu further discloses the individual proteins on the solid support are optically resolvable from each other (Figure 5, see: M-NAPPA array).
Regarding claim 14, Yu further discloses the individual proteins on the solid support are spatially separated from each other in a grid of predetermined unique addresses (Figure 5, see: M-NAPPA array).
Regarding claim 15, Yu further discloses the spatially separated individual proteins are each in individual wells or chambers (Figure 6, see: nano-well array; pg. 4064-4067/ High throughput identification of immune-dominant antigens using M-NAPPA tuberculosis proteome microarrays).
Claims 17-18 are entirely directed towards the manner in which the instantly claimed protein characterization system is intended to be used. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 19, Yu further discloses the plurality of attached proteins comprise full-length proteins (pg. 4059/Detection of protein expression on M-NAPPA, see: GST-tagged proteins).
Claims 20-23 are entirely directed towards the manner in which the instantly claimed protein characterization system is intended to be used. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 24, Yu further discloses the one or more candidate proteins include a first candidate protein, and the first candidate protein represents a canonical form of the first candidate protein and isoforms of the canonical form of the first candidate protein (pg. 4060/Data visualization, see: Cytoscape software).
Claims 25 is entirely directed towards the manner in which the instantly claimed protein characterization system is intended to be used. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 26, Yu further discloses the individual affinity reagents include antibodies (pg. 4062-4064/Performing functional assays using M-NAPPA arrays, see: interactions were detected using an anti-HaloTag antibody).
Regarding claim 27, Yu further discloses individual affinity reagents in the set of different affinity reagents recognize target epitopes present in multiple different proteins of the plurality of attached proteins (pg. 4062-4064/Performing functional assays using M-NAPPA arrays, see: interactions were detected using an anti-HaloTag antibody).
Regarding claim 28, Yu further discloses the detector is configured to measure the binding of the set of different affinity reagents applied to the plurality of attached proteins in series with binding measurements for each of the individual affinity reagents made individually from another individual affinity reagent (pg. 4059/Detection of protein expression on M-NAPPA, see: the arrays were scanned by a Tecan scanner).
Regarding claim 29, Yu further discloses the detector is configured to measure the binding of the set of different affinity reagents applied to the plurality of attached proteins in a mixture of the set of different affinity reagents, and wherein characterizing the attached proteins includes identifying post-translational modifications (PTMs) of the plurality of attached proteins (pg. 4059/Detection of protein expression on M-NAPPA, see: the arrays were scanned by a Tecan scanner; pg. 4067/Discussion, see: NAPPA has been widely applied in post-translational modifications (PTMs)).
Regarding claim 30, Yu discloses a protein characterizing system (pg. 4062-4064/Performing functional assays using M-NAPPA arrays), comprising:
(a) a solid support having a plurality of attached proteins, wherein individual proteins in the plurality of attached proteins are spatially separated from each other (see: viral M-NAPPA protein microarrays);
(b) a detector configured to measure binding of a set of different affinity reagents with the attached proteins, thereby generating empirical measurement outcomes for the individual proteins of the plurality of attached proteins (pg. 4059/Detection of protein expression on M-NAPPA, see: the arrays were scanned by a Tecan scanner), wherein the set of different affinity reagents comprises individual affinity reagents which differ from one another (see: arrays were probed with a Rb1 query protein fused to HaloTag and interactions were detected using an anti-HaloTag antibody, and subsequently additional interactions were analyzed using HaloTagged-Jun, -Fos, and -LidA); and
(c) a computing system (pg. 4059-4060/Detection of protein-protein interactions on M-NAPPA, see: the protein binding signal was quantified using Array-Pro Analyzer (Media Cybernetics) software) configured to:
(i) receive binding probabilities for each of the individual affinity reagents to candidate proteins of the sample (see: 30 possible candidate target proteins; pg. 4060/Data visualization, see: Cytoscape software),
(ii) receive the empirical measurement outcomes (pg. 4060/Detection of serological antibodies on M-NAPPA, see: fluorescence signal intensity using Array-Pro Analyzer software), and
(iii) characterize the plurality of attached proteins based on the binding probabilities and the empirical measurement outcomes (Table S2, Table S3, see: identified proteins considered to be potential antigens had a ratio higher than 2 and a ring score higher than 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (Multiplexed Nucleic Acid Programmable Protein Arrays, cited in IDS filed 07/14/2025), in view of Rich et al. (US 2003/0054367 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Yu does not explicitly disclose each of the individual proteins are attached to separate beads, and each of the separate beads are in a separate well from another bead.
Rich teaches an analogous method for correlating gene and protein expression in a cell, wherein the solid phase is configured as functionalized beads disposed in a plurality of wells ([0122]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the array of wells in the device disclosed by Yu, with beads as taught by Rich, in order to provide for the advantageous capability of being able to transfer the sample for subsequent analysis from the array, thereby enabling analysis with a plurality of modes (optical, desorption spectroscopy, etc.) (Rich: [0122]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8-14 of copending Application No. 18/916,443 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower scope of the analogous system for characterizing proteins in a sample would be fully encompassed by the instantly claimed protein characterization system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that the M-NAPPA arrays disclosed by Yu fails to teach or suggest the individual proteins having “a unique spatial address on the solid support and are spatially separated from each other”. It is the position of the Examiner that the scope defined by the instant claims would include the device disclosed by Yu. While Yu does disclose multiplexed analysis wherein each spot contains five gene plasmids for encoding five different proteins, the Examiner has interpreted the Applicant’s “unique spatial address on the solid support” which are “spatially separated from each other” to only exclude a stacked/overlapped configuration from the scope of the instant claims. Figure 1(A) of Yu, explicitly depicts 5 individual proteins located within the perimeter of a spot, wherein each individual protein is positioned in it’s own footprint, without overlap, within the spot. As each individual protein within the device disclosed by Yu does not have a footprint which overlaps with it's adjacent protein, it is the position of the Examiner that the cited prior art anticipates the claimed configuration.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments directed towards the instantly recited functional capabilities of the computing system, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Assuming arguendo that the Applicant’s characterization of the cited prior art is correct, the prior art system is still fully capable of “receiving binding probabilities…”. (i) The computers comprising Cytoscape software, disclosed by Yu, are capable of having data/information input into them, including the instantly claimed “binding probabilities…”. (ii) Yu explicitly discloses the analyzing fluorescence signal intensity using Array-Pro Analyzer software, which requires “receive the empirical measurement outcomes..”. (iii) Yu explicitly discloses identifying proteins considered to be potential antigens.
The Applicant’s remaiing arguments rely on the same alleged deficiencies which have been addressed above.
For the above reasons, the previous grounds of rejection have been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J EOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797