DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 07/02/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 07/02/2025.
Claims 10-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to EP 24186262, filed on 07/03/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2025 and 08/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “eccentric adjusting device” (claim 10) and “eccentric disc” (claim 15) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkic (DE 102013/015184), as cited by Applicant, in view of Steinel (DE 102017200675), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 10, Salkic discloses a control arm {1} for a wheel suspension in a motor vehicle {“This relates in particular to regions of the vehicle body in which forces and/or torques are introduced, that is to say… in the region of the wheel drives and/or chassis suspension” [0002]}, the control arm {1} comprising: a control arm body {2} having two side walls {two side walls of control arm body 2 (upper and lower sides in Fig. 2)}; and an elongated hole {1’ (Fig. 2)} in at least one side wall {side walls of control arm body 2 (Fig. 2)} of the two side walls {two side walls of control arm body 2}, the elongated hole {1’} configured to receive an adjusting device {“a fastening device (e.g. a screw) is inserted through the passage openings 1' of the strut 1 and connected to the vehicle body” [0036]}, wherein at least one wall section {central portion of 4 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)} of an inner wall {surface of 1+2 defining elongated hole 1’} of the elongated hole {1’} is configured by a reinforcing element {3: “In the embodiment with the two-part bushing 4 from FIG. 2, the force introduction element 3, which can be a metal strip, for example made of spring steel, extends between the two bushing parts 4 as far as the passage opening 1', as can also be seen from the longitudinal sectional view in FIG. 4 and the cross sectional view in FIG. 6” [0039]}, the reinforcing element {3} including a material {“steel” [0039]} with higher hardness than a material {“fiber composite plastic” [0035]} of the at least one side wall {side walls of control arm body 2 (Fig. 2)}, and the reinforcing element {3} is arranged in a recess {recess running through a central portion of 2+4 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)} in the at least one side wall {side walls of control arm body 2 (Fig. 2)} adjacent to the elongated hole {1’}.
However, Salkic does not explicitly disclose the adjusting device is an eccentric adjusting device.
Steinel teaches an elongated hole {7 (12): “The rear leg 10 has a recess 12 at the receptacles 7” [0020]} of a suspension side wall {10} configured to receive an eccentric adjusting device {13 (14+15): “The adjusting element 13 is formed by a fixing element 14, for example designed as a screw or bolt, and at least one eccentric element 15, for example designed as a disc” [0020]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control arm, as disclosed by Salkic, such that the adjusting device is an eccentric adjusting device, as taught by Steinel, “thus enabling precise and easy tracking adjustment” [0022].
Regarding claim 11, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. Salkic further discloses the reinforcing element {3: “force introduction element 3” [0035]} is press-fitted {form-fitted or force-fitted: “Within the passage openings, metallic bushes are arranged, which are in a form-fit or force-fit connection with the force introduction elements. The force introduction elements act as force transmission from the FRP into the bushings. The force introduction elements are arranged at least in the region of the bushings, but can also extend through the entire stiffening strut or extend along the entire strut length” [0009]} in the recess {recess running through a central portion of 2+4 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)}.
Regarding claim 12, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. Salkic further discloses the reinforcing element {3} extends along at least 80% of a length {100% of a length} of a longitudinal side of the elongated hole {1’ (Figs. 2, 4, 6)}.
Regarding claim 13, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. Salkic further discloses the reinforcing element {3} has a plurality of form-fitting surfaces {top and bottom surfaces of 3 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)} which interface correspondingly with a plurality of contact surfaces {top and bottom surfaces of the central recess of 2+4 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)} of the recess {recess running through a central portion of 2+4 (Figs. 2, 4, 6)}.
Regarding claim 14, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. Salkic further discloses at least one eccentric stop {two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2 (Figs. 2, 6)} in the at least one side wall {side walls of control arm body 2} at a distance from the elongated hole {1’}.
Regarding claim 15, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 14. Salkic further discloses the at least one eccentric stop {two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2 (Figs. 2, 6)} comprises a deformation {deformed empty space between the two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2} in the at least one side wall {side walls of control arm body 2}, the deformation {deformed empty space between the two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2} includes a support surface {inner surfaces facing elongated hole 1’ of the two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2 (Figs. 2, 6)} for an eccentric disc {15 (as modified by Steinel in the rejection of claim 1)} of the eccentric adjusting device {13 (14+15)}, and the support surface {inner surfaces facing elongated hole 1’ of the two U-shaped sides of control arm body 2 (Figs. 2, 6)} is aligned parallel to a longitudinal axis of the elongated hole {1’}.
However, Salkic does not explicitly disclose the support surface is aligned transversely to a longitudinal axis of the elongated hole.
Steinel teaches at least one eccentric stop {16 (eccentric due to the curvature of 20+21)} comprises a deformation {deformed empty space between the two stops 16 (Fig. 3b)} in the at least one side wall {10 (8)}, the deformation {deformed empty space between the two stops 16} includes a support surface {inner surfaces of 16 facing towards elongated hole 19 (Fig. 3b)} for an eccentric disc {15 (Fig. 2)} of the eccentric adjusting device {13 (14+15): “It is advantageously dimensioned such that the guide sections 16 and the eccentric element 15 have a sufficiently large contact area with each other, so that the forces occurring when adjusting the track can be transferred from the eccentric element 15 via the guide sections 16 into the receptacle 6, 7” [0025]}, and the support surface {inner surfaces of 16 facing towards elongated hole 19 (Fig. 3b)} is aligned transversely to a longitudinal axis {V direction (Fig. 3a)} of the elongated hole {19 (Figs. 3a-3b): “elongated hole 19” [0024]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control arm, as disclosed by Salkic and Steinel, such that control arm includes additional stops and support surfaces that are aligned transversely to a longitudinal axis of the elongated hole, as taught by Steinel, “thus enabling precise and easy tracking adjustment” [0022].
Regarding claim 17, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. Salkic further discloses the reinforcing element {3} comprises steel {“the force introduction element 3, which can be a metal strip, for example made of spring steel” [0039]}.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkic and Steinel as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Vingnesengen (US 20240174038).
Regarding claim 16, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. However, Salkic does not explicitly disclose the control arm body comprises aluminum or an aluminum alloy.
Vingnesengen teaches the control arm body {2 (of chassis component 1)} comprises aluminum or an aluminum alloy {“the chassis component is made of a light metal material, for example an aluminum alloy” [0022]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control arm, as disclosed by Salkic and Steinel, such that the control arm body comprises aluminum or an aluminum alloy, as taught by Vingnesengen, because “This reduces the weight of the chassis component, which has an advantageous effect on the driving characteristics and fuel consumption of the motor vehicle” [0022].
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkic and Steinel as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fortmeier (US 2020/0247204).
Regarding claim 18, Salkic and Steinel disclose all the aspects of claim 10. However, Salkic does not explicitly disclose the reinforcing element comprises a surface coating.
Fortmeier teaches a steel component {1: “a motor vehicle control arm 1, according to the invention. It has a first and second profile 2, 3 made from a metallic material. The material is a steel alloy” [0065]} comprises a surface coating {“The steel sheet is advantageously provided with a zinc coating, which protects against corrosion” [0008]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control arm, as disclosed by Salkic and Steinel, such that the reinforcing element comprises a surface coating, as taught by Fortmeier, in order to protect “against corrosion” [0008].
Regarding claim 19, Salkic, Steinel and Fortmeier disclose all the aspects of claim 18. Salkic, as modified by Fortmeier in the rejection of claim 18, further discloses the surface coating comprises zinc {“a zinc coating” [0008]}.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkic, Steinel and Fortmeier as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Schoerner (DE 102008/055716).
Regarding claim 20, Salkic, Steinel, and Fortmeier disclose all the aspects of claim 18. However, Salkic does not explicitly disclose the surface coating comprises zinc flake coating.
Schoerner teaches the surface coating comprises zinc a flake coating {6: “zinc flake coating” [0029]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control arm, as disclosed by Salkic, Steinel and Fortmeier, such that the surface coating comprises a zinc flake coating, as taught by Schoerner, in order to provide “good corrosion protection” [0010].
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614