DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 7-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aono et al., hereinafter referred to as Aono (US 2022/0060741 A1).
As per claim 1, Aono discloses a method of video processing (Aono: Abstract.), comprising:
applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit (Aono: Para. [0080] discloses “coding stream Te [claimed bitstream of the video] includes a sequence and multiple pictures constituting a sequence illustratively … illustrating a coding video sequence prescribing … Coding Units (CUs) [claimed a video unit of a video]”; Aono: Para. [0517] discloses “generating a compensation image (motion compensation image) of a target block [claimed current block associated with the video unit], by using a compensation image PredC of a target sub-block generated using inter prediction parameters … of the target block and a compensation image PredRN of the target block generated using motion parameters [claimed coding information] of neighboring blocks [claimed second block]”. [i.e., generating a compensation image of a target block using motion parameters of neighboring blocks during the generation of the coding stream of coding units comprises applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit]),
wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0172] discloses “the motion vector is restricted (clipped) so that the position [claimed wherein a location of the second block is restricted] (xIntL+i, yIntL+j) of the reference pixel is within the collocated tile [claimed based on a predefined rule]”); and
performing the conversion based on the coding process (Aono: Para. [0150] discloses “the decoding process [claimed performing the conversion] can be efficiently performed [claimed based on the coding process]”).
As per claim 2, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the coding process of the current block comprises at least one of:
mode decision,
motion candidate derivation,
motion list generation,
block vector candidate derivation,
block vector list generation,
intra mode candidate derivation,
intra luma most probable mode (MPM) list generation,
intra chroma block vector candidate derivation under dual tree,
intra chroma mode candidate derivation under dual tree, or
block level overlap subblock based motion compensation (OBMC) on/off decision (Aono: Para. [0521] discloses “The OBMC predictor 30374 determines the presence/absence and availability of neighboring blocks [claimed block level overlap subblock based motion compensation (OBMC) on/off decision]”).
As per claim 3, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second block is a reference block of the current block, and/or
wherein the second block is a first reference block of a second reference block of the current block, and/or
wherein the second block is a luma block collocated with a current chroma block, or
wherein the second block is a luma block non-collocated with the current chroma block, and/or
wherein the second block does not exceed a valid search range (Aono: Para. [0538] discloses “Clipping is performed so that the motion vector MvLXRN of the neighboring block [claimed second block] does not refer to the outside of the tile [claimed wherein the second block does not exceed a valid search range]”).
As per claim 4, Aono discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the valid search range is pre-defined, or
wherein the valid search range is based on coding tree unit (CTU) size or CTU information, or
wherein the valid search range is based on virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) size or VPDU information, or
wherein the valid search range is based on tile size or tile information, or
wherein the valid search range is based on subpicture size or subpicture information (Aono: Para. [0509] discloses “as the range allowing reference only to pixels within the collocated tile, the matching motion deriver 30373 derives a search range” [claimed wherein the valid search range is based on tile size or tile information]”).
As per claim 5, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein if the second block is a reference block derived by a motion vector, a requirement of the location of the reference block is based on a location of one of the followings where the current block locates:
CTU,
CTU row,
tile, or
subpicture (Aono: Para. [0173] discloses “the upper left coordinates (xTs, yTs) of the target tile, and the width and height of the target tile being wT, hT [claimed wherein if the second block is a reference block derived by a motion vector, a requirement of the location of the reference block is based on a location of one of the followings where the current block locates: ... tile]”).
As per claim 6, Aono discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a number of sample columns on a right side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a CTU on a right side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU row, and/or
wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a number of sample rows above a collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated subpicture, and/or
wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated tile (Aono: Para. [0171] discloses “the position (xIntL+i, yIntL+j) of the reference pixel is within the collocated tile [claimed wherein the location of the reference block does not exceed a collocated tile]”).
As per claim 7, Aono discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the collocated CTU is in a reference picture and collocated to a current CTU, and/or
wherein the number of sample columns comprises 3 sample columns, and/or
wherein the number of sample rows comprises 3 sample rows (Aono: Para. [0143] discloses “collocated tile (tiles at identical positions on the reference pictures) [claimed wherein the collocated CTU is in a reference picture and collocated to a current CTU]”).
As per claim 8, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein if the second block is a first reference block of a second reference block of the current block, a requirement of the location of the second reference block is based on a location of one of the followings where the current block locates:
CTU,
CTU row,
tile, or
subpicture (Aono: Para. [0326] discloses “Whether or not the block referred to by the target block using IMV is within the collocated tile on the initial reference picture IRef is checked [claimed wherein if the second block is a first reference block of a second reference block of the current block, a requirement of the location of the second reference block is based on a location of one of the followings where the current block locates: ... tile]”).
As per claim 9, Aono discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a number of sample columns on a right side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a CTU on a right side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU row, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a number of sample rows above a collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a CTU on a left side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated CTU and a CTU on a left side and a CTU on a right side adjacent to the collocated CTU, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated subpicture, and/or
wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated tile (Aono: Para. [0326] discloses “In a case that this block is within the collocated tile [claimed wherein the location of the second reference block does not exceed a collocated tile]”).
As per claim 11, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a set of prediction samples used for a mode decision of the video unit is determined based on at least one of:
coding information or a predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0183] discloses “The filtered reference image configuration unit 3103 applies (gives) a reference pixel filter (first filter) to the input unfiltered reference image in accordance with the intra prediction mode [claimed wherein a set of prediction samples used for a mode decision of the video unit is determined based on at least one of: coding information]”).
As per claim 12, Aono discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the number of prediction samples in the set of prediction samples is determined based on at least one of:
the coding information or the predefined rule, and/or
wherein which prediction samples in the set of prediction samples are determined based on at least one of:
the coding information or the predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0192] discloses “For example, as in an HEVC intra prediction, in the case of the DC prediction or in the case that the prediction target block size is 4x4 pixels, the unfiltered reference image may be used directly [claimed wherein which prediction samples in the set of prediction samples are determined based on at least one of: the coding information or the predefined rule]”).
As per claim 15, Aono discloses the method of claim 11, wherein not all prediction samples within a current block are used for the mode decision, and/or
wherein a portion of prediction samples within a current block are used for mode decision, and/or
wherein the set of prediction samples used for the mode decision is subsampled, and/or
wherein prediction samples inside a current block are subsampled by a subsampling factor, and/or
wherein whether the set of prediction samples are subsampled is determined based on block information, and/or
wherein at least one of:
a first row, a last row, a first column, or a last column of samples in a prediction block is not used for the mode decision, and/or
wherein partial or subsampled samples are used for the mode decision, and/or
wherein gradients are determined based on partial or subsampled samples, and/or
wherein a histogram of at least one of:
gradients, colors, luminance, or intensity is determined based on partial or subsampled samples (Aono: Para. [0564] discloses “pixel values used to calculate a and b are sub-sampled [claimed wherein not all prediction samples within a current block are used for the mode decision]”).
As per claim 17, Aono discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or
wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Aono: Para. [0146] discloses “An image decoding device (video decoding device) 2000 [claimed wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream]”).
As per claim 18, Aono discloses an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method, wherein the method comprises (Aono: Para. [0677] discloses “realized by recording a program for realizing such control functions on a computer-readable recording medium and causing a computer system to read the program”):
applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit (Aono: Paras. [0080], [0629] disclose “generate the coding stream Te [claimed a bitstream of the video]” and “coding units (CUs) [claimed a video unit of a video]” and Para. [0517] discloses “generating a compensation image (motion compensation image) of a target block [claimed a current block associated with the video unit], by using a compensation image PredC of a target sub-block generated using inter prediction parameters... of the target block and a compensation image PredRN of the target block generated using motion parameters [claimed coding information] of neighboring blocks [claimed a second block]”; [therefore, generating a compensation image of a target block using motion parameters of neighboring blocks during the generation of the coding stream of coding units comprises applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit]), wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0538] discloses “Clipping is performed so that the motion vector MvLXRN of the neighboring block [claimed second block] does not refer to the outside of the tile [claimed wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule]”); and
performing the conversion based on the coding process (Aono: Para. [0629] discloses “performs entropy coding on the input split information, prediction parameters, quantization transform coefficients, and the like to generate the coding stream Te [claimed performing the conversion based on the coding process]”).
As per claim 19, Aono discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method, wherein the method comprises (Aono: Para. [0677] discloses “realized by recording a program for realizing such control functions on a computer-readable recording medium and causing a computer system to read the program”):
applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit (Aono: Paras. [0080], [0629] disclose “generate the coding stream Te [claimed a bitstream of the video]” and “coding units (CUs) [claimed a video unit of a video]” and Para. [0517] discloses “generating a compensation image (motion compensation image) of a target block [claimed a current block associated with the video unit], by using a compensation image PredC of a target sub-block generated using inter prediction parameters … of the target block and a compensation image PredRN of the target block generated using motion parameters [claimed coding information] of neighboring blocks [claimed a second block]”; [therefore, generating a compensation image of a target block using motion parameters of neighboring blocks during the generation of the coding stream of coding units comprises applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with the video unit]), wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0538] discloses “Clipping is performed so that the motion vector MvLXRN of the neighboring block [claimed second block] does not refer to the outside of the tile [claimed wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule]”); and
performing the conversion based on the coding process (Aono: Para. [0629] discloses “performs entropy coding on the input split information, prediction parameters, quantization transform coefficients, and the like to generate the coding stream Te [claimed performing the conversion based on the coding process]”).
As per claim 20, Aono discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises:
applying coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with a video unit of the video (Aono: Para. [0080] discloses “coding units (CUs) [claimed video unit of the video]” and Para. [0517] discloses “generating a compensation image (motion compensation image) of a target block [claimed a current block associated with a video unit of the video], by using a compensation image PredC of a target sub-block generated using inter prediction parameters … of the target block and a compensation image PredRN of the target block generated using motion parameters [claimed coding information] of neighboring blocks [claimed a second block]”; [therefore, generating a compensation image of a target block using motion parameters of neighboring blocks of coding units comprises applying coding information of a second block to a coding process of a current block associated with a video unit of the video]), wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule (Aono: Para. [0538] discloses “Clipping is performed so that the motion vector MvLXRN of the neighboring block [claimed second block] does not refer to the outside of the tile [claimed wherein a location of the second block is restricted based on a predefined rule]”); and
generating the bitstream based on the coding process (Aono: Para. [0629] discloses “generates the coding stream Te [claimed generating the bitstream based on the coding process]”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono in view of Heo et al., hereinafter referred to as Heo (US 2021/0281833 A1).
As per claim 10, Aono discloses the method of claim 9 (Aono: Abstract.),
However, Aono does not explicitly disclose “wherein the number of sample columns comprises 3 sample columns, and/or wherein the number of sample rows comprises 3 sample rows.”.
Further, Heo is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein the number of sample columns comprises 3 sample columns, and/or wherein the number of sample rows comprises 3 sample rows (Heo: Para. [0234] & Table 3 disclose wherein the number of sample rows comprises 3 sample rows.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Aono and Heo before him or her, to modify the coding process of Aono to include the 3 sample rows feature as described in Heo. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency by providing a configuration that enables weight values to be applied to blocks of various sizes.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono in view of Ray et al., hereinafter referred to as Ray (US 2022/0329800 A1).
As per claim 13, Aono discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the mode decision comprises at least one of the followings:
(Aono: Para. [0183] discloses “The filtered reference image configuration unit 3103 applies (gives) a reference pixel filter (first filter) to the input unfiltered reference image in accordance with the intra prediction mode”).
However, Aono does not explicitly disclose “DIMD based transform kernel determination”.
Further, Ray is in the same field of endeavor and teaches DIMD based transform kernel determination (Ray: Para. [0099] discloses “If the block is coded with DIMD mode, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may use the dominant angular mode (having the highest weight) to derive the transform pairs [claimed DIMD based transform kernel determination]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Aono and Ray before him or her, to modify the mode decision of Aono to include the DIMD based transform kernel determination feature as described in Ray. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve video compression without negatively impacting video quality and residual block coding efficiency by providing optimized transform kernel selection.
As per claim 14, Aono discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the coding mode is (Aono: Para. [0183] discloses “in accordance with the intra prediction mode”).
However, Aono does not explicitly disclose “wherein the coding mode is a matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP) mode”.
Further, Ray is in the same field of endeavor and teaches “wherein the coding mode is a matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP) mode” (Ray: Para. [0076] discloses “The matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP) method [claimed coding mode is a matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP) mode] is an intra prediction technique”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Aono and Ray before him or her, to modify the mode decision of Aono to include the matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP) mode feature as described in Ray. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve intra prediction efficiency by providing a configuration that enables enhanced options for mode selection.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono in view of Salehifar et al., hereinafter referred to as Salehifar (US 2022/0078449 A1).
As per claim 16, Aono discloses the method of claim 15 (Aono: Abstract.),
However, Aono does not explicitly disclose “… wherein the subsampling factor in width direction is equal to 1 or 2 or 4 or 8 …”.
Further, Salehifar is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein the subsampling factor in width direction is equal to 1 or 2 or 4 or 8 (Salehifar: Para. [0228] discloses “subsampling may be applied in only one of the horizontal and vertical directions or may be applied in both directions. In particular, a subsampling factor (e.g., 1 out of 2 or 1 out of 4) and the vertical or horizontal sampling direction may be set based on the width and height of a corresponding block”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Aono and Salehifar before him or her, to modify the encoding decoding system of Aono to include the subsampling factor feature as described in Salehifar. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve overall coding efficiency by providing techniques that reduce the number of matrix vectors required for prediction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 08-13-2026