DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022) discloses a decoding method (planar coding mode, Section 4.4), applied to a decoder (codec, Abstract), wherein the method comprises:
determining, based on a prediction node (reference node, page 40) that is in a prediction frame (motion compensated cloud, page 40) and corresponds to a current node (reference node is the collocated node, page 40), planar structure information (all of the planar flags in sections 4.4.2-4.4.3) of a preset node (neighborhood at same depth and at child depth relative to current node, page 33) of the current node (current node, page 33), wherein the preset node comprises the prediction node (set of current node and reference node, page 40);
determining, based on the planar structure information of the preset node (plane position in the inter reference block is utilized, page 40 5.2.2), context indication information (context selection for Planar Flag and Plane Position Coding, page 40) of the current node (occupancy word associated with the current node, page 33);
determining, based on the context indication information (context selection for Planar Flag and Plane Position Coding, page 40), target context information (ctxIdx, page 40); and
decoding a bitstream (decoded from the bitstream, page 32) based on the target context information (ctxIdx, page 40), to determine planar position information (all of the planar flags in sections 4.4.2-4.4.3) of the current node (occupied child nodes, page 31, of current node, page 31).
Regarding Claim 2, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the prediction frame is a decoded frame (inter prediction, page 39), and the prediction frame is adjacent to a current frame (adjacentPlane, page 40) that comprises the current node (current node, page 33).
Regarding Claim 3, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining occupancy information (occupancy of the reference node is derived first, page 40) of the prediction node (of the reference node, page 40);
determining, based on the occupancy information of the prediction node (occupancy of the reference node is derived first, page 40), planar mode information of the prediction node (generate the planar mode (planar_ref) and plane position (plane_ref) of the reference node, page 40); and
determining, based on the planar mode information of the prediction node (generate the planar mode (planar_ref) and plane position (plane_ref) of the reference node, page 40), whether a plane coding mode is enabled for the current node (planar flag and plane position are copied from the reference, page 41) in a preset direction (in all axis directions, page 41).
Regarding Claim 9, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022) discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining occupancy information (occupancy of the reference node is derived first, page 40) of the prediction node (of the reference node, page 40);
determining, based on the occupancy information of the prediction node (occupancy of the reference node is derived first, page 40), planar structure information of the prediction node (generate the planar mode (planar_ref) and plane position (plane_ref) of the reference node, page 40); and
determining, based on the planar mode information of the prediction node (generate the planar mode (planar_ref) and plane position (plane_ref) of the reference node, page 40), whether a plane coding mode is enabled for the current node (planar flag and plane position are copied from the reference, page 41) in a preset direction (axis directions, page 41).
Regarding Claim 10, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022) discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the determining, based on the planar structure information of the prediction node, whether the plane coding mode is enabled for the current node in the preset direction comprises:
acquiring reference information of the current node (the previous frame, page 38); and
determining, based on the planar structure information of the prediction node and the reference information of the current node (planarMode_ref[axisIdx], plane_ref[axisIdx], page 40), whether the plane coding mode is enabled for the current node (the planar flag and plane position are copied from the reference node, page 41) in the preset direction (axis directions, page 41).
Regarding Claim 11, G-PCC 2nd Edition (“G-PCC 2nd Edition CODED DESCRIPTION,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG7 N00134, APRIL 2022)discloses writing an encoded bit into a bitstream (the bitstream, page 32). The remainder of Claim 11 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim2.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim3.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claims 9-10.
the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 20, Oh (US PG Publication 2020/0302632) discloses a non-transitory storage medium, comprising a bitstream (transmit a point cloud bitstream or a file/segment including the bitstream to the receiver of the reception device over a digital storage medium or a network [0311]). The remainder of Claim 20 does not have patentable weight as there is no functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the bitstream. See MPEP 2111.05.
Instead, language such as “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream, wherein the bitstream, processed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations…” might produce a functional relationship between the memory and the data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
“Description of Exploration Experiment 13.2 on inter prediction,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 7 N00155, July 2021
“Inter-prediction Exploration Model (Inter-EM) v3.0,” ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 7 N00189, July 2021
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485