DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on February 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 3, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kat-Kuoy (US 20180153568).
Regarding claim 1, Kat-Kuoy discloses an apparatus comprising an elongated body (104, 106) comprising a guidewire lumen (104), a first electrode (110) at least partially surrounding the guidewire lumen and comprising a first face (see image below); and a second electrode at least partially surrounding the guidewire lumen and comprising a second face (see image below), wherein the second face is longitudinally spaced from the first face such that the longitudinal spacing forms a spark gap between the first face and the second face (paragraph 0048), and wherein the first face is parallel to the second face (figure 3B, edges of 110 facing each other are parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 2, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein each of the first face and the second face are circumferential about the guidewire lumen (figure 3B).
Regarding claim 3, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the first face is defined on a first plane, and wherein the second face is defined on a second plane (see image above).
Regarding claim 4, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 3, wherein the first plane and the second plane are parallel (see image above).
Regarding claim 5, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode each comprise an elliptical cross-section (110, circular around the shaft, and a circle is an ellipse where the major and minor axis are equal, as defined in the instant specification paragraph 0609).
Regarding claim 6, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising: an inflation lumen (120) extending through the elongated body, and a balloon (105) positioned at a distal portion of the elongated body, the balloon configured to receive a fluid via the inflation lumen (figure 10).
Regarding claim 8, Kat-Kuoy discloses an apparatus, comprising: an elongated body comprising a guidewire lumen (104); a first electrode (110) at least partially surrounding the guidewire lumen and comprising a first face (see image below); a second electrode (110) at least partially surrounding the guidewire tumen and comprising a proximal second face and a distal second face; and a third electrode (110, figures 9 and 10 shows more than two electrodes) at least partially surrounding the guidewire lumen and comprising a third face (between second and third electrodes as shown above), wherein the proximal second face is longitudinally spaced from the first face so as to form a first spark gap between the first face and the proximal second face (paragraph 0048), wherein the third face is longitudinally spaced from the distal second face so as to form a second spark gap between the distal second face and the third face (paragraph 0048), wherein the first face is parallel to the proximal second face (see image above), and wherein the distal second face is parallel to the third face (respective second and third faces are also parallel when the multiple electrodes are in the straight orientation such as those figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 9, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, wherein the proximal second face is parallel to the distal second face (See image above).
Regarding claim 10, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, wherein each of the first face, the proximal second face, the distal second face, and the third face are circumferential about the guidewire lumen (figure 3B, shows first and second faces circumferential and thus third electrode would also be circumferential).
Regarding claim 11, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, wherein the first face is defined on a first plane, wherein the proximal second face is defined on a second plane, wherein the distal second face is defined on a third plane, and wherein the third face is defined on a fourth plane (see images above, each of the faces define planes perpendicular to longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 12, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the first plane and the second plane are parallel, and wherein the third plane and the fourth plane are parallel (see images above, each of the faces define planes perpendicular to longitudinal axis and parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 13, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the second plane and the third plane are parallel (see images above, each of the faces define planes perpendicular to longitudinal axis and parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 14, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the third electrode each comprise an elliptical cross-section (110, circular around the shaft, and a circle is an ellipse where the major and minor axis are equal, as defined in the instant specification paragraph 0609).
Regarding claim 15, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, further comprising: an inflation lumen (120) extending through the elongated body, and a balloon (105) positioned at a distal portion of the elongated body, the balloon configured to receive a fluid via the inflation lumen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kat-Kuoy (US 20180153568) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Wasdyke et al (US 10786267).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kat-Kuoy discloses all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 8, wherein Kat-Kuoy discloses the high voltage pulsed signals arc between the emitters (paragraph 0048) based on their relative polarity and spacing and that it was known to have a pulsing gap between negative and positive poles between electrodes (paragraph 0048). Kat-Kuoy also discloses power conductors (132) electrically coupled to the electrodes (110), but does not specifically disclose a grounded conductor electrically coupled to the second electrode; a first power conductor electrically coupled to the first electrode; and a second power conductor electrically coupled to the third electrode. However, Wasdyke et al (hereafter Wasdyke) also teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention to include power conductors to multiple electrodes and to generate a potential difference between the electrodes sufficient for shockwave creation, wherein negative poles and ground poles are obvious variants at the time of the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the negative pole between electrode pairs in the device of Kat-Kuoy comprise a grounded conductor, as taught as an art-recognized equivalent to negative poles for creating shockwaves by Wasdyke, in order to generate a potential difference between the electrodes sufficient for shockwave creation, wherein all of the conductors and electrodes are coupled to one another to form the device as a whole.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11911056. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Patent 11911056 claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 18 recites all of the limitations set forth in application claims 1, 7, 8, 16. Therefore, patent claim 1 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 1, 7, 8, 16. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1, 7, 8, 16 is anticipated by patent claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 18, it is not patentably distinct from patent claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 18.
Application
1
7
8
16
Patent 11911056
1, 18
3
4, 6
7
Claims 1, 5-8, 15, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 8, 13, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12156668. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Patent 11911056 claims 1-3, 5, 8, 13, 16 recites all of the limitations set forth in application claims 1, 5-8, 15, 16. Therefore, patent claims 1-3, 5, 8, 13, 16 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 1, 5-8, 15, 16. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29. USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 1, 5-8, 15, 16 is anticipated by patent claims 1-3, 5, 8, 13, 16, it is not patentably distinct from patent claims 1-3, 5, 8, 13, 16.
Application
1
5
7
6, 15
8
16
Patent 12156668
1
2
3
5
8
13, 16
Claims 1, 5-7, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12376869. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Patent 11911056 claims 1-4, 7, 15 recites all of the limitations set forth in application claims 1, 5-7, 16. Therefore, patent claims 1-4, 7, 15 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 1, 5-7, 16. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29. Since application claims 1, 5-7, 16 are anticipated by patent claims 1-4, 7, 15, it is not patentably distinct from patent claims 1-4, 7, 15.
Application
1
5
6
7
16
Patent 12156668
1, 7, 15
2
3
4
7, 15
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771