DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 07/03/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being unpatentable over Solovyev (U.S. Pub. No. 20210243470 A1).
Regarding to claim 19:
Solovyev [0113] and [0118] teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream of video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus (paragraph [0124] encoded bitstream of video data), wherein the method comprises (the method steps do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product), generated by the method steps (process), is given weight. MPEP §2113 recites "Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps". Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
"To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must
be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed
matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated".
MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists, MPEP §2111.05(III).
The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 19-20 merely
services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional
relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure,
which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and
given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Solovyev which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0124]).
Any argument attempting to distinguish claim 19-20 from Solovyev will be held not responsive to this claim rejection made on distinct and independent grounds. 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(b).
Claim 19 is directed to a computer readable recording medium [1] storing encoding data generated by a certain image encoding method. This medium storing non-executable content data as digital ones and zeroes is analogous to a printed book in which audio data comprising speech is stored as words written in the Latin alphabet or another writing system. As such, under the “Printed Matter” or “Nonfunctional Descriptive Material” doctrine, the content of the bitstream is not given patentable weight, and the claim is deemed to read “A computer readable medium storing encoding data which is generated by a method of encoding an image”. See M.P.E.P. § 2111.05(III), “When the programming performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated, a functional relationship will be found. However, where . . . the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. See also O’Reilly v. Morse, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 62 (1854) (“use of . . . electromagnetism for making or printing intelligible characters, signs, or letters” held to be non-patentable); Ex parte Mathias, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1276, 1278–79 (B.P.A.I. 10 August 2005) (informative) (“a computer-readable storage medium that differs from the prior art solely with respect to nonfunctional descriptive material, such as music or a literary work, encoded on the medium” is not distinct from the prior art). Considering this, any computer readable recording medium storing encoding data which is generated by a method of encoding an image, in use or for sale before the effective filing date of 4 October 2016, is considered prior art, for example, a medium storing a video encoded with the H.265 codec.
Claim 20 is rejected because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solovyev (U.S. Pub. No. 20210243470 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, 10 and 19:
Examiner’s Note: Encoding and decoding are done using same and opposite algorithm.
1. Solovyev teach a method for video decoding, comprising: (Solovyev Fig. 2, Fig. 3) receiving a coded video bitstream comprising coded information of one or more pictures; (Solovyev [0088] Video coding typically refers to the processing of a sequence of pictures, which form the video or video sequence. Instead of the term “picture” the term “frame” or “image” may be used as synonyms in the field of video coding. Video coding used in the present application (or present disclosure) indicates either video encoding or video decoding. Video encoding is performed at the source side, typically comprising processing (e.g., by compression) the original video pictures to reduce the amount of data required for representing the video pictures (for more efficient storage and/or transmission). Video decoding is performed at the destination side and typically comprises the inverse processing compared to the encoder to reconstruct the video pictures.) constructing a candidate list (Solovyev [0194] For both techniques, a large set of potential prediction candidates constructed from already encoded motion vectors can be accounted. In HEVC standard, there are four groups of motion vector predictors: spatial, temporal, combined Bi-predictive, and zero candidates. During the encoding process, the best motion vector predictor is selected from an amount of candidates and its index in the candidates list is written to the bitstream. An example of locations for spatial MVP candidates (for merge mode) is shown in FIG. 6) for a current block in a current picture, (Solovyev [0128] The encoder 20 is configured to receive, e.g., by input 202, a picture 201 or a block 203 of the picture 201, e.g., picture of a sequence of pictures forming a video or video sequence. The picture block 203 may also be referred to as current picture block or picture block to be coded, and the picture 201 as current picture or picture to be coded (in particular in video coding to distinguish the current picture from other pictures, e.g., previously encoded and/or decoded pictures of the same video sequence, i.e. the video sequence which also comprises the current picture)) the candidate list comprising at least a first candidate and a second candidate, (Solovyev [0021] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the constructing of the HMVP list further comprises: comparing at least one of the elements of each history-based candidate of the HMVP list with the corresponding element of the preceding block; and adding the motion information of the preceding block to the HMVP list, if as a result of the comparing at least one of the elements of each history-based candidate of the HMVP list differs from the corresponding element of the preceding block.)
the first candidate and the second candidate having redundant information of a motion based inheritable parameter (Solovyev [0011] a method is provided for determining motion information for a current block of a frame based on a history-based motion vector predictor, HMVP, list, comprising the operations: constructing the HMVP list, which is an ordered list of N history-based [inheritable] candidates H.sub.k, k=0, . . . , N−1, associated with motion information of N preceding blocks of the frame preceding the current block, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1, wherein each history-based candidate comprises motion information including elements: i) one or more motion vectors, MVs, [motion based inheritable parameter] ii) one or more reference picture indices corresponding to the MVs, and iii) one or more bi-prediction weight indices; adding one or more history-based candidates from the HMVP list into a motion information candidate list for the current block; and deriving the motion information based on the motion information candidate list. [0012] The term bi-prediction weight index, bcw_idx, is referred also as generalized bi-prediction weight index, GBIdx and/or Bi-prediction with CU-level Weights (BCW) index. Alternatively, said index may be abbreviated by BWI referring simply as bi-prediction weight index. [0013] The motion information candidate list may be a merge candidate list or a motion vector predictor list. [0014] The HMVP list may be also referred to as History-based motion vector list, HMVL. [0015] In one exemplary embodiment, the motion information of a HMVP candidate may include as element one bi-prediction weight index, if there are more than one motion vectors MVs [first candidate], in particular when the number of MVs is two. One bcw index is sufficient since the sum of the two bcw weights, w.sub.0 and w.sub.1, used to construct a prediction candidate is one. In other words, the bcw weight pair is normalized. This means that the two weights are defined by only one bcw index of its respective bcw weight, for example, of w.sub.0 or w.sub.1. [0016] This may provide an advantage that only necessary elements are part of the motion information while redundant elements (as result of the knowledge that the bcw weights [second candidate] are normalized) are dismissed. Hence, the motion information requires only low storage. [0024] This may provide an advantage of removing redundancies in the motion information from the HMVP list. Since the HMVP list is used to add motion information therefrom into the motion information candidate list, said redundancy avoidance translates directly onto the motion information candidate list. Hence, the motion information derivation becomes more accurate as no duplicate motion information is used. [0025] Moreover, since the HMVP list has a limited size/length, the removal of redundant motion information (records) from the HMVP list allows for the addition of more records that are actually different. In other words, the diversity of the records in the HMVP list is increased. [0161] The intra prediction unit 254 is configured to obtain, e.g., receive, the picture block 203 (current picture block) and one or a plurality of previously reconstructed blocks, e.g., reconstructed neighbor blocks [inheritable], of the same picture for intra estimation. The encoder 20 may, e.g., be configured to select an intra prediction mode from a plurality of (predetermined) intra prediction modes)
and non-redundant information of a non-motion based inheritable parameter; (Solovyev [0281] the generalized bi-prediction weight indices bcwIdx [non-motion because it is relational information and not related to motion and the index is needed so non-redundent. Index is related to neighbor so it’s a inheritable parameter] of every candidate in mergeCandList. FIG. 11 [0053] The result of the element-based comparison is referred to as C-result in FIG. 11. [0054] If the C-result is that at least one or more elements are different, the motion information of the current block is added to the HMVP list (operation 1103). Otherwise, if all elements are the same, the respective motion information is not added to the HMVP list (operation 1104). [0055] The term “all” refers to those elements that are actually used in the element-wise comparison. This means that a subset of elements of the motion information may be used for the comparison, in view of the motion information comprising i) one or more MVs, ii), one or more reference picture indices, iii) a bi-prediction weight index. Also, said motion information may entail iv) one or more indices different from the bcw index. [0056] For example, as a possible subset of elements of the motion information may include the MVs and the reference picture indices. The above comparison would then be performed only on checking differences with respect to the MVs and the reference picture indices, irrespective of whether or not the other elements not part of the subset are the same. In the given example, these elements excluded from the comparison would be the bcw index and the one or more other indices different from the bcw index.)
selecting a specific candidate from the candidate list; (Solovyev [0039] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the motion information candidate list includes: a first motion information from motion information of a first block, wherein the first block has a preset spatial or temporal position relationship with the current block. [0040] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the deriving the motion information based on the motion information candidate list comprises: deriving the motion information by referring to a merge index from a bit stream as the current block is coded in a merge mode, or to a motion vector predictor index from the bit stream as the current block is coded in an advanced motion vector prediction, AMVP, mode. [0041] The motion information candidate list may be a merge candidate list or a motion vector predictor list. [0042] FIG. 10 shows a flowchart of the method for determining motion information. In operation 1001, a HMVP list is constructed. In operation 1002, one or more history-based candidates from the HMVP list are added into a motion information candidate list. In operation 1003, the motion information based on the motion information candidate list is derived. [0043] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, further included is obtaining a prediction value of the current block by using a bi-prediction weight index included in the motion information derived based on the motion information candidate list. [0044] In one exemplary embodiment, the motion information derivation based on the motion information candidate list is performed directly from the motion information candidate list. Alternatively, said derivation may be performed indirectly with reference to the motion information candidate list. [0045] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method is provided for constructing and updating a history-based motion vector predictor, HMVP, list, comprising the operations: constructing the HMVP list, which is an ordered list of N history-based candidates H.sub.k, k=0, . . . , N−1, associated with motion information of N preceding blocks of the frame preceding the current block, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1, wherein each history-based candidate comprises motion information including elements: i) one or more motion vectors, MVs, ii) one or more reference picture indices corresponding to the MVs, and iii) one or more bi-prediction weight indices; comparing at least one of the elements of each history-based candidate of the HMVP list with the corresponding element of the current block; and adding the motion information of the current block to the HMVP list, if as a result of the comparing at least one of the elements of each of the history-based candidate of the HMVP list differs from the corresponding element of the current block. [0046] The HMVP list updating may provide an advantage of keeping the latest and redundancy-free motion information of the current block in the HMVP list. This improves the motion information derivation by using history-based motion information with maintained spatial correlation with the current block. In other words, the continued updating of the HMVP list ensures the presence and exploitation of spatial correlation during the derivation of the motion information.
[0047] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a history-based candidate includes further one or more indices, different from the one or more bi-prediction weight indices) and reconstructing the current block based on the specific candidate. (Solovyev [0158] The inter prediction unit 244 may include motion estimation (ME) unit (not shown in FIG. 2) and motion compensation (MC) unit (not shown in FIG. 2). The motion estimation unit is configured to receive or obtain the picture block 203 (current picture block 203 of the current picture 201) and a decoded picture 231, or at least one or a plurality of previously reconstructed blocks, e.g., reconstructed blocks of one or a plurality of other/different previously decoded pictures 231, for motion estimation. E.g. a video sequence may comprise the current picture and the previously decoded pictures 231, or in other words, the current picture and the previously decoded pictures 231 may be part of or form a sequence of pictures forming a video sequence. [0159] The encoder 20 may, e.g., be configured to select a reference block from a plurality of reference blocks of the same or different pictures of the plurality of other pictures and provide a reference picture (or reference picture index, . . . ) and/or an offset (spatial offset) between the position (x, y coordinates) of the reference block and the position of the current block as inter prediction parameters to the motion estimation unit (not shown in FIG. 2). This offset is also called motion vector (MV). [0160] The motion compensation unit is configured to obtain, e.g., receive, an inter prediction parameter and to perform inter prediction based on or using the inter prediction parameter to obtain an inter prediction block 245. Motion compensation, performed by motion compensation unit (not shown in FIG. 2), may involve fetching or generating the prediction block based on the motion/block vector determined by motion estimation, possibly performing interpolations to sub-pixel precision. Interpolation filtering may generate additional pixel samples from known pixel samples, thus potentially increasing the number of candidate prediction blocks that may be used to code a picture block. Upon receiving the motion vector for the PU of the current picture block, the motion compensation unit 246 may locate the prediction block to which the motion vector points in one of the reference picture lists. Motion compensation unit 246 may also generate syntax elements associated with the blocks and the video slice for use by video decoder 30 in decoding the picture blocks of the video slice. [0161] The intra prediction unit 254 is configured to obtain, e.g., receive, the picture block 203 (current picture block) and one or a plurality of previously reconstructed blocks, e.g., reconstructed neighbor blocks, of the same picture for intra estimation. The encoder 20 may, e.g., be configured to select an intra prediction mode from a plurality of (predetermined) intra prediction modes)
Solovyev teaches limitations of independent claims from different embodiments. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Solovyev teach claimed invention with predictable results because such integration of features in a single embodiment is well known in current state of technology.
Claim 19, has additional limitation of: transmitting the video media bitstream that includes the encoded information of the current block. (Solovyev [0121] As shown, in some examples, video coding system 40 may include antenna 42. Antenna 42 may be configured to transmit or receive an encoded bitstream of video data, for example. [0151] Embodiments of the mode selection unit 262 may be configured to select the prediction mode (e.g., from those supported by prediction processing unit 260), which provides the best match or in other words the minimum residual (minimum residual means better compression for transmission or storage), or a minimum signaling overhead (minimum signaling overhead means better compression for transmission or storage), or which considers or balances both.)
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 11-13, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solovyev (U.S. Pub. No. 20210243470 A1), in view of Laroche (U.S. Pub. No. 20240406434 A1).
Regarding to claim 2, 11 and 20:
2. Solovyev teach the method of claim1, wherein the constructing comprises: determining a potential candidate for adding into the candidate list; performing a first checking of the motion based inheritable parameter between the potential candidate and the first candidate that is an existing candidate in the candidate list to obtain a first checking result, the first checking result indicating whether the potential candidate has redundant information of the motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate; performing at least a second checking of the non-motion based inheritable parameter between the potential candidate and the first candidate to obtain a second checking result, the second checking result indicating whether the potential candidate has redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate; and determining that the potential candidate is redundant to the first candidate when the first checking result indicates that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate and the second checking result indicates that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate. (Solovyev Fig. 11 [0243] The proposed HMVP table updating logic is the same as in the conventional method. The difference is that a motion candidate (mvCand), which is the input for HMVP table updating process, in addition to two motion vectors, two reference indices and two prediction list utilization flags contains also generalized bi-prediction weight index. This bcwIdx index is stored in the HMVP table and can affect pruning procedure in HMVP table updating process (calculation of variable sameCand in description below). [0253] Inputs to HMVP table updating process are: [0254] A motion candidate mvCand with two motion vectors mvL0 and mvL1, two reference indices refIdxL0 and refIdxL1 [first check], two variable prediction list utilization flags predFlagL0 and predFlagL1 and the generalized bi-prediction weight index bcwIdx [second check])
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 except for the two-prong checking is not explicitly from the teaching of Solovyev
However Laroche teach wherein the constructing comprises: determining a potential candidate for adding into the candidate list; performing a first checking of the motion based inheritable parameter between the potential candidate and the first candidate that is an existing candidate in the candidate list to obtain a first checking result, the first checking result indicating whether the potential candidate has redundant information of the motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate; (Laroche [0175] In VVC, the regular Merge list is derived as in FIG. 10 and FIG. 11. First the spatial candidates B1 (1002), A1 (1006), B0 (1010), A0 (1014) (as depicted in FIG. 7) are added if they exist. And a partial redundancies are performed, between the motion information of A1 and B1 (1007) to add A1 (1008), [first checking] between the motion information of B0 and B1 (1011) to add B0 (1012) and between the motion information of A0 and A1 (1015) to add A0 (1016).)
performing at least a second checking of the non-motion based inheritable parameter between the potential candidate and the first candidate to obtain a second checking result, the second checking result indicating whether the potential candidate has redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate; and determining that the potential candidate is redundant to the first candidate when the first checking result indicates that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate and the second checking result indicates that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate. (Laroche [0053] Optionally, the parameter comprises a parameter related to tools which compensate illumination difference between the current block and neighboring samples. Preferably, the parameter comprises a weight for bi-prediction (BCWidx) or Local Illumination Compensation (LIC). [0170] In VVC, the bi-prediction mode with CU-level weight (BCW) is extended beyond simple averaging (as performed in HEVC) to allow weighted averaging of the two prediction signals P.sub.0 and P.sub.1 according to the following formula.
[0171] Five weights are allowed in the weighted averaging bi-prediction, where w∈{−2, 3, 4, 5, 10}. [0172] For a non-merge CU, the weight index, bcwIndex, is signalled after the motion vector difference. [0173] For a Merge CU, the weight index is inferred from neighbouring blocks based on the merge candidate index. [0174] BCW is used only for CUs with 256 or more luma samples. Moreover, for low-delay pictures, all 5 weights are used. And for non-low-delay pictures, only 3 weights (w= {3,4,5}) are used.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Solovyev, further incorporating Laroche in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the two-prong checking. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 3 and 12:
3. Solovyev teach the method of claim 2, wherein the motion based inheritable parameter (Solovyev [0011] a method is provided for determining motion information for a current block of a frame based on a history-based motion vector predictor, HMVP, list, comprising the operations: constructing the HMVP list, which is an ordered list of N history-based [inheritable] candidates H.sub.k, k=0, . . . , N−1, associated with motion information of N preceding blocks of the frame preceding the current block, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1, wherein each history-based candidate comprises motion information including elements: i) one or more motion vectors, MVs, [motion based inheritable parameter] ii) one or more reference picture indices corresponding to the MVs, and iii) one or more bi-prediction weight indices; adding one or more history-based candidates from the HMVP list into a motion information candidate list for the current block; and deriving the motion information based on the motion information candidate list) comprises a motion vector (MV) when the current block is in an inter prediction mode. (Solovyev [0158] The inter prediction unit 244 may include motion estimation (ME) unit (not shown in FIG. 2) and motion compensation (MC) unit (not shown in FIG. 2). The motion estimation unit is configured to receive or obtain the picture block 203 (current picture block 203 of the current picture 201) and a decoded picture 231, or at least one or a plurality of previously reconstructed blocks, e.g., reconstructed blocks of one or a plurality of other/different previously decoded pictures 231, for motion estimation. E.g. a video sequence may comprise the current picture and the previously decoded pictures 231, or in other words, the current picture and the previously decoded pictures 231 may be part of or form a sequence of pictures forming a video sequence. [0159] The encoder 20 may, e.g., be configured to select a reference block from a plurality of reference blocks of the same or different pictures of the plurality of other pictures and provide a reference picture (or reference picture index, . . . ) and/or an offset (spatial offset) between the position (x, y coordinates) of the reference block and the position of the current block as inter prediction parameters to the motion estimation unit (not shown in FIG. 2). This offset is also called motion vector (MV))
Regarding to claim 4 and 13:
4. Solovyev teach the method of claim 3, wherein the non-motion based inheritable parameter comprises a bi-prediction with coding unit level weights (BCW) index. (Solovyev [0281] the generalized bi-prediction weight indices bcwIdx [non-motion because it is relational information and not related to motion and the index is needed so non-redundent. Index is related to neighbor so it’s a inheritable parameter] of every candidate in mergeCandList. FIG. 11 [0053] The result of the element-based comparison is referred to as C-result in FIG. 11. [0054] If the C-result is that at least one or more elements are different, the motion information of the current block is added to the HMVP list (operation 1103). Otherwise, if all elements are the same, the respective motion information is not added to the HMVP list (operation 1104). [0055] The term “all” refers to those elements that are actually used in the element-wise comparison. This means that a subset of elements of the motion information may be used for the comparison, in view of the motion information comprising i) one or more MVs, ii), one or more reference picture indices, iii) a bi-prediction weight index. Also, said motion information may entail iv) one or more indices different from the bcw index. [0056] For example, as a possible subset of elements of the motion information may include the MVs and the reference picture indices. The above comparison would then be performed only on checking differences with respect to the MVs and the reference picture indices, irrespective of whether or not the other elements not part of the subset are the same. In the given example, these elements excluded from the comparison would be the bcw index and the one or more other indices different from the bcw index.)
Regarding to claim 8 and 17:
8. Solovyev teach the method of claim 2, wherein the constructing comprises: determining that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate when the non-motion based inheritable parameter of the potential candidate is exactly same as the first candidate. (Solovyev [0023] The comparing of a HMVP candidate from the HMVP list with a preceding block and/or current block means that said comparison is performed on an element-by-element basis Further, the result of the comparing (also referred to as C-result) has its usual meaning in terms of a simple comparison of elements whether or not the like-element(s) are the same or differ. In other words, the C-result of the at least one or more elements may indicate that the HMVP candidate and the preceding and/or current block may differ in at least one element. If that is the case (i.e. the C-result=different), the respective motion information of the preceding block and/or current block is added to the HMVP list.)
Regarding to claim 9 and 18:
9. Solovyev teach the method of claim 2, wherein the constructing comprises: determining that the potential candidate has the redundant information of the non-motion based inheritable parameter as the first candidate (Solovyev [0217] Generalized bi-prediction (GBi) was proposed by C.-C. Chen, X. Xiu, Y. He and Y. Ye, “Generalized bi-prediction for inter coding,” Joint Video Exploration Team of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11, JVET-00047, May 2016. GBi applies unequal weights to predictors from list 0 and list 1 in bi-prediction mode. In the inter-prediction mode, multiple weight pairs including the equal weight pair (½, ½) are evaluated based on rate-distortion optimization, and the GBi index of the selected weight pair [redundant information because of equal weight] is signaled to the decoder. [0218] In merge mode, the GBi index is inherited from a neighboring CU. The predictor generation in bi-prediction mode is shown in Equation (1). P.sub.GBi=(w.sub.0*P.sub.L0+ w.sub.1*P.sub.L1+RoundingOffset.sub.GBi)>>shiftNum.sub.GBi, (1) [0219] where P.sub.GBi is the final predictor of GBi. w.sub.0 and w.sub.1 are the selected GBi weight pair and applied to the predictors of list 0 (L0) and list 1 (L1), respectively. RoundingOffset.sub.GBi and shiftNum.sub.GBi are used to normalize the final predictor in GBi. The supported w.sub.1 weight set is {−¼, ⅜, ½, ⅝, 5/4}, in which the five weights correspond to one equal weight pair and four unequal weight pairs. The sum of w.sub.1 and w.sub.0 is fixed to 1.0. Therefore, the corresponding w.sub.0 weight set is { 5/4, ⅝, ½, ⅜, −¼}. The weight pair selection is at CU-level.)
when a difference of the non-motion based inheritable parameter between the potential candidate and the first candidate is within a range. (Solovyev [0031] In an embodiment, the simple comparison may be extended by comparing whether at least one of the elements of the HMVP candidates is equal and/or smaller than the corresponding element of the preceding block and/or current block. Alternatively and or in addition, as comparing criteria the “equal and/or larger” may be used. Said smaller/larger criteria may be applied differently for each of the elements of the motion information.)
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solovyev (U.S. Pub. No. 20210243470 A1), in view of Laroche (U.S. Pub. No. 20240406434 A1), further in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20240223797 A1).
Regarding to claim 5 and 14:
5. Solovyev teach the method of claim 2, Solovyev do not explicitly teach wherein the motion based inheritable parameter comprises a block vector (BV) when the current block is in an intra block copy (IBC) mode.
However Chen teach wherein the motion based inheritable parameter comprises a block vector (BV) when the current block is in an intra block copy (IBC) mode. (Chen [0072] Video encoder 200 encodes data representing the prediction mode for a current block. For example, for inter-prediction modes, video encoder 200 may encode data representing which of the various available inter-prediction modes is used, as well as motion information for the corresponding mode. For uni-directional or bi-directional inter-prediction, for example, video encoder 200 may encode motion vectors using advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) or merge mode. Video encoder 200 may use similar modes to encode motion vectors for affine motion compensation mode. [0073] According to the techniques of this disclosure, video encoder 200 may also determine to predict a current block using intra-block copy (IBC) mode. In IBC mode, video encoder 200 may predict a current block in a current frame from a previously encoded block in the same frame. Video encoder 200 may perform a displacement search to determine an actual block vector (sometimes referred to as a displacement vector) that identifies the position of a reference block relative to the position of the current block. Video encoder 200 may then encode the actual block vector)
The motivation for combining Solovyev and Laroche as set forth in claim 2 is equally applicable to claim 5. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Solovyev, further incorporating Laroche and Chen in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the motion based inheritable parameter comprises a block vector (BV) when the current block is in an intra block copy (IBC) mode. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 6 and 15:
6. Solovyev teach the method of claim 5, Solovyev do not explicitly teach wherein the non-motion based inheritable parameter comprises a reconstruction reordered type of IBC for the IBC mode.
However Chen teach wherein the non-motion based inheritable parameter comprises a reconstruction reordered type of IBC for the IBC mode. (Chen [0090] FIGS. 3 and 4 are conceptual diagrams illustrating examples of flipping a block of video data. FIG. 3 depicts an example of a horizontal flip 140. FIG. 4 depicts an example of a vertical flip 142. A Reconstruction-Reordered IBC (RR-IBC) mode is allowed for IBC coded blocks. When RR-IBC is applied, the samples in a reconstruction block are flipped according to a flip type of the current block. At the encoder side, the original block is flipped before motion search and residual calculation, while the prediction block is derived without flipping. At the decoder side, the reconstruction block is flipped back to restore the original block.)
Regarding to claim 7 and 16:
7. Solovyev teach the method of claim 6, Solovyev do not explicitly teach wherein the non-motion based inheritable parameter comprises at least one of a vertical flip and a horizontal flip.
However Chen teach wherein the non-motion based inheritable parameter comprises at least one of a vertical flip and a horizontal flip. (Chen [0091] Two flip methods, horizontal flip and vertical flip, are supported for RR-IBC coded blocks.)
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20260032252 A1 is/are pertinent to the claim(s).
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896