DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination on the merits.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed on 07/01/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Priority
The application is filed on 06/11/2024 and has priority of provisional application
filed on 12/08/2022.
Claim Objections
1. Claims 13–20 are objected to because of informalities relating to apparent typographical errors and claim-dependency inconsistencies. Specifically, claims 13–19 recite a “computer storage medium of claim 1” or “computer storage medium of claim 2,” whereas claims 1 and 2 are directed to a method, and claim 11 is directed to a computer storage medium. Accordingly, the references to claims 1 and 2 appear to be typographical errors requiring correction.
Additionally, claim 20 recites “the computer storage medium of claim,” without identifying the claim number from which it depends. Claim 20 therefore contains an incomplete claim dependency, which appears to be a typographical omission.
Applicant is required to correct the above informalities and clarify the intended claim dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims 11-20 do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) because the claims are directed to a “computer program product disposed on a computer readable medium” which typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media (See MPEP 2111.01).
4. Independent Claim 11 recites “a computer storage medium storing computer-useable instructions that when used by one or more computing devices of a decentralized processing system cause the system to perform operations comprising: transmitting, to a decentralized consensus network remote from the decentralized processing system, instructions for the decentralized consensus network to compute a subsequent state of a blockchain b ….”. Pending claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow (See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 3 19 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer storage medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media (See MPEP 2111.01). When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter).
5. The Examiner suggests that a claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim [or any similar limitations such as "computer usable memory", or "computer usable storage memory", or "computer readable memory", or "computer readable device", (i.e. any variations thereof, where "media" or "medium" is replaced by "device" or "memory") or adding "wherein the medium is not a signal"]. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentqv Galleiy, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
6. Claims 12-20 are also rejected under 101 because they inherit the deficiencies of the base claim 11.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1-20 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of over Patent No. US 12,348,655 B2, claims 1-20 of Patent No. US 12,047,520 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the applications recite the decentralized processing system can identify zero or more cryptographic commitments to update a state of the blockchain recorded on the blockchain.
Claim Comparison Table
Instant Application 19/257,146
Patent No. US 12,348, 655 B2
1. A computer-implemented method for enabling a decentralized processing network, the method comprising: identifying zero or more cryptographic commitments recorded in one or more blocks of a blockchain system to evolve a previous state of the blockchain system to a subsequent state of the blockchain system; receiving an indication to update the state of the blockchain system; transmitting, to a consensus network, instructions for the consensus network to compute the subsequent state of the blockchain system based on a previous state of the blockchain system and the zero or more cryptographic commitments recorded in the one or more blocks; receiving from the consensus network, a first cryptographic hash associated with a data structure; receiving a series of one or more data entries associated with the data structure; computing, for each data entry of the series of one or more data entries, a second cryptographic hash; for each of the series of data entries, determining that the second cryptographic hash matches the first cryptographic hash; and executing instructions contained within the series of data entries to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state.
1. A decentralized processing system comprising: one or more processors and one or more non-transitory memories in communication with the one or more processors storing instructions thereon that when executed by the one or more processors are configured to cause the decentralized processing system to: transmit, to a decentralized consensus network remote from the decentralized processing system, instructions for the decentralized consensus network to compute a subsequent state of a blockchain based on (i) a previous state and (ii) zero or more cryptographic commitments to evolve a state of the blockchain recorded in one or more blocks of the blockchain; receive, from the decentralized consensus network, a first cryptographic hash associated with a data structure; receive a series of data entries associated with the data structure; compute, for each of the series of data entries, a second cryptographic hash that is complementary to a respective data entry of the series of data entries; for each of the series of data entries, determine that the second cryptographic hash matches the first cryptographic hash; and execute instructions contained within the series of data entries to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a threshold has been reached for the blockchain system and initiating the update to the state of the blockchain system.
11. The decentralized processing system of claim 2, wherein the instructions comprise the recorded one or more blocks exceeding a threshold number of blocks.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first cryptographic hash is determined by the consensus network and based on the computed subsequent state.
3. The decentralized processing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-transitory memories store further instructions, that when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system to: determine whether the first cryptographic hash has previously been implemented to evolve the state of the blockchain; and in response to the first cryptographic hash having previously been implemented, do not evolve the previous state to the subsequent state.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the data structure comprises a Merkle tree, a Verkle tree, a Patricia Trie, and/or a Merkle Patricia Trie
2. The decentralized processing system of claim 1, wherein: the data structure comprises a Merkle tree; the first cryptographic hash comprises a first Merkle tree root hash; each of the computed second cryptographic hashes comprise a second Merkle tree root hash; the series of data entries comprise a series of Merkle tree leaves associated with the Merkle tree; and the one or more complementary hashes for each data entry of the series of data entries comprise one or more complementary hashes of the Merkle tree for each Merkle tree leaf of the series of Merkle tree leaves.
Claims 5-20
Claims 5-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schvey et al. (US 20210099283 A1, hereinafter, Schvey) in view of Alferov et al. (US 20200272619 A1, hereinafter, Alferov).
Regarding claim 1, Schvey discloses A computer-implemented method for enabling a decentralized processing network, the method comprising: (Para 0022: d access controls implemented in related decentralized computing platforms that store data in the data store):
identifying zero or more cryptographic commitments recorded in one or more blocks of a blockchain system to evolve a previous state of the blockchain system to a subsequent state of the blockchain system (Para 0058: Upon determining that pruning is authorized, some embodiments may proceed to determine whether a pending block has been committed, for instance, to a blockchain. The pruning operation may be executed synchronously between block commits. Upon determining that it has not, some embodiments may continue waiting. Upon determining that the pending block has been committed, some embodiments may proceed to the next operation, and in some cases set a flag that another block should not be committed until the operation of process 50 are complete);
receiving an indication to update the state of the blockchain system (Para 0045: he update includes updating a state trie to indicate an instance in which the smart contract was invoked and to add a pointer to a previous instance in which the smart contract was invoked. The update further includes the update to the state trie including the storage root value for the storage trie, and in some cases this includes corresponding updates to a receipts trie and a transaction trie as described in reference to FIGS. 3A and 3B.);
transmitting, to a consensus network, instructions for the consensus network to compute the subsequent state of the blockchain system (Para 0036: that entry in the state trie may include a storage root of a storage trie that is specific to the smart contract and stores local state of the smart contract, while the state trie may serve as part of global state of the decentralized computing platform, or the state trie may serve as part of global state of one of the domains or subspaces)
based on a previous state of the blockchain system and the zero or more cryptographic commitments recorded in the one or more blocks (Para 0043: determining whether the invoking party has authority to modify program state of the smart contract in a subspace of a domain described below with reference to FIG. 5 before determining to execute the invoked functionality ..executing the invoked functionality may cause the program state of the smart contract to evolve from a first program state at a first time in the past to a second program state produced by executing the invoked functionality);
receiving from the consensus network, a first cryptographic hash associated with a data structure (Para 0046: a cryptographic hash of the content of an adjacent node in the graph and a timestamp. In some embodiments, the graph may be structured to afford a relatively fast access to individual entries, for example with a skip list having nodes with content that each correspond to a respective trie, like a radix trie or Merkle tree);
receiving a series of one or more data entries associated with the data structure (Para 0043: determining whether signatures in an escrow transaction have been received, creating or otherwise modifying non-fungible cryptographic assets (like an ERC 721, e.g., non-fungible, rivalrous cryptographic token), or the like. Program state includes values of variables, the state of which affect branching in program flow of the smart contract or other smart contracts; Para 0022: a relatively large number of different smart contracts may persist state to the same blockchain. Many blockchain-based computing platforms make it difficult or impossible to identify earlier instances of state of a given smart contract on the block chain once that state has evolved);
computing, for each data entry of the series of one or more data entries, a second cryptographic hash (Claim 5: pruning is executed synchronously between instances in which transaction tries are added to the directed acyclic graph of cryptographic hash pointers);
for each of the series of data entries, determining that the second cryptographic hash matches the first cryptographic hash (Para 0048: determine that tampering has occurred and emit an alarm or block a transaction. Alternatively, upon determining that the cryptographic hash values match those currently present in the directed acyclic graph, some embodiments may determine that tampering has not occurred and permit a transaction to complete or emit a confirmation event); and
[executing instructions contained within the series of data entries to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state].
Schvey does not explicitly states but Alferov teaches executing instructions contained within the series of data entries to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state (Alferov, Para 0108: blockchain transactions …. in subsequent subseries can have dependencies/constraints on previous subseries; (b3) subset of users (V) within (U) is required to jointly authorize results of every transaction subseries; (b4) users (V) are capable to run local transaction execution simulation for any finite subseries (T[x]) on their own nodes for fixed database state, calculating resulting database state change, including ability to determine unique transaction order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein executing instructions contained within the series of data entries to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state as taught by Alferov in the teachings of Schvey for the advantage of authentication, immutability and trusted timestamping of large audit event logs wherein the method involves: audit log events aggregation into timeframe aligned data blocks, reporting of data block hashes into blockchain database for authentication, immutability and trusted timestamping (Alferov, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a threshold has been reached for the blockchain system and initiating the update to the state of the blockchain system (Schvey, Para 0030: authority of peer nodes to participate in consensus may be determined in virtue of peer nodes demonstrating some form of proof to other peer nodes. In some embodiments, the proof is proof of work, for instance, by computing a hash collision to some threshold number of digits with a cryptographic hash function).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first cryptographic hash is determined by the consensus network and based on the computed subsequent state (Schvey Para 0030: authority of peer nodes to participate in consensus may be determined in virtue of peer nodes demonstrating some form of proof to other peer nodes. In some embodiments, the proof is proof of work, for instance, by computing a hash collision to some threshold number of digits with a cryptographic hash function).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data structure comprises a Merkle tree, a Verkle tree, a Patricia Trie, and/or a Merkle Patricia Trie (Schvey, Para 0042, 0051: transaction by which the smart contract's functionality is invoked may be logged to the tamper-evident data store, as indicated by block 20, for example, in a set of nodes along a path of a transaction trie associated with a current block being composed, or in a leaf node of a Merkle tree )
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the series of one or more data entries associated with the data structure further comprises receiving one or more complementary hash values (Schvey Para 0051: when verifying the cryptographic proof of membership in block 26, the value designating that the entry has been pruned may be detected, and in response, downstream cryptographic hash values may be determined consistent with the state of the entry even though those downstream cryptographic hash values are not produced based on the current entry).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more complementary hash values are used to compute the second cryptographic hash (Schvey Para 003, 0065: retrieving, from the entry in the transaction trie that was identified, a cryptographic hash of a corresponding entry in a receipts trie, as indicated by block 76. This entry may be used as an index into another portion of the tamper-evident data store.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first cryptographic hash is used by the decentralized processing system to cryptographically verify the truthfulness of the series of data entries (Schvey Para 0072, 0076: the transaction trie 122 includes a plurality of levels of cryptographic hash pointers that fan out from a root node to leaf nodes, paths to which corresponding to individual transactions by which smart contracts are invoked or deployed. Leaf nodes may include is content a plurality of fields, including a cryptographic hash value of an entry in the receipt trie 124 corresponding to a record documenting consumption of a cryptographic tokens by which usage of computation of the decentralized computing platform are metered).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining that the work units associated with a respective data entry have not been previously implemented in a state of the blockcahin update cycle (Alferov, Para 0042: to establish batch sequence participants use blockchain database for trusted timestamping of their batch part cryptographic hashes) and transaction ordering within the batch, if required (transactions from all batch parts are ordered into a single sequence during batch processing to compute resulting blockchain transactions for the batch; for example, participants may include a reference to previous transaction cryptographic hash into the next signed transaction and exchange this information using peer-to-peer communication protocol).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising recording execution of the work units associated with a respective data entry (Alferov Para 0059, 0004: By blockchain database relates to any distributed ledger implementation and physical network, including software implementations such as Ethereum, HyperLedger Fabric or Corda, which allows basic blockchain database features: authentication of network participants, synchronised validation of new database transactions by all or subset of network participants, synchronised storage of transaction information by all or subset of network participants, immutability of stored transaction records).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining that all data entries for evolving the state of the blockchain have been implemented (Alferov, Para 0059: Blockchain database, sometimes called distributed ledger, is a distributed database, maintained by two or more computer nodes organized into computer network using protocols, which ensure that all nodes are authenticated, follow same set of protocol and application rules, all database state changes are validated against defined set of rules by all or specified subset of nodes, validated database state changes are applied and state change data is stored by all or specified subset of nodes and can't be changed without special agreement between these nodes).
Regarding claim 11; Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim 1, the operations further comprising: determining whether the first cryptographic hash has previously been implemented to evolve the state of the blockchain (Schvey, Para 0070: The address may be an address of the smart contract or instance of invocation, the nonce value may be a count of the number of times the smart contract has been invoked, the code hash value may be a cryptographic hash of bytecode representation of the smart contract 130, the storage hash may be a Merkle root of a trie of cryptographic hash pointers 120 storing key-value pairs encoding program state of the smart contract that is ephemeral between instances of invocation); and
in response to the first cryptographic hash having previously been implemented, do not evolve the previous state to the subsequent state (Schvey, Para 0070: code hash value may be a cryptographic hash of bytecode representation of the smart contract 130, the storage hash may be a Merkle root of a trie of cryptographic hash pointers 120 storing key-value pairs encoding program state of the smart contract that is ephemeral between instances of invocation. In some embodiments, the fields include a predecessor pointer that points to a previous entry in an entry in an earlier state trie corresponding to a previous invocation of the smart contract and a cryptographic).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim 1, the operations further comprising: determining, for each data entry of the series of data entries, whether a respective data entry has previously been implemented to evolve the state of the blockchain (Schvey, Para 0067: a previous entry in the state trie corresponding to a previous state of the smart contract at a previous time, as indicated by block 80. Some embodiments may determine whether a current entry is a last entry, as indicated by block 82. Upon determining that it is not, some embodiments may iterate the current iteration to the previous entry, as indicated by block 84, and traverse backwards in time through a linked list of invocations of the smart contract); and rejecting the respective data entry responsive to determining that a respective Merkle tree leaf has been previously implemented (Schvey, Para 0070: code hash value may be a cryptographic hash of bytecode representation of the smart contract 130, the storage hash may be a Merkle root of a trie of cryptographic hash pointers 120 storing key-value pairs encoding program state of the smart contract that is ephemeral between instances of invocation. In some embodiments, the fields include a predecessor pointer that points to a previous entry in an entry in an earlier state trie corresponding to a previous invocation of the smart contract and a cryptographic).
Regarding claim 15; Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16; Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim 2, wherein the series of Merkle tree leaves comprise data for work units to be carried out by the decentralized processing system to evolve the previous state to the subsequent state (Schvey Para 0076: decentralized computing platform 200 is a permissionless (e.g., public) computing platform in which anyone with access to program code of the peer node application may participate by installing and executing the application. In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform may be a private decentralized computing platform, such as one in which peer computing nodes authenticate themselves to the other computing nodes by demonstrating possession of a private cryptographic key associated with a permissioned tenant of the blockchain computing platform 200).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim 2, wherein at least one Merkle tree leaf of the series of Merkle tree leaves comprises a cryptographic hash associated with the subsequent state (Schvey Para 0035: e log of the transaction may include a cryptographic hash of the code of the smart contract, thereby rendering changes to that code tamper evident, and some embodiments may execute a cryptographic proof of membership (e.g., Merkle proof) of the code to verify the absence of tampering each time the smart contract is invoked. In some embodiments, the decentralized tamper evident data store may include various component tamper-evident data structures, like Merkle trees and tries, as described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 3A and 3B. Trees may store data in leaf nodes, and tries may store data in nodes along paths to leaf nodes,).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim 2, wherein one or more Merkle tree leaves of the series of Merkle tree leaves comprise instructions to evolve the state of the blockchain from the previous state to the subsequent state (Schvey Para 0035: the decentralized tamper evident data store may include various component tamper-evident data structures, like Merkle trees and tries, as described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 3A and 3B. Trees may store data in leaf nodes, and tries may store data in nodes along paths to leaf nodes, e.g., with a prefix stored in a first node closer to a root node, an intermediate portion of an entry stored in a next node away from the root node).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Schvey and Alferov discloses the computer storage medium of claim, the operations further comprising receiving an indication to update the state of the blockchain, wherein the indication comprises the recorded one or more blocks exceeding a threshold number of blocks and/or the indication comprises a timestamp associated with the recorded one or more blocks exceeding a threshold value (Schvey, Para 0039, 0049: invoke pruning responsive to time-based logic, e.g., in response to determining that a given entry, smart contract invocation, or smart contract is older than a threshold age).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
15. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for placing claim 12 under allowable subject matters:
The limitation of dependent claims 12 is allowed and the corresponding dependent claims including respective and any intervening claims are not disclosed by the any of the prior art of record. For example, the limitations in claim 12 recites “..the data structure comprises a Merkle tree; the first cryptographic hash comprises a first Merkle tree root hash; each of the computed second cryptographic hashes comprise a second Merkle tree root hash; the series of data entries comprise a series of Merkle tree leaves associated with the Merkle tree; and the one or more complementary hashes for each data entry of the series of data entries comprise one or more complementary hashes of the Merkle tree for each Merkle tree leaf of the series of Merkle tree leaves...” which are not are not taught or fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
The allowable subject matters in above dependent claims are novel and non-obvious in scope over the prior art of record as the prior-art references fail to teach each and every features of the aforesaid dependent claim(s) including the limitations set forth above.
In view of the foregoing, the scope of claimed subject matters renders the invention patentably distinct as none of the prior art of record, either taken by itself or in any combination, would have anticipated or made obvious the invention of the present application at or before the time it was filed.
Furthermore, the Examiner performed updated search which does not yield other specific references that reasonably, either alone or in combination, would result a proper rejection of all the claimed features presented in each of the dependent claim 12 under 35 U.S.C 102 or 35 U.S.C.103 with proper motivation.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wertheim et al. (US 20210273807 A1) discloses system for scaling and accelerating decentralized execution of transactions. In one implementation, transactions are divided into transaction segments. A first transaction segment is executed and relevant initialization state for the first transaction segment is determined.
Wright et al. (US 20220129887 A1) discloses Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) solutions for blockchain-implemented transfers. It is suited for implementation in one or more SPV wallets, or on smart cards.
17. In an effort to advance compact prosecution, with respect to any amendments to the claimed invention, the applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Moreover with respect to advancing compact prosecution, if the applicant intends to make numerous amendments, the examiner respectfully requests that applicant submit a clean copy of the claims in addition to the marked up copy of the claims in order to expedite the examination process by allowing for accurate optical character recognition (OCR) of the claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and would be listed under PTO-Form 892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yin-Chen Shaw can be reached on 571-272-8878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAHFUZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498