Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 17-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of copending Applications and additionally the claims in the rejections listed below for similar mappings and rationales:
19260113
19260188
19260146
1. A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model of the current video block;
and performing the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein at least one history table (HT) of CCP model is determined based on the at least one CCP model.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CCP model comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), or a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM).
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream.
l8. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model of the current video block; and perform the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein at least one history table (HT) of CCP model is determined based on the at least one CCP model.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model of the current video block; and performing the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein at least one history table (HT) of CCP model is determined based on the at least one CCP model.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: determining at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model of a current video block of the video; and generating the bitstream based on the at least one CCPmodel, wherein at least one history table (HT) of CCP model is determined based on the at least one CCP model.
1. A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block
based on at least one history table (HT) of CCP models;
and performing the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein the at least one history table of CCP models is updated before or after coding a video unit.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CCP model comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), a variant of CCLM, a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), or a variant of CCCM.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream.
18. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block based on at least one history table (HT) of CCP models; and perform the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein the at least one history table of CCP models is updated before or after coding a video unit.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block based on at least one history table (HT) of CCP models; and performing the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein the at least one history table of CCP models is updated before or after coding a video unit.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: determining at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model for a current video block of the video based on at least one history table (HT) of CCP models; and generating the bitstream based on the at least one CCP model, wherein the at least one history table of CCP models is updated before or after coding a video unit.
1. A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one target cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block
based on a history table of CCP models or a list of CCP candidates; determining a prediction of the current video block based on CCP information of the at least one target CCP model; and performing the conversion based on the prediction.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream.
18. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one target cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block based on a history table of CCP models or a list of CCP candidates; determine a prediction of the current video block based on CCP information of the at least one target CCP model; and perform the conversion based on the prediction.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one target cross component prediction (CCP) model for the current video block based on a history table of CCP models or a list of CCP candidates; determining a prediction of the current video block based on CCP information of the at least one target CCP model; and performing the conversion based on the prediction.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: determining at least one target cross component prediction (CCP) model for a current video block of the video based on a history table of CCP models or a list of CCP candidates; determining a prediction of the current video block based on CCP information of the at least one target CCP model; and generating the bitstream based on the prediction.
19260068
19/543781
19/438374
1. A method for video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one list of cross component prediction (CCP) models for the current video block;
determining a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models; and performing the conversion based on the target CCP model.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream.
18. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one list of cross component prediction (CCP) models for the current video block; determine a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models; and perform the conversion based on the target CCP model.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one list of cross component prediction (CCP) models for the current video block; determining a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models; and performing the conversion based on the target CCP model.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: determining at least one list of cross component prediction (CCP) models for a current video block of the video; determining a target CCP model based on the at least one list of CCP models; and generating the bitstream based on the target CCP model.
1. A method for video processing, comprising: deriving, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a cross-component prediction (CCP) model of a current block of the video unit, based on a previous CCP model coded block; and performing the conversion based on the CCP model.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, and/or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream.
19. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising: deriving, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a cross-component prediction (CCP) model of a current block of the video unit, based on a previous CCP model coded block; and performing the conversion based on the CCP model.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising: deriving, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a cross-component prediction (CCP) model of a current block of the video unit, based on a previous CCP model coded block; and performing the conversion based on the CCP model.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises: generating the bitstream from the video, and the method further comprises: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
1. A method of video processing, comprising: applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, at least one of the following in a cross-component prediction (CCP) model: a set of luma samples or a set of additional luma samples; determining a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit by applying the CCP model to the video unit; and performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream.
18. An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising: applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, at least one of the following in a cross-component prediction (CCP) model: a set of luma samples or a set of additional luma samples; determining a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit by applying the CCP model to the video unit; and performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising: applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, at least one of the following in a cross-component prediction (CCP) model: a set of luma samples or a set of additional luma samples; determining a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit by applying the CCP model to the video unit; and performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: applying at least one of the following in a cross-component prediction (CCP) model: a set of luma samples or a set of additional luma samples; determining a prediction or reconstruction of a video unit of the video by applying the CCP model to the video unit; and generating the bitstream based on the prediction or reconstruction.
The limitations that are not addressed above and not explicitly disclosed, however Lim teaches what is mapped below in the 103 rejection
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to derive prediction parameters when the current block is a non-square block. (Lim 0544)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. US 2020/0413069
In regard to claim 20, it is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, the identified claim and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, the claim is anticipated by
Lim, which discloses
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts (0706)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. US 2020/0413069 in view of Sarwer et al. US 2022/0279176.
Lim discloses:
18. and under similar rationales 1, 19, 20, An apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon (0706), wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, at least one cross component prediction (CCP) model of the current video block (0121, 0548-50, 0553, 0683, 0686);
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches and perform the conversion based on the at least one CCP model, wherein at least one history table (HT) of CCP model is determined based on the at least one CCP model (0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CCP model comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), or a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) (0548-50).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the at least one table comprises a list of ordered entries, each entry being associated with a set of CCP models, wherein each entry in the table comprises an index (0121, 0548-50, 0553, 0683, 0686).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches history table (HT) (0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CCP model is for a plurality of color components, wherein the plurality of color components comprises a first chroma component and a second chroma component (0548-61).
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one CCP model comprises a first model for the first chroma component and a second model for the second chroma component, the first and second models being (0548-61)
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches associated with an entry in a history table of the at least one history table(0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one history table comprises a plurality of history tables for a plurality of types of CCP models, wherein a first history table of the plurality of history tables stores models of at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), a CCLM based on top neighboring samples of the current video block (CCLM-T), or a CCLM based on left neighboring samples of the current video block (CCLM-L), and/or wherein a second history table of the plurality of history tables stores models of at least one of: a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), a CCCM based on top neighboring samples of the current video block (CCCM-T), or a CCCM based on left neighboring samples of the current video block (CCCM-L) (0121, 0548-50, 0553, 0683, 0686).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches history table (HT) (0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one history table comprises a first history table comprising at least one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), a CCLM based on top neighboring samples of the current video block (CCLM-T), a CCLM based on left neighboring samples of the current video block (CCLM-L), a multi-model based CCLM (MM-CCLM), a multi-model based CCLM-T (MM-CCCM-T), multi-model based CCLM-L (MM-CCCM-L), a gradient linear model (GLM), or a CCLM with slope adjustment (0121, 0548-50, 0553, 0683, 0686).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches history table (HT) (0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one history table is stored, and the at least one CCP model in the at least one history table is applied for a further video block coded with a history-based CCP (H-CCP) mode 13. The method of claim 12, wherein a segment in an entry of the first history table indicates the number of models stored in the entry, or wherein a segment in an entry of the first history table indicates at least one threshold for classifying samples into a plurality of groups of models, or wherein a segment in an entry of the first history table indicates whether GLM is applied, or wherein a segment in an entry of the first history table indicates a down-sampling filter of GLM.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sarwer teaches history table (HT) (0125-8; 0239).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the overhead bit of signaling the filter coefficients (Sarwer 0125)
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (Figs 1 & 2; ).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. US 2020/0413069 in view of Sarwer et al. US 2022/0279176 and further in view of Xu et al. US 2022/0150474.
3. The method of claim 2,
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following, however Xu teaches wherein a set of model parameters of the CCLM comprises at least one model parameter controlling a calculation precision, or wherein a set of model parameters of the CCLM comprises at least one parameter for a linear operation and at least one parameter for a nonlinear operation (0067-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to allows implementations to calculate identical mapping values on-the-fly without pre-computing the LUTs (Xu 0067-72)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-11, 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2483