DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 7/2/2025 and 4/27/2026. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert et al. (US 20240205386, hereinafter Robert) in view of JANG et al. (US 20210297677, hereinafter JANG).
Regarding Claim 1, Robert discloses a video decoding method, comprising:
decoding an intra template matching prediction mode usage flag of a current block ([0057] FIG. 5, perform a template matching operation based on the current block already decoded L-shape neighbors with an L-shaped neighbor pixels of the current block (current template) are used to find the best matching template within the defined search range. When a matching L-shape template is found, the samples of the corresponding block can be copied into the current block : reconstructed area 510 of the current frame (decoded frames); [0029], encoder decides (105) which one of the intra mode indicates the intra/inter decision by a prediction mode flag);
in a case of determining that the current block uses the intra template matching prediction mode according to the intra template matching prediction mode usage flag, decoding syntax elements of the intra template matching prediction mode of the current block ([0057] FIG. 5, intra prediction based on intra block copy using template matching according to perform a template matching operation based on the current block already decoded L-shape neighbors so that this operation can be done at the decoder side without additional signaling); and
constructing a candidate the syntax elements and the candidate ([0057] FIG. 5, candidate with the best similarity is then selected on the basis of the similarity between the templates, specifically: when one of the template candidates provides a lower Template Matching (TM) cost than the template at current location, then the method is iterated again from this new location; when none of the template candidates provides a lower TM cost and when the maximal precision has been reached, the iteration stops and the candidate template is selected as being the best matching template. When a match is determined between an L-shaped template candidate and the L-shaped template 502, the samples of the block 511 corresponding to the matching template are then directly copied into the block 501).
Robert does not explicitly disclose a reference block combination and order of multiple candidates.
JANG teaches a reference block combination and order of multiple candidates ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of reference block combination and order of multiple candidates as taught by JANG ([0148]) into the encoding & decoding system of Robert in order to provide systems for improving intra-prediction performance while minimizing additional auxiliary information transmission to enhance coding efficiency (JANG, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 1,
Robert discloses wherein constructing the candidate list for intra template matching prediction comprises:
determining a first search range for performing intra template matching prediction on a current block ([0057], Intra-block copy (IBC) first determines the block vector 520, defines a search range region 515, looking for the L-shape template 512 using a metric for measuring similarity between samples of L-shape, such as sum of average differences (SAD));
determining, according to a first search step and the first search range, differences between reference block templates corresponding to one or more block vectors (BVs) and a current block template, wherein positions indicated by the one or more BVs are within the first search range; determining the candidate list according to the differences between the reference block templates corresponding to the one or more BVs and the current block template ([0050] FIG. 4A illustrates the principles of intra prediction using intra block copy. Intra-block copy (IBC) is a tool particularly adapted to so-called screen content coding, i.e. non-natural computer generated sequences that includes large identical areas such as user interface screens. IBC is based on finding a matching reference block within a reconstructed area 400 of the current frame. At the encoding, when a match is found between the current block 410 and a reconstructed block 411, the so-called block vector 420 between the current block and the matching block, analogous to a motion vector, is selected for reconstructing the block. In one example of IBC mode, the current block 410 is reconstructed by copying the samples of the block 411).
Regarding Claim 3, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 1,
Robert discloses wherein constructing the candidate list for intra template matching prediction comprises:
determining a first search range for performing intra template matching prediction on a current block ([0057], Intra-block copy (IBC) first determines the block vector 520, defines a search range region 515, looking for the L-shape template 512 using a metric for measuring similarity between samples of L-shape, such as sum of average differences (SAD));
determining, according to a first search step and the first search range, differences between reference block templates corresponding to one or more block vectors (BVs) and a current block template, wherein positions indicated by the one or more BVs are within the first search range; determining M second search ranges according to BVs corresponding to M reference block templates with the smallest differences, and determining differences between reference block templates corresponding to M groups of BVs and the current block template, according to a second search step and the M second search ranges, wherein the second search step is smaller than the first search step ([0056], to allow a further refinement of the block vector obtained from IBC using a template matching process. In this template matching, the decoder searches in an iterative process the best match for the current block (L-shaped) template within the reconstructed area, in the neighborhood of the block vector determined using the IBC prediction. This technique allows obtaining a finer precision than what is possible with IBC while minimizing the amount of coding information. In at least one embodiment where a coarse precision is used for IBC, it allows at the same time to benefit from significant coding gain provided by IBC while providing a much finer precision with reduced signaling of the block vector).; and
determining the candidate list according to the differences between the reference block templates corresponding to the M groups of BVs and the current block template ([0057] FIG. 5, The IBC process is first performed to yield a block vector such that the decoder determines the coordinates of the reference block (inside the current frame).
Regarding Claim 4, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 2,
Robert discloses wherein the candidate list comprises N BVs corresponding to N reference block templates with smallest differences, and differences corresponding to the N BVs are in an ascending order ([0057] FIG. 5, The IBC process is first performed to yield a block vector such that the decoder determines the coordinates of the reference block (inside the current frame).
Regarding Claim 5, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 2,
Robert discloses wherein the differences between the reference block templates and the current block template are determined according to differences between reconstructed values of the reference block templates and reconstructed values of the current block template step ([0056], decoder searches in an iterative process the best match for the current block (L-shaped) template within the reconstructed area, in the neighborhood of the block vector determined using the IBC prediction).
Regarding Claim 6, Analogous rejection as the rejection of Claims 2 & 3 applies.
Regarding Claim 7, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 6,
Robert discloses wherein differences between the reference block templates and the current block template are determined according to differences between reconstructed values of the reference block templates and reconstructed values of the current block template; and differences between the reference block template combinations and the current block template are determined according to differences between reconstructed values after fusing a plurality of reference block templates combined and the reconstructed values of the current block template ([0057] FIG. 5, the reconstructed above and left neighbors 502 of the current block 501 form a L-shaped template. The IBC first determines the block vector 520. A search range region 515 is then defined. Within this region, it is looked for the L-shape template 512. For that purpose, a metric for measuring similarity between samples of L-shape can be used, such as sum of average differences (SAD)).
Regarding Claim 8, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 6,
JANG discloses wherein the candidate list comprises N1 BVs corresponding to N1 reference block templates and/or reference block template combinations with smallest differences, and differences corresponding to the N1 BVs are in an ascending order ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 2,
Robert discloses wherein a size of the first search range is determined according to a size of the current block ([0075]–[0080], FIG. 9B, On the decoder side, the block vector is determined by obtaining an information representative of the block vector from the bitstream. On the encoder side, the block vector is determined by a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) process and in the initial iteration, an initial precision is predetermined. The first iteration of the method starts from a location indicated by the block vector and uses the initial precision).
Regarding Claim 10, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 8,
Robert discloses wherein relative to a base point representing a position of the current block, of the first search range, a first search distance in a width direction and a second search distance in a height direction are determined as follows:
calculating a product of a width of the current block and a first scale factor, and using a larger value between the product and a set minimum search distance in the width direction as the first search distance; calculating a product of a height of the current block and a second scale factor, and using a larger value between the product and a set minimum search distance in the height direction as the second search distance, wherein the first scale factor and the second scale factor are equal or different ([0075]–[0080], FIG. 9B, On the decoder side, the block vector is determined by obtaining an information representative of the block vector from the bitstream. On the encoder side, the block vector is determined by a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) process and in the initial iteration, an initial precision is predetermined. The first iteration of the method starts from a location indicated by the block vector and uses the initial precision).
Regarding Claim 11, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 1,
JANG discloses wherein determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to the reference block combination used by the current block comprises:
determining the intra prediction value of the current block according to an average or a weighted average of reconstructed values of the plurality of reference blocks in the reference block combination ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 1,
JANG discloses wherein decoding the syntax elements of the intra template matching prediction mode of the current block, and determining the reference block or the reference block combination used by the current block according to the syntax elements and the candidate list comprises:
decoding an intra template matching prediction fusion flag, wherein the intra template matching prediction fusion flag is used to indicate whether the current block uses a fusion method in the intra template matching prediction mode ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information);
in a case of determining that the current block uses the fusion method according to the intra template matching prediction fusion flag, skipping decoding an intra template matching prediction index, and determining the reference block combination used by the current block according to the candidate list; and in a case of determining that the current block does not use the fusion method according to the intra template matching prediction fusion flag, decoding the intra template matching prediction index, and determining the reference block used by the current block according to the intra template matching prediction index and the candidate list ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Robert in view of JANG discloses the video decoding method according to claim 11,
JANG discloses wherein decoding the intra template matching prediction index comprises:
parsing a value of a first binary symbol in the intra template matching prediction index, in a case where the value is one of 0 and 1, using variable-length coding or truncated unary coding for binarization of binary symbols other than the first binary symbol in the intra template matching prediction index; and in a case where the value is the other of 0 and 1, using fixed-length coding or truncated binary coding for binarization of binary symbols other than the first binary symbol in the intra template matching prediction index ([0148]-[0150]: encode intra-prediction mode information and output the information in the form of a bitstream and the decoder receives and parses the combine prediction flag, when the combine prediction flag indicates 1, make a prediction with respect to the current block on the basis of the combine prediction mode and, at the same time, decode the bitstream received to acquire the intra-prediction mode information). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 14-19, Video encoding method claims 14-19 of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claims 1-4 & 11-12, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 20, computer-readable storage medium claim 20 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 14, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487