DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/259,656 filed on 07/03/2025. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
Application claims the benefit of Application No. EP24187158.1 filed 07/08/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following minor informalities: Figure 2 is missing labelling for diagrams or flowcharts that require text for understanding.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1, “a controller” should read “the controller” as claim 10 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 recites a controller.
Claim 10, line 3, “-processing unit” should read “processing unit”.
Claim 10, line 4, “parameter processing unit” should read “processing unit”
Claim 12, line 1, “The powertrain according to claim 1” should read “The powertrain according to claim 11”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“processing unit” in claims 9 and 10;
The structure of the parameter processing unit is not disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recites “… when the computer program is run by the processing unit”. The “parameter processing unit” invokes 112(f), where structure, material or act must be given in the specification for the parameter processing unit to perform the function of running the computer program. The specification lacks detailed description of the parameter processing unit. It is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art what the parameter processing unit is, what the advantages of using a parameter processing unit are and how the computer program is run by the parameter processing unit, therefore the specification lacks written description to support the limitation of a parameter processing unit.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “…a controller, wherein the dog-clutch is configured to, upon receiving an order given by the controller, evolve to a desired configuration, between an engaged configuration…and a disengaged configuration…enabling rotation of the primary part and the secondary part relative to each other” which is ambiguous. It is not clear what is a desired configuration between the “engaged configuration” and “disengaged configuration”, i.e. what configurations exist between the engaged/disengaged configurations. Further, “desired” is a subjective term. It is not clear how the “desired configuration” is determined and what is the “desired configuration”. In addition, it is not clear who/what implements “enabling rotation of the primary part and the secondary part relative to each other”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claim has been interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Similar issue has been observed in claim 11 and has been rejected for the same reason.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as they depend on claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recite “a computer readable medium”, while the broadest reasonable interpretation of machine readable media can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se. See In re Nuijten,500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007). When the BRI encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter would be appropriate. Thus, a claim to a computer readable medium that can be a compact disc or a carrier wave covers a non-statutory embodiment and therefore is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See, e.g., Mentor Graphics v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d at1294-95, 112 USPQ2d at 1134 (claims to a “machine-readable medium” were non-statutory, because their scope encompassed both statutory random-access memory and non-statutory carrier waves) (MPEP 2106.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koga et al. (US 20230392654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koga discloses a method to control a powertrain (e.g. 1, figs. 1-9, fig. 1 has been applied unless it is mentioned otherwise) of a vehicle, the powertrain comprising: a dog-clutch (e.g. 19, or 22 see abstract, fig. 1, paras 41 and 45), comprising:
a primary part (2A or 3A) , configured to be driven in rotation by an electric motor (2 or 4) of the powertrain, and
a secondary part (e.g. 8, 8a, or 16, 16a, para 40), configured to drive wheels (e.g. 6, fig. 1) of the vehicle,
a controller (7), wherein the dog-clutch (19 or 22) is configured to, upon receiving an order given by the controller (7), evolve to a desired configuration, between an engaged configuration (see para 40) in which the primary part (2A) and the secondary part (8a) are engaged with each other so as to be secured in rotation with each other and a disengaged configuration in which the primary part and the secondary part are disengaged from each other, enabling rotation of the primary part (2A) and the secondary part (8a) relative to each other,
a first speed sensor (e.g. 51 or 52) configured to measure a physical quantity (e.g. rotational speed) that reflects a rotation speed of the primary part, and
a second speed sensor (e.g. 51 or 52), configured to measure a physical quantity that reflects a rotation speed of the secondary part (8a), (see para 45” The first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21 are both dog clutches, and the engagement/disengagement operations of the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21 are controlled by the controller 7. Various signals are input to the controller 7. The various signals include, for example, signals from rotational speed sensors that can detect the rotational speed of the first sleeve 20 and the first reduction gear 8 of the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second sleeve 22 and the fourth reduction gear 16 of the second clutch mechanism 21. These rotational speeds are used for detecting the differential rotation between the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21.”)
wherein the method comprises a step of giving the order to evolve to the desired configuration, the order being given by the controller (7) to the dog-clutch (19 or 22),
checking, by the controller (7), whether the dog-clutch has actually evolved to the desired configuration, as the order to evolve to the desired configuration was given to the dog-clutch (19 or 22) by the controller (7), based on the physical quantities (e.g. rotational speed) measured by the first and the second sensors (51). (see fig. 7 and paras 68-80)
Regarding claim 2, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein the step of checking comprises: a step of giving a torque pulse instruction (see paras 95-109) to the electric motor (2 or 4, fig. 1) tending to decrease the rotation speed of the primary part (2A or 3A), and a step of comparing a first speed difference to a second speed difference, wherein the first speed difference is a difference between the rotation speed of the primary part reflected by the physical quantity measured by the first sensor (51) and the rotation speed of the secondary part (8a or 16a) reflected by the physical quantity measured by the second sensor (51) before applying the torque pulse, and wherein the second speed difference is a difference between the rotation speed of the primary part (2a or 3a) and the rotation speed of the secondary part (8a or 16a) after applying the torque pulse. (see para 91 and S9 of fig. 7 and fig. 8A/B)
Regarding claim 3, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein the step of checking comprises: a step of determining that the dog-clutch is actually in the engaged configuration, if the first difference and the second difference are similar and tend towards zero, (see para 76-77) and a step of determining that the dog-clutch (19 or 21) is actually in the disengaged configuration (see paras 78-80), if the first difference tends towards zero and the second difference is higher than the first difference. (see fig. 7 and paras 70-93)
Regarding claim 4, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises a step of waiting, after the step of giving the order, the step of checking being executed after the step of waiting. (see step 4 in fig. 7 which indicates a step of waiting.)
Regarding claim 5, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein, when the desired configuration is the disengaged configuration, the method comprises, before the step of giving the order, a step of lowering a torque of the electric motor. (see para 7 and claim 2)
Regarding claim 6, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein, when the desired configuration is the engaged configuration, the method comprises, before the step of giving the order, a step of driving the primary part (2a or 3a, fig. 1) by the electric motor (2 or 4, fig. 1) so that the rotation speed of the primary part is equal to the rotation speed of the secondary part. (see para 83 or 91-92)
Regarding claim 7, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein when the step of checking has led to determine that the dog-clutch (e.g. 19 or 22, fig. 1) has not actually evolved to the desired configuration, the method comprising: a step of giving an additional order to evolve to the desired configuration, the additional order being given by the controller (7) to the dog-clutch (19 or 22) , and after the step of giving the additional order, a step of additional checking, by the controller (7), whether the dog-clutch has actually evolved to the desired configuration, as the order to evolve to the desired configuration was given to the dog-clutch (19 or 22) by the controller (22), based on the physical quantities measured by the first and the second sensors. (see the steps of fig. 7 and paras 70-93)
Regarding claim 8, Koga discloses the method (see figs. 7-9) according to claim 1, wherein the step of checking includes that the controller (7,fig. 1) does not rely on any other sensor than the first speed sensor (51 or 52) and the second speed sensor (51 or 52) for determining whether the dog-clutch (19 or 22) has actually evolved to the desired configuration during the step of checking.
Regarding claim 9, Koga discloses a computer program product (e.g. microcomputer, see para 38) comprising a computer readable medium, having thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a processing unit (CPU) and adapted to cause execution of a method according to claim 1 when the computer program is run by the processing unit.
Regarding claim 10, Koga discloses a controller (e.g. 7, fig. 1) comprising a computer readable medium according to having encoded thereon a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a processing unit (CPU) and adapted to cause execution of a method according to claim 1 when the computer program is run by the processing unit (CPU). (see para 8)
Regarding claim 11, Koga discloses a powertrain (e.g. 1, figs. 1-9, fig. 1 has been applied unless it is mentioned otherwise) of a vehicle, the powertrain comprising:
a dog-clutch (e.g. 19, or 22 see abstract, fig. 1, paras 41 and 45), comprising:
a primary part (2A or 3A) , configured to be driven in rotation by an electric motor (2 or 4) of the powertrain, and
a secondary part (e.g. 8, 8a, or 16, 16a, para 40), configured to drive wheels (e.g. 6, fig. 1) of the vehicle,
a controller (7), wherein the dog-clutch (19 or 22) is configured to, upon receiving an order given by the controller (7), evolve to a desired configuration, between an engaged configuration (see para 40) in which the primary part (2A) and the secondary part (8a) are engaged with each other so as to be secured in rotation with each other and a disengaged configuration in which the primary part and the secondary part are disengaged from each other, enabling rotation of the primary part (2A) and the secondary part (8a) relative to each other,
a first speed sensor (e.g. 51 or 52, fig. 5 or fig. 6), configured to measure a physical quantity (e.g. rotational speed) that reflects a rotation speed of the primary part, and
a second speed sensor (e.g. 51 or 52), configured to measure a physical quantity that reflects a rotation speed of the secondary part (8a), (see para 45” The first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21 are both dog clutches, and the engagement/disengagement operations of the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21 are controlled by the controller 7. Various signals are input to the controller 7. The various signals include, for example, signals from rotational speed sensors that can detect the rotational speed of the first sleeve 20 and the first reduction gear 8 of the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second sleeve 22 and the fourth reduction gear 16 of the second clutch mechanism 21. These rotational speeds are used for detecting the differential rotation between the first clutch mechanism 19 and the second clutch mechanism 21.”)
wherein the powertrain is configured to implement the method according to claim 1. (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 12, Koga discloses the powertrain (e.g. 1, see figs. 1-9) according to claim 11, wherein the powertrain does not include another sensor than the first speed sensor (51 or 52) and the second speed sensor (51 or 52) for determining whether the dog-clutch (19 or 22) has actually evolved to the desired configuration during the step of checking.
Regarding claim 14, Koga discloses the powertrain (e.g. 1, see figs. 1-9) according to claim 11, wherein the powertrain includes a fork position sensor (51). (see paras 64-65)
Regarding claim 15, Koga discloses a vehicle comprising a powertrain (1, fig. 1) according to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NAKANISHI et al. (US 20260126087 A1)
Regarding claim 1, NAKANISHI discloses a method to control a powertrain (figs. 1-11, para 39) of a vehicle (90, fig. 1), the powertrain comprising: a dog-clutch (e.g. 10, fig. 5, para 44), comprising:
a primary part (11) , configured to be driven in rotation by an electric motor (82) of the powertrain, and
a secondary part (e.g. 12), configured to drive wheels (92, fig. 1) of the vehicle (90),
a controller (7, see para 43), wherein the dog-clutch (10, fig. 5) is configured to, upon receiving an order given by the controller (7), evolve to a desired configuration, between an engaged configuration (see paras 30 and 43, fig. 4) in which the primary part (11) and the secondary part (12) are engaged with each other so as to be secured in rotation with each other and a disengaged configuration (para 30 and 41, fig. 4) in which the primary part (11) and the secondary part (12) are disengaged from each other, enabling rotation of the primary part and the secondary part relative to each other, (see fig. 4)
a first speed sensor (e.g. 23 or 6, fig. 5, para 54 or 43) configured to measure a physical quantity (e.g. phase difference) that reflects a rotation speed of the primary part (11), and
a second speed sensor (e.g. 24, para 54), configured to measure a physical quantity that reflects a rotation speed of the secondary part (12),
wherein the method comprises a step of giving the order to evolve to the desired configuration, the order being given by the controller (7) to the dog-clutch (10),
checking, by the controller (7), whether the dog-clutch has actually evolved to the desired configuration, as the order to evolve to the desired configuration was given to the dog-clutch (10) by the controller (7), based on the physical quantities (e.g. rotational speed) measured by the first (5 or 23) and the second sensors (24). (see paras 47-52)
Regarding claim 11, NAKANISHI discloses a powertrain (figs. 1-11, para 39) of a vehicle (90, fig. 1), the powertrain comprising:
a dog-clutch (e.g. 10, fig. 5, para 44), comprising:
a primary part (11) , configured to be driven in rotation by an electric motor (82) of the powertrain, and
a secondary part (e.g. 12), configured to drive wheels (92, fig. 1) of the vehicle (90),
a controller (7, see para 43), wherein the dog-clutch (10, fig. 5) is configured to, upon receiving an order given by the controller (7), evolve to a desired configuration, between an engaged configuration (see paras 30 and 43, fig. 4) in which the primary part (11) and the secondary part (12) are engaged with each other so as to be secured in rotation with each other and a disengaged configuration (para 30 and 41, fig. 4) in which the primary part (11) and the secondary part (12) are disengaged from each other, enabling rotation of the primary part and the secondary part relative to each other, (see fig. 4)
a first speed sensor (e.g. 23 or 6, fig. 5, para 54 or 43) configured to measure a physical quantity (e.g. phase difference) that reflects a rotation speed of the primary part (11), and
a second speed sensor (e.g. 24, para 54), configured to measure a physical quantity that reflects a rotation speed of the secondary part (12),
wherein the powertrain is configured to implement the method according to claim 1. (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 13, NAKANISHI discloses the powertrain according to claim 11, wherein the powertrain is devoid of a fork position sensor. (e.g. sensors 24, 6 and 23 are not fork position sensor.)
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Arnold et al. (US 20120022752 A1) discloses a method of operating a vehicle drive-train with an engine and a transmission during a gearshift in which an interlocking shift element is disengaged and a frictional shift element is engaged. Upon a shift command, the shifting time and a transmission input speed are monitored. If the input speed deviates from a synchronous speed equivalent to the gear ratio being disengaged, recognizing disengagement of the interlocking shifting element. If an engaged operating condition of the interlocking shifting element to be disengaged is detected, after the lapse of a time interval beginning with the shift command, a current drive torque of the drive machine is brought by motor actuation to a level that corresponds to a difference between the current transmission input torque and a torque that can be transmitted by the frictional shifting element to be engaged, operating with slip, plus a torque offset value.
Jeoung et al. (US 11993266 B1) discloses a transmission control system of an electric vehicle includes a motor configured to generate drive torque; a transmission configured to perform multi-stage shifting using a dog clutch in a restraint relationship with a one-way clutch configured to transmit forward power of the motor; a speed sensor configured to measure a rotation speed on an output side of the transmission; a motor control unit configured to control the drive torque from the motor according to a driver's accelerator position signal (APS) value; and a vehicle control unit configured to control the multi-stage shifting of the transmission according to a torque command based on the APS value, and to perform clutch alignment control by moving up a sleeve in a reverse direction to contact a hub through a reverse rotation operation of gear teeth by applying reverse rotation torque of predetermined drive force through the motor in a pre-engagement state of the dog clutch.
Conclusion
/F. P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655