The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2024/0015333 A1) in view of XU et al. (US 2022/0086447 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method of video processing, comprising([abstract]-video processing method): determining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video([see in Fig. 12]- video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data, e.g., syntax elements describing partitioning of a picture into blocks (e.g., CUs) and prediction and/or residual information for the blocks. Ultimately, video decoder 300 may receive the bitstream and decode the encoded video data), a fusion of intra template matching prediction (intra TMP) mode and a coding tool([para 0033];[0037];[0264];[0268]- FIG. 12, motion estimation unit 222 includes a template matching unit 228 may implement template-matching coding tools, such as TM-AMVP, GPM split mode reordering, candidate reordering for regular MMVD and affine MMVD, MVD sign prediction, reference picture reordering, template-matching merge mode, template-matching GPM, template-matching CIIP, adaptive re-ordering of merge candidates, TMVP and non-adjacent merge candidate type reordering, TM-OBMC, IntraTMP, IBC-TM-AMVP, and IBC-TM-AMVP); deriving a prediction or reconstruction of the video unit based on the fusion of intra TPM mode and the coding tool(see in Fig. 12 and [para 0033];[0037];[0264];[0268]- FIG. 12, motion estimation unit 222 includes a template matching unit 228 may implement template-matching coding tools, such as TM-AMVP, GPM split mode reordering, candidate reordering for regular MMVD and affine MMVD, MVD sign prediction, reference picture reordering, template-matching merge mode, template-matching GPM, template-matching CIIP, adaptive re-ordering of merge candidates, TMVP and non-adjacent merge candidate type reordering, TM-OBMC, IntraTMP, IBC-TM-AMVP, and IBC-TM-AMVP).
However, Chen does not explicitly discloses performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction of the video unit.
In an analogous art, XU discloses performing the conversion based on the prediction or reconstruction of the video unit([see in Fig. 36]- at 3602, generating, for a conversion between a block of a video and a bitstream representation of the block, prediction for the block with a combined method which uses intra block copy (IBC) prediction and intra prediction in combination; and at 3604, performing the conversion based on the prediction.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of XU to the modified system of Chen provides various techniques that can be used by a decoder of image or video bitstreams to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images. For brevity, the term “video” is used herein to include both a sequence of pictures (traditionally called video) and individual images. Furthermore, a video encoder may also implement these techniques during the process of encoding in order to reconstruct decoded frames used for further encoding [XU; para 0049].
Regarding claim 2, XU discloses wherein the coding tool is one of: an inter prediction mode, a palette mode, an intra block copy (IBC) mode, or a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM) mode([see in Fig. 36]- at 3602, generating, for a conversion between a block of a video and a bitstream representation of the block, prediction for the block with a combined method which uses intra block copy (IBC) prediction and intra prediction in combination; and at 3604, performing the conversion based on the prediction.).
Regarding claim 3, XU discloses wherein the coding tool is an intra prediction mode([[para 0164]- coding tools for inter prediction improvement, such as Adaptive Motion Vector difference Resolution (AMVR) for signaling MVD, Merge with Motion Vector Differences (MMVD), Triangular prediction mode (TPM), Combined intra-inter prediction (CIIP), Advanced TMVP (ATMVP, aka SbTMVP), affine prediction mode, Generalized Bi-Prediction (GBI), Decoder-side Motion Vector Refinement (DMVR) and Bi-directional Optical flow (BIO, a.k.a BDOF)).
Regarding claim 4, XU discloses wherein the intra prediction mode comprises one of: a conventional intra prediction mode, or
other intra prediction mode which obtains a prediction block with samples in one of excluding intra template matching prediction: a current slice, a current tile, a current subpicture, a current picture, or other video unit, and/or
wherein the intra prediction method comprises one of: a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD), a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD), an intra sub-partition (ISP), a matrix weighted intra prediction (MIP), a multiple reference line (MRL), a position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC)([0566]- a position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC) mode is disabled when generating the intra prediction signal), a Gradient PDPC, an intra prediction fusion, or a template-based multiple reference line intra prediction (TMRL), and/or([para 0075]- Intra Sub-Partitions (ISP))
wherein the intra prediction method comprises one of: a cross-component linear model (CCLM), a variant of CCLM, a multi-model CCLM, a left CCLM, an above CCLM, a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM), a variant of CCCM, a left CCCM, an above CCCM, a gradient linear model (GLM), or a variant of GLM([para 0071; 0073-0074]- Cross-Component Linear Model Prediction (CCLM); [0073]- 2.2.4. Multiple Reference Line (MRL) Intra Prediction; [0164]- Decoder-side Motion Vector Refinement (DMVR) ).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein one or more intra TMP candidates are used to generate an Intra TMP prediction signal([0034]- a video encoder may signal, in a bitstream that includes an encoded representation of the video data, a syntax element that indicates whether a template-matching tool is enabled. Based on the template-matching tool being enabled, the video encoder may apply the template-matching tool to generate a prediction block for a current CU of the video data).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein a derivation of the one or more intra TMP candidates is different from intra TMP, or wherein the derivation of the one or more intra TMP candidates is same as intra TMP signal([0034];[0096]- a video encoder may signal, in a bitstream that includes an encoded representation of the video data, a syntax element that indicates whether a template-matching tool is enabled. Based on the template-matching tool being enabled, the video encoder may apply the template-matching tool to generate a prediction block for a current CU of the video data).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein a current template used to derive the Intra TMP candidates is different([0034];[0096]- a video encoder may signal, in a bitstream that includes an encoded representation of the video data, a syntax element that indicates whether a template-matching tool is enabled. Based on the template-matching tool being enabled, the video encoder may apply the template-matching tool to generate a prediction block for a current CU of the video data).
Regarding claim 8,Chen discloses wherein a plurality of intra TMP candidates is derived different([0034];[0096]- a video encoder may signal, in a bitstream that includes an encoded representation of the video data, a syntax element that indicates whether a template-matching tool is enabled. Based on the template-matching tool being enabled, the video encoder may apply the template-matching tool to generate a prediction block for a current CU of the video data).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of intra TMP candidates is derived from different searching regions, and/or wherein at least two intra TMP candidates are derived from a same searching region, and/or wherein which intra TMP candidate is used for the fusion is predefined, or wherein which intra TMP candidate is used for the fusion is indicated using a syntax element, or wherein which intra TMP candidate is used for the fusion is derived, and/or wherein the number of intra TMP candidates is predefined, wherein the number of intra TMP candidates is indicated, or wherein the number of intra TMP candidates is derived([see in fig. 10]- an example intra template matching search area).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein one or more intra prediction modes (IPMs) are used to generate an intra prediction signal([0054];[0066];[0068]-intra-prediction mode).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses wherein the one or more IPMs are predefined, or wherein the one or more IPMs are indicated, or wherein the one or more IPMs are derived([0054];[0066];[0068]; [0070]; [0103]- an intra prediction signal).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein one or more intra TMP candidates are reordered before being used to generate an intra TMP prediction signal or intra prediction signal, and/or wherein one or more IPMs are reordered before being used to generate the intra TMP prediction signal or intra prediction signal([0054];[0066];[0068]; [0070]; [0103]- an intra prediction signal).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein at least one of: an intra prediction signal or a final predicted signal is refined by a filtering process, or wherein at least one of: the intra prediction signal or a fused predicted signal is refined by the filtering process, and/or wherein the intra TMP mode and a plurality of coding tools are fused, and/or wherein the intra TMP mode and the coding tool with a plurality of prediction signals are fused([0054];[0066];[0068]; [0070]; [0103]- an intra prediction signal), and/or wherein P(x, y) = WrPI *IP1(x, y)+W1P2*IP2(x, y)+ ... + WIPn*IPn(x, y)+ WTMPI *IntraTMP1(x, y)+ WTMP2* IntraTMP2(x, y)+ ... + WTMPm*IntraTMP m(X, y), wherein P(x, y) represents the prediction of the video unit, IPk(X, y) represents a prediction signal generated by the k-th intra prediction, IntraTMPj(x, y) represents a prediction signal generated by the j-th intra TMP, WrPk represents a weighting parameter corresponding to the prediction signal generated by the k-th intra prediction, WTMPi represents a weighting parameter corresponding to prediction signal generated by the j-th intra TMP, and i, j, n and mare integer numbers.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein a set of weighting parameters used to fuse an intra TMP prediction signal and intra prediction signal is pre-defined, or wherein the set of weighting parameters is indicated, or wherein the set of weighting parameters is derived([0103];[0125];[0129]- Template matching with overlapped block motion compensation (TM-OBMC) is now discussed. In a template matching based overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC) scheme, instead of directly using the weighted prediction).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses wherein an intra prediction signal and an intra TMP prediction signal are used in the fusion of the intra TMP mode and the coding tool([para 0033];[0037];[0264];[0268]- FIG. 12, motion estimation unit 222 includes a template matching unit 228 may implement template-matching coding tools, such as TM-AMVP, GPM split mode reordering, candidate reordering for regular MMVD and affine MMVD, MVD sign prediction, reference picture reordering, template-matching merge mode, template-matching GPM, template-matching CIIP, adaptive re-ordering of merge candidates, TMVP and non-adjacent merge candidate type reordering, TM-OBMC, IntraTMP, IBC-TM-AMVP, and IBC-TM-AMVP), and/or wherein the set of weighting parameters is signalled, and/or wherein the set of weighting parameters are derived using coding information.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses wherein coding information used the fusion of intra TPM mode and the coding tool is used for coding subsequent video units of the video unit, and/or wherein coding information used the fusion of intra TPM mode and the coding tool is not used for coding subsequent video units of the video unit, and/or wherein a signal of an intra TMP prediction signal and a signal of a second prediction are fused by directly combining the intra TMP prediction signal and the second prediction signal based on positions, and/or wherein a plurality of fusion approaches is applied to intra TMP, and/or wherein whether to and/or a way to apply the fusion of intra TPM mode and the coding tool for the video unit depends on coding information, and/or wherein a way to do template matching for a block depends on whether the block is to be fused by the intra TMP and a second prediction, and/or wherein whether to and/or a way to apply the fusion of intra TPM mode and the coding tool depends on at least one of: color format or color components([para 0033];[0037];[0264];[0268]- FIG. 12, motion estimation unit 222 includes a template matching unit 228 may implement template-matching coding tools, such as TM-AMVP, GPM split mode reordering, candidate reordering for regular MMVD and affine MMVD, MVD sign prediction, reference picture reordering, template-matching merge mode, template-matching GPM, template-matching CIIP, adaptive re-ordering of merge candidates, TMVP and non-adjacent merge candidate type reordering, TM-OBMC, IntraTMP, IBC-TM-AMVP, and IBC-TM-AMVP).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream([see in Fig. 12]- video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data, e.g., syntax elements describing partitioning of a picture into blocks (e.g., CUs) and prediction and/or residual information for the blocks. Ultimately, video decoder 300 may receive the bitstream and decode the encoded video data).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 18 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 19 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 20 have been met in claim 1.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. XU et al., US 2022/0086447 A1, discloses techniques may be used by video or image decoder or encoder embodiments in which intra and inter block-based coding or decoding is performed using certain coding rules.
2. Zhang et. al., US 2022/0086433 A1, discloses determining that a first video block of a visual media data uses a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) and a second video block of the visual media data uses a non-GPM mode;.
3. ZHANG et al., US 2022/0103834 A1, discloses determining, for a conversion between a first video block of a visual media data and a bitstream representation of the visual media data.
4. Li et al., US 2022/0132119 A1, discloses performing a conversion between a current video block of a visual media data and a bitstream representation of the current video block.
5. LE et al., US 2023/0396805 A1; a method or an apparatus for video encoding or decoding, and more particularly, to a method or an apparatus for using template matching prediction in combination with other coding tools.
6. Jang et al., US 2021/0297677 A1; discloses provide a method and apparatus for combining a conventional intra-prediction method and a template based intra-prediction method.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487