DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/03/2025.
Claims 1-16 present for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 07/03/2025 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, and 9-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,603872 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 12,603,872 B2)
1. An in-vehicle system for a commercial passenger vehicle, the in-vehicle system comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the in-vehicle system to:
provide data connectivity to a user device located onboard a commercial passenger vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is implemented, wherein the data connectivity enables a communication between the user device and a server associated with a third-party service;
receive, from the user device, a request to modify multi-party ledger data recorded on a digital distributed ledger, the multi-party ledger data defining a contract between a user identity represented by the user device and the third-party service; and
connect to a remote computing platform that provides the digital distributed ledger to modify the multi-party ledger data, the remote computing system being located external to the commercial passenger vehicle.
12. An in-vehicle system comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the in-vehicle system to:
provide data connectivity to a user device located onboard a commercial passenger vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is implemented, wherein the data connectivity enables a communication between the user device and a server associated with a third-party service;
receive, from the user device, a request to modify multi-party ledger data recorded on a digital distributed ledger, the multi-party ledger data defining a contract between a user identity represented by the user device and the third-party service; and
connect to a remote computing platform that provides the digital distributed ledger to modify the multi-party ledger data, wherein the remote computing platform is located external to the commercial passenger vehicle.
2. The in-vehicle system of claim 1, wherein connecting to the remote computing platform includes providing authentication data associated with the user identity and the third-party service to the remote computing platform.
13. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein connecting to the computing platform includes providing authentication data associated with the user identity and the third-party service to the remote computing platform.
3. The in-vehicle system of claim 2, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the remote computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified.
14. The in-vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified.
4. The in-vehicle system of claim 2, wherein the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device.
15. The in-vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device.
5. The in-vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to: determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and
transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the remote computing platform to cause the remote computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data.
16. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and
transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the computing platform to cause the computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data.
6. The in-vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device.
17. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device.
7. The in-vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the commercial passenger vehicle is associated with a first mobility entity, and wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to: determine that a user of the user device will be transferring to a second commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a second mobility entity; and
notify a second in-vehicle system implemented on the second commercial passenger vehicle regarding the user transferring to the second commercial passenger vehicle.
18. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the commercial passenger vehicle is associated with a first mobility entity, and wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
determine that a user of the user device will be transferring to a second commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a second mobility entity; and
notify a second in-vehicle system implemented on the second commercial passenger vehicle regarding the user transferring to the second commercial passenger vehicle.
9. A method of operating an in-vehicle system comprising at least one process, comprising:
providing data connectivity to a user device located onboard a commercial passenger vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is implemented, wherein the data connectivity enables a communication between the user device and a server associated with a third-party service;
receiving, from the user device, a request to modify multi-party ledger data recorded on a digital distributed ledger, the multi-party ledger data defining a contract between a user identity represented by the user device and the third-party service; and
connecting to a remote computing platform that provides the digital distributed ledger to modify the multi-party ledger data, the remote computing system being located external to the commercial passenger vehicle.
19. A method comprising:
providing, by a processor of a computing platform, a digital ledger configured to store ledger entries for users and third-party services based on validations determined by the computing platform;
generating, by the processor, a ledger entry on the digital ledger to define a contract between a digital identity of a user and a third-party service;
while an in-vehicle system of a commercial passenger vehicle provides a limited data connectivity to the user, detecting, from the in-vehicle system by the processor, a request by the user to modify the ledger entry on the digital ledger;
obtaining, from the in-vehicle system by the processor, authentication data relating to the request by the user; and
based on validating at least the digital identity of the user via the authentication data, modifying, by the processor, the ledger entry on the digital ledger according to the request.
10. The in-vehicle system of claim 9, wherein connecting to the remote computing platform includes providing authentication data associated with the user identity and the third-party service to the remote computing platform.
13. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein connecting to the computing platform includes providing authentication data associated with the user identity and the third-party service to the remote computing platform.
11. The in-vehicle system of claim 10, wherein the in-vehicle system is configured to obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the remote computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified.
14. The in-vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified.
12. The in-vehicle system of claim 10, wherein the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device.
15. The in-vehicle system of claim 13, wherein the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device.
13. The in-vehicle system of claim 9, wherein the in-vehicle system is configured to determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the remote computing platform to cause the remote computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data.
16. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and
transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the computing platform to cause the computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data.
14. The in-vehicle system of claim 9, wherein the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device.
17. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device.
15. The in-vehicle system of claim 9, wherein the commercial passenger vehicle is associated with a first mobility entity, and wherein the in-vehicle system is configure to:
determine that a user of the user device will be transferring to a second commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a second mobility entity; and
notify a second in-vehicle system implemented on the second commercial passenger vehicle regarding the user transferring to the second commercial passenger vehicle.
18. The in-vehicle system of claim 12, wherein the commercial passenger vehicle is associated with a first mobility entity, and wherein the instructions cause the in-vehicle system to:
determine that a user of the user device will be transferring to a second commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a second mobility entity; and
notify a second in-vehicle system implemented on the second commercial passenger vehicle regarding the user transferring to the second commercial passenger vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim limitation recites “that is validated by the remote computing platform” in line 3, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “that” is referring to. Same rejection applies to claim 11.
Regarding claim 5, claim limitation recites “determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received” in line 2, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “which” is referring to. Same rejection applies to claim 13.
Regarding claim 8, claim limitation recites “that of the commercials passenger vehicle” in line 4, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “that” is referring to. Same rejection applies to claim 16.
Regarding claim 10, claim limitation recites “the in-vehicle system of claim 9” in line 1, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the in-vehicle system of claim 9” should read “the in-vehicle system of claim 1” or “the method of claim 9”. Same rejection applies to claim 11-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone et al. (US 2021/0117955 A1), hereinafter Stone, in view of Narayanan et al. (US 11,238,448 B1), hereinafter Narayanan.
Regarding claim 1, Stone discloses
An in-vehicle system for a commercial passenger vehicle, the in-vehicle system comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the in-vehicle system to:
provide data connectivity to a user device located onboard a commercial passenger vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is implemented, wherein the data connectivity enables a communication between the user device and a server associated with a third-party service ([0022]: the client application 22 may include software for enabling a respective one of the clients 20 to communicate with the network 30 for requesting an/or receiving information and/or services via the network 30; & [0024]: devices to which the clients 20 may be coupled via the network 30 may include one or more application servers (e.g., application server 40), and/or a database server 42, which together may form respective elements of a server network 32);
the remote computing system being located external to the commercial passenger vehicle ([0045]: some data may also be provided from third party databases 130; data provided either from the data producers 110 (directly or via the producer databases 112) or the third party databases 130 may be communicated directly or indirectly to the data consumers 120).
Stone does not explicitly disclose
receive, from the user device, a request to modify multi-party ledger data recorded on a digital distributed ledger, the multi-party ledger data defining a contract between a user identity represented by the user device and the third-party service; and
connect to a remote computing platform that provides the digital distributed ledger to modify the multi-party ledger data.
However, Narayanan discloses
receive, from the user device, a request to modify multi-party ledger data recorded on a digital distributed ledger, the multi-party ledger data defining a contract between a user identity represented by the user device and the third-party service (Col. 6, lines 13-29: node 140A may communicate with other nodes 140 on consensus network 110 pursuant to a consensus protocol, and cause (or initiate a process that causes) each of nodes 140 to update distributed ledger 152 by node 140 within consensus network 110 to include smart contract 155; when smart contract 155 executes across nodes 140 within consensus network 110, smart contract 155 may respond to transaction requests, and smart contract 155 may modify distributed ledger 152 maintained within consensus network 110 in the manner specified by smart contract 155; & Col. 6, lines 53-59: in response to receiving transaction request 104 and verifying that it is to be processed by smart contract 155, process transaction request 104 pursuant to smart contract 155 and as a result, output a signal over network 105); and
connect to a remote computing platform (transactional databases or data stores) that provides the digital distributed ledger to modify the multi-party ledger data (Col. 4, line 60 – Col. 5, line 18: distributed ledger 152 included within consensus network 110 may represent one or more shared transactional databases or data stores that include a plurality of blocks, each block (other than the root) referencing at least one block created at an earlier time, each block bundling one or more transactions registered within distributed ledger 152, and each block cryptographically secured; functionally, distributed ledger 152 serves as a ledger, distributed across many nodes of a consensus network, that can record transactions (and other information, generally) between parties efficiently and in a verifiable and permanent way).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Narayanan to Stone, because Stone discloses maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment ([0062]) and Narayanan further suggests modify distributed ledger (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Narayanan in the Stone system in order to update record for completeness and accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 1. Stone further discloses
connecting to the remote computing platform includes providing authentication data associated with the user identity and the third-party service to the remote computing platform ([0049]: client authentication may still be accomplished using cryptographic keys; & [0058]: the security module 70 may ensure that the proper authorizations and authentications are received to identify a requesting party as a member authorized to receive any data requested).
Regarding claims 9-10, the limitations of claims 9-10 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-2 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone in view of Narayanan, and further in view of Wakabayashi (US 2022/0029813 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 2. Stone and Narayanan do not explicitly disclose
obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the remote computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified.
However, Wakabayashi discloses
obtain the authentication data with the request, the authentication data including a digital certificate associated with the server and that is validated by the remote computing platform prior to the multi-party ledger data being modified ([0280]: the authentication of the connected device may be verified on the basis of at least one of: hash function based certification, standard base certification, manufacturer identification of the connected device, pre-configuration of the device, unique network or cellular identification associated with the connected device).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Wakabayashi to Stone and Narayanan, because Stone and Narayanan disclose maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment (Stone: [0062]) and Wakabayashi further suggests verifying authentication of connected device based on certification ([0280]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wakabayashi in the Stone and Narayanan system in order to provide secure system.
Regarding claim 4, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 2. Stone and Narayanan do not explicitly disclose
the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device.
However, Wakabayashi discloses
the authentication data includes a digital certificate associated with the user identity and provided by the user device based on a biometric security input by a user of the user device ([0107]: external sensors 54 are provided, such as a camera (for face recognition) or other sensors, e.g. for fingerprint detection, which can communicate with the blockchain oracle 51 (e.g. the certificate function 51c)).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Wakabayashi to Stone and Narayanan, because Stone and Narayanan disclose maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment (Stone: [0062]) and Wakabayashi further suggests providing face recognition/fingerprint detection ([0107]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wakabayashi in the Stone and Narayanan system in order to provide secure system.
Regarding claim 5, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 1. Stone and Narayanan do not explicitly disclose
determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the remote computing platform to cause the remote computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data.
However, Wakabayashi discloses
determine a timestamp and a vehicle location at which the request was received; and transmit the timestamp and the vehicle location to the remote computing platform to cause the remote computing platform to include the timestamp and the vehicle location with the multi-party ledger data ([0115]: the blockchain oracle may verify the position/time stamp from the sensors 54; furthermore, it may check the data integrity (unchanged) and it may certify whether the connected sensor is the correct one).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Wakabayashi to Stone and Narayanan, because Stone and Narayanan disclose maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment (Stone: [0062]) and Wakabayashi further suggests blockchain oracle verifies position/time stamp ([0115]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Wakabayashi in the Stone and Narayanan system in order to provide secure system.
Regarding claims 11-13, the limitations of claims 11-13 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3-5 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone in view of Narayanan, and further in view of Eskridge, JR. et al. (US 2022/0209847 A1), hereinafter Eskridge, JR..
Regarding claim 6, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 1. Stone and Narayanan do not explicitly disclose
the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device.
However, Eskridge, JR. discloses
the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to the commercial passenger vehicle being outside of a coverage range of a network that previously provided a second data connectivity to the user device, wherein the multi-party ledger data was previously recorded on the digital distributed ledger via the second data connectivity provided by the network to the user device ([0034]: accordingly, it may be desirable to utilize a module or other network component that enables the aircraft 150 (or at least the communication equipment (e.g., UEs and on-board equipment thereon) to transition between available networks in a way that provides a seamless connectivity experience for users, such “users” also including onboard sensors and systems; & [0051]: the session manager 350 may be configured to maintain each session that is being provided via the unified radio 190; thus, for example, one or more sessions that are being maintained with the Internet 115 via the terrestrial network 200 may be transitioned to being maintained via the ATG network 210; the session manager 350 may employ dynamic IP addressing or any other suitable method to maintain the session(s) through the network transition).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Eskridge, JR. to Stone and Narayanan, because Stone and Narayanan disclose maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment (Stone: [0062]) and Eskridge, JR. further suggests transition between available networks ([0034]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Eskridge, JR. in the Stone and Narayanan system in order to provide seamless connectivity experience for users.
Regarding claim 8, Stone and Narayanan disclose the system as described in claim 1. Stone and Narayanan do not explicitly disclose
the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to a user of the user device transferring onboard the commercial passenger vehicle from a different commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a different mobility entity than that of the commercials passenger vehicle.
However, Eskridge, JR. discloses
the in-vehicle system provides the data connectivity to the user device subsequent to a user of the user device transferring onboard the commercial passenger vehicle from a different commercial passenger vehicle that is operated by a different mobility entity than that of the commercials passenger vehicle ([0034]: accordingly, it may be desirable to utilize a module or other network component that enables the aircraft 150 (or at least the communication equipment (e.g., UEs and on-board equipment0 thereon) to transition between available networks in a way that provides a seamless connectivity experience for users, such “users” also including onboard sensors and systems; & [0051]: the session manager 350 may be configured to maintain each session that is being provided via the unified radio 190; thus, for example, one or more sessions that are being maintained with the Internet 115 via the terrestrial network 200 may be transitioned to being maintained via the ATG network 210; the session manager 350 may employ dynamic IP addressing or any other suitable method to maintain the session(s) through the network transition).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Eskridge, JR. to Stone and Narayanan, because Stone and Narayanan disclose maintaining a distributed ledger in aircraft environment (Stone: [0062]) and Eskridge, JR. further suggests transition between available networks ([0034].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Eskridge, JR. in the Stone and Narayanan system in order to provide seamless connectivity experience for users.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deshpande et al. (US 11,057,498 B1). Notify first customer network to send the data to the first data transfer station; the first data transfer station receives the data and stores the data to a storage media associated with the first data transfer station; directs a transport vehicle to transport the data from the first data transfer station to a second data transfer station of the second data center.
Bellamy et al. (US 2022/0067718 A1). Receive a transaction request for a transaction from a client system for a client via an API; create a pending transaction for the transaction on the distributed banking ledger.
Ma (US 10,710,723 B1). Transferring information between a vehicle based user device and a server to validate a user’s government identity before granting the user device access to the internet.
Kaylee Huang
10/29/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447