DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EPO Patent Publication EP4116119 to Benouali in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2019/0376496 to Nassif.
Referring to claim 1, Benouali teaches a thermal management system for a vehicle, the thermal management system comprising:
a first flow channel (comprising 130, 140, 150, 190); and a first pump (130) device fluidly connected to the first flow channel (comprising 130, 140, 150, 190) (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0021]-[0072]).
Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif teaches a system comprising
a first flow channel (connected to 6); a second flow channel (connected to 8); a first pump (6) device fluidly connected to the first flow channel; a second pump device (8) fluidly connected to the second flow channel; a single driving device (10) connected to the first pump device (6) to drive the first pump device (6); and a clutch device (32) connected between the driving device (10) and the second pump device (8) and configured to connect or disconnect the driving device (10) and the second pump device (8), to selectively allow the driving device (10) to drive the second pump device (8) (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Benouali with the second pump taught by Nassif in order to provide additional flow and/or higher pressures.
Referring to claim 2, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif teaches a system wherein:
the single driving device comprises a single motor (10) (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Referring to claim 3, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Benouali further teaches a system comprising:
a first thermal management valve device (170); and a second thermal management valve device (180), wherein the first flow channel (comprising 130, 140, 150, 190) fluidly connects the first thermal management valve device (170) to the second thermal management valve device (180) (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0021]-[0072]).
Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif teaches a system wherein:
the second flow channel (connected to 8) fluidly connects a first device (24) to a second device (26); and the clutch device (32) is configured to selectively allow the driving device (10) to drive the second pump (8) device to selectively convey a fluid from the first device (24) to the second device (26) through the second flow channel (connected to 8) (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Referring to claim 4, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Benouali further teaches a system wherein different switching modes are used based on the temperature of one or more components of the thermal management system and/or an ambient temperature which create different demands on the pump (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0021]-[0072]), but Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif teaches a system wherein:
the clutch device (32) is configured to connect the driving device (10) to the second pump device (8) on the basis of demand (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Referring to claim 12, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif further teaches a system wherein:
the system is operated in pump device operating modes as follows: a first pump device operating mode in which only the first pump device (6) is activated; and a second pump device operating mode in which the first pump device (6) and the second pump device (8) are activated (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Referring to claim 13, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Benouali does not teach a second pump. Nassif further teaches a system wherein:
the first pump device (6) is a main pump device configured to allow the fluid to flow at a high flow rate; and the second pump device (8) is an auxiliary pump device configured as a supplement to the main pump device (6) (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Referring to claim 14, Benouali and Nassif teach a thermal management system for a vehicle comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Benouali further teaches a system comprising:
wherein the first flow channel are a part of a cooling circuit or a heating circuit in the thermal management system (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0021]-[0072]).
Nassif teaches a system comprising the second flow channel (Figure; paragraphs [0012]-[0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 5-11, the prior art does not teach a system comprising all the limitations of claims 1 and 5, but more specifically wherein the clutch device is configured to switch between an engaged state and a disengaged state thereof according to whether the first pump device pumps the fluid to the clutch device, to connect or disconnect the driving device and the second pump device.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, the prior art does not teach a system comprising all the limitations of claims 1, 3 and 15, but more specifically comprising an additional flow channel fluidly connecting the first thermal management valve device to the second thermal management valve device; an additional pump device; and an additional clutch device connected between the driving device and the additional pump device and configured to connect or disconnect the driving device and the additional pump device to selectively allow the driving device to drive the additional pump device, to selectively convey the fluid from the first thermal management valve device to the second thermal management valve device through the additional flow channel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aoki teaches a similar thermal management system.
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746