Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 19 of U.S. Patent No 10180969. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 12 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent No 12373452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS reference Johnson et al (hereinafter Johnson) US Patent 20160004741.
As per claim 1, Johnson teaches:
A method of managing data relating to an entity, the method comprising:
identifying, by at least one device comprising a processor, an entity referenced by input data;
(Paragraphs [0004], [0016]-[0017], [0053], [0060]-[0062], [0064]-[0065])
generating, by the at least one device, a first record corresponding to the entity in a data structure;
(Fig. 1F, 15A-B and paragraphs [0094]-[0095])
populating, by the at least one device, the first record with one or more characteristics of the entity given in the input data;
(Fig. 1F, 15A-B and paragraphs [0097]-[0105])
comparing, by the at least one device, characteristics populated in the first record with respective characteristics populated in a plurality of respective other records of the data structure;
(Fig. 1F, 15A-B and paragraphs [0097]-[0105] and [0111])
and merging, by the at least one device, the first record with a second record in the data structure in response to a result of the comparing, resulting in a merged record.
(Fig. 16A-B and paragraphs [0111], [0152]-[0159], [0246], [0272] and [0332])
As per claim 9, Johnson teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the entity is a person, and the characteristics of the entity comprise at least one of biographical information, employment information, or family information.
(Paragraphs [0258] and [0338])
As per claim 10, Johnson teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the entity is an organization, and the characteristics of the entity comprise at least one of operating information, business information, membership information, or characteristics of one or more members of the organization.
(Paragraphs [0223], [0306] and [0330])
As per claim 11, Johnson teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the merging comprises:
updating the second record with one or more characteristics from the first record, and discarding the first record.
(Paragraphs [0058] and [0263])
Claim 12 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 1 and it is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to method claim 1 and it is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Manning et al (hereinafter Manning) US Publication No. 20170052958.
As per claim 2, Johnson does not explicitly teach or suggests calculating, by the at least one device, respective identity probabilities for the plurality of respective other records of the data structure based on the comparing, however in analogous art entity resolution, Manning teaches:
calculating, by the at least one device, respective identity probabilities for the plurality of respective other records of the data structure based on the comparing, the identity probabilities corresponding to probability of the entity corresponding to the first record being a same entity as respective entities corresponding to the respective other records of the data structure, wherein the merging comprises merging the first record with the second record in response to an identity probability for the second record being higher than a threshold.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0008], [0019], [0027], [0033], [0105] and [0149])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Johnson and Manning by incorporating the teaching of Manning into the method of Johnson. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Manning into the system of Johnson for the purpose of optimizing weighting record matching and improving the accuracy of entity resolution.
As per claim 3, Johnson and Manning teach:
The method of claim 2, wherein the merging further comprises including an identity probability for the second record in the merged record.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0008], [0019], [0027], [0033], [0105] and [0149])(Manning)
As per claim 4, Johnson and Manning teach:
The method of claim 2, wherein the calculating comprises:
assigning respective reliability scores to respective ones of the characteristics populated in the first record;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0008], [0019], [0027], [0033], [0105] and [0149])(Manning)
and weighting the respective ones of the characteristics populated in the first record according to the respective reliability scores.
(Paragraphs [0008], [0019], [0022], [0026] and [0028])(Manning)
Claims 13-14 are system claims respectively corresponding to method claims 2 and 4 and they are rejected under the same rational as claims 2 and 4.
Claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to method claim 2 and it is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson and Manning in view of Mungur et al (hereinafter Mungur) US Patent No. 9275125.
As per claim 5, Johnson and Manning do not explicitly teach assigning comprises assigning the respective reliability scores based on one or more of an age of the input data, a reliability of the input data, frequency of a corresponding characteristic appearing in the input data, or a type of the corresponding characteristic, however in analogous art of content management, Mungur teaches:
assigning comprises assigning the respective reliability scores based on one or more of an age of the input data, a reliability of the input data, frequency of a corresponding characteristic appearing in the input data, or a type of the corresponding characteristic.
(Abstract and Column 5, 1-27 and Column 8, 59-64 and Column 14, lines 3-32)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Johnson and Manning by incorporating the teaching of Manning into the method of Johnson. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Manning into the system of Johnson for the purpose of calculating reliability score and improving entity association.
Claims 6-8, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Barry Caceres (hereinafter Caceres) US Publication No. 20110047167.
As per claim 6, Johnson teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the entity is a first entity and the populating comprises:
populating the first record with respective relationships between the first entity and at least one second entity,
(Fig. 1F, 15A-B and paragraphs [0097]-[0105])
Johnson does not explicitly teach computing respective strengths of the respective relationships, and populating the first record with the respective strengths, however in analogous art of content management, Caceres teaches:
computing respective strengths of the respective relationships, and populating the first record with the respective strengths.
(Abstract and Paragraphs [0009], [0012]-[0013] and [0050])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Johnson and Caceres by incorporating the teaching of Caceres into the method of Johnson. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Caceres into the system of Johnson for the purpose of quantifying record matching and improving the accuracy of entity resolution.
As per claim 7, Johnson and Caceres teach:
The method of claim 6, wherein the comparing comprises comparing the respective relationships and corresponding strengths populated in the first record with respective relationships and corresponding strengths populated in the respective other records of the data structure.
(Abstract and Paragraphs [0009], [0012]-[0013] and [0050])(Caceres)
As per claim 8, Johnson and Caceres teach:
The method of claim 6, wherein the computing a strength of a relationship comprises computing the strength based on at least one of length of the relationship, mutual connections between parties to the relationship, nature of interactions between the parties to the relationship, or frequency of the relationship being referenced in the input data.
(Abstract and Paragraphs [0009], [0012]-[0013] and [0050])(Caceres)
Claims 15-17 are system claims respectively corresponding to method claims 6-8 and they are rejected under the same rational as claims 6-8.
Claim 20 is non-transitory computer-readable claim corresponding to the combination of method claims 6-7 and they are rejected under the same rational as claims 6-7.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 7/15/2026