DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2009/0040168 A1).
Claim 1, Liu (Fig. 1A-3B) discloses an electronic device (100; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a liquid crystal display), comprising:
a substrate (102; Fig. 1A; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a substrate), comprising an active area (130; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a pixel matrix) and a peripheral area (Fig. 1A; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix (120) which contains the gate driver (110) and the data driver (120)) adjacent to the active area (130; Fig. 1A);
a first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a gate driving circuit; 411; Fig. 1B; wherein discloses a shift register circuit), disposed on a first region of the peripheral area (Fig. 1A; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix (130) which contains the gate driving circuit (111); Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix which contains the shift register circuit (411));
a first scan line (104 or S1; Fig. 1A), electrically connected to the first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; 411; Fig. 1B); and
a first switch element (118; Fig. 1B), disposed on the peripheral area (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix which contains the first switching element (118)) and electrically connected to the first scan line (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows for each gate line within the pixel matrix having a first switch (118) connected the respective gate line);
wherein when the electronic device (100; Fig. 1) is under a first condition (Fig. 1C; wherein figures shows the outputting of a scan signal S(p-1) when both control signals (OE1 and OE2) are a low level), the first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; 411; Fig. 1B) provides a first scan signal to the first scan line (H of S(p-1); Fig. 1C); and
wherein when the electronic device (100; Fig. 1) is under a second condition Fig. 1C; wherein figures shows not outputting of a scan signal S(p-1) when both control signals (OE1 and OE2) are a high level so to provide a non-overlapping of the scan signals), the first switch element (118; Fig. 1B) is turned on to transmit a second scan signal (VSS; Fig. 1B) to the first scan line (L of S(p-1); Fig. 1C).
Claim 11, Liu (Fig. 1A-3B) discloses a display device (100; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a liquid crystal display), comprising:
a substrate (102; Fig. 1A; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a substrate), comprising an active area (130; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a pixel matrix) and a peripheral area (Fig. 1A; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix (120) which contains the gate driver (110) and the data driver (120)) adjacent to the active area (130; Fig. 1A);
a first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; wherein discloses a gate driving circuit; 411; Fig. 1B; wherein discloses a shift register circuit), disposed on a first region of the peripheral area (Fig. 1A; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix (130) which contains the gate driving circuit (111); Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix which contains the shift register circuit (411));
a first scan line (104 or S1; Fig. 1A), electrically connected to the first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; 411; Fig. 1B); and
a first switch element (118; Fig. 1B), disposed on the peripheral area (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows in area adjacent to the pixel matrix which contains the first switching element (118)) and electrically connected to the first scan line (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows for each gate line within the pixel matrix having a first switch (118) connected the respective gate line);
wherein when the electronic device (100; Fig. 1) is under a first condition (Fig. 1C; wherein figures shows the outputting of a scan signal S(p-1) when both control signals (OE1 and OE2) are a low level), the first scan driving element (111; Fig. 1A; 411; Fig. 1B) provides a first scan signal to the first scan line (H of S(p-1); Fig. 1C); and
wherein when the electronic device (100; Fig. 1) is under a second condition Fig. 1C; wherein figures shows not outputting of a scan signal S(p-1) when both control signals (OE1 and OE2) are a high level so to provide a non-overlapping of the scan signals), the first switch element (118; Fig. 1B) is turned on to transmit a second scan signal (VSS; Fig. 1B) to the first scan line (L of S(p-1); Fig. 1C).
Claims 6 and 16, Liu (Fig. 1A-3B) discloses wherein the second scan signal (VSS; Fig. 1B) is provided to the first scan line (104; Fig. 1A) by an external signal source (Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses a low-voltage-level source (VSS) which is external to the display device 100 of figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2009/0040168 A1) in view of Miao et al (US 2017/0269416 A1).
Claims 2 and 12, Liu discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and the display device of claim 11.
Liu does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a first data driving element, disposed on the peripheral area;
a second data driving element, disposed on the peripheral area;
a first data line, extending from the peripheral area to a first region of the active area, and electrically connected to the first data driving element; and
a second data line, extending from the peripheral area to a second region of the active area, and electrically connected to the second data driving element;
wherein the second scan signal is provided by one of the first data driving element and the second data driving element.
Miao (Fig. 1-8) discloses further comprising:
a first data driving element (COM1; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0049]; wherein discloses “he plurality of common terminals COM1, COM2, COM3 are used to output a scan signal and respective grayscale signals”), disposed on the peripheral area (214; Fig. 2; wherein figure shows driving unit 214 arranged adjacent to the display area);
a second data driving element (COM2; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0049]; wherein discloses “the plurality of common terminals COM1, COM2, COM3 are used to output a scan signal and respective grayscale signals”), disposed on the peripheral area (214; Fig. 2; wherein figure shows driving unit 214 arranged adjacent to the display area);
a first data line (Dm1(R) or Dm1(G); Fig. 2), extending from the peripheral area to a first region of the active area (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a first set of switches (201-204) are connected to a first region of the display area with data lines Dm1(R) and Dm1(G) and receives the driving signals from COM1), and electrically connected to the first data driving element (COM1; Fig. 2); and
a second data line (Dm1(B) or Dm2(R); Fig. 2), extending from the peripheral area to a second region of the active area (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a second set of switches (201-204) are connected to a second region of the display area with data lines Dm1(B) and Dm2(R) and receives the driving signals from COM2), and electrically connected to the second data driving element (COM2; Fig. 2);
wherein the second scan signal (VGH; Fig. 4; 201; Fig. 2 and 3; Paragraph [0072] and [0077]) is provided by one of the first data driving element (COM1; Fig. 2) and the second data driving element (COM2; Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu’s electronic device by applying a driving method, as taught by Miao, so to use an electronic device with a driving method for providing a display panel and a driving method thereof, as well as a display apparatus, which seek to achieve a narrow bezel or bezel-less design (Paragraph [0005]).
Claims 3 and 13, Liu (Fig. 1A-3B) discloses further comprising:
a second switch element (116; Fig. 1B), disposed on the first region of the peripheral area (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows switching element 116 arranged adjacent to the display region), and electrically connected between the first scan driving element (411; Fig. 1B) and the first scan line (104; Fig. 1B);
wherein a signal at a control end of the second switch element (116; Fig. Fig. 1B) is provided by one of the first data driving element and the second data driving element (Claim 9; wherein discloses “wherein a data driver is capable of generating control signals (OE1 and OE2; Fig. 1B) for controlling the blocking circuit (112; Fig. 1B)”).
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2009/0040168 A1) in view of Miyake et al (US 2015/0070258 A1).
Claims 4 and 14, Liu discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and the display device of claim 11.
Liu does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a second scan driving element, disposed on a second region of the peripheral area; and
a second scan line, extending from the second region of the peripheral area to the active area, and having one end electrically connected to the second scan driving element;
wherein the second scan signal is provided by the second scan driving element.
Miyake (Fig. 1A-12B) discloses further comprising:
a second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9), disposed on a second region of the peripheral area (Fig. 4A; wherein figure shows the second scan line driver circuit 24 arranged adjacent to the display area 21 on the opposite side as compared to the first scan line driver circuit 23); and
a second scan line (21_4; Fig. 9), extending from the second region of the peripheral area to the active area (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows the gate line (21_4) extending from the second region of the peripheral area to the display area), and having one end electrically connected to the second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9);
wherein the second scan signal (21_4; Fig. 9; A2 Fig. 2B) is provided by the second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu’s electronic device by applying a second scan driving element, as taught by Miyake, so to use an electronic device with a second scan driving element for inhibiting the potentials of portions in a scan line from being changed at different times (Paragraph [0011]).
Claims 5 and 15, Liu (Fig. 1A-3B) discloses further comprising:
a second switch element (116; Fig. 1B), disposed on the first region of the peripheral area (Fig. 1B; wherein figure shows switching element 116 arranged adjacent to the display region), and electrically connected (116; Fig. 1B) between the first scan line (104; Fig. 1B) and the first scan driving element (411; Fig. 1B).
Miyake (Fig. 1A-12B) discloses wherein a signal at a control end of the second switch element (24_1; Fig. 9) is provided by the second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu’s electronic device by applying a second scan driving element, as taught by Miyake, so to use an electronic device with a second scan driving element for inhibiting the potentials of portions in a scan line from being changed at different times (Paragraph [0011]).
Claims 7 and 17, Liu discloses the electronic device of claim 6, and the display device of claim 16.
Liu does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a second scan driving element, disposed on a second region of the peripheral area; and
a second scan line, electrically connected to the second scan driving element;
wherein a control end of the first switch element is electrically connected to the second scan line.
Miyake (Fig. 1A-12B) discloses further comprising:
a second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9), disposed on a second region of the peripheral area (Fig. 4A; wherein figure shows the second scan line driver circuit 24 arranged adjacent to the display area 21 on the opposite side as compared to the first scan line driver circuit 23); and
a second scan line (21_4; Fig. 9), electrically connected to the second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9);
wherein a control end of the first switch element (24_1; Fig. 9) is electrically connected to the second scan line (21_4; Fig. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu’s electronic device by applying a second scan driving element, as taught by Miyake, so to use an electronic device with a second scan driving element for inhibiting the potentials of portions in a scan line from being changed at different times (Paragraph [0011]).
Claims 8 and 18, Miyake (Fig. 1A-12B) discloses further comprising:
a second switch element (23_2; Fig. 9), disposed on the first region of the peripheral area (Fig. 9; wherein figure shows transistor 23_2 arranged at the same side as the first scan driving circuit 23), having a first end (23_2; Fig. 9) electrically connected to the second scan line (21_4; Fig. 9), a control end (23_2; Fig. 9) electrically connected to the first scan line (21_7; Fig. 9), and a second end (23_2; Fig. 9) electrically connected to the external signal source (VSS; Fig. 9).
Claims 9-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2009/0040168 A1) in view of Miyake et al (US 2015/0070258 A1) and Kim et al (US 2024/0203333 A1).
Claims 9 and 19, Liu discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and the display device of claim 11.
Liu does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a second scan driving element, disposed on a second region of the peripheral area;
a plurality of first pixels, disposed on a first region of the active area;
a plurality of second pixels, disposed on a second region of the active area;
wherein when the electronic device is under the first condition, the plurality of first pixels are driven by the first scan driving element, and the plurality of second pixels are driven by the second scan driving element.
Miyake (Fig. 1A-12B) discloses further comprising:
a second scan driving element (24_4; Fig. 9), disposed on a second region of the peripheral area (Fig. 4A; wherein figure shows the second scan line driver circuit 24 arranged adjacent to the display area 21 on the opposite side as compared to the first scan line driver circuit 23);
a plurality of first pixels (Fig. 4A and 4B; wherein figure shows pixels; Fig. 3; wherein figure 3 shows first set of pixels connected to the first gate line 101 and a first shift register 141), disposed on a first region of the active area (Fig. 9 and 3; wherein first scan line driver 23 is connected to the odd rows of the display area);
a plurality of second pixels (Fig. 4A and 4B; wherein figure shows pixels; Fig. 3; wherein figure 3 shows second set of pixels connected to the second gate line 102 and a second shift register 142), disposed on a second region of the active area (Fig. 9 and 3; wherein second scan line driver 24 is connected to the even rows of the display area);
wherein when the electronic device (Fig. 4A) is under the first condition (Fig. 8B; Paragraph [0084]; wherein discloses sequential driving by the two driving circuits), the plurality of first pixels (Fig. 4A and 4B; wherein figure shows pixels; Fig. 3; wherein figure 3 shows first set of pixels connected to the first gate line 101 and a first shift register 141) are driven by the first scan driving element (141; Fig. 3), and the plurality of second pixels (Fig. 4A and 4B; wherein figure shows pixels; Fig. 3; wherein figure 3 shows second set of pixels connected to the second gate line 102 and a second shift register 142) are driven by the second scan driving element (142; Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu’s electronic device by applying a second scan driving element, as taught by Miyake, so to use an electronic device with a second scan driving element for inhibiting the potentials of portions in a scan line from being changed at different times (Paragraph [0011]).
Liu in view of Miyake does not expressly disclose wherein when the electronic device is under the second condition, the plurality of second pixels are driven by the second scan driving element, and the first switch element is turned on to transmit the second scan signal to the first scan line to turn on transistors in the plurality of first pixels.
Kim (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein when the electronic device (Fig. 1) is under the second condition (Fig. 7; wherein figure 7 shows driving output method different from sequential driving shown in figure 6; Fig. 15), the plurality of second pixels (SP; Fig. 1 and 2) are driven by the second scan driving element (Paragraph [0008]; wherein discloses “The gate driver may include a shift register configured to output the gate signals”; GO1; Fig. 13), and the first switch element (TA1; Fig. 15) is turned on to transmit the second scan signal (GO1; Fig. 15) to the first scan line (GL2; Fig. 15) to turn on transistors in the plurality of first pixels (SP; Fig. 1 and 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu in view of Miyake’s electronic device by applying a second driving mode, as taught by Kim, so to use an electronic device with a second driving mode for providing a display apparatus which may change a driving mode of a display panel on the basis of a resolution or a driving frequency of an image applied to the display apparatus (Paragraph [0006]).
Claims 10 and 20, Kim (Fig. 1-23) discloses wherein when the electronic device (Fig. 1) is under the second condition (Fig. 7 and 15), the plurality of first pixels (Fig. 15; wherein figure shows that both even and odd rows of pixels are driven by the same signal GO1) are driven by the second scan driving element (Paragraph [0008]; wherein discloses “The gate driver may include a shift register configured to output the gate signals”; GO1; Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu in view of Miyake’s electronic device by applying a second driving mode, as taught by Kim, so to use an electronic device with a second driving mode for providing a display apparatus which may change a driving mode of a display panel on the basis of a resolution or a driving frequency of an image applied to the display apparatus (Paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 04/16/2026