DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed August 18, 2026 in response to the Office Action of April 24, 2026, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 41-51, 53-55 are now pending and being examined. Claims 1-40 and 52 canceled. Claims 41-51, 53-55 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The IDS filed 8/18/2026 has been considered except for the two Patel posters (see lined-through references). Examiner cannot read the small and blurry font and figures of the submitted Patel posters.
Claim Interpretation
3. The specification provides a broad definition of what is encompassed by the term “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”:
[0089] As used herein, the term "pharmaceutically acceptable carrier/excipient" includes any and all solvents, dispersion media, coatings, surfactants, antioxidants, preservatives (e.g., antibacterial agents, antifungal agents), isotonic agents, absorption delaying agents, salts, drugs, drug stabilizers, binders, excipients, disintegration agents, lubricants, sweetening agents, flavoring agents, dyes, such like materials and combinations thereof, as would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art (see, for example, Remington's Pharmaceutical Sciences, 18th Ed. Mack Printing Company, 1990, pp. 1289- 1329, incorporated herein by reference). Except in so far as any conventional carrier is incompatible with the active ingredient, its use in the therapeutic or pharmaceutical compositions is contemplated.
Given the above definition, the instantly claimed “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier” of claim 41 reasonably encompasses any drugs, drug stabilizers, binders, excipients, such like materials and combinations thereof, as well as any conventional carrier compatible with an active ingredient, that are in addition to the active ingredient.
Maintained Rejections
(with amendments addressed)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 41-46, 48, 49, 53-55 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2015/0374815, Kishimoto et al, claiming priority to June 25, 2014.
Kishimoto teaches therapeutics for use in combination therapy to treat cancer including lung cancer ([130-132]), wherein the therapeutics include:
(a) immune checkpoint inhibitor that blocks PD-L1/PD-1 axis, including anti-PD-L1 antibodies BMS-936558/MDX-1106 (nivolumab), and BMS-936559/MDX-1105 antibodies; or anti-PD-1 antibodies CT-011 and MK-3475 ([14]; [28]; [57]; Example 9; claims 1 and 15; Figures 2B and 2C);
(b) immunotherapeutic that is an immunostimulatory agent comprising imiquimod or resiquimod (R848) ([28]; [59]; Example 9; Figures 2A and 2B);
(c) tumor peptide vaccine that is an anticancer agent (Example 9; Figure 2); and
(d) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 17; [10]; [64]; [97]; [116]; [125]; [137]);
wherein the R848 and anti-PD-L1/PD-1 antibody are not linked to each other.
Kishimoto exemplifies that combined treatment with a tumor peptide vaccine, R848, anti-PD-L1 antibody was synergistic in enhancing therapeutic effects in anti-tumor treatment (Example 9; Figure 2; [176-178]).
Kishimoto demonstrates the resiquimod (R848) is provided separately then prepared by admixing with a pharmaceutically acceptable nanocarrier and tumor peptide (NC+R848) and mice were administered NC+R848 then co-treated with separate anti-PD-L1 antibody (Example 9; Fig. 2). Kshimoto concludes: These results indicate that the immune checkpoint inhibitor and synthetic nanocarrier compositions functioned synergistically to enhance therapeutic effects of the anti-tumor treatment ([178]). Thus, in Example 9, Kishimoto exemplifies a therapeutic combination comprising a pharmaceutical composition consisting of an effective amount of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (as encompassed by the instant application’s definition of “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”) and an anti-PD-L1 antibody, wherein the resiquimod and antibody are not linked to each other.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicants argue that Kishimoto does not inherently teach the claimed therapeutic combination and it is improper to shift the burden on Applicants to demonstrate otherwise (citing In re Best). Applicants argue that the composition of Kishimoto comprises an immunogenic cancer antigen epitope (TRP2) package with synthetic nanocarriers. Applicants argue the composition taught by Kishimoto comprises tumor-specific epitopes, nanocarrier, and R848 used to treat mice in a melanoma model. Applicants argue that Kishimoto does not teach a therapeutic composition consisting of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and does not teach therapeutically administering R848 without the nanocarrier. Applicants argue the instant claims require resiquimod (R848) that is free and unattached to a nanocarrier, therefore Kishimoto does not anticipate the instantly claimed combination.
6. The arguments have been considered and are not persuasive. As clearly stated in the previous rejections of record, Examiner only applied the In re Best inherency argument to claim 52 in order to argue that the R848 is present in an amount capable of the activities listed in claim 52. Claim 52 is now canceled. Therefore, the In re Best inherency argument for claim 52 is removed from the rejection and Applicant’s arguments directed at this paragraph are moot.
Regarding the pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic (resiquimod) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, Applicants are arguing limitations not recited in the claims. The claims do not recite or require that the resiquimod (R848) is free and unattached to a nanocarrier. The instant application defines “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier” as comprising any drugs, drug stabilizers, binders, excipients, such like materials and combinations thereof, as well as any conventional carrier compatible with an active ingredient, that are in addition to the active ingredient. Therefore, the pharmaceutical composition exemplified by Kishimoto (Example 9) comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable nanocarrier (NC) or nanocarrier with TRP2 epitope, is reasonably encompassed by the instantly claimed pharmaceutical composition consisting of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Applicants have not persuasively argued that the resiquimod composition taught by Kishimoto is excluded by the instant claims.
Additionally, claim 41 recites “A therapeutic combination comprising”:
(i) an anti-PD-L1 antibody or anti-PD-1 antibody and
(ii) immunotherapeutic resiquimod or imiquimod; wherein the immunotherapeutic is in a form of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier;
wherein the anti-PD-L1 antibody or anti-PD-1 antibody and immunotherapeutic are not linked to each other.
Therefore, the claimed therapeutic combination can comprise a combination of anything in addition to the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and the claims are not limited to separate compositions of anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. MPEP 2111.03 states (bold emphasis added):
The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[L]ike the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended."). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Manufacturing, L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The transition ‘comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps."); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("Comprising" is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential, but other elements may be added and still form a construct within the scope of the claim.); Moleculon Research Corp. v. CBS, Inc., 793 F.2d 1261, 229 USPQ 805 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Baxter, 656 F.2d 679, 686, 210 USPQ 795, 803 (CCPA 1981); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948) ("comprising" leaves "the claim open for the inclusion of unspecified ingredients even in major amounts"). In Gillette Co. v. Energizer Holdings Inc., 405 F.3d 1367, 1371-73, 74 USPQ2d 1586, 1589-91 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that a claim to "a safety razor blade unit comprising a guard, a cap, and a group of first, second, and third blades" encompasses razors with more than three blades because the transitional phrase "comprising" in the preamble and the phrase "group of" are presumptively open-ended. "The word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended." Id. In contrast, the court noted the phrase "group consisting of" is a closed term, which is often used in claim drafting to signal a "Markush group" that is by its nature closed. Id. The court also emphasized that reference to "first," "second," and "third" blades in the claim was not used to show a serial or numerical limitation but instead was used to distinguish or identify the various members of the group. Id.
In the instant case, the claimed therapeutic combination comprising the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and immunotherapeutic in a form of pharmaceutical composition is open-ended and the therapeutic combination can comprise other elements and mixtures in addition to the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and immunotherapeutic pharmaceutical composition.
7. Claim(s) 41-46, 48-51, and 53-55 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2016/0339090, Hacohen et al, claiming priority to December 2013.
Hacohen teaches a combination of therapeutics for use in treating cancer, such as lung cancer ([26]; [175-176]; [243]) comprising:
(i) an effective amount of immunotherapeutic/ adjuvant/ immunomodulator resiquimod (R848) to stimulate an immune response ([15]; [194]; [301]; claim 6; [91]; [181]; [199-201]; [241]; [248]); and
(ii) an effective amount of checkpoint inhibitor anti-PD-1 antibody, such as pembrolizumab (MK-3475, lambrolizumab) ([166-171]; Table on page 16; [77] [159]; [243]; [246]; claims 1, 9, 18, 33, 36, and 37) or anti-PD-L1 antibody, such as MPDL3280A, MEDI-4736, and BMS-936559 (MDX-1105) ([166-173]; [246-248]);
(iii) cancer vaccine that is an anticancer agent; and
(iv) at least one known chemotherapeutic anticancer agent such as topo I and II inhibitors, alkylating agents, antimitotic agents, vinblastine, doxorubicin, 5-FU, etoposide, paclitaxel, carboplatin, and methotrexate ([228]; [366]; claim 40);
wherein the cancer intended for treatment is NSCLC ([175]; [243]; claim 14);
wherein the resiquimod (R848) and antibody are not covalently linked to each other and are in separate compositions; wherein each therapeutics are provided individually or in combinations ([182]; [419]); and
wherein the therapeutic agents are comprised in pharmaceutical compositions having a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([194]; [200]; [249-251]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicants argue that Hacohen teaches a patient-specific, cancer vaccine (e.g., neoantigen peptides, from a cancer patient or tumor). Hacohen teaches a process that (1) uses a vaccine priming schedule with the antigen that (2) is followed by treatment with a checkpoint inhibitor. Further, Hacohen teaches that R848 functions as an adjuvant to increase the immune response to the antigen vaccine.
Applicants argue that in contrast, the claimed therapeutic combination uses resiquimod as an active anti-cancer agent, without the need for any vaccine components to induce or enhance its anti- cancer effects. See Specification as-filed, Example 1, FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, and Example 4, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. Applicants argue that the data show a reduction in tumor volume from resiquimod alone without the need for an antigen priming step as required by Hacohen. Applicants argue the Office Action has not identified any evidence that would "make clear that the missing descriptive matter is necessarily present in the thing described in the reference, and that it would be so recognized by persons of ordinary skill." Here, the "missing descriptive matter" is that the resiquimod of Hacohen, in the absence of Hacohen's antigen, would be therapeutically effective. Applicants argue that the Office Action has not demonstrated or identified in the reference any indication that the resiquimod of Hacohen is "necessarily" therapeutically effective by itself, as the resiquimod of Hacohen is merely an adjuvant to be used with an antigen vaccine. Hacohen requires a patient/tumor neoantigen peptide in combination with the adjuvant, resiquimod, to achieve the adjuvant's function of enhancing the anti-cancer effects of the peptide.
Applicants argue that in contrast, amended claim 41 recites " wherein the immunotherapeutic is in a form of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier" (underline added). Applicants argue that the closed language before the recitation of "immunotherapeutic" bars the inclusion of any unlisted active ingredients not recited in the claim. Amended claim 41 therefore cannot be the same combination taught by Hacohen.
Applicants argue that Hacohen does not anticipate the claimed combination and it is improper to shift the burden on Applicants to demonstrate otherwise (citing in re Best). Applicants argue Hacohen’s composition requires a tumor antigen to be present with the resiquimod in order to stimulate an anti-cancer response. Applicants argue the art does not recognize the claimed immunotherapeutic is effective in the absence of antigen.
9. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. As clearly stated in the previous rejections of record, Examiner only applied the In re Best inherency argument to claim 52 in order to argue that the R848 is present in an amount capable of the activities listed in claim 52. Claim 52 is now canceled. Therefore, the In re Best inherency argument for claim 52 is removed from the rejection and Applicant’s arguments directed at this paragraph are moot.
Regarding the pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic (resiquimod) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, Applicants are arguing limitations not recited in the claims. The claims do not recite or require that the resiquimod (R848) pharmaceutical composition excludes tumor antigen. The instant application defines “pharmaceutically acceptable carrier” as comprising any drugs, drug stabilizers, binders, excipients, such like materials and combinations thereof, as well as any conventional carrier compatible with an active ingredient, that are in addition to the active ingredient. Therefore, the pharmaceutical composition taught by Hacohen comprising resiquimod and tumor antigen is reasonably encompassed by the instantly claimed pharmaceutical composition consisting of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Applicants have not persuasively argued that the resiquimod composition taught by Hacohen is excluded by the instant claims.
Regarding arguments that the claimed therapeutic combination uses resiquimod as an active anti-cancer agent, without the need for any vaccine components to induce or enhance its anti- cancer effects, Applicants are arguing limitations not recited in the claims. The claims do not recite a method of using the therapeutic combination in a specific manner as argued by Applicants, but rather, the claims are limited to a product comprising the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and immunotherapeutic as stated above.
Additionally, claim 41 recites “A therapeutic combination comprising”:
(i) an anti-PD-L1 antibody or anti-PD-1 antibody and
(ii) immunotherapeutic resiquimod or imiquimod; wherein the immunotherapeutic is in a form of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier;
wherein the anti-PD-L1 antibody or anti-PD-1 antibody and immunotherapeutic are not linked to each other.
Therefore, the claimed therapeutic combination can comprise a combination of anything in addition to the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and the claims are not limited to separate compositions of anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. As stated in MPEP 2111.03 (see above), the transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.
In the instant case, the claimed therapeutic combination comprising the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and immunotherapeutic in a form of pharmaceutical composition is open-ended and the therapeutic combination can comprise other elements and mixtures in addition to the anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody and immunotherapeutic pharmaceutical composition.
Maintained Rejections
(with amendments addressed)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 41, 44-46, 48-55 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0339090, Hacohen et al, claiming priority to December 2013; in view of WO 2013/043647, Kim et al, published March 28, 2013; Rizvi et al (Journal of Clinical Oncology, May 20, 2014, Meeting Abstract for 2014 ASCO Annual Meeting; Vol. 32, Number 15, suppl; abstract 8007); Champiat et al (J Thorac. Oncology, February 2014, 9:144-153); Dhodapkar et al (Science Trnaslational Medicine, April 16, 2014; 6:232ra51; pages 1-9); Rosell et al (Annals of Oncology, 2002, 13:1539-1549); and Diaz et al (Cancer Immunol. Immunother., 2013, 62:455-469).
Hacohen teaches a therapeutic combination for treating cancer in a subject, the therapeutic combination comprising:
(i) an effective amount of Toll-like receptor agonist adjuvant/immunomodulator resiquimod (R848) ([15]; [194]; [301]; claim 6; [91]; [181]; [199-201]; [241]; [248]);
(ii) an effective amount of checkpoint inhibitor anti-PD-1 antibody, such as pembrolizumab (also known as MK-3475 or lambrolizumab) ([166-171]; Table on page 16; [77] [159]; [246]; claims 1, 9, 18, 33, 36, and 37);
(iii) cancer vaccine that is an anticancer agent; and
(iv) at least one known chemotherapeutic such as topo I and II inhibitors, alkylating agents, antimitotic agents, vinblastine, doxorubicin, 5-FU (antimetabolite), etoposide, paclitaxel, carboplatin, gemcitabine (antimetabolite), and methotrexate (antimetabolite) ([228]; [366]; [368]; claim 40);
wherein the cancer is lung cancer or NSCLC ([175]; [243]; claim 14);
wherein the cancer is melanoma ([26]; [79]; [175-176]; [243]);
wherein the resiquimod are not covalently linked to each other and are in separate compositions; wherein each therapeutics can be provided individually or in combinations ([182]; [419]); wherein the therapeutic agents listed above are comprised in pharmaceutical compositions having a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([194]; [200]); wherein formulating pharmaceutical compositions are well known and conventional in the art ([213]; [255]).
Hacohen suggests combining tumor antigen vaccines with one or more therapeutic agents including checkpoint blockade inhibitors ([11-12]; claim 1), and further including an immunomodulator or adjuvant such as R848 ([15]; claim 6). To support this suggestion, Hacohen reviews published prior art and teaches it is known anti-PD1 antibodies lambrolizumab (also known as MK-3475 or pembrolizumab) or nivolumab are being used to treat clinically treat human patients having melanoma and NSCLC ([160]; [170]; [244]; [448]; [564]), teach it is known melanoma is being treated clinically with intravenous lambrolizumab (MK-3475 or pembrolizumab) ([160]; [246]) and NSCLC is clinically being treated with anti-PD-1 antibody nivolumab ([160]). Hacohen teaches metastatic melanoma is a tumor type shown to be responsive to immune modulating therapies including inhibition of checkpoint blockade ([564]). Hacohen teaches clinically treating melanoma patients with anti-PD-1 antibody nivolumab and a NeoVax personalized tumor antigen vaccine (Examples 10 and 11; Figures 9, 10A, 10B).
Hacohen recognizes that Toll-like receptor agonists are powerful adjuvants that activate the immune system against antigens ([302-305]; [429]). Hacohen suggests adding adjuvants to antigen vaccines to increase the immune response to antigen by increasing humoral immunity and T-cell activity, and names R848 as an exemplary adjuvant ([300-301]).
Hacohen teaches the immunomodulator is present in a clinically effective amount to stimulate an immune response for treating cancer ([91]; [181]; [199-201]; [241]; [248]).
Hacohen suggests, but does not exemplify, bringing together the specific combination of therapeutic agents for treating NSCLC: (1) a pharmaceutical composition consisting of R848 with pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; (2) pembrolizumab (MK-3475), (3) a first additional therapeutic that is a chemotherapeutic agent or carboplatin or cisplatin (alkylating agent), and (4) a second additional therapeutic that is a chemotherapeutic agent or paclitaxel (microtubule inhibitor).
Kim teaches a method for treating cancer in a subject, the method comprising administering:
(i) a PD-1 checkpoint inhibitor antibody; and
(ii) TLR7/8 agonist 4-amino-2-(ethoxymethyl)-a,a-di-methyl-1 H-imidazo[4,5-c]quinoline-1-ethanol (also known as resiquimod or R848 in a formula of IDC-1005 combined with GVAX, “TEGVAX”); wherein the combination of (i) with (ii) is synergistic compared to either agent alone; wherein the resiquimod and checkpoint inhibitor antibody are not covalently linked to each other; the composition further comprising another anticancer agent that is a second TLR agonist GLA (Figure 7 Examples 7 and 8; p. 6 [22]; p. 7-8 [26]; p. 8 [28]; p. 9-10 [30]; claims 1-22); wherein the subject is human (p. 11 [33]); wherein the cancer is lung cancer or melanoma (p. 6 [23]). Kim teaches that all of the components of their composition, including resiquimod, have been tested individually in patients and found clinically safe (p. 6 [22]), and demonstrate successfully administering resiquimod subcutaneously in vivo to mice to treat cancer.
Rizvi demonstrates successful clinical treatment of NSCLC patients with anti-PD-1 antibody MK-3475 (pembrolizumab), concluding MK-3475 alone provides robust antitumor activity (see entire abstract).
Champiat teaches chemotherapy of NSCLC results in rapid tumor lysis and the addition of checkpoint inhibitor antibodies to chemotherapy helps to induce a sustained immune-mediated tumor control (abstract; p. 144, col. 2; Figure 1). Champiat teaches platinum-based doublet chemotherapy remains the standard first-line treatment for advanced and metastatic NSCLC (p. 144, col. 2). Champiat teaches the known mechanism of tumor immune modulation by anti-PD1 antibodies including MK-3475 (Figure 2; p. 145, col. 2 to p. 146). Champiat teaches MK-3475 is being administered clinically to treat NSCLC patients already (Table 1 and 2).
Dhodapkar teaches successful treatment of lung cancer patients (Table 1), including NSCLC (Table 2), by separately administering a tumor antigen vaccine and resiquimod, either subcutaneously or topically (Figure 1 and 2), wherein it is known resiquimod functions as adjuvant that provides immune activation by driving T and B cell responses (p. 4, col. 1). Administration of vaccine and resiquimod resulted in induction of T cell responses (Figures 3 and 4; p. 6, col. 1). Dhodapkar teaches that although measurable T cell responses were produced, tumor regression was not observed in most patients. This suggests the need to combine this approach with strategies that overcome the immunosuppressive effects in the tumor bed, including combination with antibodies that block T cell inhibitory checkpoints such as anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 (p. 6, col. 1).
Rosell demonstrates NSCLC patients are successfully treated with either a combination of paclitaxel/carboplatin or paclitaxel/cisplatin (abstract; Discussion).
Diaz teach it is known that combinations of chemotherapies and immunotherapies for cancer treatment are successful (abstract). Dias teaches taxanes and platins are the most widely used chemotherapeutic agents for the treatment of advanced cancer patients (Introduction). Diaz demonstrate that combined administration of vaccine with carboplatin or paclitaxel enhanced anti-tumor effects of a model tumor antigen vaccine in a cancer treatment model compared to administration of single agents (abstract; p. 456, col. 1 at bottom; p. 459, col. 2 to p. 461; Figure 4). Diaz teaches: “Summarizing, our results support the feasibility of combining high-dose carboplatin or paclitaxel treatment with cancer vaccines in a concomitant schedule. Such combination schedule might be clinically advantageous in advanced cancer patients, particularly in lung and colon cancer, where taxanes, platines and their combinations are the standard treatment” (p. 467, col. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to bring together a combination of known therapeutic agents for the treatment of NSCLC comprising: (i) a pharmaceutical composition of anti-PD-1 antibody pembrolizumab; (ii) adjuvant pharmaceutical composition consisting of R848 (iii) chemotherapeutic carboplatin; and (iv) chemotherapeutic paclitaxel. One would be motivated to because: (1) Hacohen and Kim suggest treating various cancers including NSCLC by administering combination therapies comprising anti-PD-1 antibody checkpoint inhibition, adjuvant R848, as well as known chemotherapeutics including paclitaxel and carboplatin, particularly to enhance the immune response to cancer antigen vaccines; (2) Hacohen teaches NSCLC is already being clinically treated with anti-PD-1 antibody pembrolizumab (MK-3475, lambrolizumab); (3) Rizvi and Champiat teach NSCLC patients are already being successfully treated with anti-PD-1 antibody pembrolizumab (MK-3475), teaching the antibody provides robust antitumor activity; (4) Dhodapkar teaches resiquimod is a known adjuvant that induces T and B cell immune responses, demonstrates resiquimod composition successfully induces anti-tumor immune T cell responses to a vaccine in NSCLC patients, and suggests treatment response could be improved by the addition of anti-PD-1 immune checkpoint blockade; (5) Champiat, Rosell, and Diaz teach standard therapy of NSCLC patients is carboplatin and paclitaxel, and Diaz demonstrates that either carboplatin or paclitaxel enhance antitumor effects of cancer vaccines, suggesting their combination; and (6) Champiat suggests treating NSCLC by combining the tumor lytic activity of chemotherapy with the sustained immune-mediated tumor control of checkpoint inhibitor antibodies such as anti-PD1 antibodies.
Given the cited prior art teaches each of the agents: (i) anti-PD-1 antibody or pembrolizumab, (ii) R848, (iii) carboplatin, and (iv) paclitaxel are known to successfully treat NSCLC; and given the cited art demonstrates or suggests various combinations of these agents with each other and/or with cancer vaccines enhance anti-tumor immunity and treatment; one of skill in the art could have pursued providing a combination of all of these agents to treat the same NSCLC patients, and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Each of these agents has been demonstrated by the prior art to be effective in the treatment of NSCLC patients, as well as taught or suggested as enhancing immune response or anti-tumor effects of cancer vaccines, thus the instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose. In re Susi, 58 CCPA 1074, 1079-80, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crockett, 47 CCPA 1018, 1020-21, 279 F.2d 274, 276-77, 126 USPQ 186, 188 (1960). As this court explained in Crockett, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In the instant case, it is prima facie obvious to combine the therapeutic agents, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a combination which is to be used for the very same purpose of treating NSCLC.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicants argue that the cited references do not teach all the elements of the claims. Applicants argue the claims require “an effective amount of an immunotherapeutic” which “is selected from the group consisting of resiquimod and imiquimod”, in the absence of a vaccine.
Applicants argue that Hacohen teaches the resiquimod is in combination with a vaccine to effectively treat cancer and does not teach an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Applicants argue that Hacohen teaches combining resiquimod with at neoantigenic peptide vaccine and administering them together. Applicants argue that Hacohen teaches resiquimod is an adjuvant to enhance the immune response to the neoantigenic peptide. Applicants argue that Hacohen does not teach a composition comprising resiquimod in the absence of another active ingredient as required by the “consisting of” language in instant claim 41.
Applicants argue that the secondary references do not remedy the deficiency of Hacohen with regards to teaching a require an effective amount of an immunotherapeutic which is selected from the group consisting of resiquimod and imiquimod, in the absence of a vaccine.
Applicants argue there is no reason to combine the elements of the cited references. Applicants argue that combining the cited references at most yields something that includes and functions as a vaccine, where resiquimod functions as an adjuvant, which is contrary to the present claims. The claims recite a therapeutic combination comprising an effective amount of an immunotherapeutic, and the immunotherapeutic is in a form of a pharmaceutical composition consisting of the immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Consequently, the claimed combination does not encompass a vaccine component that would benefit from a vaccine adjuvant. Applicants argue the cited references do not teach resiquimod (R848) functions alone as a therapeutic.
12. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicants continue to argue limitations not recited in the claims. As stated above, the claims are not limited to a composition that literally consists of only resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. The claimed therapeutic combination does not exclude antigen vaccine and other elements. The claimed therapeutic combination does not exclude resiquimod from functioning as an adjuvant. Further, the cited prior art teaches the resiquimod pharmaceutical compositions and anti-PD-1/anti-PD-L1 antibodies are effective for stimulating an anti-tumor immune response and treating cancer, therefore teach effective amounts. Contrary to arguments, there is no claim limitation requiring a method of administering resiquimod alone and treating cancer, therefore the cited references do not need to teach this argued limitation.
13. Applicants argue there is no reasonable expectation of success to use R848 without a vaccine component. Applicants continue to argue there is no reasonable expectation of success to use a TLR7/8 agonist or resiquimod by itself and cite references on p. 19-21 arguing the state of the art is such that there is no reasonable expectation of success to use R848 alone or to render obvious an effective amount of R848 due to reports of R848’s toxicity and lack of efficacy.
14. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the same reasoning applied above. Applicants are arguing limitations not recited in the claims. Contrary to arguments, there is no claim limitation requiring a method of administering resoquimod alone and treating cancer, therefore the cited references do not need to teach this argued limitation. As stated above, the claims are not limited to a composition that literally consists of resiquimod and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. The claimed therapeutic combination does not exclude antigen vaccine and other elements. Further, the cited prior art teaches the resiquimod pharmaceutical compositions and anti-PD-1/anti-PD-L1 antibodies are effective for stimulating an anti-tumor immune response and treating cancer, therefore provide a reasonable expectation of success to make a therapeutic combination comprising an effective amount of immunotherapeutic and effective amount of anti-PD-1/PD-L1 antibody as claimed.
15. Applicants argue that objective evidence shows a nexus between the claimed therapeutic combination and unexpected results. Applicants argue that Example 4 demonstrates unexpected efficacy and synergy for reducing tumor volume compared to monotherapy. Applicants argue the specification also demonstrates unexpected safety results where mice did not experience adverse effects of reduced weight or survival.
Applicants also argue there is post-file data (Patel et al references) demonstrating unexpected clinical results. Applicants argue that administration of BDB001 (resiquimod) and pembrolizumab achieved up to 100% regression of tumors in patients.
16. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicants are arguing unexpected results and data that are not commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed invention. MPEP 716.02(d) states:
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range.
In the instant case, Applicants are arguing the results from Example 4 of the specification which comprises:
Applicants are arguing unexpected or significant results for a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a mouse tumor model a combination of R848 alone at 0.08 mg/kg weekly, and rat anti-PD-L1 antibody alone at 10 mg/kg IV twice weekly. This method is not recited in the claims. Applicants have not demonstrated that their argued unexpected results occur simply by making a therapeutic combination as claimed. There is no evidence provided in the specification that demonstrates simply bringing together the two known therapeutic agents in the same room, in the same box, or in the same vial to make the claimed therapeutic combination results in the unexpected properties argued by Applicants. Therefore, Applicant are arguing unexpected results that are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
It is noted that Examiner cannot read any information on the Patel posters submitted by Applicants because the writing and figures are so small that none of the information is discernable, therefore Examiner cannot assess any information argued on the poster data. Regardless, Applicants are arguing unexpected results for a method of treating cancer patients with BDB001 (resiquimod sulfate) and atezolizumab, which is not recited in the claims. There is no evidence provided in the Patel clinical results that demonstrates simply bringing together the two known therapeutic agents in the same room, in the same box, or in the same vial to make the claimed therapeutic combination results in the unexpected properties argued by Applicants. Therefore, Applicant are arguing unexpected results that are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
17. Claim(s) 47 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0339090, Hacohen et al, claiming priority to December 2013; WO 2013/043647, Kim et al, published March 28, 2013; Rizvi et al (Journal of Clinical Oncology, May 20, 2014, Meeting Abstract for 2014 ASCO Annual Meeting; Vol. 32, Number 15, suppl; abstract 8007); Champiat et al (J Thorac. Oncology, February 2014, 9:144-153); Dhodapkar et al (Science Trnaslational Medicine, April 16, 2014; 6:232ra51; pages 1-9); Rosell et al (Annals of Oncology, 2002, 13:1539-1549); and Diaz et al (Cancer Immunol. Immunother., 2013, 62:455-469); as applied to claims 41, 44-46, 48-55 above, and further in view of Vasilakos et al (Cellular Immunology, 2000, 204:64-74); as evidenced by ChemSpider.com, Royal Society of Chemistry, “Resiquimod”, printed Sept 2026.
Hacohen, Kim, Rizvi 2014, Champiat, Dhodapkar, Rosell, and Diaz (the combined references) teach a combination of therapeutic agents for treating NSCLC, as set forth above.
Claim 47 was amended to add the chemical name of resiquimod. As evidenced by ChemSpider.com, a synonym for resiquimod is 4-amino-2-(ethoxymethyl)-a,a-di-methyl-1 H-imidazo[4,5-c]quinoline-1-ethanol.
The combined references do not teach that resiquimod is present as a pharmaceutically acceptable salt.
Vasilakos teaches and demonstrates R848 is a known adjuvant/ immunomodulator that stimulates immune responses to antigen. Vasilakos teaches R848 is provided as an HCl salt and dissolved in pharmaceutically acceptable carrier PBS for administration (p. 65, col. 1, Materials and Methods, “Reagents”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide resiquimod as a pharmaceutically acceptable HCl salt in the therapeutic combination of the combined references. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to, because: (1) the combined references teach the therapeutic combination comprises adjuvant/ immunomodulator resiquimod; and (2) Vasilakos teaches and successfully demonstrates using and providing resiquimod as an adjuvant and as a pharmaceutically acceptable HCl salt for administration.
Response to Arguments
18. Applicants argue that, like the other secondary references, Vasilakos teaches using resiquimod as an adjuvant in conjunction with a vaccine to stimulate immune responses to antigen and fails to teach using resiquimod alone. Applicants argue that Vasilakos does not remedy the deficiencies argued above for the cited references.
19. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons stated above. Applicants are arguing limitations not recited in the claims. The claims do not exclude adjuvant function of resiquimod. The cited references do not have the deficiencies argued by Applicants therefore Vasilakos does not need to remedy the argued deficiencies.
20. Claim(s) 41-43, 48-51, 53-55 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0339090, Hacohen et al, claiming priority to December 2013; in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0374815, Kishimoto et al, claiming priority to June 25, 2014; Brahmer et al (NEJM, 2012, 366:2455-65); Dhodapkar et al (Science Trnaslational Medicine, April 16, 2014; 6:232ra51; pages 1-9); Rosell et al (Annals of Oncology, 2002, 13:1539-1549); and Diaz et al (Cancer Immunol. Immunother., 2013, 62:455-469).
Hacohen teaches a cancer vaccine composition and combination of therapeutics for treating cancer in a subject, the therapeutics comprising:
(i) an effective amount of a Toll-like receptor agonist adjuvant/immunomodulator resiquimod (R848) ([15]; [194]; [301]; claim 6; [91]; [181]; [199-201]; [241]; [248]);
(ii) an effective amount of checkpoint inhibitor anti-PD-L1 antibody, such as MPDL3280A, MEDI-4736, and BMS-936559 (MDX-1105) ([166-173]; [246-248]; claim 1);
(iii) cancer vaccine that is an anticancer agent; and
(iv) at least one known chemotherapeutic such as topo I and II inhibitors, alkylating agents, antimitotic agents, vinblastine, doxorubicin, 5-FU (antimetabolite), etoposide, paclitaxel, carboplatin, gemcitabine (antimetabolite), and methotrexate (antimetabolite) ([228]; [366]; [368]; claim 40);
wherein the cancer is lung cancer or NSCLC ([175]; [243]; claim 14);
wherein the resiquimod are not covalently linked to each other and are in separate compositions; wherein each therapeutics can be provided individually or in combinations ([182]; [419]); wherein the therapeutic agents listed above are comprised in pharmaceutical compositions having a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([194]; [200]); wherein formulating pharmaceutical compositions are well known and conventional in the art ([213]; [255]).
Hacohen suggests combining tumor antigen vaccines with one or more therapeutic agents including checkpoint blockade inhibitors ([11-12]; claim 1), and further including an immunomodulator or adjuvant such as R848 ([15]; claim 6). To support this suggestion, Hacohen reviews published prior art and teaches it is known anti-PD-L1 antibodies, including MPDL3280A (also known as atezolizumab), are being used to clinically treat human patients having NSCLC ([171-172]; [247]; [448]).
Hacohen recognizes that Toll-like receptor agonists are powerful adjuvants that activate the immune system against antigens ([302-305]; [429]). Hacohen suggests adding adjuvants to antigen vaccines to increase the immune response to antigen by increasing humoral immunity and T-cell activity, and names R848 as an exemplary adjuvant ([300-301]).
Hacohen teaches the immunomodulator is present in a clinically effective amount to stimulate an immune response for treating cancer ([91]; [181]; [199-201]; [241]; [248]).
Hacohen suggests, but does not exemplify, bringing together the specific combination of therapeutic agents for treating NSCLC: (1) a pharmaceutical composition consisting of R848 with pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; (2) anti-PD-L1 antibody such as MPDL3280A (atezolizumab), (3) a first additional therapeutic that is a chemotherapeutic agent or carboplatin or cisplatin (alkylating agent), and (4) a second additional therapeutic that is a chemotherapeutic agent or paclitaxel (microtubule inhibitor).
Kishimoto teaches a combination therapy for cancer comprising anti-PD-L1 antibody, R848, and tumor peptide vaccine, as set forth above. Kishimoto exemplifies that combined treatment with a tumor peptide vaccine, R848, anti-PD-L1 antibody was synergistic in enhancing therapeutic effects in anti-tumor treatment compared to single agents (Example 9; Figure 2; [176-178]).
Brahmer demonstrates NSCLC is successfully clinically treated with anti-PD-L1 antibody BMS-936559 (MDX-1105) and teaches the antibody enhances immune function (abstract). Brahmer teaches (p. 2463, col. 1): A major implication of the clinical activity of immune checkpoint blockade is that significant endogenous immune responses to tumor antigens are generated, and these responses may be harnessed therapeutically to mediate clinical tumor regression on checkpoint inhibition. An emerging concept in cancer immunology is that inhibitory ligands such as PD-L1 are induced in response to immune attack, a mechanism termed adaptive resistance. This potential mechanism of immune resistance by tumors suggests that therapy directed at blocking interaction between PD-1 and PD-L1 might synergize with other treatments that enhance endogenous antitumor immunity.
Dhodapkar teaches successful treatment of lung cancer patients (Table 1), including NSCLC (Table 2), by separately administering a tumor antigen vaccine and resiquimod, either subcutaneously or topically (Figure 1 and 2), wherein it is known resiquimod functions as adjuvant that provides immune activation by driving T and B cell responses (p. 4, col. 1). Administration of vaccine and resiquimod resulted in induction of T cell responses (Figures 3 and 4; p. 6, col. 1). Dhodapkar teaches that although measurable T cell responses were produced, tumor regression was not observed in most patients. This suggests the need to combine this approach with strategies that overcome the immunosuppressive effects in the tumor bed, including combination with antibodies that block T cell inhibitory checkpoints such as anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 (p. 6, col. 1).
Rosell demonstrates NSCLC patients are successfully treated with either a combination of paclitaxel/carboplatin or paclitaxel/cisplatin (abstract; Discussion).
Diaz teach it is known that combinations of chemotherapies and immunotherapies for cancer treatment are successful (abstract). Diaz teaches taxanes and platins are the most widely used chemotherapeutic agents for the treatment of advanced cancer patients (Introduction). Diaz demonstrate that combined administration of vaccine with carboplatin or paclitaxel enhanced anti-tumor effects of a model tumor antigen vaccine in a cancer treatment model compared to administration of single agents (abstract; p. 456, col. 1 at bottom; p. 459, col. 2 to p. 461; Figure 4). Diaz teaches: “Summarizing, our results support the feasibility of combining high-dose carboplatin or paclitaxel treatment with cancer vaccines in a concomitant schedule. Such combination schedule might be clinically advantageous in advanced cancer patients, particularly in lung and colon cancer, where taxanes, platins and their combinations are the standard treatment” (p. 467, col. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to bring together a combination of known therapeutic agents for the treatment of NSCLC comprising: (i) a pharmaceutical composition of anti-PD-L1 antibody including MPDL3280A (atezolizumab); (ii) adjuvant pharmaceutical composition consisting of R848 and excipient; (iii) chemotherapeutic carboplatin; and (iv) chemotherapeutic paclitaxel. One would be motivated to because: (1) Hacohen suggests treating various cancers including NSCLC by administering combination therapies comprising anti-PD-L1 antibody checkpoint inhibition, adjuvant R848, as well as known chemotherapeutics including paclitaxel and carboplatin, particularly to enhance the immune response to cancer antigen vaccines; (2) Hacohen teaches NSCLC is already being clinically treated with anti-PD-L1 antibody MPDL3280A; (3) Kishimoto demonstrates that combination therapy with anti-PD-L1, R848, and cancer vaccine results in synergistic antitumor effects over single agents; (4) Brahmer teaches anti-PD-L1 antibody already successfully clinically treats NSCLC and suggests it can synergize with combination therapy to enhance endogenous immune responses to tumor antigen; (5) Dhodapkar teaches resiquimod is a known adjuvant that induces T and B cell immune responses, demonstrates resiquimod composition successfully induces anti-tumor immune T cell responses to a vaccine in NSCLC patients, and suggests treatment response could be improved by the addition of PD-1 immune checkpoint blockade; and (6) Rosell teaches standard therapy of NSCLC patients is carboplatin and paclitaxel, and Diaz demonstrates that either carboplatin or paclitaxel enhance antitumor effects of cancer vaccines, suggesting their combination.
Given the cited prior art teaches each of the agents: (i) anti-PD-L1 antibody, (ii) R848, (iii) carboplatin, and (iv) paclitaxel are known to successfully treat NSCLC; and given the cited art demonstrates or suggests various combinations of these agents with each other and/or with cancer vaccines enhance anti-tumor immunity and treatment; one of skill in the art could have pursued providing a combination of all of these agents to treat the same NSCLC patients, and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Each of these agents has been demonstrated by the prior art to be effective in the treatment of NSCLC, as well as taught or suggested as enhancing immune response or anti-tumor effects of cancer vaccines, thus the instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose. In re Susi, 58 CCPA 1074, 1079-80, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crockett, 47 CCPA 1018, 1020-21, 279 F.2d 274, 276-77, 126 USPQ 186, 188 (1960). As this court explained in Crockett, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In the instant case, it is prima facie obvious to combine the therapeutic agents, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a combination which is to be used for the very same purpose of treating NSCLC.
Response to Arguments
21. Applicants reiterate the arguments above as applied to Hacohen and the secondary references.
22. The arguments were considered above and are not persuasive for the same reasons stated above. Applicants continue to argue limitations that are not recited in the claims. Applicants are arguing unexpected results for limitations not recited in the claims and for an invention that is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Further, the cited prior art provides a reasonable expectation of success to achieve a therapeutic combination having synergistic function when administered to treat cancer. Kishimoto exemplifies that combined treatment with a tumor peptide vaccine, R848, anti-PD-L1 antibody was synergistic in enhancing therapeutic effects in anti-tumor treatment compared to single agents.
Double Patenting
23. Claims 41-51 and 53-55 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,279,761, and claim 47 is rejected further in view of Vasilakos et al (Cellular Immunology, 2000, 204:64-74). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method claimed by the US Patent utilizes and renders obvious the therapeutic combination instantly claimed. The US Patent claims:
1. A method of treating a cancer or a tumor comprising, a step of administering to a human patient in need thereof, a combination consisting of:
(i) a pharmaceutical composition consisting of an effective amount of 1) a PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist antibody or functional fragment thereof, wherein said PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist antibody is selected from the group consisting of a PD-1 binding antagonist and a PD-L1 binding antagonist and 2) one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients, or diluents;
(ii) a pharmaceutical composition consisting of 1) an effective amount of a immunotherapeutic, wherein the immunotherapeutic is 4-amino-2-(ethoxymethyl)-a,a-di-methyl-1H-imidazo[4,5-c]quinoline-1-ethanol and 2) one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients, or diluents; and optionally,
(iii) an effective amount of an additional therapeutic agent, wherein the additional therapeutic agent is an anticancer agent selected from the group consisting of a chemotherapeutic agent, an antimetabolite, an inhibitor of topoisomerase I and II, an alkylating agent, a microtubule inhibitor, an antiandrogen agent, a GNRh modulator or mixtures thereof;
wherein the immunotherapeutic is administered intravenously at a weekly dose of from about 0.007 mg/kg to about 0.02 mg/kg;
wherein the PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist antibody and the immunotherapeutic are not covalently linked to each other; and
wherein the efficacy of the combination is enhanced as compared to that of the PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist or immunotherapeutic alone.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist is a PD-1 binding antagonist.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the PD-1 binding antagonist is a full-length antibody.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the PD-1 binding antagonist is MDX-1106, Merck 3475, CT-011, AMP-224, or AMP-514.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist is a PD-L1 binding antagonist.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the PD-L1 binding antagonist is a full-length antibody.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the PD-L1 binding antagonist is selected from the group consisting of: YW243.55.S70, MPDL3280A, MDX-1105, MEDI-4736, and MSB0010718C.
8. The method of claim 1, comprising administering the anticancer agent.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein said anticancer agent is a chemotherapeutic agent selected from the group consisting of tamoxifen, raloxifene, anastrozole, exemestane, letrozole, imatanib, paclitaxel, cyclophosphamide, lovastatin, minosine, gemcitabine, cytarabine, 5- fluorouracil, methotrexate, docetaxel, goserelin, vincristine, vinblastine, nocodazole, teniposide etoposide, gemcitabine, epothilone, vinorelbine, camptothecin, daunorubicin, actinomycin D, mitoxantrone, acridine, doxorubicin, epirubicin, or idarubicin.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein said cancer is selected from the group consisting of: breast cancer, colorectal cancer, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, endometrial cancer, follicular lymphoma, gastric cancer, glioblastoma, head and neck cancer, hepatocellular cancer, lung cancer, melanoma, multiple myeloma, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, and renal cell carcinoma.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein said immunotherapeutic in said subject has a local concentration that is from about 0.005 μg/ml to about 12 μg/ml.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein said immunotherapeutic in said subject has a local concentration that is from about 0.05 μg/ml, 0.1 μg/ml, 0.15 μg/ml, 0.2 μg/ml, 0.3 μg/ml, or 0.4 μg/ml, to about 0.5 μg/ml.
Therefore, the US Patent claims render obvious the immunotherapeutic, PD-L/PD-1 Axis antagonist, chemotherapeutic, and anticancer agents for use in combination cancer treatment as instantly claimed.
With regards to claim 47, the US Patent does not claim the 4-amino-2-(ethoxymethyl)-a,a-di-methyl-1H-imidazo[4,5-c]quinoline-1-ethanol (resiquimod, R848) is provided in the form of a pharmaceutically acceptable salt.
Vasilakos teaches and demonstrates R848 is a known adjuvant/ immunomodulator that stimulates immune responses to antigen. Vasilakos teaches R848 is provided as an HCl salt and dissolved in pharmaceutically acceptable carrier PBS for administration (p. 65, col. 1, Materials and Methods, “Reagents”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide R848 as a pharmaceutically acceptable HCl salt in the therapeutic combination of the US Patent. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to, because: (1) the US Patent claims R848 is used for administration to treat cancer; and (2) Vasilakos teaches and successfully demonstrates using and providing R848 as an adjuvant and as a pharmaceutically acceptable HCl salt for administration.
Response to Arguments
24. Applicants argue that the instant invention, a therapeutic combination (product), was originally restricted from methods of administering the therapeutic combination in application 15/401843, and the resulting DIV, 16/029,352 was limited to the restricted invention of methods of administering the therapeutic combination as issued to US Patent 11,279,761. Applicants argue the instant application is now changed to a divisional application and is limited to the therapeutic combination product that was restricted from the invention issued to patent in US Patent 11,279,761. Applicants argue that because the application is a divisional and is limited to the restricted invention, the instant claims receive safe harbor under 35 USC 121.
25. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. The instant application was filed on 7/02/2025. Application 16/029,352 was issued to US Patent 11,279,761 on 03/22/2022. Therefore, the instant application was not filed during the pendency of Application 16/029,352 and before it issued to US Patent. This disqualifies the instant application from safe harbor under 35 USC 121 and the double patenting rejection is maintained. 35 U.S.C. 121 states (bold emphasis added):
“A patent issuing on an application with respect to which a requirement for restriction under this section has been made, or on an application filed as a result of such a requirement, shall not be used as a reference either in the Patent and Trademark Office or in the courts against a divisional application or against the original application or any patent issued on either of them, if the divisional application is filed before the issuance of the patent on the other application.”
26. All other objections and rejections recited in the Office Action mailed April 24, 2026 are hereby withdrawn in view of amendments. The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2014012479, Li, is withdrawn in view of the exception stated under 102(b)(1)(A), the disclosure of the reference was obtained from the same inventor Li.
27. Conclusion: No claim is allowed.
Conclusion
28. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Laura B Goddard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642