DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2025/0330051; “Hu”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches a method for power loss accounting, the method being performed by a wireless power transmitter (110 in figure 1 and 612 in figure 6) and the method comprising the steps of:
acquiring information on at least one of a distance between the wireless power transmitter (110 in figure 1 and 612 in figure 6) and a wireless power receiver (120 in figure 1 and 624 in figure 6) and a rectified voltage (VRECT measured with 643A) of the wireless power receiver (120/624);
specifying a scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) corresponding to the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (para. [0055]); and
estimating power loss (PFM loss) due to friendly metal with reference to the acquired information and the specified scaling factor (para. [0055]),
wherein the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT) functions as a variable for estimating the power loss (para. [0055]), and
wherein the scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) is a ratio (See para. [0087] and figure 9) of a coefficient (TG) corresponding to a combination of a general wireless power transmitter (PTX) and a reference wireless power receiver (GRX) to a coefficient (GG) corresponding to a combination of a reference wireless power transmitter (GTX) and the reference wireless power receiver (GRX).
As for claim 6, Hu teaches wherein a second packet transmitted from the wireless power receiver includes information corresponding to a coefficient used to estimate the power loss and a condition to be applied to the coefficient (See method steps 442a in figure 4 and 807 in figure 8).
As for claim 7, Hu teaches wherein a third packet transmitted from the wireless power receiver includes information for assisting in selection of a coefficient used to estimate the power loss (Para. [0051] teaches the power receiver 120 transmitting a plurality of parameters used by the power transmitter 110 to determine a plurality of coupling coefficients.).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches wherein a coefficient used to estimate the power loss is stored in the wireless power receiver (Hu teaches storing coefficients in the power transmitter and power receiver. Para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches a wireless power transmitter (110 in figure 1 and 612 in figure 6), comprising:
an acquisition unit (communications module 118) configured to acquire information on at least one of a distance between the wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiver (120 in figure 1 and 624 in figure 6) and a rectified voltage (VRECT measured with 643A) of the wireless power receiver (120/624); and
an estimation management unit (116) configured to estimate power loss (PFM loss) due to friendly metal (para. [0055]) with reference to the acquired information and a scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) corresponding to the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT),
wherein the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT) functions as a variable for estimating the power loss (para. [0055]), and
wherein the scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) is a ratio (See para. [0087] and figure 9) of a coefficient (TG) corresponding to a combination of a general wireless power transmitter (PTX) and a reference wireless power receiver (GRX) to a coefficient (GG) corresponding to a combination of a reference wireless power transmitter (GTX) and the reference wireless power receiver (GRX).
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches a method for power loss accounting, the method being performed by a wireless power receiver (120 in figure 1 and 624 in figure 6; Para. [0042] teaches foreign object detection being process in either the power transmitter or in the power receiver) and the method comprising the steps of:
acquiring information on at least one of a distance between a wireless power transmitter (110 in figure 1 and 612 in figure 6) and the wireless power receiver (120 in figure 1 and 624 in figure 6) and a rectified voltage (VRECT measured with 643A) of the wireless power receiver (120/624); and
causing power loss (PFM loss) due to friendly metal to be estimated (para. [0055]) with reference to the acquired information (VRECT measured with 643A) and a scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) corresponding to the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT),
wherein the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT) functions as a variable for estimating the power loss (para. [0055]), and
wherein the scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) is a ratio (See para. [0087] and figure 9) of a coefficient (TG) corresponding to a combination of a general wireless power transmitter (PTX) and a reference wireless power receiver (GRX) to a coefficient (GG) corresponding to a combination of a reference wireless power transmitter (GTX) and the reference wireless power receiver (GRX).
As for claim 15, Hu teaches wherein a second packet transmitted from the wireless power receiver includes information corresponding to a coefficient used to estimate the power loss and a condition to be applied to the coefficient (See method steps 442a in figure 4 and 807 in figure 8).
As for claim 16, Hu teaches wherein a third packet transmitted from the wireless power receiver includes information for assisting in selection of a coefficient used to estimate the power loss (Para. [0051] teaches the power receiver 120 transmitting a plurality of parameters used by the power transmitter 110 to determine a plurality of coupling coefficients.).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches wherein a coefficient used to estimate the power loss is stored in the wireless power receiver (Hu teaches storing coefficients in the power transmitter and power receiver. Para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches a wireless power receiver (120 in figure 1 and 624 in figure 6; Para. [0042] teaches foreign object detection being process in either the power transmitter or in the power receiver), comprising:
an acquisition unit (input of 126) configured to acquire information on at least one of a distance between a wireless power transmitter (110 in figure 1 and 612 in figure 6) and the wireless power receiver and a rectified voltage (VRECT measured with 643A) of the wireless power receiver (120/624); and
an estimation management unit (126) configured to cause power loss (PFM loss) due to friendly metal to be estimated (para. [0055]) with reference to the acquired information and a scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) corresponding to the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT),
wherein the at least one of the distance and the rectified voltage (VRECT) functions as a variable for estimating the power loss (para. [0055]), and
wherein the scaling factor (gFM,VRECT) is a ratio (See para. [0087] and figure 9) of a coefficient (TG) corresponding to a combination of a general wireless power transmitter (PTX) and a reference wireless power receiver (GRX) to a coefficient (GG) corresponding to a combination of a reference wireless power transmitter (GTX) and the reference wireless power receiver (GRX).
As for claims 19 and 20, Hu teaches wherein the information on the rectified voltage (VRECT) includes a value of the rectified voltage measured by the wireless power receiver (See rectifier voltage sensor 643A in figure 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 October 27, 2026