DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 19 claims and claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/01/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on September 08, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 7, 16 and 18-20 are amended. Claims 6 has been canceled and claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending.
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/10/2017 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been entered and fully considered. While the applicant’s argument points are understood, the examiner respectfully disagrees it is because Deng-2 teaches discloses wherein at least one syntax element (SE) in the bitstream indicates a target entry in a list of the at least one list, the target CCP model being determined based on the target entry([0003-0006]- a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 4,5, 7,8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2022/0239897 A1) in view of Deng et al. (2022/0248025 A1; hereinafter as Deng-2).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses a method for video processing([see in Fig. 1]-fig. 1 discloses a method of video processing), comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video([para 0003-0006]- determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video), at least one list of cross component prediction (CCP) models for the current video block([para 0003-0006]- determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video).
However, Deng does not exclusively disclose determining a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models; and performing the conversion based on the target CCP model.
In an analogous art, Deng-2 discloses determining a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models([claim 1]- for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block); and performing the conversion based on the target CCP model([para 0010-0011]- for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, model parameters for a cross-component prediction model for the current video block and performing the conversion based on the determining, wherein, during the determining, selecting neighbor samples for a cross-component prediction is applied), wherein at least one syntax element (SE) in the bitstream indicates a target entry in a list of the at least one list, the target CCP model being determined based on the target entry([0003-0006]- a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deng-2 to the modified system of Deng for performing cross-component prediction of samples in a coding block , for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video [Deng-2, abstract].
Regarding claim 2, Deng-2 discloses wherein the current video block comprises a chroma block coded with a list mode, and a prediction of the chroma block is determined based on the target CCP model in the at least one list, and/or wherein at least one CCP model and at least one type of the at least one CCP model is stored in a list of CCP models of the at least one list of CCP models([claim 1]- for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block).
Regarding claim 4, Deng discloses wherein at least one syntax element (SE) in the bitstream indicates whether a CCP model in the at least one list is used([claim 5]- wherein a first syntax element indicating a number of models for the cross-component prediction is included in the bitstream).
Regarding claim 5, Deng discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is included in the bitstream based on at least one of: a first condition that a predefined coding mode is applied, wherein the predefined coding mode comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode([para 0066]- present aspects generally relates to cross-component prediction (CCP). In conventional video encoding/decoding, two parameters, i.e., alpha and beta, are derived for a linear model of CCP), or a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) mode, a second condition that a current coding mode of the current video block is the predefined coding mode, or a third condition that a list mode is applicable, wherein in the list mode, a CCP model is determined based on the at least one list of CCP models.
Regarding claim 7, Deng discloses wherein the at least one syntax element indicates an index of the target entry, wherein the at least one syntax element is determined by one of: f(k), or f(k, M), where f( ) denotes a metric for the at least one syntax element, k denotes an index of the target entry, and M denotes one of: a number of valid entries in the list, or the size of the list, or wherein the at least one syntax element is determined by M-1-k, where k denotes an index of the target entry, and M denotes one of: the number of valid entries in the list, or the size of the list, or wherein the at least one syntax element is equal to the index([para 220, 226, 0235]- cross-component model calculation. In another example, for the reference line index of the multiple reference line (MRL) coding tool denoted as mrlIdx, the reference sample located in the k-th neighbor lines/rows where k=mrlIdx>>factor may be used for cross-component model calculation, where the factor is a constant, such as equaling to 1).
Regarding claim 8, Deng discloses wherein a size of a list of CCP models of the at least one list of CCP models is fixed([para 0236]- a specified cross-component prediction mode, the number of groups/models used to code the current coding block may be determined on-the-fly (other than predefined/fixed)).
Regarding claim 9, Deng discloses wherein the at least one list comprises a plurality of lists of CCP models([para 0013]- determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block and a bitstream of the video, a first prediction for the current video block based on a first model for a cross-component prediction associated with a cross-component prediction mode and a second prediction for the current video block based on a second model for a non-cross-component prediction associated with a non-cross-component prediction mode and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Regarding claim 10, Deng discloses wherein at least one syntax element (SE) in the bitstream indicates a target list of CCP models in the plurality of lists of CCP models, wherein the at least one syntax element is included in the bitstream based on at least one of: a first condition that a list mode is applicable, wherein in the list mode, a CCP model is determined based on the at least one list of CCP models, or a second condition that more than one list of CCP models is available to be selected([para 0012]- utilizing one or more models for a cross-component prediction associated with a cross-component prediction mode and performing the conversion based on the determining and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Regarding claim 7, Deng discloses wherein the at least one syntax element indicates an index of the target entry, wherein the at least one syntax element is determined by one of: f(k), or f(k, M), where f( ) denotes a metric for the at least one syntax element, k denotes an index of the target entry, and M denotes one of: the number of valid entries in the list, or the size of the list, or wherein the at least one syntax element is determined by M-1-k, where k denotes an index of the target entry, and M denotes one of: the number of valid entries in the list, or the size of the list, or wherein the at least one syntax element is equal to the index([para 220, 226, 0235]- cross-component model calculation. In another example, for the reference line index of the multiple reference line (MRL) coding tool denoted as mrlIdx, the reference sample located in the k-th neighbor lines/rows where k=mrlIdx>>factor may be used for cross-component model calculation, where the factor is a constant, such as equaling to 1).
Regarding claim 11, Deng discloses wherein a target list of the plurality of lists of CCP models is determined during the conversion, wherein a current mode of the current video block is a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode, and the target list is a first list of the plurality of lists, the first list storing models of CCLM and variant of CCLM, or wherein a current mode of the current video block is a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) mode, and the target list is a second list of the plurality of lists, the second list storing models of CCCM and variant of CCCM([para 0144, 0211, 0276]- For MRL mode, the derivation of DC value in DC intra-prediction mode for non-zero reference line indices can be aligned with that of reference line index 0. MRL may store 3 neighboring luma reference lines with a CTU to generate predictions. The Cross-Component Linear Model (CCLM) tool may store 3 neighboring luma reference lines for its down-sampling filters. The definition of MRL to use the same 3 lines can be aligned as CCLM to reduce the storage requirements for decoders).
Regarding claim 12, Deng-2 discloses wherein an entry in a list of the at least one list of CCP models comprises a CCP model for a single color component, wherein the single color component comprises a first chroma component or a second chroma component, and/or wherein the entry is selected for the current video block, and a corresponding color component of the current video block is coded by the CCP model in the entry([para 0003]- for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Regarding claim 13, Deng-2 discloses wherein an entry in a list of the at least one list of CCP models comprises a CCP model for a single color component, wherein the single color component comprises a first chroma component or a second chroma component, and/or wherein the entry is selected for the current video block, and a corresponding color component of the current video block is coded by the CCP model in the entry([para 0003-0006]- for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video, an offset parameter of a cross-component prediction model that is based on a derived sample value from two or more neighbor samples of the current video block and performing the conversion based on the determining).
Regarding claim 14, Deng-2 discloses wherein determining the at least one list comprises: for a list of the at least one list, adding at least one of the following candidates into the list: a CCP model of an adjacent neighboring block of the current video block, a CCP model of a non-adjacent neighboring block of the current video block,a CCP model of a collocated block in a reference picture of the current video block, a CCP model of a reference block in a reference picture of the current video block, a CCP model in a history table of CCP models, a CCP model determined from non-adjacent samples of the current video block, or a default CCP model([para 0217]- ethods may be applied to any kinds of CCLM mode, such as CCLM-LT, CCLM-T or CCLM-L. Beta may be calculated by the derived values as: beta=derivedChroma−((alpha*derivedLuma)>>shiftX), where alpha denotes the scaling factor applying to luma reconstructed value, shiftX denotes a constant value, and derivedChroma and derivedLuma may be calculated based on the aspects of the present disclosure. In above examples, the neighboring samples are those adjacent from current chroma block and/or corresponding luma block of the current chroma block. Alternatively, the neighboring samples are those non-adjacent from current chroma block and/or corresponding luma block of the current chroma block. In one example, indication of the non-adjacent samples may be signaled or derived on-the-fly (real time or near real time)).
Regarding claim 17, Deng discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream([para 0003-0006]- determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video that is a chroma block coded with a cross-component prediction mode and a bitstream of the video).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 18 have been met in method claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 19 have been met in method claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 20 have been met in method claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng in view of Deng-2 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2023/0412797).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Deng and Deng-2 do not exclusively disclose wherein a list of CCP models of the at least one list is filled with at least one CCP model of a single type, wherein the single type comprises a type of convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), or wherein a list of CCP models of the at least one list is filled with CCP models of a plurality of types, wherein the plurality of types comprises a type of cross-component linear model (CCLM) and a type of convolutional cross-component model (CCCM).
In an analogous art, Zhao discloses wherein a list of CCP models of the at least one list is filled with at least one CCP model of a single type, wherein the single type comprises a type of convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), or wherein a list of CCP models of the at least one list is filled with CCP models of a plurality of types, wherein the plurality of types comprises a type of cross-component linear model (CCLM) and a type of convolutional cross-component model (CCCM)([para 0029; 0192]- the cross-component prediction mode can include, but are not limited to a CCLM mode, a CfL mode (e.g., a CfL defined in AV1), a multi-model CCLM mode, a multiple filter CCLM mode, a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) mode, or the like. The CCCM mode can be configured to predict chroma samples from reconstructed luma samples in a similar way as the CCCM mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deng-2 to the modified system of Deng methods and apparatuses for video encoding/decoding, and purpose of image and/or video coding and decoding can be the reduction of redundancy in the input image and/or video signal, through compression. Compression can help reduce the aforementioned bandwidth and/or storage space requirements, in some cases by two orders of magnitude or more [Zhao; para 0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, The method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one list comprises: for a list of the at least one list, determining a plurality of candidate CCP models; determining whether the plurality of candidate CCP models is to be added into the list based on an order of the plurality of CCP models; and determining the list based on the determining whether the plurality of candidate CCP models is to be added into the list, wherein the order comprises an order of: a CCP model of an adjacent neighboring block of the current video block, a CCP model of a non-adjacent neighboring block of the current video block, a CCP model in a history table of CCP models and a CCP model determined from non-adjacent samples of the current video block.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. CHOI et al., US 2022/0038683 A1, discloses image coding technology, and more particularly, to an intra prediction method and apparatus for the same based on a cross-component linear model (CCLM) in an image coding system.
2. Zhang et. al., US 2021/0211654 A1, discloses systems and methods for digital video processing, which includes intra mode coding based on history information.
3. LIM et al., US 2020/0413069 A1, discloses an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus for performing intra prediction mode based intra prediction are provided. An image decoding method may comprise decoding an intra prediction mode of a current block.
4. Zhang et al., US 2016/0105657 A1, discloses a video coder transforms, based on a difference between a bit depth of an initial luma sample and a bit depth of initial chroma samples, a set of initial samples to a set of modified samples.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487