Detailed Action
This is the first office action on the merits for US application number 19/259,628.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/665,243, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 61/665,243 fails to provide adequate support for the hydraulic drill of claims 41-55.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/670,550, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 61/670,550 fails to provide adequate support for the hydraulic drill of claims 41-55.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/703,727, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 61/703,727 fails to provide adequate support for the bearings of claims 42 and 43, the controller or flow valve of claims 44 and 45, the flow meter of claim 46, the EM tracking of claim 51, and the camera and tactile feature of claims 52-55.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/753,398, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 61/753,398 fails to provide adequate support for the bearings of claims 42 and 43, the controller or flow valve of claims 44 and 45, the flow meter of claim 46, the EM tracking of claim 51, and the camera and tactile feature of claims 52-55.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 13/802,635, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 13/802,635 fails to provide adequate support for the EM tracking of claim 51.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/036,665, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 16/036,665 fails to provide adequate support for the EM tracking of claim 51.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/659,241, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 17/659,241 fails to provide adequate support for the EM tracking of claim 51.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 22, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Examiner also notes that it is unclear how one can reasonably assert that hundreds of documents with titles like “MultiColor:Scanning Laser Imaging”, “the Right Filter Gets the Most out of a Microscope”, “Watch: What Good is a Screen?”, etc. are material to patentability of a hydraulic drill such as that currently claimed. That is, Examiner reminds Applicant that the duty to disclose is to all information known to be material to patentability with respect to each pending claim and that there is no duty to submit information which is not material to the patentability of any existing claim (MPEP 2001, 37 CFR 1.56).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As to claim 51, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for a hydraulic drill “configured to work with electromagnetic (EM) tracking”. That is, the specification appears to be silent to such a disclosure. Thus, specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for a hydraulic drill “configured to work with electromagnetic (EM) tracking”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hydrostatic bearing coupled with said turbine of claim 42, an air bearing coupled with said turbine of claim 43, the controller coupled to a flow valve in said inlet fluid flow path or inlet conduit of claim 44, said controller is supported by or within said housing of claim 45, a flow meter configured to measure the flow velocity within said inlet fluid flow path of claim 46, and EM tracking of claim 51 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 51, a hydraulic drill “configured to work with electromagnetic (EM) tracking” appears new matter. That is, the specification appears to be silent to such a disclosure, such does not appear to be shown, and such was not originally claimed. Thus, a hydraulic drill “configured to work with electromagnetic (EM) tracking” constitutes new matter.
Claim(s) 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 44 recites/recite the limitation "the flow velocity" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “as [[the]]a flow velocity against said turbine.”.
Claim(s) 46 recites/recite the limitation "the flow velocity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “measure [[the]]a flow velocity within said inlet fluid flow path.”.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 41-43, 47, and 50 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cain et al. (US 3,147,951, hereinafter “Cain”).
As to claim 41, Cain discloses a hydraulic drill (58, Figs. 4-11, col. 5 lines 15-25 discloses use with gaseous fluid under pressure or suitable liquids, col. 5 lines 63-67 discloses use as a dental handpiece or for bone drilling) comprising: a chuck (54, 56, Figs. 4-6) capable of receiving and supporting a rotary bit therein (55, Figs. 4-7); a turbine (38) rotationally coupled with said chuck (Figs. 4-6, col. 5 lines 1-5; col. 3 lines 62-72); and a housing (36, 59, 60) comprising an inlet fluid flow path (39, Figs. 4 and 5) capable of connecting to an inlet conduit (63, Figs. 4, 5, and 7-11, col. 5 lines 45 - 48); wherein said inlet fluid flow path is capable of directing fluid from the inlet conduit toward said turbine with sufficient flow velocity to rotate said turbine and hence said chuck and rotary bit (col. 5 lines 1-25, col. 3 lines 39-44 and 62-72).
As to claim 42, Cain discloses comprising a hydrostatic bearing (44) coupled with said turbine (Figs. 4 and 5, col. 5 lines 15-25 discloses use with gaseous fluid under pressure or suitable liquids).
As to claim 43, Cain discloses comprising an air bearing (44) coupled with said turbine (Figs. 4 and 5, col. 5 lines 15-25 discloses use with gaseous fluid under pressure or suitable liquids).
As to claim 47, Cain discloses that said housing further comprises an outlet fluid flow path (40, Figs. 4 and 6) capable of connecting to an outlet conduit (64, Figs. 4 and 6-11, col. 5 lines 45-48).
As to claim 50, Cain discloses that said housing further comprises couplings (66, 67, Figs. 9 and 10) capable of removably coupling said inlet and outlet conduits with said housing (Figs. 9-11, col. 5 lines 47-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44 and 45 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain in view of Gugel et al. (US 6,176,703, hereinafter “Gugel”).
As to claims 44 and 45, Cain discloses the invention of claim 41 as well as a flow velocity against said turbine (Figs. 4 and 5).
Cain is silent to a controller coupled to a flow valve in said inlet fluid flow path or inlet conduit, wherein said controller is configured to adjust the flow velocity. As to claim 45, Cain is silent to said controller is supported by or within said housing.
Gugel teaches a similar compressed air driven device (1, Figs. 1 and 2, col. 11 lines 40-45 disclose use with differing abrasive removal capacity, col. 18 lines 25-35 discloses use with different tools 7, col 2. line 11 discloses use as a medical or dental instrument, col. 2 lines 30-31 discloses that the instrument is driven by compressed air) comprising: a chuck (28) capable of receiving and supporting a bit (7) therein (Fig. 1); and a housing (2) comprising an inlet fluid flow path (15); wherein said inlet fluid flow path is capable of directing fluid from the inlet conduit toward a generator (5) with sufficient flow velocity to drive the bit (col. 4 lines 47-51); further comprising a controller (74, 73, 72) coupled to a flow valve (65, 66) in said inlet fluid flow path or inlet conduit (Figs. 1 and 2, col. 9 lines 16-35), wherein said controller is capable of adjusting a flow velocity against said generator (col. 9 lines 20-23 and 29-33). As to claim 45, Gugel teaches that said controller is supported by or within said housing (Figs. 1 and 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the drill as disclosed by Cain by adding the controller and valve as taught by Gugel in order to permit selective adjustment of the pressure (Gugel col. 9 lines 25-33) to control high speed turbine rotations of the order of from 250,000 to 400,000 rpm (Cain col. 3 lines 40-43) based upon the particular application of use (Cain col. 5 lines 63-67 discloses use as a dental handpiece, bone drilling, watch making, and jewelry repairs).
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain in view of Evans et al. (US 2012/0157981, hereinafter “Evans”).
As to claim 46, Cain discloses the invention of claim 41 as well as a flow velocity within said inlet fluid flow path (Figs. 4 and 5).
Cain is silent to a flow meter configured to measure the flow velocity within said inlet fluid flow path.
Evans teaches a similar pressurized medical device (100, 102, Fig. 1, abstract, ¶41 discloses inflation with fluid or gas) comprising: a housing (104, Fig. 1) comprising an inlet fluid flow path (140, 149, Fig. 1, ¶s 41 and 42); wherein said inlet fluid flow path is capable of directing fluid from the inlet conduit toward a balloon (110); further comprising a flow meter (213) capable of measuring a flow velocity within said inlet fluid flow path (as defined, Fig. 1, ¶63).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the drill as disclosed by Cain by adding the flow meter as taught by Evans in order to detect the flow rate of the fluid (Evans ¶63) in said inlet fluid flow path (Evans Fig. 1, ¶63) to provide the user with such information for use in controlling high speed turbine rotations of the order of from 250,000 to 400,000 rpm (Cain col. 3 lines 40-43) based upon the particular application of use (Cain col. 5 lines 63-67 discloses use as a dental handpiece, bone drilling, watch making, and jewelry repairs).
Claim(s) 48 and 49 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain.
As to claim 48, Cain discloses the invention of claims 47 as well as an inlet fluid flow path (39) and one or more outlet fluid flow paths (40, col. 4 lines 19-25) which are shown to be of broadly similar sizing in the view shown in Fig. 4.
Cain is silent to details regarding the relative cross-sectional sizes of the flow paths, i.e. that said outlet fluid flow path has a same cross-sectional size as compared to said inlet fluid flow path.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to specify that said outlet fluid flow path and said inlet fluid flow path are each one path as disclosed by Cain have a same cross-sectional size in order to select from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectations of success, i.e. a same cross-sectional size, the outlet having a larger cross-sectional size, or the inlet having a larger cross-section size, to provide a pinwheel turbine effect to operate the turbine (Cain col. 5 lines 10-25).
As to claim 49, Cain discloses the invention of claims 47 as well as an inlet fluid flow path (39) and one or more outlet fluid flow paths (40, col. 4 lines 19-25) which are shown to be of broadly similar sizing in the view shown in Fig. 4.
Cain is silent to details regarding the relative cross-sectional sizes of the flow paths, i.e. that said outlet fluid flow path has a larger cross-sectional size as compared to said inlet fluid flow path.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to specify that said outlet fluid flow path and said inlet fluid flow path comprise two outlet paths and one inlet path as shown and disclosed by Cain such that said outlet fluid flow path has a larger cross-sectional size as compared to said inlet fluid flow path in order to select from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectations of success, i.e. a same cross-sectional size, the outlet having a larger cross-sectional size, or the inlet having a larger cross-section size, to provide a pinwheel turbine effect to operate the turbine (Cain col. 5 lines 10-25).
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (b) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Cain in view of Foley et al. (US 6,021,343, hereinafter “Foley”).
As to claim 51, Cain discloses the invention of claim 41 as well as said drill appears to be capable of working with electromagnetic (EM) tracking (due to the shown structure of 59 in Fig. 7 such appears to be capable of working with such tracking if one were to add appropriate tracking markers as there appears to be no structure disclosed that would prevent such usage, Fig. 7).
Cain is silent to an express description of said drill is configured to be tracked by an electromagnetic (EM) tracking system.
Foley teaches a similar drill (100, Figs. 1-5, claim 11 discloses that the instrument tip is a drill bit) comprising: a housing (20, 30, 35, Fig. 2) capable of rotating a rotary bit (Figs. 2-5, col. 3 lines 45-60), wherein said drill is capable of working with electromagnetic (EM) tracking (col. 4 lines 1-8 disclose that the tracking device can generate signals actively with electromagnetic radar systems) using the emitter array (40).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the drill as disclosed by Cain by adding the emitter array for electromagnetic radar systems as taught by Foley in order to track the device (Foley col. 4 lines 1-8) for use in a computer assisted image guided medical and surgical navigation systems (Foley abstract) to provide the user with such information for use when used in bone drilling (Cain col. 5 lines 63-67).
Claim(s) 52-55 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain in view of Forsell (US 2012/0109134).
As to claim 52, Cain discloses the invention of claim 41.
Cain is silent to at least one camera. As to claim 53, Cain is silent to said at least one camera is fixed in position rotationally. As to claim 54, Cain is silent to a tactile feature configured to provide a tactile indication of the orientation of said at least one camera. As to claim 55, Cain is silent to said tactile feature is fixed in a rotational position on said housing.
Forsell teaches a similar hydraulic drill (Figs. 18A-19, ¶229 disclose that such is a pelvic drill a hydraulic motor, etc., ¶208 discloses drilling to create a hole in bone) comprising: a housing (161, Figs. 18a and 18b, ¶229 discloses that 161 is a hydraulic power transport system) capable of rotating a rotary bit (22, Figs. 18A-19, ¶208 discloses drilling to create a hole in bone), further comprising at least one camera (163) and a light source (164). As to claim 53, Forsell teaches that said at least one camera is fixed in position rotationally (Fig. 19). As to claim 54, Forsell teaches that a tactile feature (exterior surfaces of the camera, Fig. 19) capable of providing a tactile indication of the orientation of said at least one camera (Fig. 19). As to claim 55, Forsell teaches that said tactile feature is fixed in a rotational position on said housing (Fig. 19).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the drill as disclosed by Cain by adding the camera as taught by Forsell in order to aid in drilling to create a hole in bone (Forsell ¶208, Cain col. 5 lines 63-67) by providing a better view of the rotary bit (Forsell Fig. 19) and thereby contact with bone and drilling progress.
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775