DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 16 April 2026, in which claims 1, 3-6, 13, 16, and 18 were amended, claims 2, 14, 15, and 20 were canceled, and claims 21-24 were added.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received on 16 April 2026 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“wherein adjustment assembly” be changed to --wherein the adjustment assembly-- (claim 22, line 1), since this feature has already been claimed in preceding claim 1;
“adjusting a position of the steering input device” be changed to --adjusting the position of the steering input device-- (claim 23, line 2), since this feature has already been claimed in line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaka et al. (US 8899129 B2).
In regards to claim 23, Isaka et al. discloses a method for adjusting a position of a steering input device (steering wheel #12) of a vehicle (#1; figures 1, 2) comprising:
adjusting a position of the steering input device (#12) between multiple driving positions using an adjustment assembly (including tilt angle adjusting mechanism #33 and/or tilt-up mechanism #25) by pivoting the steering input device about a laterally extending pivot axis (axis extending through support shafts #31, 32; figures 2-9; column 7, lines 32-42, 60-65; column 9, lines 21-33; column 10, line 26-column 18);
uncoupling the steering input device (#12) from the adjustment assembly (#25 and/or #33; uncoupled via movement of tilt lever #35 and/or pedal #44; figures 3, 6, 7, 10; column 10, line 51-column 11, line 53; columns 13-18);
with the steering input device (#12) uncoupled from the adjustment assembly (#25 and/or #33), pivoting the steering input device up and away from the adjustment assembly to an ingress-egress position (tilt-up position; column 9, line 34-column 18; figures 2-7, 10).
In regards to claim 24, Isaka et al. discloses a steering assembly (steering device #11) for steering a vehicle (#1; figures 1, 2), the steering assembly comprising:
a steering input device (steering wheel #12) configured to steer the vehicle (#1; column 7) and to pivotably connect to a frame (vehicle body #2) of the vehicle (figure 1; column 6, line 32-column 7, line 12) to pivot about a laterally extending pivot axis (axis extending through support shafts #31, 32; figures 2-7; column 7, lines 32-42, 60-65; column 10, lines 26-39; column 11, lines 22-35; column 13, lines 24-54; column 14, lines 47-36; column 15, line 63-column 16, line 25);
an adjustment assembly (including tilt angle adjusting mechanism #33) configured to select a driving position of the steering input device (#12) from a plurality of driving positions (figures 2-9; column 9, lines 21-33; column 10, line 51-column 18);
a coupling assembly (including tilt-up mechanism #25) having:
a coupled configuration (drive position), in which, upon actuation of the adjustment assembly (#33), the steering input device (#12) is moveable about the pivot axis (axis extending through support shafts #31, 32) between the plurality of driving positions (column 9, line 34-column 18; figures 2-7, 10);
an uncoupled configuration (tilt-up position), in which, without actuation of the adjustment assembly (#33), the steering input device (#12) is moveable relative to the frame (#2) of the vehicle (#1) and the adjustment assembly about the pivot axis (axis extending through support shafts #31, 32) to an ingress-egress position (column 9, line 34-column 18; figures 2-7, 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-13, 16-19, 21, and 22 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to page 12, Applicant argues that none of the cited prior art discloses or suggests a method comprising uncoupling the steering input device from the adjustment assembly. As set forth above, Isaka et al. (US 8899129 B2) discloses uncoupling the steering input device (#12) from the adjustment assembly (including tilt angle adjusting mechanism #33 and/or tilt-up mechanism #25; uncoupled via movement of tilt lever #35 and/or pedal #44; figures 3, 6, 7, 10; column 10, line 51-column 11, line 53; columns 13-18).
In regards to page 12, Applicant argues that none of the cited prior art discloses or suggests a steering column assembly comprising a coupling assembly having an uncoupled configuration with the steering input device movable relative to the adjustment assembly. As set forth above, Isaka et al. (US 8899129 B2) discloses a steering assembly (steering device #11) comprising an uncoupled configuration (tilt-up position), in which, without actuation of the adjustment assembly (#33), the steering input device (#12) is moveable relative to the frame (#2) of the vehicle (#1) and the adjustment assembly about the pivot axis (axis extending through support shafts #31, 32) to an ingress-egress position (column 9, line 34-column 18; figures 2-7, 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614