DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12338747. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 11 and 18 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2 and the 20%-80% span length. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12503947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1 and 7 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12442306. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 11, and 12 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12601270. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1 and 11 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12359572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1 and 11 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12352183. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-11, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12326101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 9-11, and 18-19 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12467370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1-4 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, 19-20, 23, and 27-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12331661. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, 19-20, 23, and 27-28 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 20-22, 26-28, 32-34, 43, 47-48, 54-55, and 59-60 of U.S. Patent No. 12410719. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 20-22, 26-28, 32-34, 43, 47-48, 54-55, and 59-60 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12601269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1 and 5-7 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-11, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12320273. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 8-11, and 18-20 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12467476. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1 and 9-11 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 9-14, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12158082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 5, 9-14, and 18-19 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12345177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 5-8, and 12-15 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 10-11, 14, 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12326154. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10-11, 14, 16-18 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 11, 13, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12326155. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 9, 11, 13, and 18-19 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 10-11, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12326157. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 8, 10-11, and 18 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 13-16, 21-22, and 26-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12352284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 9, 13-16, 21-22, and 26-27 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 13-16, 21-22, and 26-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12352284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 9, 13-16, 21-22, and 26-27 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12571404. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, and 12 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12584494. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any remaining differences in the claims are obvious. Claims 1, 8-9, and 12 disclose overlapping ranges of APF, including multiple stages and APF1/APF2. The remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-10 and 14-25 of copending Application No. 18/937,441 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 14 and 18 of the parent application substantially overlaps with the same claimed subject matter with the same overlapping ranges, just reordered. The dependent claim limtiations similarly overlap and where they do not the remaining differences are bypass ratios, gearbox ratios, chord lengths of the airfoils, span length percentages, vane/fan blade ratios, and fan tip speeds; all of these limitations are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as they are merely design choices (chord length of the blade), or well known (bypass ratio, gearbox ratio, fan tip speeds).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Clam 2 recites “a quantity of the plurality of composite fan blades”. However, such a limitation was already recited in claim 1 and therefore it’s not clear if this is a distinct limitation, or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20160208615) in view of Murooka (US 20130111908) and Stilin (US 20220136394), and further in view of Barnett (US 20220120186) and Piazza (US 11466624).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 5-6;
Li discloses a turbine engine (15) comprising: a fan (14) comprising a fan casing/nacelle (30); a turbomachine defining an engine centerline (11) and comprising a compressor section (16, 18), a combustor (21) in fluid communication with the compressor section, a turbine section (22, 24) in fluid communication with the combustor; a set of composite airfoils (20) circumferentially arranged about the engine centerline, an airfoil of the set of composite airfoils comprising: a composite portion (Paragraph 26) extending chordwise between a composite leading edge and a trailing edge (Figure 8); a leading edge protector (64) coupled to the composite portion at the composite leading edge to define a seam (see the seam in Figure 8), and extending chordwise between a leading edge and the seam to define a leading length (lengths 82, 84); and the composite portion and the leading edge protector together defining an exterior surface of the airfoil and extending chordwise between the leading edge and the trailing edge to define a chord length (Paragraph 28). Li further discloses a set out outlet guide vanes downstream of the plurality of composite fan blades (Figure 1, see unlabeled downstream outlet guide vanes).
Li fails to teach the set of composite airfoils includes a set of fan blades and a set of outlet guide vanes and a first APF (APF1) for the set of fan blades is greater than or equal to 0.2 and less than or equal to 0.30 (0.2≤APF1≤0.3) and a second APF (APF2) for the set of outlet guide vanes is greater than or equal to 0.08 and less than or equal to 0.17 (0.08≤APF2≤0.17), the set of composite airfoils includes a first stage of composite airfoils and a second stage of composite airfoils downstream from the first stage of composite airfoils and wherein the first stage of composite airfoils has a first airfoil protection factor (APF1) and the second stage of composite airfoils has a second airfoil protection factor (APF2) and wherein the first airfoil protection factor (APF relates to the second airfoil protection factor (APF2) by an expression: APF1/APF2 to define a stage protection factor (SPF), wherein the SPF is greater APF2 than or equal to 0.7 and less than or equal to 4 (0.7<SPF<4), and the SPF is between 0.95 and 2.5, a ratio of a quantity of the plurality of composite outlet guide vanes to a quantity of the plurality of composite fan blades is greater than 1:1 and equal to or less than 5:2and a speed reduction device driven by the turbine section and configured for rotating the fan.
Murooka teaches the relationship between leading edge protector chordwise extend and chord length. Murooka defines “sheath length k” as the chordwise extend of the sheath (LL) and expresses it as a percentage of chord (Paragraph 39). The ratio is considered to be greater than or equal to 0.08 or less than or equal to 0.3 (10%-60% chord which substantially overlaps with the claimed range), and each of the set of composite airfoils extend spanwise between a root and a tip to define a span length and the APF is determined between 20% and 80% of the span length (Paragraphs 39 and 43). Stilin teaches a composite fan blade with a leading edge sheath (76) in an engine with a geared architecture (48).
Barnett teaches a composite guide vane with a metallic leading edge sheath for turbofan engine stator vanes. The vane body (26) is constructed of composite material (Paragraph 33) with a metallic sheath (28) and is applied to the leading edge, and is applicable in bypass duct as an outlet guide vane (Paragraph 30). Murooka establishes sheath chordwise extent as a fraction of chord as a result effective variable with a governing principle of selecting coverage within a range that impacts energy dictates the sheath extent (Paragraphs 24, 41, 44).
Piazza teaches a geared turbofan engine (100) with a fan assembly (104) through a gear reduction assembly (102, various embodiments). The vane assembly (110) downstream of the fan includes a greater quantity of vanes relative to the fan blades, and various other combinations of quantity of vanes/fan blades, including a ratio that falls within the range of 1:1 to less than or equal to 5:2 (Col. 8, Lines 1-14).
Li, Murooka, and Barnett all related to composite airfoils with metallic leading edge sheaths n gas turbine engines. OGV’s experience lower impact energy since they are stationary and positioned downstream of the fan which means they encounter fragments that have been deflected from the fan blades. Since the OGV’s experience lower impact, the OGV coverage can be sized accordingly with a range on the lower end of the cited range of Murooka because the impact energy is lower for the stationary guide vane in comparison to the fan blades. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Li such that the set of composite airfoils includes a set of fan blades and a set of outlet guide vanes and a first APF (APF1) for the set of fan blades is greater than or equal to 0.2 and less than or equal to 0.30 (0.2≤APF1≤0.3) and a second APF (APF2) for the set of outlet guide vanes is greater than or equal to 0.08 and less than or equal to 0.17 (0.08≤APF2≤0.17), the set of composite airfoils includes a first stage of composite airfoils and a second stage of composite airfoils downstream from the first stage of composite airfoils and wherein the first stage of composite airfoils has a first airfoil protection factor (APF1) and the second stage of composite airfoils has a second airfoil protection factor (APF2) and wherein the first airfoil protection factor (APF relates to the second airfoil protection factor (APF2) by an expression: APF1/APF2 to define a stage protection factor (SPF), wherein the SPF is greater APF2 than or equal to 0.7 and less than or equal to 4 (0.7<SPF<4), and the SPF is between 0.95 and 2.5 as taught by Barnett and Murooka for the purposes of protecting the downstream OGV’s while optimizing the ratio necessary for the impact.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine of Li such that a speed reduction device driven by the turbine section for rotating the fan as taught by Stilin and Piazza for the purposes of improving propulsive efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine of Li such that a ratio of a quantity of the plurality of composite outlet guide vanes to a quantity of the plurality of composite fan blades is greater than 1:1 and equal to or less than 5:2 as taught by Piazza for the purposes of optimizing aeroacoustics interaction between the fan blade wakes and downstream vanes.
Regarding claims 3-4;
Li in view of Murooka, Stilin, Barnett, and Piazza teaches the turbine engine according to claim 1 above.
Li fails to teach the LL is greater than or equal to 1.5 cm and less than or equal to 19 cm (1.5 cm 5 LL 5 19 cm) and the CL is greater than or equal to 9.3 cm and less than or equal to 77 cm (9.3 cm 5 CL 5 77 cm).
At the top of MPEP 2144.04, it explains that various modifications, including changes in size and proportion, are “common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients.” Specifically, §§IV. A cites, Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), wherein the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. The applicant has not disclosed that having the LL between 1.5 and 19 cm or the CL between 9.3 and 77 cm solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that this is the designed length based on the blade chord length chosen. Further, there is no readily apparent significance or advantage to this limitation. Thus, a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. Additionally, with the combination of Murooka the LL is already a set percentage of the chord length, and would thus vary in size depending on how large/small the chord length of the blades are. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LL of Li such that between 20% and 80% span length the LL is between 1.5-19 cm with a CL of between 9.3 and 77 cm because this modification does not patentably distinguish the claimed device, nor cause the device to perform differently, and thus the modification of the dimensions would have been obvious; the sizing of the chord length is merely dependent on the sizing of the engine and context in which the blade operates.
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Murooka, Stilin, Barnett, and Piazza teaches the turbine engine according to claim 1 above. Li as modified teaches the speed reduction device is a power gearbox (see gearboxes of Stilin and Piazza).
Regarding claims 10-11, Li in view of Murooka, Stilin, Barnett, and Piazza teaches the turbine engine according to claim 1 above. Li further discloses the composite portion is formed from a polymer matrix composite and the leading edge protector is metallic (Paragraphs 27-28).
Regarding claim 12;
Li in view of Murooka, Stilin, Barnett, and Piazza teaches the turbine engine according to claim 1 above.
Li fails to teach a pitch change mechanism, wherein at least one composite fan blade of the plurality of composite fan blades is coupled to a disk, and wherein the at least one composite fan blade is rotatable relative to the disk about a pitch axis P by the pitch change mechanism.
Piazza teaches a pitch change mechanism (482) of fan blades connected to a disk (332 in Figure 3, disks would be included in alternative embodiments) to rotate about a pitch axis (P).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine of Li such that the turbine comprises a pitch change mechanism, wherein at least one composite fan blade of the plurality of composite fan blades is coupled to a disk, and wherein the at least one composite fan blade is rotatable relative to the disk about a pitch axis P by the pitch change mechanism as taught by Piazza for the purposes of improving flow incidence within an optimum range and improving aerodynamic performance.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20160208615) in view of Murooka (US 20130111908), Stilin (US 20220136394), Barnett (US 20220120186) and Piazza (US 11466624), and further in view of Drozdenko (US 20140219808).
Li in view of Murooka, Stilin, Barnett, and Piazza teaches the turbine engine according to claim 1 above.
Li as modified fails to teach the bypass ratio between 10:1 and 22:1 and the power gearbox having a power gearbox ratio between 2:1 and 5:1.
Drozdenko teaches a gas turbine engine with a fan having a gearbox that has a reduction ratio between 2:1 and 5:1 (Paragraph 11), a bypass ratio between 10:1 and 22:1 (Paragraph 12), and a fan tip speed of less than 1400 fps (Paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine of Li such that the bypass ratio between 10:1 and 22:1 and the power gearbox having a power gearbox ratio between 2:1 and 5:1 as taught by Drozdenko for the purposes of improving fuel efficiency for an amount of power output.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745