DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KISHI (US PgPub No. 2021/0359193).
Regarding claim 1, KISHI teaches an imaging unit (figure 11 item 50) comprising: a vibration device (figure 1 item 1 and/or figure 8 item 31 and/or figure 9 item 41) having a housing and configured to vibrate a light-transmitting element (paragraph 0024 body and vibration; also figure 1 item 2), the light transmitting element configured to transmit light having a predetermined wavelength (paragraph 0038); a sensor device (figures 1 and 8 item 18) including a backet and an imaging element on the bracket (figure 12 items 54, 52, 53, 57, and 57c; imaging element being item 52); and a plurality of projections on at least one of the housing of the vibration device and the bracket of the sensor device, wherein the housing and the bracket are joined via the plurality of projections such that the light-transmitting element is in a direction of view from the imaging element on the bracket (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches a cushioning material held in a space between the housing and the bracket (paragraphs 0039 - 0041; adhesive layer acting as cushioning material).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the housing and the bracket are joined by an adhesive or a mechanical joining mechanism (paragraphs 0039 - 0041; adhesive layer).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the joining mechanism includes one of a screw mechanism, a fitting mechanism, a snap-fit mechanism, a holding mechanism, and a crimping mechanism (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8; i.e. fitting mechanism/holding mechanism/snap-fit mechanism).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the snap-fit mechanism is on a side surface side of the housing (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8; i.e. fitting mechanism/holding mechanism/snap-fit mechanism).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein a part of the bracket joined to the housing is made of a material that dampens vibrations relative to other parts of the bracket (paragraphs 0048 – 0049 and 0064; vibration damping).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the vibration device (figure 1 item 1 and/or figure 8 item 31 and/or figure 9 item 41) includes: the light-transmitting element (figure 1 item 2), the housing holding the light-transmitting element (paragraph 0024 body and vibration), a vibrator that vibrates the light-transmitting element held by the housing (paragraph 0024; vibration device), and a piezoelectric element on the vibrator, the piezoelectric element configured to vibrate the vibrator (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device), and the vibrator is a tubular body and includes, at a first end of the vibrator, a first portion in contact with the light-transmitting element or the housing, and, at a second end of the vibrator, a second portion having the piezoelectric element (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device also figures 1, 8, and 12).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 7, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the vibrator further includes a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion, wherein a sectional shape of the third portion is a curved shape (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device also figures 1, 8, and 12 item 13).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the sectional shape of the third portion of the vibrator is an S shape (figures 1, 8, and 12; S shape around item 3).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the sensor device includes: the imaging element (figure 12 items 54, 52, 53, 57, and 57c; imaging element being item 52), the bracket fixing the imaging element, and an optical component having an optical axis (figures 11 - 12) in alignment with the imaging element, the optical component being fixed to the bracket (figures 1, 8, and 12; bracket fixing the imaging element, and an optical component having an optical axis in alignment with the imaging element, the optical component being fixed to the bracket).
Regarding claim 11, KISHI teaches an imaging unit (figure 11 item 50) comprising: a vibration device (figure 1 item 1 and/or figure 8 item 31 and/or figure 9 item 41) having a housing and configured to vibrate a light-transmitting element (paragraph 0024 body and vibration; also figure 1 item 2), the light transmitting element configured to transmit light having a predetermined wavelength (paragraph 0038); a sensor device (figures 1 and 8 item 18) including a bracket and an imaging element on the bracket (figure 12 items 54, 52, 53, 57, and 57c; imaging element being item 52); and a cushioning material joining the housing of the vibration device and the bracket of the sensor device are such that the light-transmitting element is in a direction of view from the imaging element on the bracket (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the housing and the bracket are joined by an adhesive or a mechanical joining mechanism (paragraphs 0039 - 0041; adhesive layer).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the joining mechanism includes one of a screw mechanism, a fitting mechanism, a snap-fit mechanism, a holding mechanism, and a crimping mechanism (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8; i.e. fitting mechanism/holding mechanism/snap-fit mechanism).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the snap-fit mechanism is on a side surface side of the housing (figures 1, 8, 9, and 12; items 4 and 8; i.e. fitting mechanism/holding mechanism/snap-fit mechanism).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein a part of the bracket joined to the housing is made of a material that dampens vibrations relative to other parts of the bracket (paragraphs 0048 – 0049 and 0064; vibration damping).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the vibration device (figure 1 item 1 and/or figure 8 item 31 and/or figure 9 item 41) includes: the light-transmitting element (figure 1 item 2), the housing holding the light-transmitting element (paragraph 0024 body and vibration), a vibrator that vibrates the light-transmitting element held by the housing (paragraph 0024; vibration device), and a piezoelectric element on the vibrator, the piezoelectric element configured to vibrate the vibrator (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device), and the vibrator is a tubular body and includes, at a first end of the vibrator, a first portion in contact with the light-transmitting element or the housing, and, at a second end of the vibrator, a second portion having the piezoelectric element (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device also figures 1, 8, and 12).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 16, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the vibrator further includes a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion, wherein a sectional shape of the third portion is a curved shape (paragraphs 0024, 0030 - 0032, 0053 – 0063, 0074 – 0077, and 0101; piezoelectric device also figures 1, 8, and 12 item 13).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the sectional shape of the third portion of the vibrator is an S shape (figures 1, 8, and 12; S shape around item 3).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, KISHI teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, KISHI teaches wherein the sensor device includes: the imaging element (figure 12 items 54, 52, 53, 57, and 57c; imaging element being item 52), the bracket fixing the imaging element, and an optical component having an optical axis (figures 11 - 12) in alignment with the imaging element, the optical component being fixed to the bracket (figures 1, 8, and 12; bracket fixing the imaging element, and an optical component having an optical axis in alignment with the imaging element, the optical component being fixed to the bracket).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KISHI (US PgPub No. 20240361591) teaches a system with housing and vibration correction.
NISHIYAMA (US PgPub No. 20180210194) teaches a system with housing and vibration correction.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
07/14/2026