DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, applicant argues that”
“…Krymski employs its capacitive elements for a materially different purpose... Applicant's claim 2 recites first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements coupled to the claimed pre-stage circuit, together with a selection circuit that selects one of the first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements and connects the selected capacitive element to a post- stage node, through which the post-stage circuit reads the claimed reset and signal levels.”
Applicant further argues that:
“…Although the Action identifies the different-resolution capability of Krymski as an alleged reason for combining the references, that rationale does not explain why one of ordinary skill would have modified the dual-gain architecture of Milkov to provide the particular selection and post- stage-node arrangement recited in claim 2. The asserted advantage of supporting different vertical resolutions pertains to the binning operation of Krymski, rather than to the claimed selection and reading of one of the four capacitive elements through the recited post-stage node.”
The examiner notes that Milkov was shown in the rejection to have first and second capacitive elements were shown in the claimed positional configuration, with the pre-stage circuit and post-stage circuit, and that the post-stage circuit was shown to read the signal level. The examiner further notes that Milkov was shown to read a reset level when the pair of floating diffusions are initialized and a signal level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the charges are transferred (even though Milkov was not shown to explicitly state that the post-stage circuit reads the reset level). As the positional configuration was shown in Milkov, Krymski was used to show that four capacitors, instead of two, can be used as a connection for signal input, storage, and further output. Further, as seen in cited par. 35-36 Krymski discloses operating with full resolution, while having the added advantageous reason for combination given as different resolution in the vertical direction can be supported.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milkov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190327432) in view of Krymski (U.S. Pub. No. 20050103977).
Regarding claim 2, Milkov discloses:
A solid-state (semiconductor layers, par. 11 and abstract) imaging element comprising:
a pre-stage circuit including
a photoelectric conversion element configured to generate charges by a photoelectric conversion (pinned photodiode (PPD) 10 which generates a photocurrent I.sub.ph, par. 26, and Fig. 1),
a transfer transistor configured to transfer the charges from the photoelectric conversion element (transfer gate M.sub.tg conducts in response to a control signal txb, where control signal txb is pulsed such that the PPD charge is transferred to C.sub.fd, par. 26 and 42, and Fig. 1),
a pair of floating diffusions configured to receive the charges from the transfer transistor, the transferred charges being converted into a voltage (C.sub.fd and C.sub.int, where charge is collected and stored in PPD 10 until it exceeds a threshold level Q.sub.t; if charge exceeds Q.sub.t, M.sub.tg leaks and the overflow charge is collected on C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, where PPD charge is transferred to C.sub.fd, after which the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the HG signal level and combining the charges on PPD, C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the LG signal level, par. 39-43, and Fig. 1), and
a conversion efficiency control transistor that controls conversion efficiency with which the charges are converted into the voltage by opening and closing a path between the pair of floating diffusions (M.sub.lg (between node 12 and 14) control signal lgb is set such that low-gain select transistor M.sub.lg turns off and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the “high gain” (HG) reset level, and control signal lgb is set such that low-gain select transistor M.sub.lg turns on, control signal txb is pulsed thereby combining the charges on PPD, C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the LG signal level, par. 35, 41, and 43, and Fig. 1, and note that node 30 is coupled to output node 16 of FIG. 1, par. 57 and Fig. 1);
first and second capacitive elements respectively including a first end coupled to the pre-stage circuit (capacitors C.sub.s_hg and C.sub.r_hg (first capacitive element) are used to store the HG signal, and C.sub.s_hg and C.sub.r_hg are connected to a shared HG node 70 coupled to node 30 (and thus to output node 16 of FIG. 1) through a HG sampling switch 72, and capacitors C.sub.s_lg and C.sub.r_lg (second capacitive element) are connected to a shared LG node 80 coupled to node 30 (and thus to output node 16 of FIG. 1) through a LG sampling switch 82, par. 63, 64, and Fig. 7);
a selection circuit that selects one of the first and second capacitive elements and connects the selected capacitive element to a post-stage node (HG select switch 78 and LF select switch 88, where HG CDS node 74 that is connected to C.sub.r_hg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node) through HG select switch 78, and LG UDS node 84 that is connected to C.sub.s_lg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node) through LG select switch 88, par. 63 and 64 and Fig. 7); and
a post-stage circuit that reads, via the post-stage node, a signal level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the charges are transferred (source follower 42 and row select switch 46, where Voltage V.sub.sf at read node 77 is buffered by source follower 42 and is read out on vertical bus 44 when row select switch 46 is closed (signal selb is low), where V.sub.sf at read node 77 becomes first equal to approximately V.sub.cds_hg and then to V.sub.uds_lg, par. 63, 66, and Fig. 7).
Note that Milkov also discloses reading a reset level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the pair of floating diffusions is initialized and a signal level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the charges are transferred (par. 65 and 66).
Milkov is silent with regards to the first and second capacitive elements being first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements and selects one of the first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements, and reading, via a post-stage node the reset level and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred. Krymski discloses the first and second capacitive elements being first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements (capacitors 201-204 and/or capacitors 205-208, par. 35-40 and Figs. 3 and 4) and selects one of the first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements (under a 1/4 resolution operation, signals received from the first four rows of a column are separately sampled to a respective capacitor 209-212, 213-216, par. 37), and reading, via a post-stage node the reset level (storing a reset level when a second sample-and-hold signal (SHR) is applied to the readout circuit 150 and the signal is output, par. 30 and 35-40) and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred (storing a pixel signal level when a first sample-and-hold signal (SHS) is applied to the readout circuit 150 and the signal is output, par. 30 and 35-40). As can be seen in par. 36 this is advantageous in that different resolution in a vertical direction can be supported. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second capacitive elements being first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements and selects one of the first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements, and reading, via a post-stage node the reset level and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred.
Note that the pair of floating diffusions was shown in Milkov.
Regarding claim 3, Milkov further discloses:
post-stage circuit includes a first transistor electrically connected to a predetermined voltage and the post-stage node (source follower 42 with one end connected to ground and gate connected to read node 77, par. 63 and Fig. 7), and a second transistor electrically connected between the first transistor and a signal output line (row select switch 46 between source follower 42 and vertical bus, where voltage V.sub.sf at read node 77 is buffered by source follower 42 and is read out on vertical bus 44 when row select switch 46 is closed, par. 63 and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Milkov further discloses:
pre-stage circuit includes a control transistor electrically connected between a predetermined voltage and the first ends of the first, second, third and fourth capacitive elements (source-follower transistor M.sub.isf has its source, gate and drain connected to an output node 16, first node 12 and a second constant potential (note that node 30 is coupled to output node 16), par. 27).
Regarding claim 10, Milkov further discloses:
pre-stage circuit is provided in a first chip (pinned photodiode (PPD) 10, transfer gate M.sub.tg, C.sub.fd and C.sub.int, M.sub.lg, and other related pixel circuitry are in a first layer, par. 26-27 and Fig. 1), and the first, second, third, and fourth capacitive elements, the selection circuit, and the post- stage circuit are provided in a second chip (all transistors of FIG. 7 are implemented on a second layer and the sampling capacitors C.sub.r_hg, C.sub.s_hg, C.sub.r_lg, and C.sub.s_lg are implemented on a third layer, where the second and third layers are considered to be the second chip, and where the layers are vertically integrated, par. 67 and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Milkov is silent with regards to an analog to digital converter that sequentially converts the reset level and the signal level into a digital signal, the analog to digital converter being provided in a third chip. Official Notice is taken that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include using an analog to digital converter that sequentially converts the reset level and the signal level into a digital signal, the analog to digital converter being provided in a third chip. This is advantageous in that noise can be removed from image signals and that heat and noise from the analog to digital converter can be located away from the pixels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an analog to digital converter that sequentially converts the reset level and the signal level into a digital signal, the analog to digital converter being provided in a third chip.
Regarding claim 12, Milkov is silent with regards to the solid-state imaging element being in an imaging device. Krymski discloses that the CMOS image sensor is in a camera in par. 62 and 63. This is advantageous in that a camera can be portable so that images can be taken at different locations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include solid-state imaging element being in an imaging device.
Regarding claim 13, Milkov discloses:
A solid-state (semiconductor layers, par. 11 and abstract) imaging element comprising:
a pre-stage circuit including a photoelectric conversion element configured to generate charges by a photoelectric conversion (pinned photodiode (PPD) 10 which generates a photocurrent I.sub.ph, par. 26, and Fig. 1),
a transfer transistor configured to transfer the charges from the photoelectric conversion element (transfer gate M.sub.tg conducts in response to a control signal txb, where control signal txb is pulsed such that the PPD charge is transferred to C.sub.fd, par. 26 and 42, and Fig. 1),
a pair of floating diffusions configured to receive the charges from the transfer transistor, the transferred charges being converted into a voltage (C.sub.fd and C.sub.int, where charge is collected and stored in PPD 10 until it exceeds a threshold level Q.sub.t; if charge exceeds Q.sub.t, M.sub.tg leaks and the overflow charge is collected on C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, where PPD charge is transferred to C.sub.fd, after which the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the HG signal level and combining the charges on PPD, C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the LG signal level, par. 39-43, and Fig. 1), and
a conversion efficiency control transistor that controls conversion efficiency with which the charges are converted into the voltage by opening and closing a path between the pair of floating diffusions (M.sub.lg (between node 12 and 14) control signal lgb is set such that low-gain select transistor M.sub.lg turns off and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the “high gain” (HG) reset level, and control signal lgb is set such that low-gain select transistor M.sub.lg turns on, control signal txb is pulsed thereby combining the charges on PPD, C.sub.int and C.sub.fd, and the voltage at output node 16 is written and stored as the LG signal level, par. 35, 41, and 43, and Fig. 1, and note that node 30 is coupled to output node 16 of FIG. 1, par. 57 and Fig. 1);
capacitive elements that are respectively coupled between the pre-stage circuit and a post- stage circuit (capacitors C.sub.s_hg and C.sub.r_hg (first capacitive element) are used to store the HG signal, and C.sub.s_hg and C.sub.r_hg are connected to a shared HG node 70 coupled to node 30 (and thus to output node 16 of FIG. 1) through a HG sampling switch 72, and capacitors C.sub.s_lg and C.sub.r_lg (second capacitive element) are connected to a shared LG node 80 coupled to node 30 (and thus to output node 16 of FIG. 1) through a LG sampling switch 82, par. 63, 64, and Fig. 7, and HG CDS node 74 that is connected to C.sub.r_hg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node which is connected to post-stage circuit comprising source follower 42 and row select switch 46) through HG select switch 78, and LG UDS node 84 that is connected to C.sub.s_lg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node which is connected to post-stage circuit comprising source follower 42 and row select switch 46) through LG select switch 88, par. 63, 64, 66 and Fig. 7); and
a selection circuit that selects one of the capacitive elements so that the pre-stage circuit and the post-stage circuit coupled to the selected capacitive element are coupled (HG select switch 78 and LF select switch 88, where HG CDS node 74 that is connected to C.sub.r_hg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node) through HG select switch 78, and LG UDS node 84 that is connected to C.sub.s_lg is connected to read node 77 (post-stage node) through LG select switch 88, par. 63 and 64 and Fig. 7),
wherein the post-stage circuit reads a signal level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the charges are transferred (source follower 42 and row select switch 46 as a post-stage circuit, where Voltage V.sub.sf at read node 77 is buffered by source follower 42 and is read out on vertical bus 44 when row select switch 46 is closed (signal selb is low), where V.sub.sf at read node 77 becomes first equal to approximately V.sub.cds_hg and then to V.sub.uds_lg, par. 63, 66, and Fig. 7)..
Note that Milkov also discloses reading a reset level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the pair of floating diffusions is initialized and a signal level obtained by amplifying the voltage when the charges are transferred (par. 65 and 66).
Milkov is silent with regards to post-stage circuit reads the reset level and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred. Krymski discloses post-stage circuit reads the reset level (storing a reset level when a second sample-and-hold signal (SHR) is applied to the readout circuit 150 and the signal is output, par. 30 and 35-40) and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred (storing a pixel signal level when a first sample-and-hold signal (SHS) is applied to the readout circuit 150 and the signal is output, par. 30 and 35-40). As can be seen in par. 36 this is advantageous in that different resolution in a vertical direction can be supported. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include post-stage circuit reads the reset level and the signal level obtained when the charges are transferred.
Note that the pair of floating diffusions was shown in Milkov.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests the first capacitive element holds the reset level when the conversion efficiency is the high conversion efficiency as a high conversion (HC) reset level, the second capacitive element holds the signal level when the conversion efficiency is the high conversion efficiency as an HC signal level, the third capacitive element holds the reset level when the conversion efficiency is the low conversion efficiency as a low conversion (LC) reset level, and the fourth capacitive element holds the signal level when the conversion efficiency is the low conversion efficiency as an LC signal level, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and limitations of the parents claims.
Claims 6-9 depend on claim 5 and therefore are objected to.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS G GILES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639