DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murahashi et al. (US 2010/0225635; disclosed in IDS)
Regarding claim 1:
Murahashi discloses:
An electronic device (e.g., paragraph 130) comprising:
memory storing instructions (follows from paragraph 130, 131, etc.: a memory and instructions are necessary for the device to carry out these operations);
a processor comprising processing circuitry (paragraph 130);
a display panel including a plurality of sub-pixels (paragraph 130: “pixel”); and
control circuitry including a gate driver for controlling driving of each of the plurality of sub-pixels (paragraph 268: “scanning-side driving circuit”) and a source driver for controlling a data voltage for each of the plurality of sub-pixels (paragraph 268: “data-side driving circuit”),
wherein the source driver includes a channel circuit set including a plurality of channel circuits respectively connected to the plurality of sub-pixels (shown in Fig. 1, where the channels receive signals STR1, STR2, etc.) and a first channel circuit disconnected from the plurality of sub-pixels (the “spare output circuit block” of Fig. 2, where it includes multiple elements are per paragraph 140 – this receives signal TSTR1 in Fig. 1), and sensing circuitry,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, are configured to cause the electronic device to:
identify an event for changing a first state that the display panel is off to a second state that the display panel is on (paragraph 185: “the display device is turned ON,”),
in response to the event, respectively identify, via at least the sensing circuitry, signals output via the plurality of channel circuits in the first state (paragraphs 133-134, where this occurs after this even as per paragraph 185 – “then, the control circuit outputs the test signals…”),
disconnect a second channel circuit outputting a signal having a voltage different from a reference voltage from among the plurality of channel circuits in the first state from a sub-pixel connected to the second channel circuit, and connect the sub-pixel to the first channel circuit (paragraph 135, or, as per paragraph 185, “the control circuit replaces a defective circuit with a spare circuit”), and
display an image via the display panel based on the plurality of channel circuits including the first channel circuit in the second state changed from the first state based on the event (paragraph 135).
Regarding claim 2:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: in the first state, respectively identify, via at least the sensing circuitry, a first set of signals output via the plurality of channel circuits in a first partial time interval from among a plurality of partial time intervals in a first time interval triggered in response to the event, and in the first state, respectively identify, via at least the sensing circuitry, a second set of signals output via the plurality of channel circuits in a second partial time interval subsequent to the first partial time from among the plurality of partial time intervals (from, e.g., paragraph 155, it repeatedly outputs sensing circuits until the counter reaches the maximum).
Regarding claim 3:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: sequentially compare, via at least the sensing circuitry in the first partial time interval, a first reference voltage to the first set of signals corresponding to the plurality of channel circuits, and sequentially compare, via at least the sensing circuitry in the second partial time interval, a second reference voltage to the second set of signals corresponding to the plurality of channel circuits, and wherein the first reference voltage and the second reference voltage are included in a reference voltage set identified based on a gradation capable of being represented by a channel circuit (paragraph 155).
Regarding claim 4:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: generate a flag for identifying the second channel circuit in response to identifying the second channel circuit, and based on the flag, disconnect the sub-pixel from the second channel circuit and connect the sub-pixel to the first channel circuit (paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 5:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the signals are identified in a first time interval triggered in response to the event, and wherein the sub-pixel is configured to be disconnected from the second channel circuit and connected to the first channel circuit in a second time interval subsequent to the first time interval follows from, e.g., paragraph 139 – it doesn’t connect them until after the test).
Regarding claim 6:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the sub-pixel is configured to be connected to the first channel circuit before the display panel is changed from the first state to the second state (true in that the test is performed when the display is turned on, but before anything is actually displayed: the displaying can be considered “on” in which case this is true depending on the result of the test).
Regarding claim 7:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: receive, from the processor, a command for changing a state of the display panel in response to the event, and transmit, to the display panel, a signal for changing the display panel from the first state to the second state based on the command (Murahashi doesn’t show the signal itself but it must have one as it does display the image after the test).
Regarding claim 8:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: in response to identifying the signal having the voltage different from the reference voltage, change at least one switch connecting the sub-pixel and the second channel circuit from an on state to an off state, and change at least one another switch connecting the sub-pixel and the first channel circuit from an off state to an on state (paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 9:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the control circuitry, cause the electronic device to: drive the gate driver in response to the sub-pixel being connected to the first channel circuit (e.g., paragraph 185: “starts the normal operation,” where this includes a gate driver as per, e.g., paragraph 268).
Regarding claim 12:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein the electronic device further comprises another sensing circuitry, wherein the sensing circuitry is connected to a first set of sub-pixels from among the plurality of sub-pixels and a first set of channel circuits from among the plurality of channel circuits, and wherein the another sensing circuitry is connected to a second set of sub-pixels excluding the first set of sub-pixels from among the plurality of sub-pixels and a second set of channel circuits excluding the first set of channel circuits from among the plurality of channel circuits (there are multiple circuits as shown in, e.g., Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13:
Murahashi discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of channel circuits includes at least one of a level shifter, a decoder, a switch, or an amplifier, and wherein the sensing circuitry includes a comparator (paragraph 145).
Regarding claims 14-20:
These are claims to the method performed by the device of the earlier claims and are met when the device operates. No further elaboration is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murahashi in view of Official Notice
Regarding claim 10:
Murahashi discloses an electronic device as discussed above.
Murahashi does not disclose:
“wherein the event includes at least one of a gesture, a touch input, or an input for a button exposed to an outside of the electronic device, for changing the first state to the second state.”
“The event” is turning on the display panel. The Examiner takes Official Notice that wherein the event (turning on a display) includes at least one of a gesture, a touch input, or an input for a button exposed to an outside of the electronic device, for changing the first state to the second state was commonly known in the art at the time the application was filed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include this in Murahashi.
The rationale is as follows:
Murahashi discloses the user turns it on (e.g., paragraph 247). These are all common ways of turning a display on. One of ordinary skill in the art could have included this with predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murahashi in view of Kim et al. (US 11,322,066)
Regarding claim 11:
Murahashi discloses an electronic device as discussed above.
Murahashi does not disclose:
“wherein a number of the plurality of channel circuits is changed based on a number of the plurality of sub-pixels identified according to a pentile.”
Kim discloses:
Sub-pixels may be arranged in a pentile (column 5, lines 60 to column 6, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Murahashi wherein a number of the plurality of channel circuits is changed based on a number of the plurality of sub-pixels identified according to a pentile, as suggested by Kim.
The rationale is as follows:
Murahashi and Kim are directed to the same field of art.
Kim discloses this is one of many possible arrangements of the sub-pixels, all used in the same environment, for the same purpose, and achieving the same reult. One of ordinary skill could have picked the appropriate arrangement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wetherell et al. (US 11,645,957).
/CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622