-9
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. This is a Continuation application of application Ser. No. 18/149,720 filed on Jan. 4, 2023, which is a Continuation application of application Ser. No. 17/546,550 filed on Dec. 9, 2021, which is a Continuation application of application Ser. No. 17/114,761 filed on Dec. 8, 2020, which in turn is a Continuation application of application Ser. No. 16/928,075 filed on Jul. 14, 2020, which in turn is a Continuation application of application Ser. No. 16/282,775 filed on Feb. 22, 2019, which in turn is a Divisional application of application Ser. No. 15/314,285 filed on Jun. 6, 2017, which in turn is a National Phase Application of International Application No. PCT/JP2015/065593 filed on May 29, 2015, which claims the benefit of Japanese Patent Application No. 2015-005171 filed on Jan. 14, 2015, Japanese Patent Application No. 2014-173833 filed on Aug. 28, 2014, and Japanese Patent Application No. 2014-111375 filed on May 29, 2014. The disclosure of each of the prior applications is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an image capture unit; a setting unit in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
7. Independent claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. 12380705 (US Patent Application No. 18/148,720).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
8. Independent claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. 1220215 (US Patent Application No. 17/114,761).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9. Independent claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. US 11572016 B2 (U.S application No. 17/546,550).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
10. Independent claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. 10807532 (US Patent Application No. 16/282,775).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11. Independent claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. 10279742 (US Patent Application No. 15/314,285).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (US 2015/0178582A1) (hereinafter Okada).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an image capture device that is mounted to a vehicle (e.g., see abstract; Figs. 1-2), the device comprising:
an image capture unit (e.g., see Fig. 1-2, paragraphs 0052, 0053, 0056: imaging unit 15); and
a setting unit (e.g., see Fig. 3: 25, 29; paragraphs 0067-0070: the region setter 25; paragraphs 0076: the controller 29) that, based upon a speed of the vehicle (e.g., see Figs. 3, paragraphs 0069, 0081, 0082: the controller 29 controls the movable object information receiver 22 to obtain the travel speed of the vehicle; also see Fig. 6, steps S103-S108), sets an image capture condition for each region of the image capture unit (e.g., see Figs.3, 4-5, paragraphs 0067-0070; paragraphs 0085, 0088, 0090), each of which has a plurality of pixels, or for each pixel of the image capture unit (e.g., see Figs. 5-6, paragraphs 0073, 0085, 0087, 0090: the pixels of the peripheral image and thinning and reading the pixels).
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 1, wherein the speed of the vehicle is controlled by a control unit of the vehicle (e.g., see Figs. 3, paragraphs 0069, 0081, 0082: the controller 29 controls the movable object information receiver 22 to obtain the travel speed of the vehicle; also see Fig. 6, steps S103-S108).
Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 1, wherein the speed of the vehicle is set by actuating an actuation unit of the vehicle (e.g., see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs 0064, 0068, 0069: travel speed and brake control; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0083).
Regarding claim 4, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 1, wherein the setting unit sets the image capture condition based upon a state of a road (e.g., see paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0088: a region setter for setting, based on the road information, a region of a peripheral image of the movable object to extract; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0078-0080; also see paragraphs 0065-0068: road information and condition).
Regarding claim 5, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 4, wherein the state of the road is a state of a line that specifies a lane upon the road along which the vehicle is traveling (e.g., see paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0088: a region setter for setting, based on the road information and condition; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0078-0080).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 5, wherein the line is detected from an image captured by the image capture unit (e.g., see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0088: a region setter for setting, based on the road information, a region of a peripheral image of the movable object to extract; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0078-0080; also see paragraphs 0065-0068: road information and condition).
Regarding claim 7, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 5, wherein the setting unit sets a region of the image capture unit for capture of an image of the line and sets the image capture condition for the region for capture of the image of the line (e.g., see Figs. 2-3, paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0088: a region setter for setting, based on the road information, a region of a peripheral image of the movable object to extract; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0078-0080; also see paragraphs 0065-0068: road information and condition).
Regarding claim 9, Okada discloses the image capture device according to claim 7, wherein as the image capture condition, the setting unit lowers a pixel decimation ratio for the region that captures the image of the line to be lower than a pixel decimation ratio for a region of the image capture unit other than the region that captures the image of the line (e.g., see (e.g., see Figs. 4-6, paragraphs 0073, 0085, 0087, 0090: the pixels of the peripheral image and thinning and reading the pixels; Fig. 6, paragraphs 0073, 0085-0090).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US 2015/0178582A1) (hereinafter Okada) in view of Satoh et al., (US 2003/0169902A1) (hereinafter Satoh).
Regarding claim 8, Okada does not explicitly disclose the image capture device according to claim 7, wherein as the image capture condition, the setting unit increases a frame rate for the region that captures the image of the line to be higher than a frame rate for a region of the image capture unit other than the region that captures the image of the line.
However, Satoh discloses wherein as the image capture condition (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0016-0018, 0024-0028; paragraphs 0043-0046), the setting unit increases a frame rate for the region that captures the image of the line to be higher than a frame rate for a region of the image capture unit other than the region (e.g., see paragraphs 0021-0023, 0026-0028; also see Fig. 2, paragraph 0034) that captures the image of the line (e.g., see paragraphs 0030: white line of the road).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Okada to add the teachings of Satoh as above, in order to provide a vehicular image processing apparatus which provides an image in a high quality and a detection result in a high reliability (see paragraph 0007: Satoh).
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486