DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 24, 2008 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elevator having three indentations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masabuchi et al. (U.S. 5,460,168).
With respect to claim 11, Masabuchi et al. teaches a distal end of a medical device, comprising:
a distal tip defining an interior sidewall and an exterior sidewall (FIG. 24b); and
an elevator (74a) defining:
a first lateral-facing surface (FIG. 25a,b);
a second lateral-facing surface (FIG. 25a,b);
a proximal portion that is fixed relative to the interior sidewall of the distal tip (19:51-20:10),
wherein the proximal portion includes a first indentation (88), wherein the first indentation is configured to facilitate bending of the elevator;
a distal portion that is movable relative to the proximal portion (FIG. 23), wherein the distal portion includes a second indentation (90), wherein the second indentation is configured to receive an instrument, wherein the proximal portion bends relative to the distal portion when the elevator moves from a first position to a second position (FIG. 23); and
a passage (87) extending between the first lateral-facing surface and the second lateral-facing surface of the distal portion, wherein the passage is configured to receive a control wire.
With respect to claim 17, Masabuchi et al. teaches the control wire is configured to move the elevator from the first position to the second position in response to the control wire moving proximally relative to the distal tip, such that the instrument received on the elevator is deflected relative to the distal tip, and wherein the control wire is configured to move the elevator from the second position to the first position in response to the control wire moving distally relative to the distal tip, such that the instrument received on the elevator is longitudinally aligned with the distal tip (FIG. 22A, 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 10, 12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masabuchi et al. (U.S. 5,460,168) in view of Hosogoe (US 2016/0309993).
With respect to claim 1, Masabuchi et al. teaches a distal end of a medical device, comprising:
a distal tip defining an interior sidewall and an exterior sidewall (FIG. 24b);
an elevator (74a) including a first lateral-facing surface and a second lateral-facing surface (FIG. 25a,b), and a passage extending between the first lateral-facing surface and the second lateral-facing surface (87), wherein the elevator is movable relative to the interior sidewall and the exterior sidewall from a first position to a second position, and
a control wire (76) extending through the passage of the elevator from the first lateral- facing surface to the second lateral-facing surface (FIG. 6 for example).
However, Masabuchi does not teach first and second indentations.
With respect to claim 1, Hosogoe teaches a distal end of a medical device, comprising:
a distal tip defining an interior sidewall and an exterior sidewall (FIG. 2);
an elevator (30) including a first lateral-facing surface and a second lateral-facing surface (FIG. 3D), wherein the elevator is movable relative to the interior sidewall and the exterior sidewall from a first position to a second position,
wherein the elevator includes a first indentation (33) and a second indentation (35),
wherein each of the first indentation and the second indentation is configured to receive an instrument, and wherein the first indentation is wider, deeper, and/or longer than the second indentation (FIG. 3A,D).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the elevator of Masabuchi et al. to include first and second indentations in the manner taught by Hosogoe in order to allow for deployment of a guidewire simultaneously with a treatment tool (para [0019] of Hosogoe).
With respect to claim 2, Masabuchi et al. teaches the elevator includes a proximal portion (77) that is fixed relative to the interior sidewall of the distal tip, and a distal portion that is movable relative to the proximal portion, wherein the proximal portion bends relative to the distal portion when the elevator moves from the first position to the second position (FIG. 23 for example).
With respect to claim 3, Masabuchi et al. teaches the elevator includes a third indentation (88 for example) configured to facilitate bending of the proximal portion of the elevator relative to the distal portion of the elevator.
With respect to claim 4, Masabuchi et al. teaches the elevator is configured to deflect the instrument relative to the distal tip when moving from the first position to the second position (FIG. 23 for example).
With respect to claim 7, Masabuchi et al. teaches the passage of the elevator is defined in the distal portion of the elevator (FIG. 23 for example).
With respect to claim 9, Masabuchi et al. teaches an anterior-facing surface of the distal portion of the elevator is angled relative to the proximal portion of the elevator (FIG. 23).
With respect to claim 10, Masabuchi et al. teaches the elevator is integrally formed with the distal tip (19:51-20:10).
With respect to claim 12, Hosogoe teaches the elevator further includes a third indentation (35) configured to receive the instrument, and wherein the second indentation (33) is wider, deeper, and/or longer than the third indentation (FIG. 3A,D)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the elevator of Masabuchi et al. to include first and second indentations in the manner taught by Hosogoe in order to allow for deployment of a guidewire simultaneously with a treatment tool (para [0019] of Hosogoe).
With respect to claim 18, Masabuchi et al. teaches a distal end of a medical device, comprising:
a distal tip defining an interior sidewall and an exterior sidewall (FIG. 24b); and
an elevator defining (74a):
a first lateral-facing surface (FIG. 25a,b);
a second lateral-facing surface (FIG. 25a,b);
a proximal portion (77) that is fixed relative to the interior sidewall of the distal tip (19:51-20:10), wherein the proximal portion includes a first indentation (88), wherein the first indentation is configured to facilitate bending of the elevator;
a distal portion that is movable relative to the proximal portion, wherein the distal portion includes a second indentation (90) wherein the proximal portion bends relative to the distal portion when the elevator moves from a first position to a second position; and
a passage (87) extending between the first lateral-facing surface and the second lateral-facing surface of the distal portion, wherein the passage is configured to receive a control wire.
However, Masabuchi et al. does not teach a third indentation.
With respect to claim 18, Hosogoe teaches a distal portion that is movable relative to the proximal portion, wherein the distal portion includes a second indentation (33) and a third indentation (35), wherein each of the second indentation and the third indentation is configured to receive an instrument, wherein the proximal portion bends relative to the distal portion when the elevator moves from a first position to a second position (FIG. 3A,D)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the elevator of Masabuchi et al. to include first and second indentations in the manner taught by Hosogoe in order to allow for deployment of a guidewire simultaneously with a treatment tool (para [0019] of Hosogoe).
With respect to claim 19, Masabuchi et al. teaches the elevator is integrally formed with the distal tip (19:51-20:10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masabuchi et al. (U.S. 5,460,168) in view of Hosogoe (US 2016/0309993) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buerger (US 1,901,731).
Masabuchi et al. teaches a distal end as set forth above. However, Masabuchi et al. does not teach a first control wire opening and a second control wire opening, wherein a first portion of the control wire extends from the first control wire opening, wherein a second portion of the control wire extends from the second control wire opening, and wherein a third portion of the control wire extends between the first portion of the control wire and the second portion of the control wire and through the passage of the elevator.
With respect to claim 6, Buerger teaches a first control wire opening and a second control wire opening, wherein a first portion of the control wire extends from the first control wire opening, wherein a second portion of the control wire extends from the second control wire opening, and wherein a third portion of the control wire extends between the first portion of the control wire and the second portion of the control wire and through the passage of the elevator (FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device of Masabuchi et al. to utilize two control wire openings as taught by Buerger because such a modification is a simple substitution of one known elevator control means for another known elevator control means, and the results of such a substitution would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masabuchi et al. (U.S. 5,460,168) in view of Hosogoe (US 2016/0309993) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Utsugi (US 4,452,236).
Masabuchi et al. teaches a distal end as set forth above. However, Masabuchi et al. does not teach the passage of the elevator has a length that is less than a width of the distal portion.
With respect to claims 8 and 20, Utsugi teaches the passage of the elevator has a length that is less than a width of the distal portion (FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Masabuchi et al. to have the passage of the elevator has a length that is less than a width of the distal portion in the manner taught by Utsugi in order to allow for a narrower overall footprint (FIG. 6 of Utsugi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ALEXANDRA L. SURGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799