DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending in the instant application. Claims 2-20 are canceled.
Election/Restrictions
A preliminary amendment was filed on 10/05/2025. The preliminary amendment is not showing under the claim folder, however is placed on the file wrapper. The restriction requirement dated 02/25/2026 is hereby withdrawn due to the preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/06/2025 fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
The information disclosure statements filed 10/06/2025 fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component”, in claim1;
“extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and applying haptic mapping to sensation si…” in claim 1;
“detecting, by a mid-air tracking system, collision points between a moving human hand and a virtual object xi” in claim 1;
“calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points…” in claim 1; and
“establishing, by the mid-air tracking system, projecting H[si] to X depending in part on the offline component output” in claim 1
mid-air tracking system = Leap Motion Controller (para. [0036], para. [0108]).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9, recites “the center of mass”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a center of mass”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 includes limitations that uses a generic place holder that is couple with functional language. Such limitations are: “importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component” and “extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and applying haptic mapping to sensation si…”. There is insufficient description of those specific structures and how the functions are performed or the results are achieved for the above functional language limitations. The specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Thus, the specification lacked the “full, clear, concise, and exact written description” which is necessary to support the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “H[si] = f(si, mi, Mi)” and “X=µ(xi)”. The claim references a mathematical formula or equation without defining its variables, parameters and scope in the disclosure. The specification must describe the invention in full, clear, concise, and exact terms so that a person skilled in the art can make and use the invention. Therefore claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 4-5, recites “applying haptic mapping to sensation si where H[si] = f(si, mi, Mi) to generate an offline component output”. It is unclear what the claim refers to H[si] and f(si, mi, Mi). The claim limitation recites symbols, variables or formulas without explaining what they represent. In addition, it is unclear what the “sensation si” is referring to. It is also unclear what is being generated as the “offline component output”.
Claim 1, lines 9-10, recites “calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points X=µ(xi)”. It is unclear what the claim refers to µ(xi). The claim limitation recites symbols, variables or formulas without explaining what they represent.
Claim 1, lines 11-12, recites “establishing, by the mid-air tracking system, projecting H[si] to X depending in part on the offline component output”. It is unclear to what step is being perform by the mid-air tracking system. Is the mid-air tracking system establishing a “projection”? Is the mid-air tracking system projecting something? What is being projected? If the mid-air tracking system (Leap Motion controller) is performing a projecting function, the limitation creates doubt to how a tracking system such as Leap Motion controller can perform the projection. Moreover, if the “projection” is depending in part on the “offline component output”, then it depends on an additional parameter that is unknown, rendering the claim indefinite. In addition, the claim limitation recites symbols, variables or formulas without explaining what they represent.
Claim 1 recites limitations, “importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component” and “extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and applying haptic mapping to sensation si…”, that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the functions in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11550395 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations are fully addressed (located within) the claims of issued Patent 11550395 B2. This is an anticipatory obviousness type double patenting rejection.
Current Application No. 19260211
U.S. Patent No. 11550395 B2
Regarding claim 1. A method for generating mid-air haptic textures comprising:
importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component;
extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and
applying haptic mapping to sensation si where H[si] = f(si, mi, Mi) to generate an offline component output; on a iterative basis:
a) detecting, by a mid-air tracking system, collision points between a moving human hand and a virtual object xi;
b) calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points X=µ(xi);
c) establishing, by the mid-air tracking system, projecting H[si] to X depending in part on the offline component output.
Claim 1. A method for generating mid-air haptic textures comprising:
importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component;
extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and
applying haptic mapping to sensation si where H[si]=f(si, mi, Mi) to generate an offline component output; on a iterative basis:
a) detecting, by a mid-air tracking system, collision points between a moving human hand and a virtual object xi;
b) calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points X=μ(xi);
c) establishing, by the mid-air tracking system, projecting H[si] to X depending in part on the offline component output;
wherein extracting Mi and mi from the texture image uses a displacement map and avoids possible sensory conflicts due to inconsistency between the mid-air haptic texture and its visual representation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchon et al. (US 10168782 B1, hereinafter referenced as Tchon) in view of Iodice et al. (US 20190196578 A1, hereinafter referenced as Iodice).
Regarding claim 1, Tchon teaches a method for generating mid-air haptic textures (Fig. 8, col. 4 lines 41-51, col 20 lines 36-67. Embodiments of the inventive concepts disclosed herein are directed to a method, system, and at least one device. A display may be implemented with and/or augmented with a haptic feedback system configured to form a dynamic ultrasonic acoustic field relative to the display surface. The dynamic ultrasonic acoustic field may include distinct pressure pattern regions that result in distinct tactile sensations by a user. For example, the haptic feedback system permits a user to feel pressure patterns of the ultrasonic acoustic field as three-dimensional gesture feedback. The HDD 226 may include the haptic feedback system 240 and may be implemented with ultrasonic transducers 242 beneath a screen of the HDD 226. As shown, the HDD 226 is configured to present an image 804 of terrain and a three-dimensional ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain. The ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may be formed as three-dimensional surface in a spatial region in front of the display area of the HDD 226. Peaks and valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may correspond to peaks and valleys, respectively, of the image 804 of the terrain) comprising:
importing a texture image having macro texture features Mi and micro texture features mi by an offline component (see Fig. 8, col. 16, lines 6-21, col. 17 lines 23-35, col 20 lines 36-67. The processing and video generation system computing device 112-2 may be configured to receive data from any of various onboard or off-board devices. For example, the processing and video generation system computing device 112-2 may be configured to receive FMS data (e.g., the aircraft sensor data, data associated with at least one determined aircraft state, the flight plan data, the map data, and/or flight path data). Peaks and valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may correspond to peaks and valleys, respectively, of the image 804 of the terrain. Peaks of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 may be located further away from a display surface of the HDD 226 than valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802. The processor 114-2 of the processing and video generation system computing device 112-2 may be configured to receive map data from the FMS computing device 112-1. Based at least in part on the received map data, the processor 114-2 of the processing and video generation system computing device 112-2 may be configured to generate graphical data corresponding to the image 804 of terrain to output to the HDD 226 and may be configured to generate haptic feedback data corresponding to the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain to output to the haptic feedback system 240 of the HDD 226);
extracting, by the offline component, Mi and mi from the texture image and applying haptic mapping to sensation si where H[si] = f(si, mi, Mi) to generate an offline component output (see Fig. 8, col. 16, lines 6-25, col. 20 lines 37-67. The FMS computing device 112-1 may be configured to receive aircraft sensor data (e.g., data associated with aircraft location and orientation, attitude, and/or airspeed data) from one or more of the aircraft sensors 122, access flight plan data (e.g., data associated with a flight plan and which may include data corresponding to waypoints of a flight plan) maintained within the memory 116-1, access map data (e.g., flight map data), and output FMS data based thereon to one or more of the input/output devices 124 (e.g., the HDD 226 and/or the haptic feedback system 240), the communication system 104, and/or the processing and video generation system 112-2. For example, the FMS data may include the aircraft sensor data, data associated with at least one determined aircraft state, the flight plan data, the map data, and flight path data. The HDD 226 is configured to present an image 804 of terrain and a three-dimensional ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain. Peaks and valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may correspond to peaks and valleys, respectively, of the image 804 of the terrain); on a iterative basis:
a) detecting, by a mid-air tracking system, collision points between a moving human hand and a virtual object xi (see Fig. 8, col. 10 lines 49-67, col. 20 lines 37-56, col. 21 lines 10-21. The gesture recognition system 228 may be configured to detect gestures (e.g., hand gestures) as user inputs. The gesture recognition system 228 may be configured for detecting hand gestures of users in real time. The gesture recognition system 228 may include at least one sensor 230, at least one processor 232, a memory 234, and a storage 236, as well as other components, equipment, and/or devices commonly included in an gesture recognition system. As shown, the HDD 226 is configured to present an image 804 of terrain and a three-dimensional ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain. The ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may be formed as three-dimensional surface in a spatial region in front of the display area of the HDD 226. Peaks and valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may correspond to peaks and valleys, respectively, of the image 804 of the terrain. Peaks of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 may be located further away from a display surface of the HDD 226 than valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802. The ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 allows the pilot to feel the topology of the terrain as tactile sensations caused by pressure patterns formed by the ultrasonic transducers 242. The gesture recognition system 228 is configured to detect user gestures as user inputs to interact with the ultrasonic acoustic field representation of the terrain. For example, the gesture recognition system 228 may be configured to detect a user's selection of a point in the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain. In some embodiments, the gesture recognition system 228 is configured to detect user gestures as user inputs to manipulate (e.g., pan, rotate, zoom in, and/or zoom out) the image 804 of terrain and/or the ultrasonic acoustic field representation of the terrain);
c) establishing, by the mid-air tracking system, projecting H[si] depending in part on the offline component output (see col. 20 lines 37-67, col. 21 lines 1-21. As shown, the HDD 226 is configured to present an image 804 of terrain and a three-dimensional ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain. The ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may be formed as three-dimensional surface in a spatial region in front of the display area of the HDD 226. Peaks and valleys of the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain may correspond to peaks and valleys, respectively, of the image 804 of the terrain. The ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 allows the pilot to feel the topology of the terrain as tactile sensations caused by pressure patterns formed by the ultrasonic transducers 242. Based at least in part on the received map data, the processor 114-2 of the processing and video generation system computing device 112-2 may be configured to generate graphical data corresponding to the image 804 of terrain to output to the HDD 226 and may be configured to generate haptic feedback data corresponding to the ultrasonic acoustic field representation 802 of the terrain to output to the haptic feedback system 240 of the HDD 226).
Tchon does not explicitly disclose the mid-air tracking system includes a Leap Motion controller; calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points X=µ(xi); and projecting H[si] to X
However, Iodice teaches the mid-air tracking system includes a Leap Motion controller (see Fig. 8, para. [0148]-[0149]. Off-the-shelf systems like “Leap Motion”) calculating, by the mid-air tracking system, the center of mass of the collision points X=µ(xi) (see para. [0163], para. [0177], para. [0241]. Active triangulation consists in a structured light emitter and an optical system. To apply triangulation, the light emitter should be well differentiated from other objects and ambient light. This is achieved by projecting different coding schemes onto the 3D scene, typically colored, temporal (lines), spatial (random texture) and modulated schemes. These techniques yield the estimation of the range of the center of mass of the target (i.e. the palm of the bare hand) with respect to the array of transducer, and possibly its location in the spatially perpendicular degrees of freedom. In haptic feedback systems, triangulation can be used to get the coordinates (x, y, z) of the virtual source in air (or of its center of mass). Its position lies in the intersections of the surfaces of three (or more) spheres); and projecting H[si] to X (see para. [0153], para. [0215]. The center of mass of the hand is known, so the haptic feedback can be projected effectively in a way)
Tchon and Iodice are related to mid-air tracking systems and haptic feedback systems, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying Tchon method with Iodice teachings, since the haptic feedback can be projected effectively (Iodice, para. [0215]). In addition, it would have aided in improving accuracy and precision in applying haptic feedback to the user’s hand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Subramanian et al. (US 20150192995 A1) - A method for generating mid-air haptic textures (see abstract, para. [0053]. A method and apparatus for the creation of an acoustic field for providing tactile sensations. The method and system for providing tactile sensations can be used with interactive displays, where mid-air gestures allow a user to interact with the display) comprising: a) detecting, by a mid-air tracking system, collision points between a moving human hand and a virtual object xi (see Fig. 1, hand tracker20, para. [0030]-[0031]. The projector 16 is arranged to project visual information onto the screen 14 from above the screen 14 as shown. A user interacts with this visual information and the movement and position of the user's hand 26 is tracked by the hand tracker 20. In this particular embodiment, the hand tracker 20 is a Leap Motion controller arranged to provide the 3D coordinates of the user's fingertips and palm at up to 200 frames per second).
Rhee et al. (US 20180349690 A1) - A controller that models a virtual object and a sensed user's hand, and performs collision detection, thereby detecting whether there is a collision between the user's hand and the virtual object. The controller outputs a feedback signal only to a specific part of the user's hand in contact with the virtual object.
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 7/13/26