DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-22 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,816,585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application recites similar features and limitations as the patented application. Both the instant application and patent present features for objection detection using sensors and machine learning modules.
Present Application 19/259,524
Patent 11,816,585
2. A system comprising:
one or more cameras;
one or more processors coupled to the one or more cameras, the one or more processors configured to:
implement a first trained machine learned model configured to:
receive first image data from the one or more cameras; and
based on the first image data and at a first time, detect new object data not previously detected by the system; and
implement a second trained machine learned model configured to:
receive second image data from the one or more cameras and prior object data previously detected by the first trained machine learned model; and
based on the second image data and the prior object data previously detected and at a time prior to the first time, determine a location for the prior object data.
1. A method implemented by a system of one or more processors, the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images at a threshold frequency, the images being obtained from one or more image sensors positioned about a vehicle;
determining, based on the images, location information associated with objects classified in the images,
wherein determining location information is based on analyzing the images via a first machine learning model at the threshold frequency,
wherein a subset of the images is analyzed via a second machine learning model at less than the threshold frequency,
wherein the first machine learning model is configured to periodically receive output information from the second machine learning model, the received output information being input into the first machine learning model in combination with a first image of the plurality of images, and the received output information being usable to increase an accuracy of determining location information associated with objects classified in the first image,
wherein the plurality of images represents a sequence of images comprising at least the first image, and wherein prior to completion of the analysis by the second machine learning model, the first image is analyzed via the first machine learning model; and
outputting the determined location information, wherein the determined location information is configured for use in autonomous driving of the vehicle.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A(1) as being anticipated by Hess et al. (US 2020/0125845).
Claim 2, Hess teaches a system comprising:
one or more cameras (i.e. optical cameras) (p. 0011);
one or more processors coupled to the one or more cameras (p. 0024), the one or more processors configured to:
implement a first trained machine learned model (i.e. machine learning modules) (p. 0023) configured to:
receive first image data from the one or more cameras (i.e. variety of images for training data) (p. 0023-0025); and
based on the first image data (i.e. set of images at a location or position) and at a first time, detect new object data not previously detected by the system (i.e. object) (p. 0023- 0025).
implement a second trained machine learned model (i.e. machine learning modules for tracking) (fig. 2A-C) configured to:
receive second image data (i.e. second image at a different time) from the one or more cameras and prior object data (i.e. crosswalk sign) previously detected by the first trained machine learned model (fig. 2A-C; p. 0036-0039); and
based on the second image data and the prior object data previously detected and at a time prior to the first time (i.e. crosswalk detected in first image at a distance), determine a location for the prior object data (i.e. at a second time the crosswalk sign is at a different location determined by a second set of images) (p. 0035-0039).
Claim 4, Hess teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the second image data includes the first image data (i.e. at a second time the crosswalk sign is at a different location determined by a second set of images) (p. 0035-0039).
Claim 5, Hess teaches The system of claim 2, wherein a portion of the second image data is not included in the first image data (i.e. each set of images are slightly different in order to accurately track the object) (fig. 2A-C; p. 0036-0039).
Claim 7, Hess teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the second model is a tracker or a detector (i.e. each set of images are slightly different in order to accurately track the object) (fig. 2A-C; p. 0036-0039).
Claim 8, Hess teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the second model is further configured to determine a location based on received inertial measurement unit information or global satellite system information (i.e. vehicle may communicate with each other and also through Internet) (p. 0050-0051).
Claim 9 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 1.
Claim 11 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 4.
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 5.
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 7
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 8.
Claim 16 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 1. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 1 (p. 0003).
Claim 18 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 3. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 3 (p. 0003).
Claim 19 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 4. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 4 (p. 0003).
Claim 21 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 7. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 7 (p. 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess et al. (US 2020/0125845) in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0077023).
Claim 3, Hess is not entirely clear in teaching the system of claim 2, wherein the second model is not trained to output new objects.
Kang teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the second model is not trained to output new objects (i.e. machine leaning is implemented to optimize present images not detect new ones) (p. 0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the are before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided image optimization as taught by Kang to the system of Hess to provide stabilization of motion images (p. 0121).
Claim 10 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 2.
Claim 17 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 2. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 2 (p. 0003).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess et al. (US 2020/0125845) in view of Tauschinsky et al. (US 2020/0033831).
Claim 6, Hess is silent regarding The system of claim 2, wherein the first model and the second model operate at different sampling rates.
Tauschinsky teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the first model and the second model operate at different sampling rates (i.e. machine learning receives different sampling rates as training data for detection) (p. 0031-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the are before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided different sampling rates as taught by Tauschinsky to the system of Hess to provide accurate outlier detection (p. 0037).
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as method of claim 6.
Claim 20 recites “Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 6. Hess teaches Non-transitory computer storage media storing instructions that when executed by a system of one or more processors, cause the one or more processors” to perform the steps of claim 6 (p. 0003).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess et al. (US 2020/0125845) in view of Gulino et al. (US 2020/0004259).
Claim 22, Hess is silent regarding The system of claim 2, wherein the second trained machine learned model is further configured to periodically receive output from the first trained machine learned model as input to the second trained machine learned model, the output comprising detected object data.
Gulino teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the second trained machine learned model is further configured to periodically receive output from the first trained machine learned model as input to the second trained machine learned model, the output comprising detected object data (i.e. first machine learning modules output used as input for second machine learning module) (ABSTRACT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the are before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided learning modules that communicate as taught by Gulino to the system of Hess to lower uncertainty (ABSTRACT).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 2, Applicant argues that Applicant respectfully submits that Hess does not disclose or suggest each and every element presently recited in independent Claim 2. The Office Action, at page 6, cites to FIGS. 2A-2C and paragraphs [0035]-[0039] of Hess as allegedly disclosing "implement[ing] a second trained machine learned model configured to: receive second image data from the one or more cameras and prior object data previously detected by the first trained machine learned model; and based on the second image data and the prior object data previously detected and at a time prior to the first time, determine a location for the prior object data," as presently recited in Claim 2.However, the cited portions of Hess do not disclose or suggest these features. FIGS. 2A-2C of Hess merely show images captured when the vehicle is at different locations. Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] describe "calculat[ing] updated coordinates" for a label of a detected object across multiple frames "based on, for example, velocity of the vehicle 402, acceleration of the vehicle 402, direction traveled by the vehicle 402, distance traveled by the vehicle 402 from time t=0 to time t=1, etc." Calculating updated coordinates for a label based on the velocity, acceleration, and distance traveled by the vehicle is different from implementing a second machine learned model configured to: receive second image data from the one or more cameras and prior object data previously detected by the first trained machine learned model; and based on the second image data and the prior object data previously detected and at a time prior to the first time, determine a location for the prior object data," as recited in Claim 2 (emphasis added).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reading the claims in the broadest sense, the claims require “receive second image data”, “prior object data”, “based on the second image data and the prior object data, determine a location for the prior object data”. Hess clearly discloses second image data as the cameras of the vehicle can take many pictures within an interval (variety of images). Hess on figs 4C and 4G at least show an image taken at different time intervals as a vehicle is moving and can be interpreted as “prior objects datas”. Lastly, the system of Hess determines a location of an object within the images using the second image data and the prior object data AND the velocity, acceleration, and distance traveled as discussed by the Applicant. Hess meets the claim language and additionally utilizes another feature to determine an object location, but Hess does require the second image data and prior object data in order to determine a location of the object.
Conclusion
Claims 2-22 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210362596 A1 Frossard; Davi Eugenio Nascimento et al. – machine learning modules
US 20200050846 A1 Sharma; Abhanshu et al.. – object machine learning modules
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 11/10/2026