DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II and nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a first end surface that faces a first axis line side of both sides in an axial direction in which the axis line extends”. It is unclear what is meant by “a first axis line side of both sides” likely due to the direct translation not being clear in English.
Claim 1 also recites, “a blade root that is provided on the radial inner side of the blade body, and is fitted into the root groove in a state of being inserted from the first axis line side toward the second axis line side”. This is a product-by-process limitation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartmann et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20060039790) hereinafter Hartmann.
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann discloses:
A rotor blade detachment device that detaches a rotor blade from a disk {Figure 2 (10) is for detaching rotor blade (12) from disk (16); [0008]},
wherein the disk has an outer peripheral surface that extends in a circumferential direction about an axis line {Figure 1 (16) has a radially outer surface that extends in a circumferential direction about an axis (not shown)},
a first end surface that faces a first axis line side of both sides in an axial direction in which the axis line extends {Figure 1, the first end surface is on the right side of (16) faces the first axis line side, which is the right side of the figure; the first end surface is the surface that coincides with the right end of the blade when it is installed},
a second end surface that faces a second axis line side opposite to the first axis line side {Figure 1, the second end surface is on the left side and faces the second axis line side which is on the left side of the figure; the second end surface is the surface that coincides with the left end of the blade when it is installed}, and
a root groove {Figure 1 (22)},
the root groove is recessed from the outer peripheral surface toward a radial inner side in a radial direction of the axis line {Figure 1 (22) is recessed from the outer peripheral surface of (16) toward a radially inner side relative to the axis line}, and
penetrates from the second end surface to the first end surface {Figure 1 (22) extends from the second end surface to the first end surface},
the rotor blade has a blade body that has a cross-section in a blade shape perpendicular to the radial direction, and extends in the radial direction {Figure 1 (12) is a rotor blade that has an airfoil shape in a radial cross-section and extends radially outward from (20)}, and
a blade root that is provided on the radial inner side of the blade body, and is fitted into the root groove in a state of being inserted from the first axis line side toward the second axis line side {Figure 1 (20) is a blade root that fits into the groove (22). Note that the directionality of the insertion does not have a corresponding structure and therefore does not further limit the claim in a meaningful way, see MPEP 2113 I. It is further noted that the claim is directed toward the rotor attachment device and not the rotor
the rotor blade detachment device {Figure 1 (10)} comprises:
a hook that is contactable with the rotor blade {Annotated Figure 1 (I) contacts the rotor blade as it is part of the tensioning device (32); [0024]}; and
a drawing portion that is connected to the hook, and is configured to move the hook in a drawing direction from the second end surface toward the first end surface {Figure 1 (28)/(30)},
the hook has a contact portion that is contactable with the rotor blade from the second axis line side in the axial direction {Annotated Figure 1 (Ia) contacts the rotor blade on the second axis line side which is the left side in the figure. It is noted that there is no precise axial reference plane that divides the first and second axis line side, and
an arm that extends from the contact portion in the drawing direction {Annotated Figure 1 (34) extends from the contact portion (I) in the drawing direction which is to the right}, and
the drawing portion is connected to the arm at a position opposite to the contact portion in the drawing direction, and is configured to apply a load to the hook in the drawing direction {Annotated Figure 1, (28) is connected to the arm (34) at a position opposite of contact portion (I) as it is on the right side rather than the left side; (34) also applies the load from actuator (30) to the hook (I) in the drawing direction which is to the right; [0024-[0026]}.
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann further discloses:
wherein the hook further includes a support portion that is contactable with the rotor blade from the first axis line side {Annotated Figure 1 (II) is a support portion that contacts the rotor from the first axis line side on the right as it is also a part of the tensioning assembly (32)}, and
is configured to support the rotor blade in a state in which the rotor blade is not movable in the drawing direction, together with the contact portion {Annotated Figure 1 (II) supports the rotor blade in a state when the rotor blade is not movable in the drawing direction with contact portion (I) as they are both part of the tensioning assembly}.
Regarding claim 3, Hartmann further discloses:
wherein the hook has a base that is connected to the arm at the position opposite to the contact portion in the drawing direction, and extends in a direction perpendicular to the drawing direction {Annotated Figure 1 (III) is a base that is connected to arm (34) at a position on the right which is opposite of the contact portion (I) on the left; the base (III) extends in the circumferential direction which is perpendicular to the axial drawing direction, and
the support portion is moved at the base to approach the hook, and supports the rotor blade by pressing the rotor blade against the contact portion and sandwiching the rotor blade with the contact portion {Annotated Figure 1 (II) is moved at the base (III) to approach (I) as part of the tensioning of (32) and sandwiches the rotor blade (12) with the contact portion; [0024]-[0026]}.
Regarding claim 9, Hartmann further discloses:
wherein a width of the drawing portion, which is orthogonal to the drawing direction, is more than a width of the contact portion, which is orthogonal to the drawing direction {Annotated Figure 1, the contact portion (I) does not have any limitations that require it to be the full width across of the blade, a small portion may be interpreted as “the contact portion”. This would therefore satisfy the relative width limitation}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20060039790) hereinafter Hartmann.
Regarding claim 4, Hartmann further discloses:
wherein the base is formed with a screw hole {Annotated Figure 1 base (III) implicitly has a screw hole to work with the tensioning device (32) which to accommodate (34)},
Hartmann does not disclose:
the support portion has a screw shaft that is movable at the base in a state of being inserted into the screw hole, and
the screw shaft is contactable with the rotor blade from the first axis line side by being moved at the base to approach the contact portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a screw shaft which moves relative to a base to contact the blade rather than a base which moves relative to a screw shaft to contact a blade as taught by Hartmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as this is as reversal of parts that is merely a reversal of relative movement has been held to be an obvious modification {see MPEP 2144.04 VI A}.
Regarding claim 5, Hartmann discloses the rotor blade attachment device of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the drawing portion is attachable to and detachable from the hook.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the drawing portion attachable to and detachable from the hook. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as the tensioning device is capable of loosening and tightening. Detaching is a form of fully loosening and allows for blades to be easily surrounded as desired {Figure 1 (32); [0024]}. Making a part separable when it would be considered desirable for any reason would be obvious for that purpose {see MPEP 2144.04 V C}
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20060039790) hereinafter Hartmann in view of Holmes et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20150328728) hereinafter Holmes.
Regarding claim 6, Hartmann discloses the rotor blade attachment device of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the drawing portion has a first frame that extends in the drawing direction to extend the arm of the hook, and
a second frame that is connected to the first frame at a position opposite to the hook in the drawing direction, and extends in a direction perpendicular to the drawing direction with respect to the first frame, and
the load is applied to the second frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second frame connected to the first frame at a position opposite to the hook where force is applied to the second frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as this as a reversal of parts that is merely a reversal of relative movement has been held to be an obvious modification and also may be considered a simple rearrangement of parts where the operation of the device is not modified {see MPEP 2144.04 VI A and C}. Additionally, double and single acting actuators are known where directionality of the force can be achieved in both directions {Holmes [0020]}. It is noted any 3D object extends in a direction perpendicular to the drawing direction with respect to the first frame.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20060039790) hereinafter Hartmann in view of Pilichowska et al. (U.S Patent 11,732,613) hereinafter Pilichowska.
Regarding claim 7, Hartmann teaches a cylinder/piston arrangement applies load to the drawing portion {Figure 1 (28)/(30) applied load to (32); [0024]}.
Hartmann does not teach:
wherein a chipping hammer applies the load to the drawing portion.
Pilichowska pertains to gas turbine engine blade removal. Pilichowsha teaches:
wherein a chipping hammer applies the load to the drawing portion {A “vibrating hammer” is considered a chipping hammer and is how load is applied to the drawing portion; {Column 7 lines 61 – Column 8 line 34}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a chipping hammer for the device to apply load to the drawing portion for the configuration of Hartmann as taught by Pilichowska. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as chipping hammers and cylinders to apply force are known alternative / substitutes {Pilichowska Column 7 lines 61 – Column 8 line 34}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anner et al. (U.S Patent 7,128,537) and Hohmann (U.S Patent 6,571,471) teach devices to remove blades from a gas turbine by hooking and pulling them out.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745