DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,062 B2 in view of Nishitani et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0219356 A1).
As per claim 1, Jun teaches a decoding apparatus for image decoding, the apparatus comprising (claim 1, “ an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus”): obtain image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream (claim 1, “obtaining, from a bitstream, image information comprising information related to motion compensation”); determine a prediction mode for a current block (claim 1, “determining a prediction mode for a current block”); derive motion information list including motion information candidates derived based on neighboring blocks of the current block (claim 1, “deriving motion information list including motion information candidates derived based on neighboring block of the current block”); derive motion information of the current block based on the motion information list (claim 1, “deriving motion information of the current block based on the motion information list”); generate a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information (claim 1, “generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information”) and generate a reconstructed block based on the predicted block (claim 1, “generating a reconstructed block based on the predicted block”), wherein the motion information related to the motion compensation includes precision information for a motion vector difference (claim 1, “wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes precision information for a motion vector difference”), wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents one of precision candidates including integer pel precision, quarter pel precision and eighth pel precision (claim 1, “wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents one of precision candidates including integer pel precision, quarter pel precision and eighth pel precision”) and wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter (claim 1, “wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter”). Ju does not explicitly disclose a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: wherein the neighboring blocks for deriving motion information candidates includes a corner neighboring block of the current block, as recited in claim 1.
However, Nishitani teaches a memory ([0505]); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0502], [0504-0505]), wherein the processor is configured to: wherein the neighboring blocks for deriving motion information candidates includes a corner neighboring block of the current block (abstract, [0008], [0020], and at least figs. 1A-1B, fig 9A-9B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nishitani with Ju to provide technology capable of reducing the load required to process motion information and improve the efficiency of coding motion information, [0013].
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds with claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,062 B2.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds with claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,062 B2.
Claims 4 and 7 of the instant application is the corresponding encoding apparatus and apparatus for transmitting an image data with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 1, thus claims 4 and 7 are rejected for the same analysis and reasoning as claim 1 when comparing the claims to claims 5 and 9.
Claims 5-6, 8 and 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5, 8, and 10-11 and are rejected for the same analysis and reasoning as recited above for claims 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0195562 A1) in view of Nishitani et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0219356 A1) and further in view of Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0207220 A1).
As per claim 1, Li teaches a decoding apparatus for image decoding, the apparatus comprising: a memory ([0153]); and at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0153-0154]): obtain image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream ([0086-0087] and fig. 3 el. 72); determine a prediction mode for a current block ([0087], fig. 3 el. 72); derive motion information list including motion information candidates derived based on neighboring blocks of the current block ([0132] and fig. 3, fig. 9 “video decoder 30 may identify one or more motion vector candidates for inclusion in a candidate list (e.g., merge candidate list or an AMVP candidate list) for a block. The one or more motion vector candidates may, for example includes one or more spatial neighboring blocks”); derive motion information of the current block based on the motion information list ([0087], [0132], fig. 3, fig. 9); generate a prediction block of the current block based on the motion information ([0087]), generate a reconstructed block based on the predicted block (fig. 3), wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes precision information for a motion vector difference ([0121-0122], [0125-0127] and fig. 3, 17).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: wherein the neighboring blocks for deriving motion information candidates includes a corner neighboring block of the current block, the precision information for the motion vector difference represents one of precision candidates including integer pel precision, quarter pel precision and eighth pel precision and wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter.
However, Nishitani teaches a memory ([0505]); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0502], [0504-0505]), wherein the processor is configured to: wherein the neighboring blocks for deriving motion information candidates includes a corner neighboring block of the current block (abstract, [0008], [0020], and at least figs. 1A-1B, fig 9A-9B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nishitani with Li for the to provide technology capable of reducing the load required to process motion information and improve the efficiency of coding motion information, [0013].
Li (modified by Nishitani) does not explicitly disclose the precision information for the motion vector difference represents one of precision candidates including integer pel precision, quarter pel precision and eighth pel precision and wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter.
However, Kim teaches wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents one of precision candidates including integer pel precision, quarter pel precision and eighth pel precision and wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter (abstract, figs. 10-14, 27, 29, [0130], [0161-0162], [0172], [0241-0242]“… differential motion vector resolution adaptively changes according to the area or motion vector, is generated by the resolution change flag generator 920 (in the second aspect, a resolution appointment flag generated by a resolution appointment flag generator 3220 enables setting of whether to change or fix the motion vector resolution and/or differential motion vector resolution” and “If the resolution appointment flag appoints 1/2 and 1/4 as the resolution options, the optimum resolution determined by the resolution determiner 3230 and the resolution identification flag encoded by the resolution encoder 3240 are selected from the resolutions of 1/2 and 1/4 and the resolution identification flag may be encoded according to a predetermined method”, [0241-0242]) and wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference represents the one of the precision candidates as a picture level parameter ([0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with Li (modified by Nishitani) to improve the quality of the video while reducing the quantity of bits involved in the encoding, so as to enhance the compression efficiency.
As per claim 2, Li (modified by Nishitani and Kim) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference is entropy decoded based on at least one of a block size or a block depth of the current block.
However, Kim teaches wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference is entropy decoded based on at least one of a block size or a block depth of the current block (fig. 10-14 and [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with Li (modified by Nishitani) to improve the quality of the video while reducing the quantity of bits involved in the encoding, so as to enhance the compression efficiency.
As per claim 3, Li (modified by Nishitani and Kim) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference is decoded from a header syntax.
However, Kim teaches wherein the precision information for the motion vector difference is decoded from a header syntax ([0241-0242]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with Li (modified by Nishitani) to improve the quality of the video while reducing the quantity of bits involved in the encoding, so as to enhance the compression efficiency.
As per claim 4, which is the corresponding encoding apparatus for image encoding with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 5, which is the corresponding encoding apparatus for image encoding with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 6, which is the corresponding encoding apparatus for image encoding with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 3 also applies here.
As per claim 7, which is the corresponding apparatus for transmitting an image data with the limitations of the apparatus for decoding, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here. In addition, Li teaches a transmitter configured to transmit the image data comprising the bitstream (fig. 1).
As per claim 8, which is the corresponding apparatus for transmitting an image data with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 9, which is the corresponding apparatus for transmitting an image data with the limitations of the decoding apparatus as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 3 also applies here.
Conclusion
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486