DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 05/12/2026 and 07/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5, 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “determining order of N block vectors BV in the candidate list, wherein N>2”.
There is a typographical error in the wording of this limitation.
-Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10 and 15-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US20260006187) (hereinafter Lim).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a video decoding method, comprising: determining a first search range for performing intra template matching prediction on a current block [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
searching the first search range for a reference block template, and calculating a difference of a found reference block template relative to a current block template, wherein the reference block template is in a one-to-one correspondence with a reference block; [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
constructing a candidate list for intra template matching prediction based on the difference, and determining order of N block vectors BV in the candidate list, wherein N > 2 [02575-02583; utilizing candidate list and performing intraTMP].
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses wherein the difference of the reference block template relative to the current block template is determined based on an SAD, an SATD, or an MSE between a reconstructed value of the reference block template and a reconstructed value of the current block template [02559-02590; using a variety of cost functions including SAD].
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses wherein the first search range is located in a reconstructed region of a current picture [02559-02590; searching reconstructed blocks].
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses wherein order of the differences corresponding to the N block vectors BV in the candidate list is ascending order of the differences [02575-02593; dynamic order of candidates].
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses wherein the block vector BV is used to indicate a location of the reference block relative to the current block [02558-02567; location of reference block in relation to current block].
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses wherein a size of the first search range is determined based on a size of the current block [02563-02567; intraTMP enabled for different sizes is configurable].
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses a video encoding method, comprising:
determining a first search range for performing intra template matching prediction on a current block [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
searching the first search range for a reference block template, and calculating a difference of a found reference block template relative to a current block template, wherein the reference block template is in a one-to-one correspondence with a reference block [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
constructing a candidate list for intra template matching prediction in based on the difference, and determining order of N block vectors BV in the candidate list, wherein N >2 [02575-02583; utilizing candidate list and performing intraTMP].
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses wherein the difference of the reference block template relative to the current block template is determined based on an SAD, an SATD, or an MSE between a reconstructed value of the reference block template and a reconstructed value of the current block template [02559-02590; using a variety of cost functions including SAD].
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses wherein the first search range is located in a reconstructed region of a current picture [02559-02590; searching reconstructed blocks].
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses wherein order of the differences corresponding to the N block vectors BV in the candidate list is ascending order of the differences [02575-02593; dynamic order of candidates].
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses wherein the bitstream is generated by using the video encoding method according to claim 15 (0026-0034; CRM with bitstream)
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses a video decoding apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is executed by the processor to implement a video decoding method including (0026-0034; CRM with bitstream)
determining a first search range for performing intra template matching prediction on a current block [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
searching the first search range for a reference block template, and calculating a difference of a found reference block template relative to a current block template, wherein the reference block template is in a one-to-one correspondence with a reference block [Figs. 67-69, 02556-02575; searching reference frame and performing template matching prediction (intraTMP)].
constructing a candidate list for intra template matching prediction based on the difference, and determining order of N block vectors BV in the candidate list, wherein N >2 [02575-02583; utilizing candidate list and performing intraTMP].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose calculating a product of a width of the current block and a first scale factor, and using a larger one of the product and a set minimum search distance in the width direction as the first search distance and calculating a product of a height of the current block and a second scale factor, and using a larger one of the product and a set minimum search distance in the height direction as the second search distance, wherein the first scale factor is equal or not equal to the second scale factor, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483