FINAL REJECTION
This is in response to Applicant amendments filed on 08/27/2026 amending Claims 1, and 3-4; and adding Claims 5-10. Claims 1, 5-10 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki (US 2023/0064432).
Regarding Claim 3: Ozaki discloses a method for gas tungsten arc welding ([0029]), comprising: welding a groove (G; Fig. 1) using gas tungsten arc welding ([0029])with a tungsten electrode ([0029] a TIG uses an tungsten electrode) and an externally-fed filler wire (see [0031] wherein a wire external to the arc is used as a filler); and executing a vision-based convolutional neural network ([0008] Figs. 1 and 3) to track the wire (“tip end of wire”; Fig. 3) and to control its position in real time during said welding ([0041, 43] wherein the position of the torch and thus the wire is controlled as the welding process occurred).
Regarding Claim 9: Ozaki discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and further discloses capturing live images or video of an active weld region (see Fig. 3 that is a live image of the weld region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2025/0229367).
Regarding Claim 1: Liu discloses a method (see fig. 10-1) for gas tungsten arc welding ([0116]), comprising: measuring a profile of a portion profile (“seam profile ” in first step of Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to be welded to generate data representing the portion profile (scan data from scanning; see Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]); passing the data representing the portion profile and a predetermined set of welding variables (“welding process parameters”, second step of Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to a neural network (“second neural network” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to generate a prediction of a change to the portion profile (“predicted welding seam profile” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157] ) based upon the predetermine set of welding variables (see Fig. 10-1 and [0147-157] wherein the welding process parameters are received in fifth step to determine the predicted welding seam profile); generating a set of optimized welding variables (“predicted welding process parameters”, last step of Fig. 10-1, and [0147-157]) based upon the prediction of the change to the portion profile for performing a weld (abstract) of the portion (see Fig. 10-1 and [0147-157] wherein the last step is based on the predicted welding seam profile ); and autonomously welding the groove using gas tungsten arc welding using the set of optimized welding variables (see [0156]).
The above embodiment (embodiment of Fig. 10-1) does not disclose the portion being a groove.
However, in another embodiment Liu also discloses executed welding on a groove (“groove”; [0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 with the one of [0004], i.e. applied the welding method of Fig. 10-1 to the groove, i.e. on the three-filing welding layer, to have the portion being a groove. Such a modification would enable to have an automatic planification, and thus an increased welding quality for the different welding layers that fill up the groove.
Regarding Claim 2: Liu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further teaches repeating said measuring to provide updated data representing the groove profile after said autonomous welding; repeating said passing using the updated data representing the groove profile and the optimized welding variables to generate an updated prediction of the groove profile; repeating said generating using the updated prediction of the groove profile to generate an updated set of optimized welding variables; and repeating said autonomously welding using said updated set of optimized welding variables (see [0004] wherein the filing welding inside the groove is repeated 3 times, as stated above the method of Fig. 10-1 is applied to each filling layer and is repeating for each layer).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2025/0229367) in view of Ozaki (US 2023/0064432).
Regarding Claim 4: Liu discloses a method (see fig. 10-1) for gas tungsten arc welding ([0116]), comprising: measuring a profile of a portion (“seam profile ” in first step of Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to be welded to generate data representing the groove profile (scan data from scanning; see Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]); passing the data representing the groove profile and a predetermined set of welding variables (“welding process parameters”, second step of Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to a neural network (“second neural network” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to generate a prediction of a change to the groove profile (“predicted welding seam profile” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157] ) based upon the predetermine set of welding variables (see Fig. 10-1 and [0147-157] wherein the welding process parameters are received in fifth step to determine the predicted welding seam profile); generating a set of optimized welding variables (“predicted welding process parameters”, last step of Fig. 10-1, and [0147-157]) based upon the prediction of the change to the portion profile for performing a weld (abstract) of the portion (see Fig. 10-1 and [0147-157] wherein the last step is based on the predicted welding seam profile ); and autonomously welding the groove using gas tungsten arc welding using the set of optimized welding variables (see [0156]).
The above embodiment (embodiment of Fig. 10-1) does not disclose the portion being a groove.
However, in another embodiment Liu also discloses executed welding on a groove (“groove”; [0004]) and repeating the operation on welding in the groove (“filling welding” [0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 with the one of [0004], i.e. applied the welding method of Fig. 10-1 to the groove, i.e. on the three-filing welding layer, to have the portion being a groove. Such a modification would enable to have an automatic planification, and thus an increased welding quality for the different welding layers that fill up the groove.
Liu is silent regarding welding with an externally-fed filler wire and executing a vision-based convolutional neural network to track the wire and control its position in real time during said welding.
Ozaki discloses a method for gas tungsten arc welding ([0029]), comprising: welding a groove (G; Fig. 1) using gas tungsten arc welding ([0029]) and an externally-fed filler wire (see [0031] wherein a wire external to the arc is used as a filler); and executing a vision-based convolutional neural network ([0008] Figs. 1 and 3) to track the wire (“tip end of wire”; Fig. 3) and to control its position in real time during said welding ([0041, 43] wherein the position of the torch and thus the wire is controlled as the welding process occurred).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Liu, to have welding with an externally-fed filler wire and executing a vision-based convolutional neural network to track the wire and control its position in real time during said welding, as taught by Ozaki. Such a modification would enable to have recognition system with increase accuracy, as recognized by Ozaki ([0005]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (US 2023/0064432) in view of Ludewig (US 6,024,273)
Regarding Claim 5: Ozaki discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and further discloses performing semantic segmentation on live images or a video stream of an active weld region (region in Fig. 3) to identify and label pixels corresponding to the externally-fed filler wire (“wire”; Fig. 3), a tungsten electrode ([0029], and “arc”; Fig. 3), a molten weld pool (“molten pool”).
Ozaki is silent regarding identifying sidewalls of the groove.
However, Ludewig teaches a method of welding (see title), comprising identifying sidewalls of the groove (see Fig. 2 P1 (y1, z1)-Pn(Yn,Zn)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ozaki to have identifying sidewalls of the groove, as taught by Ludewig. Such a modification would enable to have more information about the welding.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (US 2023/0064432) in view of Ludewig (US 6,024,273) and further in view of Ozaki127 (US 2024/0351127).
Regarding Claim 6: Ozaki in view of Ludewig teaches all the limitations of Claim 5, as stated above but is silent regarding comparing a measured position of the externally-fed filler wire to a desired position of the externally-fed filler wire; and adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire in real-time based on said comparing.
However, Ozaki127 teaches a method of welding (title) comprising comparing a measured position of the externally-fed filler wire ( Fig. 8 welding information WireX wireY ) to a desired position of the externally-fed filler wire (Fig. 8 teaching data WireX wireY); and adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire in real-time based on said comparing (Fig. 8 Error feedback).
Regarding Claim 7: Ozaki discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, as stated above, and further discloses performing semantic segmentation on live images or a video stream of an active weld region (region in Fig. 3) to identify and label pixels corresponding to the externally-fed filler wire (“wire”; Fig. 3), a tungsten electrode ([0029], and “arc”; Fig. 3), a molten weld pool (“molten pool”), and determining a measured position of the externally-fed filler wire based on the labeled pixels (since a localization of the wire on the picture is detected its measured position is also detected).
Ozaki is silent regarding identifying sidewalls of the groove.
However, Ludewig teaches a method of welding (see title), comprising identifying sidewalls of the groove (see Fig. 2 P1 (y1, z1)-Pn(Yn,Zn)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ozaki to have identifying sidewalls of the groove, as taught by Ludewig. Such a modification would enable to have more information about the welding.
Ozaki in view of Ludewig is silent regarding generating an offset between the measured position of the externally-fed filler wire and the desired wire position; and adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire based on the offset.
However, Ozaki127 teaches a method of welding (title) comprising regarding generating an offset (error; Fig. 8) between the measured position of the externally-fed filler wire (Fig. 8 welding information WireX wireY) and the desired wire position (Fig. 8 teaching data WireX wireY); and adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire based on the offset (Fig. 8 feedback loop).
Regarding Claim 8: Ozaki in view of Ludewig and Ozaki127 teaches all the limitations of Claim 7, as stated above, and Ozaki127 further teaches adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire using a motor ([0082]).
Allowable subject matter
Regarding Claim 10: Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as to correct any indefiniteness issue and/or objection if present.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art fails to teach “determining a measured position of the externally-fed filler wire relative to a tungsten electrode, a molten weld pool, or the groove, and further comprising: comparing a measured position of the externally-fed filler wire to a desired position of the externally-fed filler wire; and adjusting an actual position of the externally-fed filler wire in real-time based on said comparing” (for Claim 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s representative asserts that Liu fails to disclose the use of a neural network to predict changes in the groove geometry with a separate generation of the welding parameters based upon the predicted groove geometry change. In addition, Applicant’s representative further asserts that the modification of the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 of Liu by the one of [0004] of Liu is not appropriate as the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 is not directed to groove welding and [0004] is not directed to neural networks
However, Liu discloses passing the data representing the portion profile and a predetermined set of welding variables (“welding process parameters”, second step of Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to a neural network (the “second neural network” receives directly the “welding parameters” and indirectly the portion profile, i.e. “seam profile” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157]) to generate a prediction of a change to the portion profile (“predicted welding seam profile” Fig.10-1 and [0147-157] ) based upon the predetermine set of welding variables (see arrows in Fig. 10-1 and [0147-157] wherein the welding process parameters are received in fifth step to determine the predicted welding seam profile).
In the above embodiment Liu does not disclose the portion being a groove welding. However, in another embodiment Liu disclosed executed the welding on a groove (“groove”; [0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 with the one of [0004], i.e. applied the welding method of Fig. 10-1 to the groove, i.e. on the three filing welding layer, to have the portion being a groove. Such a modification would enable to have an automatic planification, and thus an increased welding quality for the different welding layers that fill up the groove.
The fact that the embodiment of Fig. 10-1 does not mention groove welding and that the embodiment of [0004] does not mention neural network, does not render the modification inappropriate.
The method of Fig. 10-1 can be applied to a groove welding instead of a non-groove welding. Applying the method of Fig. 10. 1 to groove welding will provide attachment/welding i.e. works as expected.
Therefore, Liu discloses the use of a neural network to predict changes in the groove geometry with a separate generation of the welding parameters based upon the predicted groove geometry change
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761