DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,387,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches all of the limitations of the current application. Although only claims 21, 31 and 37 are shown below, it can be understood that similar reasons apply for the remaining claims.
For claim 37, the patent does not explicitly teach a memory and fabric interface.
However, Examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously old and well-known for processors to use these components as they are required for operation.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the patent’s processor with a memory and fabric interface as these conventional components that are well known by those of ordinary skill in the art to be used with a processor for implementing a computer.
US 19/257,848 (current application)
US 12,387,287 (patent)
21. A non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
creating a session for a neural network using an application programming interface (API) of a machine learning library, wherein the API operates on a session object, and wherein the session of the neural network is associated with communication operations and compute operations to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment;
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network;
enabling, via the API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API.
1. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored thereon executable computer program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
defining a distributed compute environment for a neural network using a machine learning scaling library (MLSL) application programming interface (API), wherein the MLSL API operates on:
a session object to represent a collection of operation objects, the operation objects created for a communication session associated with communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment; and
a distribution object that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism of the neural network;
enabling, via the MLSL API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
optimizing the communication operations by enabling specification of resources for managing the communication operations;
wherein the neural network is defined using operations of a neural network domain specific framework.
7. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium as in claim 1,
wherein the operations further comprising:
performing a machine learning framework workflow; and
while performing the machine learning framework workflow, automatically exchanging gradients with respect to machine learning parameters.
31. A method comprising:
creating a session for a neural network using an application programming interface (API) of a machine learning library, wherein the API operates on a session object, and wherein the session of the neural network is associated with communication operations and compute operations to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment;
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network;
enabling, via the API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API.
10. A method comprising:
defining a distributed compute environment for a neural network using a machine learning scaling library (MLSL) application programming interface (API), wherein the MLSL API operates on:
a session object to represent a collection of operation objects, the operation objects created for a communication session associated with communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment; and
a distribution object that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism of the neural network;
enabling, via the MLSL API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
optimizing the communication operations by enabling specification of resources for managing the communication operations;
wherein the neural network is defined using operations of a neural network domain specific framework.
15. The method as in claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
performing a machine learning framework workflow; and
while performing the machine learning framework workflow, automatically exchanging gradients with respect to machine learning parameters.
37. A system comprising:
a system memory to store a set of trainable machine learning parameters and a machine learning library to facilitate data transmission during distributed training of the neural network;
a fabric interface to enable transmission and receipt of data associated with the set of trainable machine learning parameters; and
a general-purpose graphics processor to:
create a session for the neural network using an application programming interface (API) of the machine learning library, wherein the API operates on a session object, and wherein the session of the neural network is associated with communication operations and compute operations to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment;
specify, using the API, a distribution object for the session that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network;
enable, via the API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
perform the machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API.
16. An apparatus comprising:
processor hardware circuitry to:
define a distributed compute environment for a neural network using a machine learning scaling library (MLSL) application programming interface (API), wherein the MLSL API operates on:
a session object to represent a collection of operation objects, the operation objects created for a communication session associated with communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment; and
a distribution object that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism of the neural network;
enable, via the MLSL API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network; and
optimize the communication operations by enabling specification of resources for managing the communication operations;
wherein the neural network is defined using operations of a neural network domain specific framework.
17. The apparatus as in claim 16, wherein the processor hardware circuitry is further to:
create a global view of the communication operations to be performed between the multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment; and
utilize the global view to track an overlap of the compute operations and the communication operations.
18. The apparatus as in claim 17, wherein
each operation object of the collection of operation objects is to store machine learning parameters for the communication session associated with the communication operations to be performed.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,094,029. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches all of the limitations of the current application.
Claims 1 and 8-10 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 25 of the application except for API calls.
However, the patent requires the use of session objects communicated between nodes of a distributed compute system.
Examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously old and well-known to use API calls to retrieve data or trigger an action from an external source.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the patent such that session objects are communicated between nodes of a distributed compute system via API calls since the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al (NPL: “Distributed Deep Learning Using Synchronous Stochastic Gradient Descent”) in view of PyTorch (NPL: PyTorch Github pages).
For claim 21, Das teaches operations comprising:
a session of a neural network is associated with communication operations (determining communication volume, §3.2) and compute operations (forward and backpropagate operations are partitioned across multiple minibatches into jobs, then equally distributed across different threads, §2.5) to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment (PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4, and the corresponding hardware, §5);
specifying a degree of parallelism of the neural network (data parallelism, model parallelism and hybrid parallelism, §3.1-§3.3);
enabling the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (§2.5, §5.2, §5.3); and
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4) in the distributed compute environment (e.g., multi-node experiment, §5).
Das fails to teach:
a non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
creating a session for a neural network using an application programming interface (API) of a machine learning library, wherein the API operates on a session object;
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network;
enabling, via the API, the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network;; and
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API.
It is noted that Das teaches that his invention can be used with machine learning frameworks such as TensorFlow, FireCaffe and DeepImage (¶1 of §1).
PyTorch is a machine learning framework that teaches:
creating a session object (custom nn modules comprising a plurality of nn modules, “nn module” section from tutorials/beginner_source/pytorch_with_examples.rst page, hereinafter PWE) to represent a collection of operation objects (e.g., different neural network layers and loss functions, “PyTorch:nn” from PWE), the operation objects created for a communication session associated with the communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment (e.g., scatter and gather, “DataParallel” from tutorials/_downloads/parallelism_tutorial.ipynb page, hereinafter PT; and
creating a distribution object (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism (as understood by the code segments in PT).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Das’ method of determining which strategy (model parallelism, data parallelism or hybrid parallelism) is best suited to reduce time in training a neural network by using PyTorch since PyTorch enables a user create custom parallelism (via torch.nn.DataParallel, PT) and build neural networks using a modular approach (“PyTorch: nn” and “PyTorch: Custom nn Modules”, PWE).
The combination of Das and PyTorch teaches:
a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (memory inherently required to run PyTorch and the computations and communication of Das) having stored thereon executable computer program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (§5, Das), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising said method (as understood by the combination of references);
creating a session for a neural network using an API of a machine learning library (PyTorch Variables and Tensors both use APIs, see “PyTorch: Variables and autograd”)
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network (replicate, scatter, see page 2);
enabling, via the API (via gather, parallel_apply), the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (as understood by pages 2-3 of PyTorch);
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API (see “Multi-GPU examples” of pages 2-3, PyTorch).
For claim 22, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
creating a global view of the communication operations to be performed (task graph, §2) between multiple compute nodes (e.g., determining the amount of data received for forward pass and the amount of data sent out by the previous layer, ¶1-3 of §3.2) of the distributed compute environment; and
utilizing the global view to track an overlap of the compute operations and the communication operations (§2 discusses using a task graph to understand the compute and memory bandwidth needs and to identify optimal threading).
For claim 23, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further teaches:
the session represents a collection of operation objects is to store machine learning parameters for the communication session associated with the communications operations to be performed (as discussed in the rejection of claim 21).
For claim 24, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 23 and Das further teaches:
the collection of operation objects in the session object are set with a same batch size for the communication session (§5.2 teaches minibatch sizes of 256 and 512).
For claim 25, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
the operations further comprise determining a type of parallelism to use for the compute operations for the one or more layers of the neural network (“model parallelism is better if…” ¶7 of §3.2, see also comparison of data-parallelism, model-parallelism and hybrid parallelism in §3.3).
For claim 26, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 25 and Das further teaches:
the type of parallelism comprises one or more of the data parallelism (§3.1), the model parallelism (§3.2), or a hybrid of the data parallelism and the model parallelism (§3.3).
For claim 27, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
the operations further comprise optimizing the communication operations by enabling specification of resources for managing the communication operations (blocked loop structure of Algorithm 2 optimizes bandwidth and performance, §2.3).
For claim 28, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
the operations further comprise:
while performing the machine learning framework workflow, automatically exchanging gradients with respect to machine learning parameters (“the data handling library…executes the various computations – forward propagation, backpropagation and weight updates – on the underlying hardware”, ¶1 of §4); and
updating the machine learning parameters based on the machine learning framework workflow (weight updates, ¶1 of §4).
For claim 29, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
performing the machine learning framework workflow comprises performing forward propagation computation to generate a set of activation data and performing a backward propagation computation to determine a gradient with respect to a set of trainable machine learning parameters (“the data handling library…executes the various computations – forward propagation, backpropagation and weight updates – on the underlying hardware”, ¶1 of §4).
For claim 30, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
the degree of parallelism comprises a number of partitions for data parallelism (§3.1) and a number of partitions for model parallelism (§3.2).
For claim 31, Das teaches a method comprising:
creating a session for a neural network using communication operations (determining communication volume, §3.2) and compute operations (forward and backpropagate operations are partitioned across multiple minibatches into jobs, then equally distributed across different threads, §2.5) to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment (PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4, and the corresponding hardware, §5);
specifying a degree of parallelism of the neural network (data parallelism, model parallelism and hybrid parallelism, §3.1-§3.3);
enabling the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (§2.5, §5.2, §5.3); and
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4) in the distributed compute environment (e.g., multi-node experiment, §5).
Das fails to teach:
using an API of a machine learning library as claimed.
It is noted that Das teaches that his invention can be used with machine learning frameworks such as TensorFlow, FireCaffe and DeepImage (¶1 of §1).
PyTorch is a machine learning framework that teaches:
creating a session object (custom nn modules comprising a plurality of nn modules, “nn module” section from tutorials/beginner_source/pytorch_with_examples.rst page, hereinafter PWE) to represent a collection of operation objects (e.g., different neural network layers and loss functions, “PyTorch:nn” from PWE), the operation objects created for a communication session associated with the communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment (e.g., scatter and gather, “DataParallel” from tutorials/_downloads/parallelism_tutorial.ipynb page, hereinafter PT; and
creating a distribution object (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism (as understood by the code segments in PT).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Das’ method of determining which strategy (model parallelism, data parallelism or hybrid parallelism) is best suited to reduce time in training a neural network by using PyTorch since PyTorch enables a user create custom parallelism (via torch.nn.DataParallel, PT) and build neural networks using a modular approach (“PyTorch: nn” and “PyTorch: Custom nn Modules”, PWE).
The combination of Das and PyTorch teaches:
a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (memory inherently required to run PyTorch and the computations and communication of Das) having stored thereon executable computer program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (§5, Das), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising said method (as understood by the combination of references);
creating a session for a neural network using an API of a machine learning library (PyTorch Variables and Tensors both use APIs, see “PyTorch: Variables and autograd”)
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network (replicate, scatter, see page 2);
enabling, via the API (via gather, parallel_apply), the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (as understood by pages 2-3 of PyTorch);
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API (see “Multi-GPU examples” of pages 2-3, PyTorch).
For claim 32, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 31 and Das further teaches:
creating a global view of the communication operations to be performed (task graph, §2) between multiple compute nodes (e.g., determining the amount of data received for forward pass and the amount of data sent out by the previous layer, ¶1-3 of §3.2) of the distributed compute environment; and
utilizing the global view to track an overlap of the compute operations and the communication operations (§2 discusses using a task graph to understand the compute and memory bandwidth needs and to identify optimal threading).
For claim 33, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 32 and further teaches:
the session represents a collection of operation objects is to store machine learning parameters for the communication session associated with the communications operations to be performed (as discussed in the rejection of claim 31).
For claim 34, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and Das further teaches:
the operations further comprise determining a type of parallelism to use for the compute operations for the one or more layers of the neural network, and wherein the type of parallelism comprises one or more of the data parallelism, the model parallelism or a hybrid of the data parallelism and the model parallelism (“model parallelism is better if…” ¶7 of §3.2, see also comparison of data-parallelism, model-parallelism and hybrid parallelism in §3.3).
For claim 35, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 31 and Das further teaches:
while performing the machine learning framework workflow, automatically exchanging gradients with respect to machine learning parameters (“the data handling library…executes the various computations – forward propagation, backpropagation and weight updates – on the underlying hardware”, ¶1 of §4); and
updating the machine learning parameters based on the machine learning framework workflow (weight updates, ¶1 of §4).
For claim 36, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 31 and Das further teaches:
the degree of parallelism comprises a number of partitions for data parallelism (§3.1) and a number of partitions for model parallelism (§3.2).
For claim 37, Das teaches A system comprising:
a system memory to store a set of trainable machine learning parameters and a machine learning library to facilitate data transmission during distributed training of the neural network (§5);
a fabric interface to enable transmission and receipt of data associated with the set of trainable machine learning parameters (Cray Aries high speed ”dragonfly” topology interconnect, §5); and
a general-purpose graphics processor (CPU, §5) to:
create a session for a neural network using communication operations (determining communication volume, §3.2) and compute operations (forward and backpropagate operations are partitioned across multiple minibatches into jobs, then equally distributed across different threads, §2.5) to be performed by the neural network in a distributed compute environment (PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4, and the corresponding hardware, §5);
specify a degree of parallelism of the neural network (data parallelism, model parallelism and hybrid parallelism, §3.1-§3.3);
enable the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (§2.5, §5.2, §5.3); and
perform a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network PCL-DNN Software Framework, §4) in the distributed compute environment (e.g., multi-node experiment, §5).
Das fails to teach:
using an API of a machine learning library as claimed.
It is noted that Das teaches that his invention can be used with machine learning frameworks such as TensorFlow, FireCaffe and DeepImage (¶1 of §1).
PyTorch is a machine learning framework that teaches:
creating a session object (custom nn modules comprising a plurality of nn modules, “nn module” section from tutorials/beginner_source/pytorch_with_examples.rst page, hereinafter PWE) to represent a collection of operation objects (e.g., different neural network layers and loss functions, “PyTorch:nn” from PWE), the operation objects created for a communication session associated with the communication operations to be performed by the distributed compute environment (e.g., scatter and gather, “DataParallel” from tutorials/_downloads/parallelism_tutorial.ipynb page, hereinafter PT; and
creating a distribution object (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a number of partitions for data parallelism and a number of partitions for model parallelism (as understood by the code segments in PT).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Das’ method of determining which strategy (model parallelism, data parallelism or hybrid parallelism) is best suited to reduce time in training a neural network by using PyTorch since PyTorch enables a user create custom parallelism (via torch.nn.DataParallel, PT) and build neural networks using a modular approach (“PyTorch: nn” and “PyTorch: Custom nn Modules”, PWE).
The combination of Das and PyTorch teaches:
a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (memory inherently required to run PyTorch and the computations and communication of Das) having stored thereon executable computer program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (§5, Das), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising said method (as understood by the combination of references);
creating a session for a neural network using an API of a machine learning library (PyTorch Variables and Tensors both use APIs, see “PyTorch: Variables and autograd”)
specifying, using the API, a distribution object for the session (DataParallel Model class and DistributedModel class, “Multi-GPU examples” from PT) that indicates a degree of parallelism of the neural network (replicate, scatter, see page 2);
enabling, via the API (via gather, parallel_apply), the communication operations to be performed between multiple compute nodes of the distributed compute environment used to perform the compute operations for one or more layers of the neural network (as understood by pages 2-3 of PyTorch);
performing a machine learning framework workflow of the neural network in the distributed compute environment with the compute operations using API calls of the API (see “Multi-GPU examples” of pages 2-3, PyTorch).
For claim 38, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 37 and further teaches:
the session object represents a collection of operation objects that are to store machine learning parameters for the session (e.g., different neural network layers and loss functions, “PyTorch:nn” from PWE), and
wherein the collection of operation objects of the session object are set with a same batch size for the session (§5.2 teaches minibatch sizes of 256 and 512).
For claim 39, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 37 and further teaches:
the general-purpose graphics processor is further to determine a type of parallelism to use for the compute operations for the one or more layers of the neural network (“model parallelism is better if…” ¶7 of §3.2, see also comparison of data-parallelism, model-parallelism and hybrid parallelism in §3.3), and
wherein the type of parallelism comprises one or more of the data parallelism (§3.1), the model parallelism (§3.2), or a hybrid of the data parallelism and the model parallelism (§3.3).
For claim 40, the combination of Das and PyTorch as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 37 and further teaches:
the general-purpose graphics processor is further to:
while performing the machine learning framework workflow, automatically exchanging gradients with respect to machine learning parameters (“the data handling library…executes the various computations – forward propagation, backpropagation and weight updates – on the underlying hardware”, ¶1 of §4); and
updating the machine learning parameters based on the machine learning framework workflow (weight updates, ¶1 of §4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chapelle et al (US 2013/0290223) teaches a method for distributed machine learning.
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836