DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12382053 B2 in view of Wang et al. (US 20130107973 A1). Claims 1 and 3 of US 12382053 B2 teach most limitations in claim 1.
Furthermore, Wang teaches prediction related information, deriving prediction samples based on the prediction related information, and generating reconstructed samples of the current picture based on the residual information and the prediction samples ([0102] The mode select unit 40 may select one of the coding modes, intra or inter, e.g., based on rate distortion results for each mode, and provides the resulting intra- or inter-predicted block (e.g., a prediction unit (PU)) to the summer 50 to generate residual block data and to the summer 62 to reconstruct the encoded block for use in a reference frame; [0005] A coded video block may be represented by prediction information that can be used to create or identify a predictive block, and a residual block of data indicative of differences between the block being coded and the predictive block. Both intra-coding and inter-coding may define several different prediction modes, which may define different block sizes and/or prediction techniques used in the coding. Additional types of syntax elements may also be included as part of encoded video data in order to control or define the coding techniques or parameters used in the coding process; figure 12, output of unit 80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadono et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0076237 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kadono discloses One or more memory or storage devices having stored thereon a program ([0247] recording a program implementing the steps of … method to a floppy disk or other computer-readable data recording medium; [0251]; [0257] The software for … can be stored to any computer-readable data recording medium (such as a CD-ROM disc, floppy disk, or hard disk drive)).
See MPEP 2111.05 (III), when determining the scope of the claim, “a bitstream” is not given patentable weight, because “a bitstream” is non-functional descriptive material. It is merely static data that imparts no function (unlike an executable computer program which performs a function). It does not have any functional relationship with the intended computer system. Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium disclosed in Kadono meets claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20130107973 A1) in view of WANG’747 (US 20220345747 A1) and Bross et al. (Versatile Video Coding (Draft 8)).
Regarding claims 1-3. Wang discloses An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus (figure 12, [0118] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a video decoder 30), comprising:
obtaining image information including subpicture-related information, prediction related information and residual information through a bitstream (figure 12, input encoded video, residual data of input of unit 80; [0030]; [0108] signal the selected transform partition in the encoded video bitstream; [0102] The mode select unit 40 may select one of the coding modes, intra or inter, e.g., based on rate distortion results for each mode, and provides the resulting intra- or inter-predicted block (e.g., a prediction unit (PU)) to the summer 50 to generate residual block data and to the summer 62 to reconstruct the encoded block for use in a reference frame; [0005] A coded video block may be represented by prediction information that can be used to create or identify a predictive block, and a residual block of data indicative of differences between the block being coded and the predictive block. Both intra-coding and inter-coding may define several different prediction modes, which may define different block sizes and/or prediction techniques used in the coding. Additional types of syntax elements may also be included as part of encoded video data in order to control or define the coding techniques or parameters used in the coding process);
dividing a current picture into at least one subpicture based on the subpicture-related information ([0030]);
deriving prediction samples based on the prediction related information ([0102] The mode select unit 40 may select one of the coding modes, intra or inter, e.g., based on rate distortion results for each mode, and provides the resulting intra- or inter-predicted block (e.g., a prediction unit (PU)) to the summer 50 to generate residual block data and to the summer 62 to reconstruct the encoded block for use in a reference frame);
generating reconstructed samples of the current picture based on the residual information and the prediction samples (figure 12, output of unit 80); and
generating modified reconstructed samples based on an in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples (figure 12, output decoded video, units 75, 77 and 79),
wherein the at least one subpicture includes one or more slices ([0030]),
wherein the one or more slices are included in one or more tiles ([0030] When partitioned into tiles, a slice can run in raster scan order between edges of a tile. A slice may exist entirely within a tile, and each tile may include multiple slices),
wherein the image information includes in-loop filtering-related information ([0037] a new syntax element, referred to in this disclosure as "tile_boundary_loop_filtering_idc," for controlling cross-tile-boundary loop filtering. Loop filtering operations generally include any of deblocking filtering, ALF, and SAO. In general, deblocking filtering is selectively applied at edges of blocks to reduce blockiness artifacts, ALF is applied based on pixel classifications, and SAO is used to modify direct current (DC) values; [0072] include in a coded bitstream a value for a syntax element indicating if loop filtering is enabled across tile boundaries),
wherein whether the in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples is performed across at least one of a boundary of the one or more tiles or a boundary of the one or more slices in the current picture is determined based on the in-loop filtering-related information ([0037] a new syntax element, referred to in this disclosure as "tile_boundary_loop_filtering_idc," for controlling cross-tile-boundary loop filtering. Loop filtering operations generally include any of deblocking filtering, ALF, and SAO. In general, deblocking filtering is selectively applied at edges of blocks to reduce blockiness artifacts, ALF is applied based on pixel classifications, and SAO is used to modify direct current (DC) values; [0072] include in a coded bitstream a value for a syntax element indicating if loop filtering is enabled across tile boundaries),
wherein the image information includes a picture parameter set (PPS) referred by the current picture and a sequence parameter set (SPS) referred by the current picture ([0038] a value may be signaled indicating whether loop filtering operations are allowed across tile boundaries, e.g., for one or more particular boundaries or for all tiles within a frame or within a sequence. Such values may be signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) or a picture parameter set (PPS)),
wherein the image information includes a tile boundary in-loop filtering available flag for the at least one subpicture in the current picture ([0038] a value may be signaled indicating whether loop filtering operations are allowed across tile boundaries, e.g., for one or more particular boundaries or for all tiles within a frame or within a sequence. Such values may be signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) or a picture parameter set (PPS); [0037] a new syntax element, referred to in this disclosure as "tile_boundary_loop_filtering_idc," for controlling cross-tile-boundary loop filtering. Loop filtering operations generally include any of deblocking filtering, ALF, and SAO. In general, deblocking filtering is selectively applied at edges of blocks to reduce blockiness artifacts, ALF is applied based on pixel classifications, and SAO is used to modify direct current (DC) values; [0072] include in a coded bitstream a value for a syntax element indicating if loop filtering is enabled across tile boundaries; [0030]; [0066] if any of the loop filters are applied at the slice level (including an entropy slice) or at the tile level, special handling may be beneficial at the slice and tile boundaries),
wherein, based on the tile boundary in-loop filtering available flag for the at least one subpicture, whether the in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples is performed across the boundary of the one or more tiles in at least one subpicture is determined ([0038] a value may be signaled indicating whether loop filtering operations are allowed across tile boundaries, e.g., for one or more particular boundaries or for all tiles within a frame or within a sequence. Such values may be signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) or a picture parameter set (PPS); [0037] a new syntax element, referred to in this disclosure as "tile_boundary_loop_filtering_idc," for controlling cross-tile-boundary loop filtering. Loop filtering operations generally include any of deblocking filtering, ALF, and SAO. In general, deblocking filtering is selectively applied at edges of blocks to reduce blockiness artifacts, ALF is applied based on pixel classifications, and SAO is used to modify direct current (DC) values; [0072] include in a coded bitstream a value for a syntax element indicating if loop filtering is enabled across tile boundaries; [0030]; [0066] if any of the loop filters are applied at the slice level (including an entropy slice) or at the tile level, special handling may be beneficial at the slice and tile boundaries),
WANG’747 discloses
at least one subpicture includes a rectangular slice (figure 3, [0082]; [0086]; [0078]);
wherein the image information includes a slice boundary in-loop filtering available flag for the one or more tiles in the current picture ([0094] loop_filter_across_slices_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across slice boundaries in pictures; loop_filter_across_slice_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across slice boundaries in pictures), and
wherein, based on the slice boundary in-loop filtering available flag for the one or more tiles, whether the in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples is performed across the boundary of the one or more rectangular slices in the one or more tiles is determined ([0094] loop_filter_across_slices_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across slice boundaries in pictures; loop_filter_across_slice_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across slice boundaries in pictures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Wang and WANG’747, to also include in the image information a slice boundary in-loop filtering available flag for the one or more rectangular slices in the current picture in the rectangular slice mode, determining whether the in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples is performed across the boundary of the one or more rectangular slices, in order to more efficiently and flexibly code the image.
Bross discloses
wherein the SPS includes a tile slice boundary in-loop filtering available flag (page 40, line 4, 7.3.2.3 Sequence parameter set RBSP syntax, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[ i ]; page 23, figure 7, Figure 7 shows an example of subpicture partitioning of a picture, where a picture is partitioned into 18 tiles, 12 tiles on the left-hand side each covering one slice of 4 by 4 CTUs and 6 tiles on the right-hand side each covering 2 vertically-stacked slices of 2 by 2 CTUs, altogether resulting in 24 slices and 24 subpictures of varying dimensions (each slice is a subpicture)), and
wherein whether the in-loop filtering procedure for the reconstructed samples is performed across tile boundaries and slice boundaries in a subpicture is determined based on the tile slice boundary in-loop filtering available flag (page 101, 3rd last paragraph, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[ i ] equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across the boundaries of the i-th subpicture in each coded picture in the CLVS. loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[ i ] equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across the boundaries of the i-th subpicture in each coded picture in the CLVS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Wang, WANG’747 and Bross, to include the flag, in order to more efficiently and flexibly code the image.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488