Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on July 3, 2025, examining claims as preliminary amended on January 21, 2026.
Claims 1-21 have been canceled.
Claims 22-41 are newly added in the January 21, 2026 preliminary amendments.
Claims 22-41 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on November 10, 2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least Claims 2-18 and 20-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,380,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because some features of the claims at issue in this instant application are broader than those in the issued patent. Looking at independent Claims 22, 33, and 39 of the instant application, these claims recite several of the limitations of Claims 7, 13, and 20 of the issued patent, but the instant application fails to recite every feature. Thus, when looking at the claims in the instant application, the issued patent, which is narrower but includes all of the limitations of the instant application, would anticipate the claims in this instant application. See MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2). In such a situation, it is per se obvious to claim a broader invention. Therefore, the claims must be rejected under double patenting as anticipated by the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 23, 24, 34-37, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, each of Claims 23, 24, 34-37, and 39 recite “for use by one or more other users,” yet in each case there was a previously recited “one or more other users.” It is not particularly pointed out or distinctly claimed whether these users are the same users or different users than the previously recited group of “one or more other users.” Thus, the claims must be rejected under § 112(b). Because Claims 40 and 41 depend upon Claim 39, they are also rejected under § 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 28, 29, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1).
Regarding Claim 22:
Bowles discloses a consumer operated kiosk (col. 3, lines 36-44 - In one aspect of this embodiment, the recycling kiosk 100 includes a sealable mobile phone input region 106, bill and voucher acceptor/dispenser 107, card reader 109, mobile phone collector for mobile phones to be refurbished 112, mobile phone collection receptacle 108 (quick drop) for mobile phones to be recycled and computing and communications facility (not shown)) comprising:
an inspection area configured to receive a mobile phone from a first user (col. 3, lines 60-67 - The kiosk 100 also includes a bar code reader 125, bag/package dispenser 120, fingerprint reader 128, and digital signature pad 130. The input region 106 also acts as a phone inspection area. Referring now to FIGS. 6 and 7, the inspection area can include a one or more cameras 601-604, magnification tools 701 (i.e. magnifying glass), bar code scanners, weight scales, heat detectors, UV reader/detector, and the like.);
a processing system configured to prepare the mobile phone for use by one or more other users (Bowles, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
[shipping directly] to a second user after the mobile phone has been prepared for resale and purchased by the second user (Bowles, col. 4, lines 44-65 - The inventory of each kiosk bin may then be automatically transmitted from the kiosk to an online web posting whereby auctions, or live auctions can be held allowing buyers to bid and purchase specific bins from specific kiosks in real time. The bins then can be shipped directly from each specific kiosk to the bid winner during the next time the kiosk is serviced).
Bowles fails to explicitly disclose a storage area configured to receive the mobile phone from the processing system and display the mobile phone to prospective purchasers; and a dispensing system configured to receive the mobile phone to a second user after the mobile phone has been prepared by the processing system.
However, in an analogous art, Abdelmalak further teaches a storage area configured to receive the mobile phone from [a] processing system and display the mobile phone to prospective purchasers (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and[0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays and [0109]); and a dispensing system configured to dispense the mobile phone to a second user ... for resale and purchased by the second user (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0057] - Inventoried devices 108 are stored in the inner compartment 148 of the kiosk 102. The inner compartment 148 is preferably configured to store the inventoried device 108, for example because the inventoried devices 108 are stored along racks 109 in rows and multiple layers according to, for example, device type and [0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0066]-[0067] - It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak to the kiosk of Bowles to include a storage area configured to receive the mobile phone from [a] processing system and display the mobile phone to prospective purchasers; and a dispensing system configured to receive the mobile phone to a second user after the mobile phone has been prepared by the processing system.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak and Bowled because it automates and integrates the evaluation, valuation, trade-in and sale of mobile electronic devices (Abdelmalak, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 28:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Abdelmalak further teaches further comprising a transport system configured to move the mobile phone from the inspection area to the processing system, and from the processing system to the storage area (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted above in the rejection of Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 29:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 28.
Abdelmalak further teaches wherein the transport system is further configured to move the mobile phone from the storage area to the dispensing system. (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted above in the rejection of Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 31:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Abdelmalak further teaches wherein the mobile phone is a first mobile phone, and wherein the kiosk further comprises: a data transfer apparatus configured to transfer data from a second mobile phone to the first mobile phone after the first mobile phone has been dispensed to the second user (Abdelmalak, [0110] - The user may select a device 108 to be purchased. The computing device 110 may cause the display 1418 of a prompt at the user interface 104 requesting that the user select whether or not a content and/or settings or the like are to be transferred to the new device 108. Optionally, the prompt may additionally request that the user specify whether data residing on the traded in device 106 should be transferred to a remote data server and/or to the new device 108. It is foreseen that the prompt for the user to make a data transfer request relating to the trade in device 106 may be made during the trade in process described above without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept.)
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted in the rejection of Claim 22 above.
Regarding Claim 32:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Bowles further discloses wherein the inspection area includes: a connectivity device configured to connect to the mobile phone (FIG. 6); and one or more cameras (FIG. 6);, and wherein the kiosk is configured to: receive characteristic information about the mobile phone via the connectivity device (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices); perform a visual inspection of the mobile phone via the one or more cameras (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices; determine an operational condition of the mobile phone based at least in part on the characteristic information and the visual inspection (col. 8 lines 10-13; col. 9, lines 63-67; col. 10, lines 51-55; col. 13, lines 3-7); and obtain a metric indicative of the operational condition of the mobile phone based at least in part on the determined operational condition (col. 8 lines 10-13; col. 9, lines 63-67; col. 10, lines 51-55; col. 13, lines 3-7);.
Abdelmalak further teaches wherein the inspection area includes: a connectivity device configured to connect to the mobile phone (Abdelmalak, [0037] and [0098]); and one or more cameras (Abdelmalak, [0104]), wherein the kiosk is configured to: receive characteristic information about the mobile phone via the connectivity device; perform a visual inspection of the mobile phone via the one or more cameras (Abdelmalak, [0104]); determine an operational condition of the mobile phone based at least in part on the characteristic information and the visual inspection (Abdelmalak, [0104]); and obtain a metric indicative of the operational condition of the mobile phone based at least in part on the determined operational condition (Abdelmalak, [0104]).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted in the rejection of Claim 22 above.
Claims 33, 34, 38, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and Redhead et al. (US 2019/0156611 A1, hereinafter “Redhead”).
Regarding Claim 33:
Bowles teaches a consumer operated kiosk (col. 3, lines 36-44 - In one aspect of this embodiment, the recycling kiosk 100 includes a sealable mobile phone input region 106, bill and voucher acceptor/dispenser 107, card reader 109, mobile phone collector for mobile phones to be refurbished 112, mobile phone collection receptacle 108 (quick drop) for mobile phones to be recycled and computing and communications facility (not shown)) comprising:
a user interface (FIG. 1);
an inspection area configured to receive an electronic device from a first user (FIG. 1 and FIG. 6 and col. 3, lines 60-67);
a wired and/or wireless connectivity device operably associated with the inspection area and configured to connect to the electronic device (FIG. 6);
...
one or more processors operably connected to the wired and/or wireless connectivity device ... (FIG. 6 and Claim 16), wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive characteristic information about the electronic device via the wired and/or wireless connectivity device (col. 7, lines 5-36 and col. 8, lines 62-67);
Bowles fails to explicitly disclose:
a transport system;
a storage area at least partially covered by a panel; and
one or more processors operably connected to the wired and/or wireless connectivity device and the transport system, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
cause the transport system to move the electronic device from the inspection area and place the electronic device in the storage area for viewing through the panel;
receive a selection of the electronic device from a second user via the user interface while the electronic device is in the storage area; and
facilitate dispensing the electronic device to the second user at least partially in response to receiving the selection.
However, in an analogous art, Abdelmalak teaches
a transport system (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 and [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [00652] and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays).
a storage area (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 and [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays); and
one or more processors operably connected to the wired and/or wireless connectivity device (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 – 160/170/171) and the transport system (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 and [0036] and [0062] and [0066]-[0067] and [0069]-[0070]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive characteristic information about the electronic device via the wired and/or wireless connectivity device (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 – 160/170/171 and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106.;
facilitate dispensing the electronic device to the second user at least partially in response to receiving the selection (Abdelmalak. [0057]-[0058] teaching dispensing inventoried devices via the vending bay and [0061] teaching dispensing the desired device to the buyer);
cause the transport system to move the electronic device from the inspection area and place the electronic device in the storage area for viewing through the panel (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106. and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays);
receive a selection of the electronic device from a second user via the user interface while the electronic device is in the storage area (Abdelmalak. [0091]-[0092] teaching purchase-related steps including receiving selections by the purchaser/second user via the user interface and [0095], [0109]-[0110] teaching substantially the same); and
facilitate dispensing the electronic device to the second user at least partially in response to receiving the selection (Abdelmalak. [0115] teaching instructing the vending of the purchased device 108 via vending bay 154).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak to the kiosk of Bowles to include a transport system; a storage area; and one or more processors operably connected to the wired and/or wireless connectivity device and the transport system, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: cause the transport system to move the electronic device from the inspection area and place the electronic device in the storage area; receive a selection of the electronic device from a second user via the user interface; and facilitate dispensing the electronic device to the second user at least partially in response to receiving the selection.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak to Bowles because it automates and integrates the evaluation, valuation, trade-in, and sale of mobile electronic devices (Abdelmalak, [0003]).
The combination of Bowles and Abdelmalak fail to expressly teach a storage area at least partially covered by a panel such that the transport system moves the electronic device from the inspection area and place the electronic device in the storage area for viewing by prospective purchasers via the panel. Nevertheless, analogous reference Redhead teaches that a door, gate, flap, or other closure mechanism may be transparent so that the contents of the device delivery alcove 120 “may be seen” (see Redhead ¶ 43; see also ¶ 38 teaching a display case window 108 in the kiosk to view devices and device accessories for purchase). Redhead is analogous to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and the instant application because it also relates to a kiosk for providing consumers with new or refurbished devices including via a trade-in (see at least Redhead ¶ 4). Thus, Abdelmalak teaches a storage area but is silent on whether the panel is transparent or not; Redhead teaches that the panel can be a window, i.e., panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhead to the combined kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include a transparent panel. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Redhead to Bowles and Abdelmalak so that the user could view the devices and device accessories for purchase (Redhead, ¶s 38 and 43).
Regarding Claim 34:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the system to Claim 33.
Bowles further discloses further comprising: a processing system configured to prepare the electronic device for use by one or more other users, wherein the processing system is operably connected to the one or more processors, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: ...and cause the processing system to prepare the electronic device for use by one or more other users (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector).
Abdelmalak further teaches cause the transport system to move the electronic device to the processing system prior to placing the electronic device in the storage area (Abdelmalak. [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106 and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted above in the rejection of Claim 34.
Regarding Claim 38:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the system to Claim 33.
Bowles further teaches further comprising one or more cameras operably associated with the inspection area, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform a visual inspection of the electronic device when the electronic device is positioned in the inspection area (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and col. 7, lines 5-36 and col. 8, lines 62-67 and col. 9, lines 24-47); and obtain a metric indicative of a physical condition of the electronic device based at least in part on the visual inspection (col. 8 lines 10-13; col. 9, lines 63-67; col. 10, lines 51-55; col. 13, lines 3-7).
Regarding Claim 39:
Bowles discloses A method for operating a kiosk, the method (col. 3, lines 36-44 - In one aspect of this embodiment, the recycling kiosk 100 includes a sealable mobile phone input region 106, bill and voucher acceptor/dispenser 107, card reader 109, mobile phone collector for mobile phones to be refurbished 112, mobile phone collection receptacle 108 (quick drop) for mobile phones to be recycled and computing and communications facility (not shown)) comprising:
receiving an electronic device from a first user in an inspection area of the kiosk, wherein the kiosk further includes a user interface, a wired connector and/or a wireless transceiver operably associated with the inspection area, at least one camera operably associated with the inspection area (FIG. 1 and FIG. 6 and col. 3, lines 60-67 - The kiosk 100 also includes a bar code reader 125, bag/package dispenser 120, fingerprint reader 128, and digital signature pad 130. The input region 106 also acts as a phone inspection area. Referring now to FIGS. 6 and 7, the inspection area can include a one or more cameras 601-604, magnification tools 701 (i.e. magnifying glass), bar code scanners, weight scales, heat detectors, UV reader/detector, and the like), a processing system configured to prepare the electronic device for use by one or more other users ... (Bowles, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
receiving, via the wired connector and/or the wireless transceiver, characteristic information about the electronic device (col. 7, lines 5-36 and col. 8, lines 62-67);
receiving, via the at least one camera, an image of the electronic device (col. 7, 25-60 and col. 8, lines 62-67)
preparing the electronic device for use by one or more other users at the processing system (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
after preparing the electronic device (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
[binning] the electronic device from the processing system to [a] storage area (col. 4, lines 44-51]).
Bowles fails to explicitly disclose
a storage area having a display portion;
...moving the electronic device to the processing system;
after “preparing”... moving the electronic device from the processing system to the display portion of the storage area for viewing by prospective users;
receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the electronic device from a second user; and
dispensing the electronic device from the display portion of the storage area to the second user.
However, in an analogous art, Abdelmalak further teaches
a storage area (Abdelmalak, FIG. 5 160/170/171 and [0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0064] - The connection provided by the electrical connector 170 may be used for performing diagnostic processes, data transfer, configuration, resetting software and memory devices to factory condition, and other processes described elsewhere herein and [0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0066] - It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0069]-[0070] - The kiosk 186 also includes a common reverse-vending bay 190 for receiving trade-in mobile electronic devices. Devices for trade in may be stored in one or more storage bays, though in this embodiment the storage bays (not shown) are internal and not accessible to users at the front panel 187. Instead, an internal diagnostics elevator (not shown) may physically transfer trade-in devices to and from the reverse-vending bay 190 and the internal storage bays);
...moving the electronic device to the processing system ([0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106).
after “preparing”... moving the electronic device from the processing system to the storage area ([0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106));
receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the electronic device from a second user ([0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] - It is foreseen that a transfer element may include additional vertical rails or tracks without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a variety of known devices and mechanisms may be used in addition to or in lieu of the transfer element described herein without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept, it being understood that the choice of a particular means for achieving the internal transfer of mobile electronic devices between compartments will be within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art following review of this description. For instance, robotic retrieval mechanism(s), rotating compartments or the like may be used in addition to or in lieu of the vending elevator(s) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. Still further, it is foreseen that one or more of the motor-driven structures described above for internal mobile electronic device transfer may be configured to move mobile electronic devices between any combination of the vending bay, a reverse-vending bay, storage bays, the inner compartment and other compartments within the kiosk (such as, for example, a dedicated diagnostics bay) without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept. It is also foreseen that a single bay may serve as both a vending bay and a reverse-vending bay without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept and [0066] - It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept; and
dispensing the electronic device … to the second user ([0036] - More particularly, the kiosk 102 preferably is configured to at least temporarily receive pre-owned user devices 106, for example where the user seeks a trade-in, and to vend inventoried user devices 108, for example where the user seeks to purchase a new device or an inventoried pre-owned device and [0062] - [0066]-[0067] - The kiosk 102 also includes a plurality of storage bays 172 configured for receiving pre-owned user mobile electronic devices 106 for at least temporary storage as described herein... It is foreseen that the storage bays 172 may be defined at least partly by additional structure (not shown) extending into inner compartment 148 for example where larger mobile electronic devices 106 are to be received at kiosk 102—without departing from the spirit of the present inventive concept... The kiosk 102 also includes a diagnostics element 176 for assessing the status of mobile electronic devices 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak to the kiosk of Bowles to include storage area; ...moving the electronic device to the processing system; after “preparing”... moving the electronic device from the processing system to the storage area; receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the electronic device from a second user; and dispensing the electronic device to the second user.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Abdelmalak to Bowles because it allows for automating and integrating the evaluation, valuation, trade-in, and sale of mobile electronic devices (Abdelmalak, [0003]).
The combination of Bowles and Abdelmalak fail to expressly teach a storage area having a display portion such that the transport system moves the electronic device from the inspection area and place the electronic device in the storage area for viewing by prospective users. Nevertheless, analogous reference Redhead teaches that a door, gate, flap, or other closure mechanism may be transparent so that the contents of the device delivery alcove 120 “may be seen” (see Redhead ¶ 43; see also ¶ 38 teaching a display case window 108 in the kiosk to view devices and device accessories for purchase). Redhead is analogous to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and the instant application because it also relates to a kiosk for providing consumers with new or refurbished devices including via a trade-in (see at least Redhead ¶ 4). Thus, Abdelmalak teaches a storage area but is silent on whether the panel is transparent or not; Redhead teaches that the panel can be a transparent window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Redhead to the combined kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include a transparent panel. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Redhead to Bowles and Abdelmalak so that the user could view the devices and device accessories for purchase (Redhead, ¶s 38 and 43).
Regarding Claim 41:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the system to Claim 39. Redhead further teaches wherein the storage area further includes a holding portion (see, e.g., Figure 1A and ¶ 37 teaching a device intake alcove as well as ¶ 44 teaching that this a space that receives a user’s device; see additionally ¶ 53 teaching transporting the device to a storage location inside the kiosk 100), and wherein the method further comprises: before moving the electronic device to the processing system, moving the electronic device to the holding portion of the storage area (see, e.g., Figure 1A and ¶ 37 teaching a device intake alcove as well as ¶ 44 teaching that this a space that receives a user’s device; see additionally ¶ 53 teaching transporting the device to a storage location inside the kiosk 100, noting that this action would occur after analyzing the phone and accepting it); and after holding the electronic device in the holding portion for a preset period of time, moving the electronic device from the holding portion to the processing system (see, e.g., Figure 1A and ¶ 37 teaching a device intake alcove as well as ¶ 44 teaching that this a space that receives a user’s device; see additionally ¶ 53 teaching transporting the device to a storage location inside the kiosk 100, noting that this action would occur after analyzing the phone and accepting it).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Redhead to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead as noted above in the rejection of Claim 39.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2018/0157246 A1).
Regarding Claim 23:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Bowles further discloses wherein the processing system [is] configured to interact with the mobile phone to prepare the mobile phone for use by one or more other users (col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
Bowles and Abdelmalak fail, however, to expressly teach, wherein the processing system includes a robotic device configured to interact with the mobile phone....
However, in analogous art, Huang teaches wherein [a] processing system includes a robotic device configured to interact with the mobile phone... (Huang, [0006] - The automated production system for mobile phones of the instant disclosure includes a plurality of mobile phone production apparatus, a plurality of mobile phone automatic test apparatus, a plurality of surface mount apparatus, a plurality of optical inspection apparatus and at least one of management module. The management module connects the mobile phone production apparatus, the mobile phone automatic test apparatus, the surface apparatus, and the optical inspection apparatus by a plurality signal cables and [0018] - At least one of the management modules includes a data collecting apparatus with a database, and the data collecting apparatus is configured to collect the operation status and related data of the mobile phone automatic test apparatus and [0035] – robot arm)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include the feature of a robotic structure into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Huang with Bowles and Abdelmalak because it economizes manpower for test apparatus for review (Huang, [0019]).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and further in view of Kolstov et al. (US 2016/0301786 A1).
Regarding Claim 24;
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Bowles further discloses wherein the processing system [is] configured to ... test operation of the mobile phone and/or remove data from the mobile phone to prepare the mobile phone for use by one or more other users (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector).
Bowles and Abdelmalak fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system includes a robotic finger configured to contact the mobile phone to test ...
However, in an analogous art, Kolstov teaches wherein the processing system includes a robotic engagement member configured to contact the mobile phone to test... (Kolstov, [0056] - In FIG. 4 a partially mounted mobile phone testing apparatus 9, briefly ‘tester’ 9 is depicted. The tester has a housing 2 which is shown incompletely to provide a look inside the housing 2. Inside the housing 2 is a receptacle for the base plate 10 of the mobile phone holder 1 as explained with reference to FIG. 1 to FIG. 3. The tester 9 comprises a robot 7 for positioning a stick 75 for operating control buttons of the mobile phone 100 or control fields on a touch sensitive display. In other words, the stick 75 simulates a user's fingers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolstov to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include wherein the processing system includes a robotic finger configured to contact the mobile phone to test ..., to thus produce a combination comprising (i.e., to include[ing] robotic structures into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user).
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kolstov to Bowles and Abdelmalak because it allows for testing the correct operation of a mobile phone (Kolstov, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 25:
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 22.
Bowles further discloses wherein the processing system ...interact with the mobile phone to test operation of the mobile phone, and [the processing system has] a camera configured to obtain an image of the mobile phone. (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector).
Bowles and Abdelmalak fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system includes a robotic device ...and wherein the robotic device is coupled to a camera.
However, in analogous art, Kolstov teaches wherein the processing system includes a robotic device ...and wherein the robotic device is coupled to a camera and configured to obtain an image of the mobile phone (Kolstov, FIG. 4 and [0024] - A mobile phone testing apparatus with the described phone holder preferably comprises a controlling unit. The controlling unit may be connected to a camera, the camera being configured for imaging the position and/or orientation of a mobile phone supported by said rest structure. In other words the camera is connected with the controlling unit of the tester for providing images of the mobile phone and preferably at least a part of the base plate to the controlling unit. The controlling unit is configured to determine the position and/or the orientation of the mobile phone based on said images. Thereby, inaccuracies in positioning the mobile phone on the rest structure can be detected and preferably compensated automatically by the controlling unit, for example when controlling a manipulator for operating at least one of the mobile phone's controls. It should be noted, that cameras are standard parts of mobile phone testing apparatuses, but so far only for imaging a display of a mobile phone to thereby determine faulty pixels or software problems, but not to determine the mobile phone's position and orientation. Of course the camera can be used for both, i.e. for imaging a display and as well monitoring the mobile phone's position and/or orientation). As constructed the testing apparatus is a robot that has a controlling unit and carries a camera to capture an image of the mobile phone relative to the base controlled by the controlling unit of the robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolstov to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include wherein the processing system includes a robotic device ...and wherein the robotic device carries a camera configured to obtain an image of the mobile phon...., to thus produce a combination comprising (i.e., to include[ing] robotic structures into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user).
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kolstov to Bowles and Abdelmalak because it allows for testing the correct operation of a mobile phone (Kolstov, [0003]).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and Kolstov et al. (US 2016/0301786 A1) and further in view of Movsesian (US 5413454 A1).
Regarding Claim 26:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov disclose the system to Claim 25.
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov fail to explicitly disclose wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator.
Nevertheless, in analogous prior art, Movsesian teaches wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator (see FIG. 2 and col. 2, lines 31-40 - The controller may further include a video display screen thereon for displaying images generated by a video camera attached to the base, thereby allowing the user to monitor the movements of the base and robotic arm without necessarily being in the same room in which the arm is being utilized and col. 8, lines 22-30 - Though not shown, control box 148 may further include a video display screen thereon for receiving video transmissions generated by the video camera 50 attached to the base 12. Thus, through the utilization of the video camera 50 and associated display screen upon the control box 148, the user may operate the mobile robotic arm 10 in locations remote from the user, which reads on wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Movsesian to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov to include the features as noted above.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Movsesian to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov because it allows for remote image viewing by an entity in control of a robot.
Regarding Claim 27:
Bowles and Abdelmalak and Kolstov disclose the system to Claim 25.
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov fail to explicitly disclose wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator so that the remote operator can facilitate positioning of the robotic device relative to the mobile phone.
Nevertheless, in analogous prior art, Movsesian teaches wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator so that the remote operator can facilitate positioning of the robotic device relative to the mobile phone (see FIG. 2 and col. 2, lines 31-40 - The controller may further include a video display screen thereon for displaying images generated by a video camera attached to the base, thereby allowing the user to monitor the movements of the base and robotic arm without necessarily being in the same room in which the arm is being utilized and col. 8, lines 22-30 - Though not shown, control box 148 may further include a video display screen thereon for receiving video transmissions generated by the video camera 50 attached to the base 12. Thus, through the utilization of the video camera 50 and associated display screen upon the control box 148, the user may operate the mobile robotic arm 10 in locations remote from the user, which reads on wherein the image is viewable by a remote operator so that the remote operator can facilitate positioning of the robotic device relative to the mobile phone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Movsesian to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov to include the features as noted above.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Movsesian to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Kolstov because it provides for remote image viewing and control of a robot by an entity in control of a robot.
Claims 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and further in view of Kumagai (US 2007/0013139 A1).
Regarding Claim 30;
Bowles and Abdelmalak disclose the system to Claim 28.
Abdelmalak further teaches a bridge configured to move in one of a vertical or lateral direction relative to the processing system (FIG. 5 and [0059] - The kiosk 102 also includes a transfer element 160 for transferring devices 108 from the inner compartment 148 to the vending bay 154. The transfer element 160 includes a vending elevator 162 comprising a frame 164 that defines a compartment 166. The compartment 166 opens into the vending bay 154 when the vending elevator 162 is operated and moved into dispensing alignment with the vending bay 154).
A similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Abdelmalak to Bowles and Abdelmalak as noted above.
Bowles and Abdelmalak fail to explicitly disclose a robotic arm having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the proximal end portion is movably coupled to the bridge and configured to move in the other of the vertical or lateral direction relative to the processing system, and wherein the distal end portion carries a gripping member configured to releasably grip the mobile phone for movement via the transport system.
Nevertheless, in analogous prior art, Kumagai teaches a robotic arm having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the proximal end portion is movably coupled to the bridge and configured to move in the other of the first or second direction relative to the processing system, and wherein the distal end portion carries a gripping member configured to releasably grip the mobile phone for movement via the transport system (see FIG 2, which reads on a robotic arm having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the proximal end portion is movably coupled to the bridge and configured to move in the other of the vertical or lateral direction relative to [a] system, and wherein the distal end portion carries a gripping member configured to releasably grip the [object] for movement via the transport system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EON to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles and Abdelmalak to include the features as noted above.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kumagai to Bowles and Abdelmalak because it allows for precise control and gripping of objects within a kiosk.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and Redhead (US 2019/0156611) and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2018/0157246 A1).
Regarding Claim 35;
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the kiosk of Claim 34.
Bowles further discloses wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone, and wherein the processing system [is] configured to interact with the mobile phone to prepare the mobile phone for use by one or more other users (col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector);
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead fail to expressly teach wherein the processing system includes a robotic device configured to interact with the mobile phone....
However, in analogous art, Huang teaches wherein [a] processing system includes a robotic device configured to interact with the mobile phone... (Huang, [0006] - The automated production system for mobile phones of the instant disclosure includes a plurality of mobile phone production apparatus, a plurality of mobile phone automatic test apparatus, a plurality of surface mount apparatus, a plurality of optical inspection apparatus and at least one of management module. The management module connects the mobile phone production apparatus, the mobile phone automatic test apparatus, the surface apparatus, and the optical inspection apparatus by a plurality signal cables and [0018] - At least one of the management modules includes a data collecting apparatus with a database, and the data collecting apparatus is configured to collect the operation status and related data of the mobile phone automatic test apparatus and [0035] – robot arm)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead to include the features of a dispensing system configured to dispense the mobile phone to a second user ... for resale and purchased by the second user, to thus produce a combination comprising (i.e., to include[ing] robotic structures into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user).
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Huang to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead because it economizes manpower for test apparatus for review (Huang, [0019]).
Claims 36, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowles (US 8,463,646 B2) in view of Abdelmalak (US 2017/0256119 A1) and Redhead (US 2019/0156611) and further in view of Kolstov et al. (US 2016/0301786 A1).
Regarding Claim 36 and similarly Claim 40:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the kiosk of Claim 34 and the method of Claim 39.
Bowles further discloses wherein the processing system [is] configured to ... test operation of the mobile phone and/or remove data from the mobile phone (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector).
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system includes a robotic device configured to contact the mobile phone to test ...
However, in an analogous art, Kolstov teaches wherein the processing system includes a robotic device configured to contact the mobile phone to test... (Kolstov, [0056] - In FIG. 4 a partially mounted mobile phone testing apparatus 9, briefly ‘tester’ 9 is depicted. The tester has a housing 2 which is shown incompletely to provide a look inside the housing 2. Inside the housing 2 is a receptacle for the base plate 10 of the mobile phone holder 1 as explained with reference to FIG. 1 to FIG. 3. The tester 9 comprises a robot 7 for positioning a stick 75 for operating control buttons of the mobile phone 100 or control fields on a touch sensitive display. In other words, the stick 75 simulates a user's fingers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolstov to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead to include wherein the processing system includes a robotic finger configured to contact the mobile phone to test ..., to thus produce a combination comprising (i.e., to include[ing] robotic structures into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user).
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kolstov to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead because it allows for testing the correct operation of a mobile phone (Kolstov, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 37:
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead disclose the system of Claim 34.
Bowles further discloses wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone, and wherein the processing system … remove[s] data from the mobile phone to prepare the mobile phone for use by one or more other users (col. 3, lines 10-23 - The system contemplates a network of kiosks in public spaces that can perform a combination of recycling processing steps that receive, identify, visually inspect, electrically test, electrically erase, grade quality, containerize (bag), label, and inventory, recyclable electronic devices and, col. 10, lines 18-25 - In other embodiments, the phones are first collected from the kiosk and then put into a resale channel. In some cases, the phones may be refurbished, reconditioned, or upgraded prior to resale. In another embodiment, the system is able to automatically update the firmware in the device while it is attached to the connector).
Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system includes a robotic engagement member configured to contact the mobile phone ...
However, in an analogous art, Kolstov teaches wherein the processing system includes a robotic engagement member configured to contact the mobile phone... (Kolstov, [0056] - In FIG. 4 a partially mounted mobile phone testing apparatus 9, briefly ‘tester’ 9 is depicted. The tester has a housing 2 which is shown incompletely to provide a look inside the housing 2. Inside the housing 2 is a receptacle for the base plate 10 of the mobile phone holder 1 as explained with reference to FIG. 1 to FIG. 3. The tester 9 comprises a robot 7 for positioning a stick 75 for operating control buttons of the mobile phone 100 or control fields on a touch sensitive display. In other words, the stick 75 simulates a user's fingers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolstov to the consumer operated kiosk of Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead to include wherein the processing system includes a robotic finger configured to contact the mobile phone to test ..., to thus produce a combination comprising (i.e., to include[ing] robotic structures into a kiosk to aid in interacting with the mobile phone in order to prepare the phone for resale to a second user).
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kolstov to Bowles, Abdelmalak, and Redhead because it allows for testing the correct operation of a mobile phone (Kolstov, [0003]).
Conclusion
/JAN P MINCARELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627