DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Rejection office action in response to application Serial No. 19/257,733. Claim(s) 1-20 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of KR10-2019-0169354 filed 12/18/2019 and CON of 17/122,019 filed 12/15/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claims 5 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 5 and 15 should implement a period (.), instead of a comma (,). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maskell et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0305436), hereinafter, referred to as “Maskell” in view of Anya Lynn Getman (CN101402363B; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Getman”.
Regarding [claim 1], Maskell discloses a brake system (see, “a brake system 30”; and Paragraph [0077]: “The brake system 30 of the vehicle 10 comprises four hydraulic disc brakes 56 , one for each wheel 20, 22, 24, 26 of the vehicle. The disc brakes 56 are individually operable by imparting hydraulic pressure via hydraulic lines 58 connecting each brake to a master cylinder 60. Each hydraulic line 58 is in communication with hydraulic pressure control means 62 for increasing or decreasing hydraulic pressure in the line 58 based on electronic commands. Such hydraulic pressure control means 62 are well known in the art.”) comprising:
an electric brake (see, “brakes subsystem 76”*** Examiner notes that the reference does not explicitly disclose an electric brake, however, it is interpreted that the subsystem encloses the electric brake of the braking system/subsystem*** ; and Paragraph [0083]: “FIG. 3 shows the brakes subsystem controller 35 in more detail. The brakes subsystem controller 35 controls the brakes subsystem 76. The brakes subsystem controller 35 includes an electronic stability control means in the form of an electronic stability controller 78 which provides control signals via line 80 to the brakes subsystem 76 in a manner appropriate to whether a trailer is attached. The electronic stability controller 78 may send control signals to the braking system 76 to individually apply the brakes to each of the wheels, to maintain or restore stability of the vehicle if instability is detected. The nature of these brake interventions will be different dependent upon whether it is detected that trailer is attached.”) provided on at least one of front and rear wheels of a towing vehicle (see, Paragraphs [0073]: “FIG . 1 shows a vehicle 10 towing a trailer 12. The vehicle typically comprises a car, van or truck. The trailer comprises an unpowered towed vehicle and includes caravans, freight trailers, domestic trailers, etc. The trailer 12 is connected to the vehicle 10 by means of a tow hitch or hook 14 of the vehicle 10”; and [0074]: “FIG. 2 shows a vehicle 10 according to an embodiment of the invention . The vehicle 10 comprises a pair of front wheels 20, 22, a pair of rear wheels 24, 26”, see also [0077]); and
a controller (see, Paragraph [0035]: “The electronic processor may be configured to
receive inputs selected from one or more of the yaw rate, longitudinal accelerometer and engine torque and to use one or more of these inputs in addition to the pitch data to determine whether a trailer is attached to the vehicle while the vehicle is in motion”) configured to receive a longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle (see, Paragraphs [0081]: “The brakes control subsystem controller 35 receives information from the vehicle sensors 32, either directly or indirectly from another subsystem controller that communicates with the sensors and publishes signals there from to the CAN which are read by the brakes subsystem controller 35. The vehicle sensors 32 include wheel speed sensors, a vehicle reference speed sensor 70, an engine torque sensor 72, and a six degree of freedom inertial measurement unit (IMU) 74. The IMU 74 provides the brakes subsystem controller 35 with pitch data, yaw data, roll data, surge data, sway data and heave data for the vehicle. Suitable IMUs are known in the art and described.”; and [0085]: “The brakes subsystem controller 35 receives a plurality of signals, represented generally at 82 which are received from a plurality of vehicle sensors and are representative of a variety of different parameters associated with vehicle motion. The signals 82 include inputs originating from the IMU which provides information on the vehicle pitch but can also include, signals relating to yaw, roll longitudinal, lateral and vertical acceleration.”), determine whether or not a trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle based on whether first vehicle shaking occurs in the towing vehicle (see, Paragraph [0085]: “The brakes subsystem controller 35 uses these signals to determine whether a trailer is connected to the vehicle, as described in more detail below. In other embodiments, only a selection of the aforementioned sensors and/or signals may be used to determine whether a trailer is connected to the vehicle.”; [0087]- [0088]: “FIGS. 4 and 5 show the pitch profiles of a vehicle without a trailer and with a 300 kg trailer respectively. The pitch profile of FIG. 4 has a frequency of 3.54 Hz, whilst the pitch profile of FIG. 5 has a frequency of 2.5 Hz. This difference in frequency is used to detect the presence or absence of a trailer.”; and [0089]: “The status calculation module 84 uses a look up table or algorithm 86 to determine from the pitch profile whether a trailer is present. The look up table includes a range of pitch profiles which correspond to various vehicle and trailer combinations or vehicles without trailers. Comparison of the detected pitch profile with the pitch profiles in the look up table is used to determine whether or not a trailer is present and the parameters, such as weight/length or leverage, of the trailer. Alternatively, an algorithm can be used to determine whether a trailer is attached to the vehicle, for example by determining whether the pitch frequency is above or below a threshold level.”, also see paragraph [0090]-[00956])…, and
control the electric brake according to whether or not the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle when parking is operated (see, Paragraph [0083]: “The brakes subsystem controller 35 controls the brakes subsystem 76. The brakes subsystem controller 35 includes an electronic stability control means in the form of an electronic stability controller 78 which provides control signals via line 80 to the brakes subsystem 76 in a manner appropriate to whether a trailer is attached. The electronic stability controller 78 may send control signals to the braking system 76 to individually apply the brakes to each of the wheels, to maintain or restore stability of the vehicle if instability is detected.”; and [0095]-[0096]: “This output 88 may also include information relating to the trailer, such as its weight and/or length category.
Operating parameters of the electronic stability controller (ESC) may be adjusted based on the category of trailer which is detected. For example, the intervention levels at which the ECS intervenes to control stability may be adjusted for different trailer categories. Likewise, the magnitude of any ESC interventions may be adjusted for different trailer categories. For example a vehicle towing very heavy trailer will require earlier intervention (for example braking ) and intervention of a higher magnitude than a vehicle towing a light trailer.”).
***Examiner notes that a determination is made where vehicle shaking occurs in the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops relates to Maskell discloses the use of data relating to the pitch of a vehicle to determine whether a trailer is attached to the vehicle with the use of sensors data with the pitch detector increases the accuracy of the determination of whether a trailer is present (see, Paragraph [0050]), , however, Maskell does not explicitly teach
determining…… when the towing vehicle stops, wherein an occurrence of the first vehicle shaking is determined based on a first longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops…
However, Getman teaches
determining…… when the towing vehicle stops, wherein an occurrence of the first vehicle shaking is determined based on a first longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops (see, Paragraph [0030]: “IMU data associated with the stability control system 12 can indicate trailer swaying or shaking. However, trailer swaying is not always transmitted to the vehicle in a way that can be detected by the vehicle's IMU sensor array. In addition, not all vehicles have an IMU. However, the vehicle's IMU will detect stability events related to the vehicle, which can be caused by the trailer's swaying. Of course, if the trailer is equipped with an IMU, the shaking can be easily detected by the trailer IMU system alone, or in combination with the vehicle IMU system.”; [0031]: “The reversing assist system 46 can be used to provide an indication of the presence of the trailer and can be used to generate a specific form of the trailer so that the controller 26 can receive feedback on the trailer's position.”; [0033]; [0058]; [0063]; [0068]: “As described above, the reversing assist system 46 can be used to provide an indication of the presence of a trailer, and can also be used to generate a specific shape about the trailer so that the controller can have feedback about the trailer's position. The reversing assist system 46 may optionally or additionally include a camera 49. Sensor 48 and/or camera 49 can be used to detect the presence and movement of the trailer by, for example, the edge detection methods discussed earlier.”; and [0069]: “Various types of sensors include absolute sensors and position sensors (relative sensors) that use center finding algorithms. Once the location is known, the relative sensor can use a center-finding algorithm to determine its position relative to the center. Both sensors can provide steering angular velocity signals and/or steering direction signals. For example, the direction of steering can indicate whether it is away from or towards the center position or the end stop position.”; and also see [0093]: “In step 206, the sway detector 52 generates one or more sway signals from the sensor data Lateral sway rate and lateral acceleration sensors can be considered as sway detection sensors, as lateral sway rate and lateral acceleration signals can be used to determine whether the vehicle and/or trailer is swaying. A sway signal can indicate the swaying of the trailer relative to the vehicle. In addition to the aforementioned signals, a vehicle speed signal and a longitudinal acceleration signal are also generated to indicate vehicle speed and longitudinal status.”)…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention that incorporates a trailer brake controller that operates the trailer brakes upon detecting vehicle/trailer sway as taught by Getman. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey using many different types of sensors to correct the torque or braking of each wheel, activate the suspension components, or correct the steering angle to improve trailer performance (see, Paragraph [0078]).Regarding claim 11, see the above rejection of claim 1.
Possible Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, however, would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the aforementioned references disclose each of the elements of the invention, the combination of references does not fully capture the structure and interplay of the elements as recited in the claims. Therefore, upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious all the features of applicant’s invention as the features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
Prior Art, Power et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0055496) teaches brake controller system includes a trailer mounted brake controller and a towing vehicle mounted brake controller, where the controllers exchange signals and data via a communication network so that braking actions of each of the trailer and the towing vehicle can be coordinated based on current driving statuses of the other, and where the trailer mounted brake controller includes a first interface receiving trailer status signals from sensors of the trailer; a second interface for receiving towing vehicle status signals, relating to a status of the towing vehicle and/or its mounted controller,
from sensors and/or controllers in the towing vehicle; a third interface for transmitting brake control signals to brakes of the trailer; and a signal processor for generating the brake control signals based on the trailer and towing vehicle status signals.
Prior Art, Leone (Pub. No.: US 2019/0047528) teaches a method and apparatus are disclosed for vehicle trailer detection. An example vehicle includes an accelerometer and an electronic stability control unit. The electronic stability control unit (a) detects, with the accelerometer, signals indicative of axles traversing a bump (b) when at least three axle signals are detected, generates an axle profile based on a speed of the vehicle and timing of the signals, ( c) based on
the axle profile, determines whether a trailer is connected to the vehicle, and ( d) when the trailer is connected, controls the vehicle stability based on the trailer being connected.
Prior Art, Englert et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0172163), teaches a control system for a vehicle includes a speed sensor that generates a vehicle speed signal. A sway detection sensor generates an oscillation signal. A brake control is coupled to a vehicle brake and is associated with a trailer brake. A controller is coupled to a stability control system and brakes one or more of the vehicle brake and the trailer brake and in response to the oscillation signal.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the inventions for both applications are similar as claim(s) 1-20 of the instant application and claim(s) 1-9 are directed to similar limitations as presented below.
Regarding claim(s) 1 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
A brake system comprising: an electric brake provided on at least one of front and rear wheels of a towing vehicle; and a controller configured to receive a longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle, determine whether or not a trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle based on whether first vehicle shaking occurs in the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops, wherein an occurrence of the first vehicle shaking is determined based on a first longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops, and control the electric brake according to whether or not the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle when parking is operated.
Regarding claim(s) 2 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a clamping force required for parking according to whether or not the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle when parking is operated, and control the electric brake to generate the determined clamping force.
Regarding claim(s) 3 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine that the first vehicle shaking occurs when a rate of change of the first longitudinal acceleration is higher than a preset value.
Regarding claim(s) 4 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the first vehicle shaking is determined based on the first longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle according to operating inertia brake of the trailer mounted on the towing vehicle when the towing vehicle stops.
Regarding claim(s) 5 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle based further on whether second vehicle shaking occurs in towing vehicle after both the front and rear wheels of the towing vehicle pass through a speed bump, and wherein an occurrence of the second vehicle shaking is determined based on a second longitudinal acceleration of the towing vehicle after both the front and rear wheels of the towing vehicle pass through the speed bump.
Regarding claim(s) 6 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the second vehicle shaking occurs in the towing vehicle within a preset time determined based on a driving speed of the towing vehicle and a distance between a rear wheel axle of the towing vehicle and a wheel axle of the trailer from the point of time when vehicle shaking occurs when the rear wheel of the towing vehicle passes through the speed bump.
Regarding claim(s) 7 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the front and rear wheels of the towing vehicle pass through the speed bump based on an interval between times when a plurality of vehicle shaking occurs.
Regarding claim(s) 8 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the front and rear wheels of the towing vehicle pass through the speed bump based on a time interval, which is determined based on a traveling speed of the towing vehicle and a distance between front and rear axles of the towing vehicle.
Regarding claim(s) 9 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine that the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle based on the occurrence of the first vehicle shaking after the occurrence of the second vehicle shaking.
Regarding claim(s) 10 of the instant application, claim(s) 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US12370985B2 teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the trailer is mounted to the towing vehicle based further on front wheel speed and a rear wheel speed of the towing vehicle.
As to [claim 11], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 11 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 12], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 12 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 13], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 13 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 14], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 14 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 15], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 15 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 16], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 16 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 17], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 7, therefore claim 17 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 18], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 8, therefore claim 18 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 19], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 9, therefore claim 19 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 20], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 10, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Terminal Disclaimer
A terminal disclaimer may be effective to overcome a nonstatutory double patenting rejection over a reference patent (37 CFR 1.321(b) and (c)). A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Conclusion
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663