DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection of claim 20 using Lee, it is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Regarding the arguments on page 8-9, it is stated that “Seregin does not disclose determining a value of M according to a first intra prediction flag. The cited portions of Seregin describe construction of an MPM candidate list for signaling intra prediction modes. Seregin does not disclose parsing or using a first intra prediction flag, nor does Seregin disclose determining the value of M based on such a first intra prediction flag. In contrast, amended claim 1 requires that the value of M itself is determined according to the first intra prediction flag, such that different first intra prediction flags correspond to respective values of M. Moreover, Seregin's candidate-list length is not determined according to an intra prediction flag. Seregin describes an MPM candidate list having a predetermined or fixed size. For example, Seregin [0032] states that the MPM candidate list may include 5 or 6 most probable modes, or some other number or may be variable, and that the list size may be generically referred to as size N. Seregin [0067] further explains that the techniques can be used to generate an MPM candidate list of any size N, and N may be equal to 6. Thus, Seregin's list size is a predetermined list size used for the MPM candidate list construction process, not a value determined according to a first intra prediction flag corresponding to the current block. This distinction is material. Under amended claim 1, the first intra prediction flag is not merely an indication that intra prediction is used or that an MPM list is used. Rather, the first intra prediction flag is used to determine the value of M for the candidate prediction modes corresponding to that flag. Seregin's disclosure of a fixed or predetermined MPM candidate-list size, does not disclose the claimed relationship in which the value of M is determined according to the first intra prediction flag.”.
However, the examiner disagrees and asserts that Seregin teaches an intra prediction flag which when zero has an M value of 0 (no candidate list as intra prediction is not performed) and when the prediction flag is 1, the value of M is determined to be 5, 6 or whatever value is it determined to be [32,109,129,177]. This would mean that the value of M changes according to the intra prediction flag.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,13,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serengin US 20200195935 in view of Paluri US 20220182620.
Regarding claim 1, Serengin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A video decoding method, comprising:
parsing a bitstream to determine a first intra prediction flag corresponding to a current block (i.e. signaling information used by the decoder to determine intra prediction mode.) [30,178; fig. 6,11];
determining, according to prediction modes corresponding to one or more positions neighboring to the current block, M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag, wherein M is a positive integer (i.e. intra prediction data determines a plurality of intra prediction modes. Neighboring PU intra prediction modes used for prediction) [70-73,254-257; fig. 3a-e,11];
constructing an intra prediction mode list based on the M candidate prediction modes (i.e. MPM candidate list constructed based on M candidate prediction modes) [254-257; fig. 11], and
performing intra prediction on the current block based on the intra prediction mode list, to determine a prediction block of the current block (i.e. decoder uses intra prediction most in the MPM candidate list to perform intra prediction) [261-263; fig. 13];
determining a reconstructed block of the current block based on the prediction block of the current block (i.e. reconstructed video blocks are determined at the summer 90 and can be stored or transmitted.) [181; fig. 6],
determining a value of M according to the first intra prediction flag (i.e. an intra prediction flag which when zero has an M value of 0 and when the prediction flag is 1, the value of M is determined to be 5, 6 or whatever value is it determined to be. This would mean that the value of M changes according to the intra prediction flag.) [109,129,177].
Serengin do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the determining, according to the prediction modes corresponding to the one or more positions neighboring to the current block, the M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag comprises: determining a value of M according to the first intra prediction flag
However, in the same field of endeavor Paluri discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the determining, according to the prediction modes corresponding to the one or more positions neighboring to the current block, the M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag comprises: determining a value of M according to the first intra prediction flag (i.e. A value 1 of the mpm flag may indicate that the intra prediction mode for the current block is within mpm candidates (and planar mode), and a value 0 of the mpm flag may indicate that the intra prediction mode for the current block is not in the mpm candidates (and planar mode).) [106]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri to have the determining, according to the prediction modes corresponding to the one or more positions neighboring to the current block, the M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag comprises: determining a value of M according to the first intra prediction flag.
It would be advantageous because “[0014] According to this specification, an MPM list may be efficiently configured while considering an increase in a number of intra prediction modes. Additionally, a level of accuracy in the MPM list for indicating an intra prediction of a current block may be enhanced, and an overall coding efficiency may be enhanced.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Serengin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more positions neighboring to the current block comprise:
seven positions neighboring to the current block (i.e. seven neighboring positions shown) [69-70; fig. 3a-e]; or
nine positions neighboring to the current block; or
all positions neighboring to the current block; or
an adjacent position or a non-adjacent position corresponding to the current block (i.e. seven neighboring positions shown include adjacent and non-adjacent (AL,BL,BR)) [69-70; fig. 3a-e].
Regarding claim 3, Serengin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 1, the determining, according to prediction modes corresponding to one or more positions neighboring to the current block, M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag comprises: determining at least one candidate prediction mode according a prediction mode corresponding to a current position, wherein the current position is one of the one or more positions (i.e. MPM candidate list constructed based on M candidate prediction modes can be equal to number of neighboring locations M) [73,254-257; fig. 11].
Regarding claim 4, Serengin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, according to the prediction modes corresponding to the one or more positions neighboring to the current block, the M candidate prediction modes corresponding to the first intra prediction flag comprises: determining the M candidate prediction modes according to prediction modes corresponding to all or part of the one or more positions neighboring to the current block, in a preset position sequence (i.e. MPM candidate list constructed based on M candidate prediction modes) [254-257; fig. 11].
Regarding claim 13, Serengin meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the M candidate prediction modes comprise no duplicate candidate prediction modes (i.e. MPM candidate list constructed based on M candidate prediction modes. If duplicate modes are considered, the coder adds only one instance of the mode) [81, 254-257; fig. 11].
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serengin with Paluri in view of Lim US 20220321890.
Regarding claim 5, Serengin with Paluri do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a spatial geometric partitioning mode, determining an angular prediction mode according to a partitioning direction of a prediction block including the current position, and determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to the angular prediction mode
However, in the same field of endeavor Lim discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a spatial geometric partitioning mode, determining an angular prediction mode according to a partitioning direction of a prediction block including the current position, and determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to the angular prediction mode (i.e. geometric partitions specified using distance angle) [790-795,900].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Lim to have the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a spatial geometric partitioning mode, determining an angular prediction mode according to a partitioning direction of a prediction block including the current position, and determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to the angular prediction mode.
It would be advantageous because "[0007] By utilizing this image compression technology, data about images may be effectively compressed, transmitted, and stored.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Lim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Lim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a spatial geometric partitioning mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to two intra prediction modes corresponding to two partitioning blocks corresponding to a prediction block including the current position (i.e. geometric partitions specified using distance angle) [790-795,900].
Regarding claim 7, Lim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a geometric partitioning mode, determining an angular prediction mode according to a partitioning direction of a prediction block including the current position, and determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to the angular prediction mode (i.e. partition direction used) [300,790-795; fig. 18].
Regarding claim 8, Lim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a geometric partitioning mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to two intra prediction modes corresponding to two partitioning blocks corresponding to a prediction block including the current position (i.e. \ Multiple intra prediction modes used for predicting the current block.) [300,790-795; fig. 18,25].
Claim(s) 9,10,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serengin with Paluri in view of Li US 20230179784.
Regarding claim 9, Serengin with Paluri do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a template-based intra mode derivation mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to a prediction mode derived by the template-based intra prediction mode (i.e. TIMD uses candidate intra prediction modes) [110].
However, in the same field of endeavor Li discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a template-based intra mode derivation mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to a prediction mode derived by the template-based intra prediction mode (i.e. TIMD uses candidate intra prediction modes) [110].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Li to have the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises: in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a template-based intra mode derivation mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to a prediction mode derived by the template-based intra prediction mode.
It would be advantageous because "[0009] There can be many different forms of intra prediction. When more than one of such techniques can be used in a given video coding technology, the technique in use can be coded in an intra prediction mode. In certain cases, modes can have submodes and/or parameters, and those can be coded individually or included in the mode codeword. Which codeword to use for a given mode, submode, and/or parameter combination can have an impact in the coding efficiency gain through intra prediction, and so can the entropy coding technology used to translate the codewords into a bitstream.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according the prediction mode corresponding to the current position comprises:in a case that the prediction mode corresponding to the current position is a decoder-side intra mode derivation mode, determining the at least one candidate prediction mode according to a prediction mode derived by the decoder-side intra mode derivation mode (i.e. DIMD used to for intra prediction) [106-109].
Regarding claim 14, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first intra prediction flag comprises: one of a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction flag, a most probable mode flag, and a template-based intra mode derivation flag (i.e. TIMD flag) [110-111; table 2].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serengin with Paluri in view of Ikeda US 20190238839.
Regarding claim 11, Serengin with Paluri do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the method further comprises: performing extension on an angular prediction mode in the determined candidate prediction modes, and determining a candidate prediction mode according to an angular prediction mode obtained by the extension.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ikeda discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: performing extension on an angular prediction mode in the determined candidate prediction modes, and determining a candidate prediction mode according to an angular prediction mode obtained by the extension [186; fig. 11].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Ikeda the method further comprises: performing extension on an angular prediction mode in the determined candidate prediction modes, and determining a candidate prediction mode according to an angular prediction mode obtained by the extension.
It would be advantageous because "[0001] The present disclosure relates to an image processing apparatus and an image processing method and, more particularly, to an image processing apparatus and an image processing method that can reduce overhead of coding processing in extending intra prediction to improve prediction accuracy.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Serengin with Paluri with Ikeda to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426