DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Merwe et al (20130054763) in view of Malets et al (20120275442).
Regarding claim 1, Van der Merwe et al discloses, a communication system comprising (abstract):
at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (¶ 0133):
receive traffic, at a datacenter (134, fig. 1-2), from a mobile terminal (mobile device), the traffic being sent through a first communication facility operated by a first mobile network operator (¶ 0026, communications from mobile devices that are routed through a VPMN to an IP network are then routed through the virtualized tunnel specified by the routing and forwarding tables. This enables mobile devices associated with a client to access applications and/or data located within an enterprise VPN of the client or applications and/or data hosted by a virtual machine in a cloud computing data center); and
determine at least one of a plurality of destinations for the received traffic, based on a network identifier of the traffic, wherein the plurality of destinations comprise: a mobile virtual network in the datacenter, the mobile virtual network realizing a mobile network function operated by a mobile network operator; and a virtual network for a cloud service in the datacenter (¶ 0058, cloud computing data center 134 of FIG. 2 is managed by a data center manager 220 to control the creation, allocation, and/or distribution of resources within the cloud computing data center 134. The cloud computing data center 134 further includes servers 222-228 for hosting computing resources, a virtual local area network (VLAN) switch 230, a router 232 that includes logical routers 234 and 236, and virtual machines VM X1 and VM X2 hosted respectively by the servers 222 and 224. Each of the servers 222-228 may be located within a single site location or, alternatively, may be distributed at a plurality of site locations within the cloud computing data center 134. Additionally, the cloud computing data center 134 may include other routers, logical routers, servers, VLANs, and/or switching networks that may be distributed across one or more sites located at different physical locations).
Van der Merwe et al does not specifically disclose a second communication facility operated by a second mobile network operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Malets et al discloses, a second communication facility operated by a second mobile network operator (¶ 0044-0045, a first network 108 run by network operator 106, and a second network 112 run by network operator 110). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Van der Merwe et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility management and ensures cost-effective phone calls within roaming environment, while maintaining stable and known identity as taught by Malets et al.
Regarding claims 2,7, Van der Merwe et al and Malets et al disclose in claim 1, further, Malets et al discloses, wherein the data center (202, fig. 2) is connected to the first wireless communication facility and the second wireless communication facility via a physical channel or a logical channel (¶ 0044).
Regarding claims 3, 8 Van der Merwe et al and Malets et al disclose in claim 1, further, Malets et al discloses, wherein the data center terminates a bearer between the data center and one of a first user terminal, a second user terminal and a third user terminal (¶ 0044, a first network 108 run by network operator 106, and a second network 112 run by network operator 110. Roaming environment 200 also includes a platform component 202 that can be a Mobile Network Operator (MNO)
The first network operator 106 and second network operator 110 share a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) agreement 210 and see at least 1, ¶ 0057, Visited VoIP Gateway (VVG) 504, mobile device 516, and visited Mobile Switching Center (VMSC) 514 which are in a visited network. Home VoIP Gateway (HVG) 502, switching platform 506, and roaming platform 508 are within a home network (not shown). Connecting the two networks and managing communications between the networks are Mobile Virtual Network Operator 510 with associated Home Location Register 512...)).
Regarding claim 5 Van der Merwe et al and Malets et al disclose in claim 1, further, Malets et al discloses, wherein the mobile virtual network operator is different from the first mobile network operator, and wherein the mobile virtual network operator is different from the second mobile network operator (¶ 0044, a first network 108 run by network operator 106, and a second network 112 run by network operator 110.).
Regarding claim 6, Van der Merwe et al discloses, a communication system comprising (abstract):
receiving traffic, at a datacenter, from a mobile terminal, the traffic being sent through a first communication facility operated by a first mobile network operator, or a second communication facility operated by a second mobile network operator (¶ 0026, communications from mobile devices that are routed through a VPMN to an IP network are then routed through the virtualized tunnel specified by the routing and forwarding tables. This enables mobile devices associated with a client to access applications and/or data located within an enterprise VPN of the client or applications and/or data hosted by a virtual machine in a cloud computing data center); and
determining at least one of a plurality of destinations for the received traffic, based on a network identifier of the traffic, wherein the plurality of destinations comprise: a mobile virtual network in the datacenter, the mobile virtual network realizing a mobile network function operated by a mobile network operator; and a virtual network for a cloud service in the datacenter (¶ 0058, cloud computing data center 134 of FIG. 2 is managed by a data center manager 220 to control the creation, allocation, and/or distribution of resources within the cloud computing data center 134. The cloud computing data center 134 further includes servers 222-228 for hosting computing resources, a virtual local area network (VLAN) switch 230, a router 232 that includes logical routers 234 and 236, and virtual machines VM X1 and VM X2 hosted respectively by the servers 222 and 224. Each of the servers 222-228 may be located within a single site location or, alternatively, may be distributed at a plurality of site locations within the cloud computing data center 134. Additionally, the cloud computing data center 134 may include other routers, logical routers, servers, VLANs, and/or switching networks that may be distributed across one or more sites located at different physical locations).
Van der Merwe et al does not specifically disclose a second communication facility operated by a second mobile network operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Malets et al discloses, a second communication facility operated by a second mobile network operator (¶ 0044-0045, a first network 108 run by network operator 106, and a second network 112 run by network operator 110). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Van der Merwe et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility management and ensures cost-effective phone calls within roaming environment, while maintaining stable and known identity as taught by Malets et al.
Claim(s) 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Merwe et al in view of Malets et al and Banavalikar et al (20130287022).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Van der Merwe et al discloses in claim further, communications from mobile devices that are routed through a VPMN to an IP network are then routed through the virtualized tunnel specified by the routing and forwarding tables. This enables mobile devices associated with a client to access applications and/or data located within an enterprise VPN of the client or applications and/or data hosted by a virtual machine in a cloud computing data center (¶ 0026, 0046).
Van der Merwe et al in view of Malets et al do not specifically disclose, in detail, wherein the data center terminates a tunnel between the data center and one of a first user terminal, a second user terminal and a third user terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, Banavalikar et al discloses in more detail, wherein the data center terminates a tunnel between the data center and one of a first user terminal, a second user terminal and a third user terminal (¶ 0005, 0021, fig. 3-9). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Van der Merwe et al in view of Malets et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The virtual machines (VMs) move data across the architecture easily and efficiently by flat switch architecture as taught by Banavalikar et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643