DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 & 12-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2, 4-5 & 7-17 of related U.S. Patent No. 12,376,895.
Claim 1 of the application recites a pedicle screw (See Claim 1, Line 1 of the patent), comprising: a shank having a length from a proximal end to a distal end, a shank diameter that is continuous or tapered from the proximal end to the distal end, and a shank periphery along the length of the shank, the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body along at least a portion of the length of the shank that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (See Claim 1, Lines 2-17 of the patent); a pedicle screw head that is monolithic with the shank at the proximal end of the shank (See Claim 1, Lines 18-21 of the patent); a tip that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end (See Claim 1, Lines 22-23 of the patent); and at least one solid thread extending along an external surface of the shank, wherein the at least one solid thread and the three-dimensional open network body are formed from metal (See Claim 1, Lines 25-31 of the patent).
As to claims 2-9 & 12-19: Claim 2 is substantially similar or identical to Claim 2 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 3 are found in Claim 17 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 4 are found in Claim 1 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 5-6 are found in Claims 4-5 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 7 are found in Claim 1 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 8 are found in Claim 16. The limitations of Claims 9-10 are found in Claims 7-8. The limitations of Claim 12 are found in Claim 1 of the patent. The limitations of Claims 13-14 are found in Claims 9-10 of the patent. The limitations of Claims 15-18 are found in Claims 11-14 of the patent. The limitations of Claim 19 are found in Claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application recites application recites a pedicle screw comprising (See Claim 15, Line 1 of the patent): a shank having a length from a proximal end to a distal end (See Claim 15, Lines 2-3 of the patent); a non-porous pedicle screw head that is monolithic with the shank at its proximal end, the non-porous pedicle screw head being formed from a solid material and comprising a tool recess configured for engagement with a driving instrument (See Claim 15, Lines 4-8 of the patent); a tip that is integral with the shank at its distal end, the tip being non-porous and formed from a solid material (See Claim 15, Lines 9-11 of the patent); and at least one thread formed along an external surface of the pedicle screw; wherein a first portion of the shank adjacent the distal end includes a three-dimensional open network body comprising a scaffold of open and interconnected pores mimicking a trabecular bone structure, and wherein a second portion of the shank adjacent the proximal end is non-porous, wherein the at least one thread is continuous along a thread length of the pedicle screw from the tip into and over at least a portion of the second portion of the shank, wherein the at least one thread and the three-dimensional open network body are formed from metal, wherein the at least one thread is integral with a surface of the three-dimensional open network body, and wherein the three-dimensional open network body is exposed in gaps between the at least one thread (See Claim 15, Lines 12-32 of the patent).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the word “when” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 1, the word “when” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (WIPO Pub No. 2013/091392, using EP2796104A1 for translation purposes only).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a pedicle screw (Figs. 8 & 10), comprising: a shank having a length from a proximal end to a distal end, a shank diameter that is continuous from the proximal end to the distal end, and a shank periphery along the length of the shank, the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body along at least a portion of the length of the shank that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 below); a pedicle screw head that is monolithic with the shank at the proximal end of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 below); a tip that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 below); and at least one solid thread extending along an external surface of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 below), wherein the at least one solid thread and the three-dimensional open network body are formed from metal (Paragraphs [0021, 0022, 0032]).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu discloses wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes at least one elongate helix (Figs. 8 & 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses wherein the at least one elongate helix includes a primary helix and a secondary helix defining a dual helical body (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses wherein the secondary helix is entwined with the primary helix, each helix having a different pitch (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes an organized arrangement of trusses (Figs. 8 & 10).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses wherein the tip is solid (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses wherein the shank includes the three-dimensional open network body along an entirety of the length of the shank (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu discloses wherein the shank further includes a plurality of fenestrations consisting of openings around the periphery of the shank to further enhance bony ingrowth (openings through helical network body in the section adjacent the tip, see examiner annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu discloses wherein the shank diameter along at least the proximal end of the shank is approximately equal to a diameter of the pedicle screw head (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu discloses wherein the shank diameter along at least the proximal end of the shank is smaller than a diameter of the pedicle screw head, and wherein the pedicle screw head is substantially hemispherical (See examiner annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu discloses wherein the at least one solid thread is integral with a surface of the three-dimensional open network body (Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US PG Pub No. 2007/0055244).
Regarding Claims 1 & 3, Jackson discloses a pedicle screw (10, Fig. 5, Paragraph [0062]), comprising: a shank (16) having a length from a proximal end (at 126) to a distal end (adjacent tip 124), a shank diameter (max overall diameter of 16) that is continuous from the proximal end to the distal end, and a shank periphery (root at 129, Fig. 6) along the length of the shank, the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body (130) along at least a portion of the length of the shank that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (Paragraphs [0071-0072], Fig. 6); a pedicle screw head (22) attached to the shank (Paragraphs [0062-0063]) at the proximal end of the shank; a tip (pointed tip @ 124) that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end; and at least one solid thread (122, Figs. 5-6, paragraph [0070]) extending along an external surface of the shank, wherein the at least one solid thread and the three-dimensional open network body are formed from metal (Paragraphs [0071-0072, 0065, 0100]); and wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes at least one additive material selected from the group consisting of polymers and/or PEEK (Paragraphs [0065 & 0100]).
Jackson does not specifically disclose that the pedicle screw head is monolithic with the proximal end of the shank. However, in Paragraphs [0062-0063], Jackson discloses that “The shank 14, the receiver 20, the retaining and articulating structure 22 and the first compression structure 24 are preferably assembled prior to implantation of the shank body 16 into a vertebra 28.” And “The compression structure 24 in turn presses against the retaining and articulating structure 22 that is threadably mated or in other ways connected to the capture structure 18.”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pedicle screw head of the screw of Jackson to be monolithically attached at the proximal end of the shank as, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art because the Applicant has not stated that having a monolithically attached pedicle screw head provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Jackson’s screw and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with the pedicle screw head and shank as taught by Jackson or the claimed "monolithically attached head” because both would perform the same function. Therefore, at the time of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Jackson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Jackson.
Regarding Claim 11, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein at least a portion of the tip includes the three-dimensional open network body (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 13, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the shank includes the three-dimensional open network body along an entirety of the length of the shank (Figs. 5-6, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding Claim 14, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pedicle screw includes a solid-walled cannula (149) formed through the shank, the pedicle screw head, and the tip (Paragraph [0076]), and the three-dimensional open network body surrounds the solid-walled cannula (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 15, Jackson discloses wherein the pedicle screw is not cannulated through the shank, the pedicle screw head, and the tip (See Fig. 2 showing solid core 8), and the shank includes a solid core (8) and the three- dimensional open network body surrounds the solid core (4 including 130, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the shank diameter along at least the proximal end of the shank is approximately equal to a diameter of the pedicle screw head (where the bottom surface of 22 meets 18, Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 18, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the shank diameter along at least the proximal end of the shank is smaller than a diameter of the pedicle screw head (the max diameter of 22 is larger than the max overall diameter of 16, Figs. 5-6), and wherein the pedicle screw head is substantially hemispherical (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 19, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one solid thread is integral with a surface of the three-dimensional open network body (Figs. 5-6).
Claim(s) 2, 12 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US PG Pub No. 2007/0055244) in view of Berry et al. (US PG Pub No. 2006/0276788).
Regarding Claim 2, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, except wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes a scaffold of random open and interconnected pores mimicking trabecular bone structure.
Berry et al. discloses a pedicle screw (510, Fig. 5, Paragraph [0043], “This embodiment of the bone screw 510 is similar to the version described earlier and referenced by numeral 14 in FIGS. 1-3.”), comprising: a shank having a length from a proximal end to a distal end (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), a shank diameter that is tapered from the proximal end to the distal end (maximum diameter of shank tapers based upon the tapered lower surfaces of the threads as seen in Fig. 5), and a shank periphery (peripheral, cylindrical exterior surface of shank that threads are formed thereon, Fig. 5) along the length of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body (porous structure 514, Fig. 5) along at least a portion of the length of the shank (Fig. 1) that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (514 “creates an unbroken porous ingrowth structure along that same length of the screw 510”, Paragraph [0043]); a pedicle screw head (bone screw head 26) that is integral with the shank at a proximal end of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below); a tip that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below); and at least one solid thread (512, Fig. 5, Fig. 1) extending along an external surface of the shank (“These bone threads 512 are constructed of generally dense material of high mechanical strength enabling them to cut through the bone as the screw advances into the host bone. Additionally, the high strength dense threads 512 must be strong enough to resist pulling out of the bone when such loading and stresses would present such an event.”, Paragraph [0043]); wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes a scaffold of random open and interconnected pores mimicking trabecular bone structure (“analogous to natural bone”, Fig. 5, Abstract, Paragraphs [0016-0018, 0036-0039, 0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the open network body of the screw of Jackson to mimic trabecular bone structure as taught by Berry et al. in order to provide the screw with a structure that is more analogous to natural bone which is highly osteoconductive.
Regarding Claim 12, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, except wherein at least a portion of the pedicle screw head includes the three-dimensional open network body.
Berry et al. discloses a structurally similar embodiment (screw 910) depicted in Fig. 9 which comprises a threaded shank having a tip at a distal end thereof and a pedicle screw head (914) at a proximal end thereof, wherein the pedicle screw head is porous and comprises an open network body/open-celled porous structure (916, Paragraph [0047]) which provides a scaffold conducive to cell attachment and proliferation to promote bone ingrowth and fusion attachment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify at least a portion of the pedicle screw head of the screw of Jackson to comprise the open network body as taught by Berry et al. in order to provide the screw head with an added means for promoting cell attachment and proliferation to promote bone ingrowth and fusion attachment after implantation.
Regarding Claim 20, Jackson discloses a pedicle screw (10, Fig. 5, Paragraph [0062]), comprising: a shank (16) having a length from a proximal end (at 126) to a distal end (adjacent tip 124), a shank diameter (max overall diameter of 16) that is continuous from the proximal end to the distal end, and a shank periphery (root at 129, Fig. 6) along the length of the shank, the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body (130) along at least a portion of the length of the shank that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (Paragraphs [0071-0072], Fig. 6); a pedicle screw head (22) attached to the shank (Paragraphs [0062-0063]) at the proximal end of the shank; a tip (pointed tip @ 124) that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end; and at least one solid thread (122, Figs. 5-6, paragraph [0070]) extending along an external surface of the shank, wherein the at least one solid thread and the three-dimensional open network body are formed from metal (Paragraphs [0071-0072, 0065, 0100]).
Jackson does not disclose wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes a scaffold of random open and interconnected pores mimicking trabecular bone structure.
Berry et al. discloses a pedicle screw (510, Fig. 5, Paragraph [0043], “This embodiment of the bone screw 510 is similar to the version described earlier and referenced by numeral 14 in FIGS. 1-3.”), comprising: a shank having a length from a proximal end to a distal end (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), a shank diameter that is tapered from the proximal end to the distal end (maximum diameter of shank tapers based upon the tapered lower surfaces of the threads as seen in Fig. 5), and a shank periphery (peripheral, cylindrical exterior surface of shank that threads are formed thereon, Fig. 5) along the length of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), the shank comprising a three-dimensional open network body (porous structure 514, Fig. 5) along at least a portion of the length of the shank (Fig. 1) that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank to optimize complete bony integration when inserted in bone (514 “creates an unbroken porous ingrowth structure along that same length of the screw 510”, Paragraph [0043]); a pedicle screw head (bone screw head 26) that is integral with the shank at a proximal end of the shank (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below); a tip that is tapered relative to the shank and is integral with the shank at the shank's distal end (See examiner annotated Fig. 1 below); and at least one solid thread (512, Fig. 5, Fig. 1) extending along an external surface of the shank (“These bone threads 512 are constructed of generally dense material of high mechanical strength enabling them to cut through the bone as the screw advances into the host bone. Additionally, the high strength dense threads 512 must be strong enough to resist pulling out of the bone when such loading and stresses would present such an event.”, Paragraph [0043]); wherein the three-dimensional open network body includes a scaffold of random open and interconnected pores mimicking trabecular bone structure (“analogous to natural bone”, Fig. 5, Abstract, Paragraphs [0016-0018, 0036-0039, 0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the open network body of the screw of Jackson to mimic trabecular bone structure as taught by Berry et al. in order to provide the screw with a structure that is more analogous to natural bone which is highly osteoconductive.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US PG Pub No. 2007/0055244) in view of Sanchez et al. (US PG Pub No. 2014/0030675) and Martineau et al. (US PG Pub No. 2012/0271362).
Regarding Claims 9-10, Jackson discloses the claimed invention as stated above in Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pedicle screw head is unthreaded (Fig. 5-6), and wherein the at least one solid thread includes a first thread having a first pitch extending along an external surface of the tip (lower section of threads 122 defines the uppermost external surface of the tip, Fig. 5) and a second thread having a second pitch (upper section of threads at 136, Fig. 5) extending along a first portion of an external surface of the shank (upper proximal portion of shank, Fig. 5), wherein the first solid thread is separated from the second solid thread by a first unthreaded portion of the shank (portion 128, Fig. 5).
Jackson does not disclose a third solid thread having a third pitch extending along a second portion of the external surface of the shank, wherein: the second portion of the external surface of the shank is disposed between the first portion of the external surface of the shank and the pedicle screw head; the second pitch is greater than each of the first pitch and the third pitch; and the second solid thread is separated from the third solid thread by a second unthreaded portion of the shank.
Sanchez et al. discloses a porous bone implant (100, Fig. 1) comprising a shank (shaft) extending between a proximal end (upper end adjacent head 104) and a distal end (lower end adjacent tip 106) and comprising a cylindrical outer peripheral wall (120, 122), a solid head (104) formed at the proximal end of the shank, a solid tapered tip (tip 106) formed at the distal end of the shank, a three-dimensional open network body (porous portions 120 & 122) defining at least a portion of the cylindrical outer peripheral wall that allows communication through the three-dimensional open network body and 360 degrees around the shank, and a solid thread (108, 110, 112) extending along the cylindrical outer peripheral wall/open network body, wherein the at least one solid thread includes: a first solid thread (112) having a first pitch extending along an external surface of the tip; a second solid thread (110) having a second pitch extending along a first portion of an external surface of the shank; and a third solid thread (108) having a third pitch extending along a second portion of the external surface of the shank, wherein: the second portion of the external surface of the shank is disposed between the first portion of the external surface of the shank and the pedicle screw head (108); the first solid thread is separated from the second solid thread by a first unthreaded portion of the shank (122); and the second solid thread is separated from the third solid thread by a second unthreaded portion of the shank (120).
Martineau teaches various embodiments of porous bone screws (Figs. 1-9C), each comprising a porous shank with at least one threaded portion, such as in Fig. 5 (bone screw 110) which comprises a porous unthreaded central shaft portion (116), a first thread at the distal end/tip (leading end 112) and a second thread at the proximal end/head (trailing end 114), wherein each thread has a different pitch (Paragraphs [0019, 0030, 0032]) such that the first thread pitch is greater than the second thread pitch, and Martineau teaches providing different pitches along the screw for the purpose of generating a compressive force between the threaded portions (Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shank of the screw of Jackson to add a unthreaded portion along the shank separating the threads into two threaded portions and add a third solid thread having a third pitch extending therealong such that the second solid thread is separated from the third solid thread by a second unthreaded portion of the shank as taught by Sanchez et al., wherein the second pitch is greater than each of the first pitch and the third pitch, as taught by Martineau in order to provide the screw with an increased means for securely and compressibly engaging the bone upon implantation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA WEISS whose telephone number is (571) 270-5597. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, KEVIN T. TRUONG, at 571-272-4705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JESSICA WEISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775